DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Yoshiaki et al. (CN108732714A, with reference made to provided machine translation, Yoshiaki) teaches (in figures 1-3) a camera module comprising: a housing (cover 22) having an internal space; a lens module accommodated in the internal space of the housing and comprising a first lens barrel (lens barrel 12); and a camera actuator (drive shaft 51, shaft retaining part 52, conversion part 53, counterweight 54, guiding ball 61, and guide ball holder 62), connected to the first lens barrel, configured to provide a driving force (paragraph 78), the camera actuator comprising: a first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52) configured to move the first lens barrel in a first direction (along the optical axis of lens 11); a first driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54), comprising a first piezoelectric element (conversion part 53 see paragraph 76), connected to the first movable unit (through drive shaft 51), and configured to provide a driving force to the first movable unit (see paragraph 78); and a magnet (magnet 74) and a yoke (magnetic yoke 71) disposed between the first movable unit and the housing in a second direction (direction of line C2 as shown in figure 1) intersecting with the first direction wherein the camera actuator (drive shaft 51, shaft retaining part 52, conversion part 53, counterweight 54, guiding ball 61, and guide ball holder 62) further comprises: a second movable unit (guide ball holder 62) disposed to face the first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52) with the first lens barrel (lens barrel 12) interposed therebetween, in a third direction (direction of line C1 in figure 1) perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, and at least one first rolling member (guiding ball 61) disposed on one side of the second movable unit, and wherein the second movable unit is configured to move the first lens barrel in the first direction using the driving force of the first driver (see paragraphs 78 and 81-83).
However, the prior art taken alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing a camera actuator in which a first magnet disposed on one surface of the first movable unit, and a second magnet disposed on one surface of the second movable unit, and wherein the first magnet is larger in size than the second magnet in combination with the other required elements of claims 5 and 18 and claims 1 & 4 and claims 14 & 17 from which claims 5 and 18 depend respectively.
Claims 6, 19, and 20 would be allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first magnet and the second magnet" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshiaki et al. (CN108732714A, with reference made to provided machine translation, Yoshiaki).
As per claim 1, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) a camera module comprising: a housing (cover 22) having an internal space; a lens module accommodated in the internal space of the housing and comprising a first lens barrel (lens barrel 12); and a camera actuator (drive shaft 51, shaft retaining part 52, conversion part 53, counterweight 54, guiding ball 61, and guide ball holder 62), connected to the first lens barrel, configured to provide a driving force (paragraph 78), the camera actuator comprising: a first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52) configured to move the first lens barrel in a first direction (along the optical axis of lens 11); a first driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54), comprising a first piezoelectric element (conversion part 53 see paragraph 76), connected to the first movable unit (through drive shaft 51), and configured to provide a driving force to the first movable unit (see paragraph 78); and a magnet (magnet 74) and a yoke (magnetic yoke 71) disposed between the first movable unit and the housing in a second direction (direction of line C2 as shown in figure 1) intersecting with the first direction.
As per claim 2, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) that the magnet (magnet 74) is disposed on one surface of the first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52)(through lens barrel 12) facing the housing (cover 22), and wherein the yoke (magnetic yoke 71) is disposed to face the magnet in the second direction.
As per claim 3, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) that the yoke (magnetic yoke 71) extends in the first direction to include a portion overlapping the magnet in the second direction (see figure 1).
As per claim 4, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) that the camera actuator (drive shaft 51, shaft retaining part 52, conversion part 53, counterweight 54, guiding ball 61, and guide ball holder 62) further comprises: a second movable unit (guide ball holder 62) disposed to face the first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52) with the first lens barrel (lens barrel 12) interposed therebetween, in a third direction (direction of line C1 in figure 1) perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, and at least one first rolling member (guiding ball 61) disposed on one side of the second movable unit, and wherein the second movable unit is configured to move the first lens barrel in the first direction using the driving force of the first driver (see paragraphs 78 and 81-83).
As per claim 7, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) that the first driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54) further comprises: a rod (drive shaft 51) disposed to connect one end to the first piezoelectric element (conversion part 53) and another end to the first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52), and wherein a first magnet (first half of magnet 74) and the second magnet (second half of magnet 74) are disposed between the rod (drive shaft 51) and the first rolling member (guiding ball 61) along the third direction (direction of line C1 in figure 1).
As per claim 14, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) a camera actuator comprising: a first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52) configured to move along a first direction (along the optical axis of lens 11); a driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54), comprising a piezoelectric element (conversion part 53 see paragraph 76), connected to the first movable unit (through drive shaft 51), and configured to provide a driving force to the first movable unit (see paragraph 78); a yoke (magnetic yoke 71) disposed on one side of the first movable unit in a second direction (direction of line C2 in figure 1) intersecting with the first direction; and a magnet (magnet 74) disposed between the first movable unit and the yoke in the second direction.
As per claim 15, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) that the yoke (magnetic yoke 71) is disposed to face the magnet (magnet 74) in the second direction (direction of line C2 in figure 1).
As per claim 16, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) that the yoke (magnetic yoke 71) extends in the first direction to include a portion overlapping the magnet in the second direction (see figure 1).
As per claim 17, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) that the driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54) is disposed on one side in the second direction of the first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52), and wherein the camera actuator further comprises: a second movable unit (guide ball holder 62) disposed to face the first movable unit in a third direction (direction of line C1 in figure 1) perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, and at least one rolling member (guiding ball 61) disposed on one side of the second movable unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiaki et al. (CN108732714A, with reference made to provided machine translation, Yoshiaki) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Bao et al. (CN111106759A, with reference made to provided machine translation, Bao).
As per claim 8, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) that the first driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54) further comprises: a rod (drive shaft 51) disposed such that one end is connected to the first piezoelectric element (conversion part 53 see paragraph 76) and another end is connected to the first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52).
Yoshiaki does not teach a friction part configured to have higher wear resistance than the first movable unit and disposed on one surface of the first movable unit facing the rod.
However, Bao teaches (in figure 6) providing a friction part (wear-resistant metal sheet 16) configured to have higher wear resistance than a first movable unit (carrier 6, paragraph 42) and disposed on one surface of the first movable unit facing a rod (friction rod 503) in order to prevent wear and tear on the carrier and inner shell after long-term use and extend the service life.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the friction part from Bao in the device of Yoshiaki.
The motivation would have been to prevent wear and tear on the first movable unit and extend the life of the device.
Claim(s) 1 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US Pub. 20220210300, Seo) in view of Yoshiaki et al. (CN108732714A, with reference made to provided machine translation, Yoshiaki).
As per claim 1, Seo teaches (in figures 1-6) a camera module comprising: a housing (housing 1010) having an internal space; a lens module (lens module 1200) accommodated in the internal space of the housing and comprising a first lens barrel (portion of second lens barrel 1220 surrounding lenses); and a camera actuator (first shaft 1215a, second shaft 1225a, magnets 1241a and 1243a, and coils 1241b and 1243b, extension portions 1219 and 1229), connected to the first lens barrel, configured to provide a driving force (paragraph 262), the camera actuator comprising: a first movable unit (extension portion 1219) configured to move the first lens barrel in a first direction (Z direction); a first driver (shaft 1215a, magnets 1241a, and coils 1241b), configured to provide a driving force to the first movable unit (see paragraph 262).
Seo does not teach that the first driver comprises a first piezoelectric element connected to the first movable unit and a magnet and a yoke disposed between the first movable unit and the housing in a second direction intersecting with the first direction.
However, Yoshiaki teaches (in figures 1-3) forming a camera actuator (drive shaft 51, shaft retaining part 52, conversion part 53, counterweight 54, guiding ball 61, and guide ball holder 62) connected to a first lens barrel (lens barrel 12), configured to provide a driving force (paragraph 78), such that the camera actuator comprises: a first movable unit (shaft retaining part 52) configured to move the first lens barrel in a first direction (along the optical axis of lens 11); a first driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54), comprising a first piezoelectric element (conversion part 53 see paragraph 76), connected to the first movable unit (through drive shaft 51), and configured to provide a driving force to the first movable unit (see paragraph 78); and providing a magnet (magnet 74) and a yoke (magnetic yoke 71) disposed between the first movable unit and the housing in a second direction (direction of line C2 as shown in figure 1) intersecting with the first direction.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator and lens barrels in Seo to use piezoelectric drivers, lens barrel supports, magnet, and yolk as suggested by Yoshiaki in place of the voice coils in Seo.
The motivation would have been to reduce the power consumption of the drivers.
As per claim 9, Seo in view of Yoshiaki teaches that the lens module further comprises: a second lens barrel (portion of first lens barrel 1210 surrounding lenses in Seo) disposed on one side in the first direction of the first lens barrel (portion of second lens barrel 1220 surrounding lenses in Seo) and configured to be movable with respect to the housing, and a third lens barrel (third lens barrel 1230 in Seo) disposed on another side in the first direction of the first lens barrel and fixed to the housing.
As per claim 10, Seo in view of Yoshiaki teaches a third movable unit (shaft retaining part 52 from Yoshiaki corresponding to the first lens barrel 1210 in Seo) disposed on one side of the second lens barrel (first lens barrel 1210 in Seo as modified by Yoshiaki) and configured to move the second lens barrel in the first direction, a fourth movable unit (guide ball holder 62 from Yoshiaki corresponding to the first lens barrel 1210 in Seo) disposed to face the third movable unit with the second lens barrel interposed therebetween, in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, and a second driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54 from Yoshiaki corresponding to first lens barrel 1210 and replacing magnets 1241a and coils 1241b in Seo) comprising a second piezoelectric element (conversion part 53 from Yoshiaki corresponding to first lens barrel 1210), connected to the third movable unit, and configured to provide a driving force to the third movable unit.
As per claim 11, Seo in view of Yoshiaki teaches at least one second rolling member (guide ball holder 62 from Yoshiaki corresponding to first lens barrel 1210 to Seo) disposed on one side of the fourth movable unit.
As per claim 12, Seo in view of Yoshiaki teaches that the second driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54 from Yoshiaki corresponding to first lens barrel 1210 and replacing magnets 1241a and coils 1241b in Seo) is disposed diagonally from the first driver (drive shaft 51, conversion part 53, and counterweight 54 from Yoshiaki corresponding to second lens barrel 1220 and replacing magnets 1243a and coils 1243b in Seo) with respect to a reference line parallel to the first direction (see figure 6 of Seo).
As per claim 13, Seo in view of Yoshiaki teaches a reflection module (reflective module 1100), disposed in front of the first lens barrel (second lens barrel 1220 in Seo as modified by Yoshiaki) in the first direction, configured to change a path of incident light (paragraph 138).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER P GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871