DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
heating unit and refrigeration unit in at least claim 15.
Heating unit and refrigeration unit are interpreted to cover a unit comprising a compressor, a condenser, an evaporator, and/or a refrigerant as per para [0037] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-27 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richmond (US 6145333 A) in view of Devogel (US 4781243 A).
Regarding claim 12:
Richmond discloses a method of controlling temperature of a payload (abstract), comprising:
providing a temperature control cart (Fig. 1-5) comprising a top portion comprising one or more wells #214 operable to receive one or more pans (Fig. 5, col. 3, L 5-16),
a tank #224 located beneath the top portion (Fig. 5), and a phase change material (PCM) #222 located in the tank (col. 3, L 19-21 & col. 4, L 1-5);
heating or cooling the PCM of the temperature control cart above or below a phase transition temperature of the PCM (see at least claims 4 & 8; col. 4, L 1-5. Gel PCM change phase when operating); and
placing a payload on an exterior work surface of the temperature control cart (col. 4, L 17-31).
To the extent that applicant submit that Richmond does not disclose heating or cooling the PCM of the temperature control cart above or below a phase transition temperature of the PCM; Devogel, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it is known to employ a PCM to provide heating or cooling above or below a phase transition temperature of the PCM (see PCM #22; col. 1, L 5-14; col. 7, L 63 – col. 8, L 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the method of Richmond with heating or cooling the PCM of the temperature control cart above or below a phase transition temperature of the PCM; in a similar manner as taught by Devogel.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have allowed the PCM to absorbs or releases a greater amount of latent heat while holding a nearly constant temperature; thereby, optimizing the thermal usage of the PCM.
Regarding claim 13:
Richmond either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.Richmond further discloses transferring thermal energy from the payload to the PCM or from the PCM to the payload, thereby controlling the temperature of the payload (col. 4, L 17-31).
Regarding claim 14:
Richmond either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.Richmond further discloses providing one or more heat exchangers #228 located within the tank on the temperature control cart (Fig. 5, col. 4, L 48-53).
Regarding claim 15:
Richmond either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.Richmond further discloses wherein heating or cooling the PCM of the temperature control cart comprises a heating unit applying heat to a heat exchange fluid or a refrigeration unit applying cooling to a heat exchange fluid (col. 4, L 48-56).
Regarding claim 16:
Richmond either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.Richmond further discloses circulating a heat exchange fluid within a thermal exchange conduit #228 on the temperature control cart (col. 4, L 48-56).
Regarding claim 17:
Richmond either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.Richmond further discloses wherein placing the payload on an exterior work surface of the temperature control cart places the payload in the one or more wells on the temperature control cart (col. 4, L 17-31).
Regarding claim 18:
Richmond either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.Richmond further discloses placing serving dishes on an exterior surface of the temperature control cart (col. 4, L 17-31).
Regarding claims 19-27:
Richmond either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations; except for the specific phase transition temperature of the PCM.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.07.
Furthermore, differences in temperature does not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such temperature is critical. Since the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of the PCM by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
By official notice, the examiner also submits that PCM with the specifics phase transition temperature as claimed are known in the art.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the method of Richmond with PCM having the specific phase transition temperature of the PCM.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have allowed for a large variety of items requiring them to be cooled at different temperatures to be accommodated by the method while providing optimal cooling/heating; thereby, improving the serviceability of the method.
Regarding claim 31:
Richmond either alone or as modified discloses wherein placing the payload on the exterior work surface comprises placing the payload in a pan received in one of the wells (see rejection of claim 12 above); wherein the pan is in metal-to-metal surface contact with the well (col. 3, L 7-9 & 43-46); wherein the well is at least partially immersed in and in thermal contact with the PCM, and wherein the thermal energy is transferred between the payload and the PCM through the pan and the well (see rejection of claim 12 above).
Regarding claims 29-30:
The subject matter claimed here is substantially similar to that of claims 12-17. Thus, for sake of simplicity, conciseness, and brevity, please refer to the rejection of claims 12-17 above for the rejection of claims 29-30.
To the extent that the applicant submit that Richmond does not disclose transferring thermal energy between the payload and the PCM through the top portion during a period in which no active heating or cooling is applied to the PCM;
Devogel, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it is known to employ a PCM to cool payloads, wherein no active heating or cooling applied to the PCM (see col. 1, L 5-14).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the method of Richmond either alone or as modified with no active heating or cooling applied to the PCM; in a similar manner as taught by Devogel.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided a simplified and reliable method; given that the method would comprise no moving parts, pumps, or powered controls.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richmond (US 6145333 A) in view of Devogel (US 4781243 A); and further in view of Muffett (US 5976400 A).
Regarding claim 28:
Richmond either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations; except for wherein cooling the PCM comprises cooling the PCM below the phase transition temperature using liquid nitrogen.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Muffett teaches that it is known to cool a PCM with below the phase transition temperature using liquid nitrogen (col. 4, L 11-17).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the method of Richmond either alone or as modified with cooling the PCM below the phase transition temperature using liquid nitrogen; in a similar manner as taught by Muffett.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided exceptionally rapid ramp rate; thereby allowing the PCM to be charged/solidified in a relatively short period of time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/14/2026 have been fully considered.
Claims 12-31 have been rejection as being unpatentable over the prior art. Refer to the 103 section above for the detailed rejection of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763