DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0160860; hereinafter Yin) in view Min (US Patent Publication No. 2010/0162011).
With reference to claim 1, Yin discloses a control device (104) having image output (in teaching the usage of display devices as the receiving apparatus (106); see paragraphs 26-27; Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a transmission interface (104) having a first transmission port (P1) and a second transmission port (P2) (see paragraphs 26, 28; Figs. 1-2); and
a control circuit (302, 304), wherein, when the first transmission port (P1) is connected to a handheld device (106), the control device (302, 304) obtains a first input power (PPIN1) supplied by the handheld device (106) through the first transmission port (P1) (see paragraph 29), and when the second transmission port (P2) is connected to a first external device (106’), the control circuit (302, 304) identifies the first external device (106’) (see paragraph 30; Fig. 3); wherein, when the control circuit (302, 304) identifies that the first external device (106’) is a display device, the control circuit (302, 304) controls the first input power (PPIN1) to be output to the second transmission port (P2) to supply power to the display device (106’) (in teaching controlling the signal transmission path switching unit to transmit to the receiving apparatus with the higher priority; see paragraphs 29-30; Fig. 3), and the control circuit obtains a display signal from the handheld device through the first transmission port, and controls the display signal to be output through the second transmission port to the display device for display (in teaching data signal (DPIN) being transmitted to the receiving apparatus; see paragraphs 26, 30; Fig. 3).
While disclosing the power and data signals, Yin fails to disclose the charging device as recited.
Min discloses a control device (100) (see paragraphs 39-40; Figs. 1-2); wherein, when the control circuit (160) identifies that the first external device (300) is a charging device (see paragraphs 23, 40, 2; Figs. 1-2), the control circuit (160) stops receiving the first input power (200) (see paragraph 24; Figs. 1-2) and obtains a second input power supplied by the charging device (300) through the second transmission port (see paragraph 25; Figs. 1-2), and the control device (100) controls the second input power (300) to be output to the first transmission port (140) to supply power to the handheld device (100).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a control circuit for switching the power supply similar to that which is taught by Min to be carried out in an arrangement similar to that which is taught by Yin to thereby allow the handheld device to be recharged (see Min; paragraphs 39-40).
With reference to claim 7, Yin discloses a control device (104) having image output (in teaching the usage of display devices as the receiving apparatus (106); see paragraphs 26-27; Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a transmission interface (104) having a first transmission port (P1), a second transmission port (P2), and a third transmission port (connection between (102) and (104); see paragraph 27; Fig. 3); and
a control circuit (302, 304), wherein, when the first transmission port (P1) is connected to a handheld device (106), the control circuit (302, 304) obtains a first input power (PPIN1) supplied by the handheld device (106) through the first transmission port (P1) (see paragraph 29), and wherein, when the second transmission port (P2) is connected to the handheld device (106) and the third transmission port is connected to a second external device (102), the control circuit identifies the first external device (106’) (see paragraphs 29-30; Fig. 3);
wherein, when the control circuit (302, 304) identifies that the first external device (106’) is a charging device and the second external device connected to the third transmission port is a display device (in teaching controlling the signal transmission path switching unit to transmit to the receiving apparatus with the higher priority; see paragraphs 29-30; Fig. 3),
wherein the control circuit obtains a display signal of the handheld device through the first transmission port, and controls the display signal to be output through the third transmission port to the display device for display (see paragraphs 28-30; Figs. 3, 7); the control circuit stops receiving the first input power, obtains a second input power supplied by the charging device through the second transmission port, and controls the second input power to be output to the first transmission port to supply power to the handheld device and output to the third transmission port to supply power to the display device (in teaching controlling the signal transmission path switching unit to transmit to the receiving apparatus with the higher priority; see paragraphs 29-30; Fig. 3).
While disclosing the power and data signals, Yin fails to disclose the charging device as recited.
Min discloses a handheld device (100) having a control device (160) (see paragraphs 39-40; Figs. 1-2); wherein, when the control circuit (160) identifies that the first external device (300) is a charging device (see paragraphs 23, 40, 2; Figs. 1-2), the control circuit (160) stops receiving the first input power (200) (see paragraph 24; Figs. 1-2) and obtains a second input power supplied by the charging device (300) through the second transmission port (see paragraph 25; Figs. 1-2), and the control device (160) controls the second input power (300) to be output to the first transmission port (140) to supply power to the handheld device (100).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a control circuit for switching the power supply similar to that which is taught by Min to be carried out in an arrangement similar to that which is taught by Yin to thereby allow the handheld device to be recharged (see Min; paragraphs 39-40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. With reference to claims 2, 8, and 11, none of the references teach the first and second identification pins connected to the first and second transmission ports, respectively, wherein a data transmission circuit is connected to the first and second transmission port; a peripheral input device and controller, wherein the controller is connected to the first transmission port and the peripheral input device; and a power transmission circuit connected to the first and second transmission port, the transmission controller and the peripheral controller for controlling power transmission as recited. Claims 3-6, 9-10, and 12-20 depend therefrom and are objected based on dependency. For these reasons the claims are objected to, but would be allowable if written in independent form.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HO (US2008/0061736) discloses a multi-function cable including a first transmission port connected to a charger or a personal computer and used to transmit electric power or data (see paragraphs 16-24; Figs. 1-4).
SHENG et al. (US20120280960) discloses a display device, a data source device and an external power supply, wherein port connections transmit power and data signals between the devices (see paragraphs 43-57; Figs. 6-9).
Conclusion
/ADE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2625 /WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625