Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamano et al. (JP2000077186). The machine translation is replied upon for the rejection purposes.
Regarding claims 1-6, Tamano discloses the following compounds that read on the claimed compound recited in claims 1- 6, specifically the claimed compound 1-3, when Y1-Y4 are O, X1-X7 and X10-X11 each independently represent hydrogen, C1-C30 alkyl, or C6-C30 aryl.
Regarding claim 10, Tamano discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising the compound of claim 1 (para 0005, 0063-64).
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (US20190036059).
Regarding claims 1-6, Ji discloses the following compounds (84-131), that read on the claimed compound recited in claims 1- 6, specifically the claimed compounds 1-1, 1-2, 1-3, and 1-4.
Regarding claim 8-9, Ji discloses a plurality of host materials (organic layer) comprising two or more hosts (para 0109). The host contains one of the above compounds and also the following compounds (para 0128).
Regarding claim 10, Ji discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising the compound of claim 1 (para 0092).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US20190036059).
Ji discloses the compounds below, wherein Y 2 and Y4 is independently selected from the group consisting of O, N-Ph or NR (para 0085), R and R4-R7 are each hydrogen, aryl or heteroaryl (para 0083)
Ji does not disclose the invention with sufficient specificity because there is some picking and choosing of Y and R groups from the options disclosed in Ji. However, given that Ji teaches the elected substituent groups bonded in the claimed positions to the same 8-membered ring circulene core structure, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the particular claimed groups from the embodiments of R and X groups taught, disclosed and/or suggested by Ji to arrive at the claimed compounds C-29-C-35, C-181, 132 and C-133.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-9, and 11 of copending Application No. 17/209181 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 17/209181 contains substantially similar organic electroluminescent compounds.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
6/4/2026