Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“feeding unit” in claim 1. The specification provides corresponding structure as comprising “a feeding motor 88 , a fixed base 90 , a feeding guide 92 , a transmission roller 94 , a first roller 96 , a second roller 98 , a link member 100 , and a biasing member 102” with an additional embodiment comprising “a slide member 300 , a support member 302 , a biasing member 304 , and an actuation member 306” ([0107]).
“guide unit” in claim 1. The specification provides corresponding structure as comprising “a first guide member 110 , a second guide member 112 , a first pin 114 , a second pin 115 , and a wire guide 116” ([0121])
“bending member” in claim 1. The specification provides corresponding structure as comprising “a plate shape” and “a contact surface 194. The contact surface 194 is a part of the upper surface of the bending member 192” ([0148-0149]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danholt et al. (WO 9418419), hereinafter Danholt.
Re Claim 1, Danholt discloses a rebar tying machine comprising:
a feeding unit configured to feed a wire (clip-supplying arrangement 40 comprising clip passage 24, clip-supplying member 42, pneumatic cylinder 48, piston rod 49, U-shaped profiles 51 and 52, and cut 55, as described in “Clip-Supplying Arrangement” section of the specification, Pg. 12, Line 21 – Pg. 13, Line 33 );
a guide unit configured to guide the wire around rebars (“The means for bending the leg parts is in this preferred embodiment of the apparatus 1 a member 6 having concavely curved guiding surfaces 10 and 11 in the form of two grooves 12 and 13 into which each of the free ends of the leg parts is forced.” Pg. 9, Lines 10-14);
a cutter (knife member 81 and 82) configured to cut the wire (Fig. 4);
a clamp (holding hooks 76 and 77) configured to be rotatable about a center axis and hold the wire (“The purpose of the holding hooks is to grasp the wire ends and hold them under the twining process” Pg. 15, Lines 25-26);
a main body housing (outer casing 2) supporting the feeding unit (“The clip-supplying member 42 is moved by means of a pneumatic cylinder 48 mounted within the outer casing 2” Pg. 9, Lines 35-36); and
a bending member (flange 78) configured to bend an end portion of the wire toward the rebars (“Secondly, the ends of the leg parts 106 and 107 are bent around edges 91 and 92 of the holding hooks 76 and 77 when the flange 78 passes by the holding hooks” Pg. 16, Line 6-8), wherein the end portion of the wire is formed by the cutter cutting the wire (“Firstly, the flange 78 of the stationary part 62 acts as a counterpart to the knife members 81 and 82 so that they together with the knives form two pairs of shears” Pg. 16, Line 3-5), wherein the bending member is configured to bend the end portion of the wire toward the rebars while the wire is twisted by rotation of the clamp (“The pneumatic motor 70 is then activated, resulting in a rotation of the pinion 72, the toothed wheel 68 and the thereto attached holding hooks 76 and 77 and knife members 81 and 82 relative to the stationary part 62.” Pg. 15, Line 34 – Pg. 16, Line 3).
Re Claim 2, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the bending member is immovable relative to the main body housing (“the flange 78 of the stationary part 62” Pg. 16, Lines 3-4).
Re Claim 3, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the center axis extends in a front-rear direction (see Fig. 4, illustrated below), the clamp is located rearward of the rebars (see Fig. 4, illustrated below), the bending member includes a contact surface inclined to the center axis in the front-rear direction (see Fig. 4, illustrated below), wherein the contact surface contacts the end portion of the wire while the wire is twisted by the rotation of the clamp (Pg 15, Line 34 – Pg. 16, Line 8), and a front end of the contact surface is farther away from the center axis than a rear end of the contact surface is (see Fig. 4, illustrated below).
Fig. 4 of Danholt, illustrated
Re Claim 4, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above), wherein the contact surface is gradually farther away from the center axis from the rear end toward the front end of the contact surface (Fig. 4 shows the contact surface is at an incline).
Re Claim 6, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above),wherein the contact surface is located forward of the cutter (Fig. 4).
Re Claim 7, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above), wherein the contact surface is located closer to the center axis than the cutter is (the portion of the flange, with its contact surface as defined in Fig. 4, that touches the part of central part that defines hole 79 is closer to the central axis than the portion of the knife that touches first rotatable part 64; see Fig. 3, illustrated below; “The central part 69, which as mentioned above is stationary relative to the rotatable toothed wheel 68 and the metal sheets 57 and 58 attached thereto, defines a flange 78 extending radially from the central part 69 and in between the metal sheets 57 and 58 and forming a counterpart to the knife members 81 and 82.” Pg. 15, Line 19-24).
Fig. 3 of Danholt, illustrated
Re Claim 8, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the bending member is fixed to the guide unit (“The member 6 is fastened to the lower part of the outer casing 2.” Pg. 9, Lines 16-17, Fig. 1 shows outer casing 2 connected to bottom cover plate 67 and bottom cover plate connected to stationary part 62 which comprises central part 69 which forms flange 78).
Re Claim 9, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above), wherein the bending member defines a part of a wire passage through which the wire passes, between the bending member and the guide unit (see Fig. 4, illustrated above).
Re Claim 10, Danholt a discloses method for tying rebars with a wire, comprising:
winding the wire around the rebars “a U-shaped wire length of the above-mentioned type is supplied and arranged so that the leg parts of the wire length embrace the first and second reinforcement rods 101 and 102, and the connecting part is arranged adjacent to the first reinforcement rod 101 so that the free ends of the leg parts extend in a first general direction,while the U-shaped wire length is arranged around the reinforcement rods 101 and 102, the leg parts of the wire length are, from the moment they reach the grooves 12 and 13, simultaneously bent in opposite directions in the grooves 12 and 13 and around the second reinforcement rod 102 so that the free ends of the U-shaped wire length are directed in a second general direction (towards the upper part of the apparatus) in such a way that the free ends are gripped and subsequently cut to the right length and intertwined by the binding assembly” Pg. 17, Lines 19-34;
holding a leading end of the wire (“The purpose of the holding hooks is to grasp the wire ends and hold them under the twining process.” Pg. 15, Lines 25-26);
cutting the wire (“Firstly, the flange 78 of the stationary part 62 acts as a counterpart to the knife members 81 and 82 so that they together with the knives form two pairs of shears” Pg. 16, Line 3-5);
twisting the wire around the rebars (“The leg parts 106 and 107 are then intertwined” Pg. 16, Lines 8-9); and
bending an end portion of the wire towards the rebars, wherein the end portion of the wire is formed by cutting the wire (“Secondly, the ends of the leg parts 106 and 107 are bent around edges 91 and 92 of the holding hooks 76 and 77 when the flange 78 passes by the holding hooks” Pg. 16, Line 6-8),
wherein the bending of the end portion of the wire is executed during the twisting of the wire (the ends of leg parts 106 and 107 are bent during the first twist/rotation of the twisting of the wire).
Re Claim 11, Danholt discloses a rebar tying machine comprising:
a feeding unit configured to feed a wire (clip-supplying arrangement 40 comprising clip passage 24, clip-supplying member 42, pneumatic cylinder 48, piston rod 49, U-shaped profiles 51 and 52, and cut 55, as described in “Clip-Supplying Arrangement” section of the specification, Pg. 12, Line 21 – Pg. 13, Line 33);
a guide unit configured to guide the wire around rebars (“The means for bending the leg parts is in this preferred embodiment of the apparatus 1 a member 6 having concavely curved guiding surfaces 10 and 11 in the form of two grooves 12 and 13 into which each of the free ends of the leg parts is forced.” Pg. 9, Lines 10-14);
a cutter (knife member 81 and 82) configured to cut the wire (Fig. 4);
a twisting unit (holding hooks 76 and 77) configured to hold and twist the wire (“The purpose of the holding hooks is to grasp the wire ends and hold them under the twining process” Pg. 15, Lines 25-26);
a main body housing (outer casing 2) supporting the feeding unit (“The clip-supplying member 42 is moved by means of a pneumatic cylinder 48 mounted within the outer casing 2” Pg. 9, Lines 35-36); and
a bending member (flange 78) separate from the twisting unit (Fig. 4), wherein the bending member is fixed in position relative to the main body housing (“the flange 78 of the stationary part 62” Pg. 16, Lines 3-4) and configured to bend an end portion of the wire toward the rebars (“Secondly, the ends of the leg parts 106 and 107 are bent around edges 91 and 92 of the holding hooks 76 and 77 when the flange 78 passes by the holding hooks” Pg. 16, Line 6-8), and the end portion of the wire is formed by the cutter cutting the wire (“Firstly, the flange 78 of the stationary part 62 acts as a counterpart to the knife members 81 and 82 so that they together with the knives form two pairs of shears” Pg. 16, Line 3-5),
wherein the bending member is configured to bend the end portion of the wire toward the rebars after the cutter has cut the wire (Fig. 4 shows the wire at the beginning of the cutting process before it has been twisted) and before the twisting unit finishes twisting the wire (“The leg parts 106 and 107 are then intertwined until the tension in the wire overcomes the fixing performed by the bend 90, after which the ends of the leg parts 106 and 107 will slide out of the holding hooks 76 and 77 and the joining will be accomplished” Pg. 16, Lines 8-12).
`Re Claim 12, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above), wherein a center axis of the twisting unit extends in a front-rear direction (see Figs. 3 or 4, illustrated above), the twisting unit is located rearward of the rebars (see Figs. 3 or 4, illustrated above), the bending member includes a contact surface inclined to the center axis in the front-rear direction (see Figs. 3 or 4, illustrated above), wherein the contact surface contacts the end portion of the wire while the wire is twisted by the twisting unit (Pg 15, Line 34 – Pg. 16, Line 8), and a front end of the contact surface is farther away from the center axis than a rear end of the contact surface is (see Fig. 4, illustrated above)
Re Claim 13, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above), wherein the contact surface is gradually farther away from the center axis from the rear end toward the front end of the contact surface (Fig. 4 shows the contact surface is at an incline).
Re Claim 15, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above), wherein the contact surface is located forward of the cutter (Fig. 4).
Re Claim 16, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above), wherein the contact surface is located closer to the center axis than the cutter is (the portion of the flange, with its contact surface as defined in Fig. 4, that touches the part of central part that defines hole 79 is closer to the central axis than the portion of the knife that touches first rotatable part 64; see Fig. 3, illustrated above; “The central part 69, which as mentioned above is stationary relative to the rotatable toothed wheel 68 and the metal sheets 57 and 58 attached thereto, defines a flange 78 extending radially from the central part 69 and in between the metal sheets 57 and 58 and forming a counterpart to the knife members 81 and 82.” Pg. 15, Line 19-24).
Re Claim 17, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above), wherein the bending member is fixed to the guide unit (“The member 6 is fastened to the lower part of the outer casing 2.” Pg. 9, Lines 16-17, Fig. 1 shows outer casing 2 connected to bottom cover plate 67 and bottom cover plate connected to stationary part 62 which comprises central part 69 which forms flange 78).
Re Claim 18, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above), wherein the bending member defines a part of a wire passage through which the wire passes, between the bending member and the guide unit (see Fig. 4, illustrated above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danholt.
Re Claim 5, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above), but fails to disclose that the contact surface is curved.
Danholt discloses a contact surface, but does not explicitly disclose that the contact surface is curved. However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Danholt in the claimed manner, since it has been held that merely changing the shape of features taught in the prior art is an obvious matter of design and/or engineering choice (MPEP § 2144.04 subsection IV.B).
Re Claim 14, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above), but fails to disclose that the contact surface is curved.
Danholt discloses a contact surface, but does not explicitly disclose that the contact surface is curved. However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Danholt in the claimed manner, since it has been held that merely changing the shape of features taught in the prior art is an obvious matter of design and/or engineering choice (MPEP § 2144.04 subsection IV.B).
Re Claim 19, Danholt discloses the rebar tying machine according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the center axis extends in a front-rear direction (see Fig. 4, illustrated below), the clamp is located rearward of the rebars (see Fig. 4, illustrated below), the bending member includes a contact surface inclined to the center axis in the front-rear direction (see Fig. 4, illustrated below), the contact surface contacts the end portion of the wire while the wire is twisted by the rotation of the clamp (Pg 15, Line 34 – Pg. 16, Line 8), a front end of the contact surface is farther away from the center axis than a rear end of the contact surface is (see Fig. 4, illustrated above), the contact surface is gradually farther away from the center axis from the rear end toward the front end of the contact surface (Fig. 4 shows the contact surface is at an incline), the contact surface is located forward of the cutter (Fig. 4), the contact surface is located closer to the center axis than the cutter is (the portion of the flange, with its contact surface as defined in Fig. 4, that touches the part of central part that defines hole 79 is closer to the central axis than the portion of the knife that touches first rotatable part 64; see Fig. 3, illustrated below; “The central part 69, which as mentioned above is stationary relative to the rotatable toothed wheel 68 and the metal sheets 57 and 58 attached thereto, defines a flange 78 extending radially from the central part 69 and in between the metal sheets 57 and 58 and forming a counterpart to the knife members 81 and 82.” Pg. 15, Line 19-24), the bending member is fixed to the guide unit (“The member 6 is fastened to the lower part of the outer casing 2.” Pg. 9, Lines 16-17, Fig. 1 shows outer casing 2 connected to bottom cover plate 67 and bottom cover plate connected to stationary part 62 which comprises central part 69 which forms flange 78), and the bending member defines a part of a wire passage through which the wire passes, between the bending member and the guide unit (see Fig. 4, illustrated above).
Danholt does not disclose that the contact surface is curved.
Danholt discloses a contact surface, but does not explicitly disclose that the contact surface is curved. However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Danholt in the claimed manner, since it has been held that merely changing the shape of features taught in the prior art is an obvious matter of design and/or engineering choice (MPEP § 2144.04 subsection IV.B).
Conclusion
/W.D.D./
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725