DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13 and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Klein et al. (US 2008/0236648)
Re Claim 1; Klein discloses a photovoltaic energy production system, comprising: a first solar module (404) having a first terminal (+) and a second terminal (-);
a second solar module (401) having a third terminal (421) and a fourth terminal (426);
a first switch (Q2) connected between the second terminal (-) and the third terminal (421) (Fig. 6); and
a second switch (Q1) connected between the first terminal (+) and the third terminal (421), (Fig. 6)
wherein in a first period of a duty cycle, the first switch is turned off to disconnect the second terminal and the third terminal, while the second switch is turned on to connect the first terminal and the third terminal, (Par 0036) and
wherein in a second period of the duty cycle, the first switch is turned on to connect the second terminal and the third terminal, while the second switch is turned off to disconnect the first terminal and the third terminal. (Par 0036)
a controller configured to control the first switch and the second switch based on operating parameters of the first solar module, wherein the controller receives input signals for controlling the first switch and the second switch, and wherein the input signals include duty cycle information, phase information, and a synchronization pulse. (Par 0029 and 36 Phase information is used to actively adjust the switch during the on and off cycles. Because the on and off states are out of phase with each other, the phase adjustment compensates for timing delays, ensuring the switch operates efficiently without overlapping signals or power loss.)
Re Claim 2; Klein discloses wherein the first solar module includes a plurality of serially connected solar cells. (Fig. 4)
Re Claim 4; Klein discloses wherein the controller controls the first period and the second period of the duty cycle. (Fig. 6 Par 0036)
Re Claim 5; Klein discloses wherein the controller is coupled to the first terminal for obtaining the operating parameters of the first solar module. (Fig. 6 Par 0036)
Re Claim 6; Klein discloses wherein the controller further configured to control the first switch and the second switch based on operating parameters of the second solar module. (Par 0023-5)
Re Claim 8; Klein discloses wherein the first terminal is connected to a power bus. (Fig. 4)
Re Claim 9; Klein discloses wherein the controller communicates with a system management unit through the power bus or wirelessly. (Par 0027)
Re Claim 10; Klein discloses wherein the system management unit sends the input signals corresponding to the operating parameters of the second solar module to the controller. (Par 0027)
Re Claim 11; Klein discloses wherein each of the first switch and the second switch is implemented by a transistor. (Fig. 6)
Re Claim 13; Klein discloses wherein the duty cycle is based on a ratio of an operating voltage of the first solar module relative to an operating voltage of the second solar module. (Par 27-30)
Re Claim 15; Klein discloses wherein the duty cycle is adjusted until a decrease in an operating voltage of the second solar module is detected. (Par 27-30)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 12 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Klein
Re Claim 12; Klein discloses comprising: a capacitor (C1) connected between the first terminal and the second terminal; and
a diode (D2) connected between the first terminal and the second terminal. (Fig. 6).
Klein does not disclose the diode (D2) connected between the first terminal and the third terminal.
However, coupling the diode (D2) connected between the first terminal and the third terminal would have been obvious in order to prevent a back flow of current back to the PV.
Re Claim 14; Klein discloses wherein the controller controls the first switch and the second switch
Klein does not disclose based in part on temperature data for the first solar module or the second solar module.
However, It is a universally established engineering fact that the power output and voltage of photovoltaic (PV) modules decrease as their temperature rises. Because the mathematical and physical relationship between temperature and module voltage/current is well-known in the industry, creating a control system that measures this predictable temperature and acts upon it requires no inventive skill.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Klein reference, Applicant notes that the pending claims, as amended herein, recite "a controller configured to control the first switch and the second switch based on operating parameters of the first solar module, wherein the controller receives input signals for controlling the first switch and the second switch, and wherein the input signals include duty cycle information, phase information, and a synchronization pulse," incorporating aspects of original claims 3 and 7. The Klein reference does not explicitly disclose these aspects of the pending claims. For example, the Klein reference does not disclose using input signals that include phase information and a synchronization pulse to control the first switch and the second switch.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagree, as shown in the rejection above, Klein discloses the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836