Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 6 of paragraph 100, the second zone is referred to as 60. In the referenced Figure 13, the second zone is referred to as 60b. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldrich et al. US 20160206102 A1 (hereinafter Aldrich) in view Dua et al. US 20130260104 A1 (hereinafter Dua).
Re. Cl. 1, Aldrich discloses a suspension member (Fig. 8, Ref. 16; Para. 0038) comprising a first plurality of yarns forming a first zone (Fig. 8, Ref. 80) having a first tension (Para. 0052); and a second plurality of yarns forming a second zone (Fig. 8, Ref. 82) having a second tension that is different from the first tension (Para. 0052).
Re. Cl. 1, Aldrich further discloses the use of heat treating via thermally engineered suspension to alter the stiffness of the suspension member (Para. 0045).
Re. Cl. 1, Aldrich fails to disclose yarns fused together. Dua teaches a suspension member (Fig. 32, Ref. 600) comprising a first plurality of yarns (Fig. 32, Ref. 300) forming a first zone (Fig. 32, Ref. 601) and a second plurality of yarns (Fig. 32, Ref. 400) forming a second zone (Fig. 32, Ref. 602), wherein at least some of the first plurality of yarns in the first zone are fused together (Fig. 32, Ref. 303; Para. 0128). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aldrich with Dua's teaching of at least some of the first plurality of yarns in the first zone being fused together. Doing so would secure the yarns in the first zone to each other, altering the stiffness of the zone, preventing unraveling and improving distribution of force across the member.
Re. Cl. 2, Aldrich fails to disclose yarns fused together. Dua teaches at least some of the second plurality of yarns in the second zone are fused together (Fig. 32, Ref. 403; Para. 0128). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aldrich with Dua's teaching of the at least some of the second plurality of yarns in the second zone being fused together. Doing so would secure the yarns in the second zone to each other, adjusting the stiffness of the zone to a desired tension.
Re. Cl. 3, Aldrich discusses heat treating the yarn, but fails to disclose yarn melting points. Dua teaches the at least some of the first plurality of yarns have a different melting point than at least some of the second plurality of yarns (Para. 0140-0141). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aldrich with Dua's teaching of the at least some of the first plurality of yarns having a different melting point than at least some of the second plurality of yarns. Doing so would allow one of the pluralities to melt and fuse without fusing the other plurality, for more precise control of fusing to impart desired tensions at specific location within the suspension member.
Re. Cl. 4, Aldrich discloses the first plurality of yarns includes a first set of yarn (Fig. 2, Ref. 26) and a second set of yarn (Fig. 2, Ref. 28) that is different from the first set of yarn.
Re. Cl. 5, Aldrich discloses the second plurality of yarns includes the first set of yarn (Fig. 2, Ref. 26) and the second set of yarn (Fig. 2, Ref. 28).
Re. Cl. 6, Aldrich discloses the first set of yarn includes monofilaments (Fig. 2, Ref. 26; Para. 0041), and wherein the second set of yarn includes multifilaments (Fig. 2, Ref. 28; Para. 0041).
Re. Cl. 7, Aldrich fails to disclose to disclose yarns fused together. Dua teaches that the at least some of the first plurality of yarns in the first zone are fused together at the first tension (Fig. 16-17, Ref. 303; Para. 0097). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aldrich with Dua's teaching of the at least some of the first plurality of yarns in the first zone being fused together at the first tension. Doing so would maintain the desired tension between yarns in the first zone and improve durability by preventing loss of tension under repeated use.
Re. Cl. 8, Aldrich discloses a third plurality of yarns forming a third zone (Fig. 8, Ref. 84) having a third tension that is different from the first and second tensions (Para. 0052).
Re. Cl. 9, Aldrich discusses heat treating the yarn (Para. 0045), but fails to disclose fusing yarn with heat. Dua teaches that the at least some of the first plurality of yarns in the first zone that are fused together are fused through applying heat to the first zone (Para. 0128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aldrich with Dua's teaching of the at least some of the first plurality of yarns in the first zone being fused together are fused through applying heat to the first zone. Doing so would allow for a controlled fusing of the polymer to impart a more precise stiffness to the suspension member.
Re. Cl. 10, Aldrich discloses a chair (See Fig. 1) comprising a frame (Fig. 1, Ref. 14; Para. 0037-0039) and a carrier (Fig. 1, Ref. 18; Para. 0037-0039) retaining the suspension member of claim 1, wherein the suspension member extends across the frame (Fig. 1; Para. 0037-0039).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Aldrich US-20210045534-A1, Aldrich US-20240156265-A1, Kikuchi et al. US 20150173514 A1, Kuster US 20080160863 A1, Fujikawa US 20060207296 A1, Gregory US 6254190 B1, Weinle et al. US 4733545 A.
/GELILA KEBEDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632