DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 16-19, 21, 23, -25, 27, 29, 31-34, 36, 38-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Adest et al. (US 2008/0150366)
Re Claim 16; Adest discloses a photovoltaic system comprising:
a power bus. (the series-connected DC output circuit that connects the outputs of the panel-associated converters and supplies inverter 304/404. Adest ¶¶57, 61, 65–69 and 91; Figs. 3, 4A, 4B and 7.)
a system management unit configured to send one or more communications over the power bus (Adest discloses communication between the converters and their associated inverter and expressly states that power-line communications may be implemented on the same power line connecting the panels. The inverter sends an analog or digital release signal to the converters before they transfer power. Adest ¶114. Adest additionally discloses bidirectional communications with a central analysis station, including requests for converter data, over a communications bus that may be implemented as power-line communications. Adest ¶107.)
a local management unit coupled between the power bus and a photovoltaic module.
(Adest’s panel-associated DC-to-DC converter is connected at its input to the photovoltaic panel and at its output to the series power circuit. Adest ¶¶57, 61, 67, 88 and 91; Figs. 3 and 6.)
a controller configured to measure one or more electrical characteristics generated by the photovoltaic module. (Adest’s converter includes a microcontroller, current sensor 703 and voltage sensor 704. The current and voltage sensors measure the panel output current and voltage and supply those measurements to the controller. Adest ¶¶97–99 and 103.)
control an output of the local management unit to the power bus based on the one or more electrical characteristics. (The controller performs maximum-power-point tracking based on the measured panel voltage and current and controls the converter switches by PWM so that the desired power is transferred to the output terminals. Adest ¶¶57, 62, 64, 91 and 97–100.)
wherein the local management unit is configured to receive one or more communications from the system management unit over the power bus.:
(the converter receives the inverter’s release signal over the disclosed power-line communications path. Adest ¶114. The converter also receives requests over the bidirectional PLC embodiment of ¶107.)
Re Claim 17; Adest discloses that the measured electrical characteristics include a voltage generated by the photovoltaic module. (Voltage sensor 704 measures the photovoltaic panel output voltage, which is used by the microcontroller for MPPT control. Adest ¶¶99 and 103.)
Re Claim 18; Adest discloses that the measured electrical characteristics include current generated by the photovoltaic module. (Current sensor 703 supplies panel-current information to the microcontroller. Adest ¶¶98–99 and 102–103.)
Re Claim 19; Adest discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the output of the local management unit to the power bus based on the one or more communications. (The converter waits for an analog or digital release signal from its associated inverter before transferring significant power. Thus, whether the converter supplies power to its output is controlled based on the received communication. Adest ¶114.)
Re Claim 21; Adest’s discloses wherein the one or more communications comprise one or more commands sent from the system management unit to the local management unit (release signal is a command because it directs the converter either to withhold power or to commence power transfer. Adest ¶114.)
Re Claim 23; Adest discloses wherein the photovoltaic system comprises two or more local management units connected in series through the power bus. (multiple panel-associated converters whose outputs are connected in series through the DC power circuit. Adest ¶¶57, 65–69 and 91; Figs. 3 and 4A–4B.)
Re Claim 24; Adest discloses wherein the controller is further configured to identify a voltage of the photovoltaic module at which the photovoltaic module is at a maximum power point.
(Adest’s controller identifies and tracks the photovoltaic-panel voltage associated with maximum power. The controller varies the operating point, locks the input voltage/current at the optimum point, and dynamically tracks the maximum-power point as conditions change. Adest ¶¶62, 64 and 91.)
Re Claim 25; Adest discloses wherein: the local management unit is further configured to send one or more output signals to the system management unit, the system management unit is further configured to receive the one or more output signals from the local management unit, and the one or more output signals comprise at least one of: a voltage generated by the photovoltaic module, a current generated by the photovoltaic module, a synchronization signal, a temperature of the photovoltaic module, an ambient temperature, or a light intensity at the photovoltaic module.
(the converter sending output signals to a central analysis station. The transmitted sensor information includes panel voltage, panel current, panel temperature, ambient temperature and solar radiance. Solar radiance corresponds to the claimed light intensity. Adest ¶¶103–109.
Because claim 25 requires “at least one of” the listed signals, Adest’s transmission of voltage or current alone is sufficient; Adest nevertheless discloses several of the listed alternatives.)
Re Claim 27; Adest discloses wherein the system management unit is further configured to receive one or more sensor inputs.
(Adest’s central analysis station receives sensor inputs transmitted by the panel-associated converters, including current, voltage, temperature and radiance information. Adest ¶¶103–107.)
Re Claim 29; Adest discloses further comprising an inverter, wherein the system management unit is part of the inverter.
(Adest expressly places the system-management communication function in the associated inverter. The inverter communicates with the converters and issues the release signal over the power-line communication path. Adest ¶114; inverter 304/404 in Figs. 3 and 4.)
Re Claim 31; Adest discloses a local management unit comprising:
“one or more connections configured to couple the local management unit between a photovoltaic module … and a power bus”:
(converter 605 has input terminals coupled to solar panel 601 and output terminals coupled into the series output circuit. Adest ¶¶88 and 91; Fig. 6.)
a controller that measures panel-generated electrical characteristics: microcontroller 706 receives photovoltaic current and voltage measurements from sensors 703 and 704. Adest ¶¶97–99 and 103.
a controller that controls, through the converter’s input/output connections, the output supplied to the series power circuit based on those characteristics: the microcontroller performs MPPT and PWM control of the converter switches. Adest ¶¶62, 64, 91 and 97–100.
receipt of communications from a system-management unit over the power bus: the converter receives the associated inverter’s release signal through power-line communications on the panel power line. Adest ¶114.
Adest therefore anticipates independent claim 31 for substantially the same reasons as claim 16.
Re Claims 32 and 33; wherein the one or more electrical characteristics comprise a voltage generated by the photovoltaic module. And wherein the one or more electrical characteristics comprise a current generated by the photovoltaic module.
(Adest discloses measurement of panel voltage by voltage sensor 704 and panel current by current sensor 703. Adest ¶¶98–99 and 102–103.)
Re Claim 34; Adest discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the output of the local management unit to the power bus based on the one or more communications.
(Adest’s converter output is controlled based on the inverter’s communicated release signal: power transfer is withheld until that signal is received. Adest ¶114.)
Re Claim 36; Adest discloses wherein the one or more communications comprise one or more commands received from the system management unit.
(The inverter’s analog or digital release signal constitutes a command received from the system-management unit. Adest ¶114.)
Re Claim 38; Adest discloses wherein the local management unit is one of two or more local management units connected in series through the power bus.
(Each Adest converter is one of multiple local converters having series-connected outputs. Adest ¶¶57, 67–69 and 91; Figs. 3 and 4A–4B.)
Re Claim 39; Adest discloses wherein the controller is further configured to identify a voltage of the photovoltaic module at which the photovoltaic module is at a maximum power point.
(Adest identifies and dynamically tracks the photovoltaic-panel voltage/current operating point corresponding to maximum power. Adest ¶¶62, 64 and 91.)
Re Claim 40; Adest discloses wherein: the local management unit is further configured to send one or more output signals to the system management unit, and the one or more output signals comprise at least one of: a voltage generated by the photovoltaic module, a current generated by the photovoltaic module, a synchronization signal, a temperature of the photovoltaic module, an ambient temperature, or a light intensity at the photovoltaic module.
(Adest’s local converter sends sensor signals to the central analysis station, including panel voltage, current, panel temperature, ambient temperature and solar radiance/light intensity. Adest ¶¶103–109.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 20 and 35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §103(a) as unpatentable over Adest et al (US 2008/0150366)in view of Shaver. (US 2008/0238195)
Re Claims 20 and 35; Adest discloses the complete parent systems of claims 16 and 31 and discloses bidirectional PLC between the central system and the local converters. Adest ¶¶107 and 114.
Adest does not, however, expressly wherein the one or more communications comprise one or more parameters from the system management unit, and wherein the controller is further configured to control the output of the local management unit based on the one or more parameters and wherein the controller is further configured to control the output of the local management unit to the power bus based on one or more parameters received from the system management unit as part of the one or more communications.
Shaver supplies this limitation:
A system server gathers information and provides presetting of controls down to individual panels through the communication link to local DMPPT modules. Shaver ¶81.
Each local DMPPT controller accepts parameters from the system controller, including ambient-temperature and solar-insolation information, and uses those parameters together with locally derived information as control inputs to the local MPPT operation. Shaver ¶82.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to use Adest’s existing bidirectional PLC path to transmit Shaver’s preset control or environmental parameters to the Adest local converter. Both references use a supervisory controller communicating with panel-level MPPT converters. The substitution merely uses a known category of control message on an existing communications channel and predictably allows the local MPPT decision to account for array-wide or remotely measured operating conditions.
Thus:
For claim 20, Shaver teaches “one or more parameters from the system management unit” and controlling the local output based on those parameters.
For claim 35, Shaver teaches controlling the local output based on one or more parameters received from the system-management unit as part of the communications.
Claims 22 and 37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §103(a) as unpatentable over Adest in view of Bobier. (US 4,847,546)
Re Claim 22 and 27; Adest discloses the complete parent system and also discloses input capacitor 620 connected across the photovoltaic-panel input terminals of the local converter. Adest ¶¶88–89 and 95; Fig. 6. Adest further demonstrates that the output current of a panel-level converter can exceed the current then generated by the corresponding shaded panel: in the Fig. 4B example, the shaded panel produces about 1.43 A while the series converter output is about 4.6 A. Adest ¶¶73–75.
Adest does not expressly attribute that supplemental output current to discharge of capacitor 620.
Bobier expressly discloses:
an energy-storage component, preferably a capacitor, connected across the solar-panel output;
charging the capacitor from the solar panel; and
during conduction of the switching circuit, conveying current to the load from both the solar source and the energy-storage component, thereby enhancing the current supplied to the load.
See Bobier, Abstract; col. 3, approximately lines 45–68 through col. 4, approximately lines 1–27; Figs. 2, 2A and 9. Bobier also reports increased load current resulting from the switching and storage arrangement. Bobier, col. 6, approximately lines 10–27.
It would have been obvious to configure Adest’s already-present input capacitor and switching converter according to Bobier so that the capacitor temporarily supplies stored energy in addition to the instantaneous panel current. That modification would predictably buffer short-term panel-current deficiencies, help a series-connected converter maintain the string current during mismatch or shading, and permit the photovoltaic module to remain near its selected maximum-power operating point.
The combination therefore teaches a capacitor connected in parallel with the photovoltaic module and configured to provide supplemental current so that the output current flowing to the power bus can be larger than the instantaneous current generated by the photovoltaic module.
Bobier is an issued patent rather than a PGPUB, but it is the cleanest reference for the actual causal limitation in claims 22 and 37. An A1-only rejection based merely on Adest’s capacitor and current-conversion example would be appreciably weaker because Adest does not expressly identify the capacitor as the source of the supplemental current.
Claims 26 and 41 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §103(a) as unpatentable over Adest in view of Shaver. (US 2008/0238195)
Re Claim 26 and 41 Adest discloses the complete parent system and a local internal power supply 739 for its panel-level controller, but does not expressly identify the photovoltaic module as the source of the controller’s operating power. Adest ¶101.
Shaver discloses that each local DMPPT module is preferably powered locally from its attached solar panel, with its operating power derived from the respective panel. Shaver ¶47 and Fig. 1. Shaver explains that local panel power reduces wiring and improves system efficiency. Shaver also claims a local controller powered from its input DC bus.
It would have been obvious to power Adest’s local microcontroller and associated control electronics from the converter’s photovoltaic input, as taught by Shaver, because the necessary DC source is already present at each local converter. This would eliminate separate control-power conductors and produce the predictable wiring and efficiency benefits identified by Shaver.
Claim 28 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §103(a) as unpatentable over Adest.
Re Claim 28; Adest recognizes that series photovoltaic installations can reach dangerous voltages, including approximately 600 V, and discloses a safety mode in which the panel-level converters limit their outputs to safe levels until an appropriate load or release condition exists. Adest ¶¶113–114.
Adest does not expressly state that the selected safe limit is numerically derived from a governmental or electrical-code voltage limit.
It would have been obvious to select the disclosed safe output threshold so that the maximum aggregate string voltage remains below the applicable regulatory voltage limit. The number of series converters and their respective limited voltages are known system-design quantities; therefore, determining a per-converter threshold satisfying an applicable maximum system voltage would have required only predictable arithmetic. The modification directly furthers Adest’s stated objectives of avoiding dangerous voltage and reducing electrocution risk.
To the extent “based on a regulatory voltage limit” merely identifies why a predefined threshold was selected, rather than imposing a further structural or operational distinction, that language should be evaluated under the broadest-reasonable-interpretation and functional-language principles in MPEP §2111.
Claim 30 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §103(a) as unpatentable over Adest in view of McClintock. (US 2006/0237058)
Re Claim 30; Adest discloses the parent system and a supervisory station/inverter that sends communications to and receives monitoring information from the panel-level converters. Adest ¶¶107 and 114. Adest does not expressly locate that management functionality in a combiner box.
McClintock discloses:
a photovoltaic combiner box located between photovoltaic strings and an inverter;
a controller or head unit installed in the combiner box;
monitoring and control of individual photovoltaic strings and the overall photovoltaic system; and
a communications module capable of sending and receiving system information.
McClintock ¶¶2, 7–16 and 29–36; Fig. 3.
McClintock explains that integrating monitoring, control, data processing and communications into the combiner consolidates functions and reduces separate control-unit wiring, expense and installation error. McClintock ¶¶11–16.
It would therefore have been obvious to locate Adest’s supervisory communication and control functions in McClintock’s combiner-box controller. The references concern the same photovoltaic array-to-inverter power path, and the modification would predictably provide centralized string control and monitoring while obtaining McClintock’s expressly identified consolidation and wiring benefits.
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
09/02/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836