Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 06/03/2026. Claims 1 and 3-18 has/have been presented for examination. Claims 2 has been canceled, and new claims 16 and 17 have been added. Claims 1 and 3-18 has/have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins (Pub. No.: 2011/0199199 A1) in view of Omote (Pub. No.: 2012/0130580 A1) and Dunn (Pat. No.: 7,979,147 B1).
1) In regard to claim 1, Perkins discloses the claimed vehicle management system applied to a vehicle (fig. 3: 10), the vehicle management system comprising
one or more processors (fig. 3: 50),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to
generate a simulated sound that simulates a sound of virtual mobility (¶0012),
output the simulated sound through a speaker mounted in the vehicle (¶0012), and
output level of the simulated sound over a transition period when turning ON or OFF an output of the simulated sound (¶0012 and ¶0017).
Perkins does not explicitly disclose gradually change an output level, and a switching period in which the simulated sound output from the speaker is switched from a first simulated sound to a second simulated sound, the one or more processors are configured to gradually decrease an output level of the first simulated sound and gradually increase an output level of the second simulated sound.
However, Omote discloses it is known for a vehicle system to gradually change an output level of a simulated sound (¶0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Perkins to gradually output the simulated sound, as taught by Omote.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Perkins as described above in order to output an artificial sound which depends on the car speed, as taught by Omote (¶0006).
In addition, Dunn discloses it is known for a vehicle management system to have a switching period in which the simulated sound output from the speaker is switched from a first simulated sound to a second simulated sound, the one or more processors are configured to gradually decrease an output level of the first simulated sound and gradually increase an output level of the second simulated sound (col. 17, lines 66-67 to col. 18, lines 1-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Perkins to provide different sounds at different speeds, as taught by Dunn.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Perkins as described above in order to a realism aspect to the generated sound, as taught by Dunn (col. 18, lines 16-17).
2) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 2), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 2, wherein the switching period includes a first transition period in which the output level of the first simulated sound gradually decreases to zero, and a second transition period in which the output level of the second simulated sound gradually increases from zero (Perkins ¶0017).
3) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 3), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 3, wherein the first transition period and the second transition period at least partially overlap (Omote fig. 8 & and ¶0062).
4) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 4), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 4, wherein the first transition period and the second transition period coincide with each other (Omote figs. 8 and fig. 9).
5) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 5), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are configured to gradually change the output level of the first simulated sound and the output level of the second simulated sound such that an output level of a combined sound of the first simulated sound and the second simulated sound is constant over the switching period (Omote ¶0100).
6) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 3), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 3, wherein the second transition period follows the first transition period and does not overlap with the first transition period (Omote figs. 8 and fig. 9).
7) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 2), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to gradually change the output level of the first simulated sound and the output level of the second simulated sound such that a combined sound of the first simulated sound and the second simulated sound is output from the speaker during at least a part of the switching period (Omote ¶0062).
8) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 8), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are configured to gradually change the output level of the first simulated sound and the output level of the second simulated sound such that an output level of the combined sound is constant over the switching period (Omote ¶0062).
9) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 1), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 1, wherein: the vehicle is a battery electric vehicle that uses an electric motor as a power device for traveling; and the battery electric vehicle includes a simulation mode in which the virtual mobility is simulated in the vehicle (Omote ¶0052).
10) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 10), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 10, wherein: the virtual mobility is an engine vehicle; and the simulated sound is a pseudo engine sound that simulates an engine sound of the engine vehicle (Omote ¶0052).
11) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 10), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 10, wherein: the virtual mobility is a manual transmission vehicle; and the simulation mode includes a manual mode in which driving characteristics of the manual transmission vehicle are simulated (Omote ¶0052).
12) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 12), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 12, wherein: the battery electric vehicle includes an accelerator pedal and a sequential shifter; and in the manual mode, the battery electric vehicle is configured to change output characteristics of the electric motor with respect to an operation of the accelerator pedal in response to a shift operation of the sequential shifter (Perkins ¶0016).
13) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 12), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 12, wherein the battery electric vehicle includes an accelerator pedal and a pseudo shift device (¶0072).
Perkins and Omote do not explicitly disclose the battery electric vehicle includes a pseudo clutch pedal, the pseudo clutch pedal is configured to operate when the pseudo shift device is operated, and in the manual mode, the battery electric vehicle is configured to change an output of the electric motor with respect to an operation of the accelerator pedal in response to an operation of the pseudo clutch pedal and an operation of the pseudo shift device.
However, official notice is taken by the examiner that both the concept and advantage is known for a vehicle system to have a clutch pedal used to change the shifting device of the electric vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the vehicle system of Perkins to include a clutch pedal and the clutch pedal is used to operate the shift device.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Perkins as described above in order to use a known technique for shifting the gears in a vehicle.
14) In regard to claim 15, claim 15 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
15) In regard to claim 16 (dependent on claim 1), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the vehicle management system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to switch the simulated sound output from the speaker from the first simulated sound to the second simulated sound in response to a driver’s request (Dunn col. 13, lines 12-18).
16) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 15), Perkins, Omote and Dunn further disclose the battery electric vehicle according to claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are configured to switch the simulated sound output from the speaker from the first simulated sound to the second simulated sound in response to a driver’s request (Dunn col. 13, lines 12-18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered and are persuasive, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. See above rejection for detail.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685