Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, “comprises a plastic layer, such corrugated plastic layer” should read “comprises a corrugated plastic layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann (US7798323B1) in view of Van Loon (US11786417B2).
Regarding claim 1,
McCann teaches A storage system for a patient support apparatus, said storage system comprising: a plurality of couplers interconnected and arranged in a plane to form a plurality of connection locations (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 5 57-59] Velcro 315 316 317 318) and being bounded by an outer boundary sized to fit in (McCann: FIG. 1 [Col. 5 66] two side edges 319 320) and to be fully contained in the section of the patient support at the lower surface of the patient support when mounted to the patient support (McCann: FIG. 1 [Col. 6 29-30] assemblies are designed to be secured to a wall or any suitable horizontal or vertical surface to allow the portable medical equipment), and said plurality of couplers for releasably attaching one or more modules at selected connection locations of said plurality of connection locations (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 5 57-59] Velcro 315 316 317 318); and at least one storage module removably attached to a selected coupler or selected couplers of said plurality of couplers in selected locations of said plurality of connection locations to removable secure said at least one module to the upper frame of the patient support (McCann: FIG. 4 [Col. 8 12-14] portable medical equipment pack and the column of pouches 440, 442, 444, and 446), and the storage module forming a compartment for storing one or more articles (McCann: FIG. 4 [Col. 8 12-14] portable medical equipment pack and the column of pouches 440, 442, 444, and 446).
McCann does not teach the patient support apparatus having an upper frame that forms a patient support and a base, the patient support having an upper surface for facing and supporting a patient thereon and a lower surface for facing the base, the patient support including a frame.
Van Loon teaches the patient support apparatus having an upper frame that forms a patient support and a base, the patient support having an upper surface for facing and supporting a patient thereon and a lower surface for facing the base (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 37] patient support frame 36), the patient support including a frame (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 37] patient support deck 38).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann in view of Van Loon directed to attaching a portable medical emergency equipment pack to a medical surface. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a portable medical equipment pack to be suspended to (Van Loon: [Col. 5 27-28]).
Regarding claim 2,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 1,
further comprising a plurality of the storage modules removably attached to selected couplers of said plurality of couplers in selected locations of said plurality of connection locations to releasably secure said plurality of storage modules to the upper frame of the patient support (McCann: FIG. 4 [Col. 7 7-10] different sized removable pouches that are secured to the interior side of the portable medical equipment pack via Velcro means. The pouches Store equipment therein, preferably medical equipment).
Regarding claim 3,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 2, further comprising a panel, and wherein said plurality of couplers are formed at said panel (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 5 43] portable medical equipment pack 301).
Regarding claim 4,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to any one of claim 3, wherein said panel includes a plurality of connectors to secure the panel to the patient support (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 6 24-25] medical equipment pack are assemblies 307, 308, 309 and 310).
Regarding claim 5,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 4, wherein said plurality of connectors comprises straps (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 6 24-25] medical equipment pack are assemblies 307, 308, 309 and 310).
Regarding claim 10,
McCann, as modified, teaches the storage system according to claim 2, wherein said couplers comprise couplers selected from a group consisting of magnets, snaps, and hook and loop fastener patches or strips (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 5 57-59] Velcro 315 316 317 318).
Regarding claim 11,
McCann, as modified, teaches A storage system for a patient support apparatus, said storage system comprising: a panel sized to fit and configured to be secured and fully contained in the space (McCann: FIG. 1 [Col. 5 25-27] loops are designed to allow the portable medical equipment pack be suspended from a vertical or quasi-vertical surface when in use at the site of an emergency) and said panel having a plurality of connection locations formed by a plurality of couplers (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 5 43] portable medical equipment pack 301) arranged in a plane at said panel for releasaby coupling a plurality of storage modules to said panel (McCann: FIG. 4 [Col. 8 12-14] portable medical equipment pack and the column of pouches 440, 442, 444, and 446), and said panel having an outer boundary sized to substantially traverse the space between the opposed sides of the frame when mounted to the patient support (McCann: FIG. 1 [Col. 5 25-27] loops are designed to allow the portable medical equipment pack be suspended from a vertical or quasi-vertical surface when in use at the site of an emergency).
McCann does not teach the patient support apparatus having an upper frame that forms a patient support and a base for supporting the patient support on a floor or the ground, the patient support having a tubular frame and a web that extends between the tubular frame, the web forming an upper surface for facing and supporting a patient thereon and a lower; surface for facing the base, and the lower surface and the tubular frame forming a space there between.
Van Loon teaches the patient support apparatus having an upper frame that forms a patient support and a base (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 37] patient support frame 36) for supporting the patient support on a floor or the ground, the patient support having a tubular frame and a web that extends between the tubular frame (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 37] patient support deck 38), the web forming an upper surface for facing and supporting a patient thereon and a lower (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 40] back section 41); surface for facing the base (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 40] back section 41), and the lower surface and the tubular frame forming a space there between (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 47] patient support deck 38), and to extend between opposed sides of the tubular frame adjacent or abutting the lower surface of the web when mounted to the patient support (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 40] back section 41).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann in view of Van Loon directed to attaching a portable medical emergency equipment pack to a medical surface. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a portable medical equipment pack to be suspended to (Van Loon: [Col. 5 27-28]).
Regarding claim 12,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 11, further comprising a plurality of the storage modules removably attached to selected couplers of said plurality of couplers in selected locations of said plurality of connection locations to releasably secure said plurality of storage modules to the upper frame of the patient support (McCann: FIG. 4 [Col. 7 7-10] different sized removable pouches that are secured to the interior side of the portable medical equipment pack via Velcro means. The pouches Store equipment therein, preferably medical equipment).
Regarding claim 13,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 12, wherein said couplers comprise couplers selected from a group consisting of magnets, snaps, and hook and loop fastener patches or strips (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 5 57-59] Velcro 315 316 317 318).
Regarding claim 17,
McCann, as modified, teaches A storage system comprising: a panel, said panel being sized to fit and being secured in said space, said panel extending between said opposed sides of said frame and beneath said transverse member and being adjacent or abutting said lower surface of said patient support (McCann: FIG. 1 [Col. 5 25-27] loops are designed to allow the portable medical equipment pack be suspended from a vertical or quasi-vertical surface when in use at the site of an emergency); and said panel having a plurality of connection locations formed by a plurality of couplers arranged in a plane at the panel for releasably coupling a plurality of storage modules to said panel (McCann: FIG. 4 [Col. 7 7-10] different sized removable pouches that are secured to the interior side of the portable medical equipment pack via Velcro means. The pouches Store equipment therein, preferably medical equipment), and said panel having an outer perimeter sized to substantially traverse said space between said opposed sides of said tubular frame (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 37] patient support deck 38); and a plurality of the storage modules removably attached to selected couplers of said plurality of couplers in selected locations of said plurality of connection locations to releasably secure said plurality of storage modules to the upper frame of the patient support (McCann: FIG. 4 [Col. 7 7-10] different sized removable pouches that are secured to the interior side of the portable medical equipment pack via Velcro means. The pouches Store equipment therein, preferably medical equipment).
McCann does not teach a patient support apparatus, said patient support apparatus having an upper frame and a base, said base for supporting said patient support on a floor or the ground, said upper frame having a tubular perimeter frame, a transverse frame member extending between opposed sides of said tubular perimeter and a web extending between opposed sides of said tubular frame and adjacent said transverse frame member, said web being formed by a plate, said plate forming an upper surface for facing and supporting a patient thereon and a lower surface for facing said base, and said lower surface, said transverse frame member, and said tubular perimeter frame forming a space there between.
Van Loon teaches a patient support apparatus, said patient support apparatus having an upper frame and a base (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 37] patient support frame 36), said base for supporting said patient support on a floor or the ground, said upper frame having a tubular perimeter frame (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 37] patient support deck 38), a transverse frame member extending between opposed sides of said tubular perimeter (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 37] patient support deck 38) and a web extending between opposed sides of said tubular frame and adjacent said transverse frame member (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 40] back section 41), said web being formed by a plate, said plate forming an upper surface for facing and supporting a patient thereon and a lower surface for facing said base (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 40] back section 41), and said lower surface, said transverse frame member, and said tubular perimeter frame forming a space there between (Van Loon: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 37] patient support deck 38);
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann in view of Van Loon directed to attaching a portable medical emergency equipment pack to a medical surface. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a portable medical equipment pack to be suspended to (Van Loon: [Col. 5 27-28]).
Regarding claim 18,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 17, wherein said couplers comprise couplers selected from a group consisting of magnets, snaps, and hook and loop fastener patches or strips (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 5 57-59] Velcro 315 316 317 318).
Claim(s) 6-9, 14-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann (US7798323B1) in view of Van Loon (US11786417B2) in further view of Millgate (US2867045A).
Regarding claim 6,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 2, and said couplers secured to said core layer to form said plurality of connection locations (McCann: FIG. 4 [Col. 7 7-10] different sized removable pouches that are secured to the interior side of the portable medical equipment pack via Velcro means. The pouches Store equipment therein, preferably medical equipment).
McCann, as modified, teaches wherein said panel comprises a core layer.
Millgate teaches wherein said panel comprises a core layer (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann, as modified, in view of Millgate directed to including a display device comprised of rigid plastic material. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a unitary, rigid, and transportable display device (Millgate: [Col. 2 16-18]).
Regarding claim 7,
McCann, as modified, teaches the storage system according to claim 6.
McCann, as modified, does not teach wherein said panel includes one or more hook and loop fastener layers glued, stitched, or welded to said core layer.
Millgate teaches wherein said panel includes one or more hook and loop fastener layers glued, stitched, or welded to said core layer (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann, as modified, in view of Millgate directed to including a display device comprised of rigid plastic material. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a unitary, rigid, and transportable display device (Millgate: [Col. 2 16-18]).
Regarding claim 8,
McCann, as modified, teaches the storage system according to claim 7.
McCann, as modified, does not teach wherein said core layer comprises a plastic layer, such corrugated plastic layer.
Millgate wherein said core layer comprises a plastic layer, such corrugated plastic layer (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann, as modified, in view of Millgate directed to including a display device comprised of rigid plastic material. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a unitary, rigid, and transportable display device (Millgate: [Col. 2 16-18]).
Regarding claim 9,
McCann, as modified, teaches the storage system according to claim 7, wherein said hook and loop fastener layer comprises a first hook and loop fastener layer, further comprising a second said hook and loop fastener layer (McCann: FIG. 3 [Col. 5 57-59] Velcro 315 316 317 318),
McCann does not teach and said core layer sandwiched between said first and second hook and loop fastener layers.
Millgate teaches and said core layer sandwiched between said first and second hook and loop fastener layers (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann, as modified, in view of Millgate directed to including a display device comprised of rigid plastic material. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a unitary, rigid, and transportable display device (Millgate: [Col. 2 16-18]).
Regarding claim 14,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 13.
McCann, as modified, does not teach wherein said panel comprises a core layer, and said couplers being secured to said core layer to form said plurality of connection locations.
Millgate teaches wherein said panel comprises a core layer (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material), and said couplers being secured to said core layer to form said plurality of connection locations (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann, as modified, in view of Millgate directed to including a display device comprised of rigid plastic material. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a unitary, rigid, and transportable display device (Millgate: [Col. 2 16-18]).
Regarding claim 15,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 14.
McCann, as modified, does not teach wherein said core layer comprises a plastic layer.
Millgate teaches wherein said core layer comprises a plastic layer (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann, as modified, in view of Millgate directed to including a display device comprised of rigid plastic material. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a unitary, rigid, and transportable display device (Millgate: [Col. 2 16-18]).
Regarding claim 16,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 15.
McCann, as modified, teaches wherein said plastic layer comprises a corrugated plastic layer.
Millgate teaches wherein said plastic layer comprises a corrugated plastic layer (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann, as modified, in view of Millgate directed to including a display device comprised of rigid plastic material. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a unitary, rigid, and transportable display device (Millgate: [Col. 2 16-18]).
Regarding claim 19,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 18, and said couplers being secured to said core layer to form said plurality of connection locations (McCann: FIG. 4 [Col. 7 7-10] different sized removable pouches that are secured to the interior side of the portable medical equipment pack via Velcro means. The pouches Store equipment therein, preferably medical equipment).
McCann, as modified, does not teach wherein said panel comprises a core layer.
Millgate teaches wherein said panel comprises a core layer (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann, as modified, in view of Millgate directed to including a display device comprised of rigid plastic material. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a unitary, rigid, and transportable display device (Millgate: [Col. 2 16-18]).
Regarding claim 20,
McCann, as modified, teaches The storage system according to claim 19.
McCann, as modified, does not teach wherein said core layer comprises a plastic layer.
Millgate teaches wherein said core layer comprises a plastic layer (Millgate: FIG. 1 [Col. 2 16-17] display device 10 of rigid plastic material).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCann, as modified, in view of Millgate directed to including a display device comprised of rigid plastic material. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a unitary, rigid, and transportable display device (Millgate: [Col. 2 16-18]).
Conclusion
/JOSEANE E. TEJADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/DAVID R HARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
3/24/2026