DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “a hardness of the first adhesive layer, the second adhesive layer, and the third adhesive layer increases based on a distance to the foldable display.” However, this limitation is unclear because it is not clear if the hardness for each of the first adhesive layer, the second adhesive layer, and the third adhesive layer increases as the layers are closer to the foldable display, or if the opposite occurs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2021-0056102 A with a machine translation (concurrently filed) (hereinafter “Choi”) being used as the English language equivalent translation, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0051881 (hereinafter “Park”).Regarding claims 1, 13, 14 and 16 Choi teaches a foldable display device (electronic device) 10 comprising a first frame (housing) 300 and a second frame (housing) 300, where the foldable display device (electronic device) 10 is folded symmetrically or asymmetrically with respect to a folding line (abstract; paragraphs [0034] and [0037]; and Figures 1 and 8), which corresponds to the second housing being rotatably connected to the first housing. Choi teaches the foldable display device (electronic device) 10 comprises a foldable display unit 100 connected to the first frame (housing) 300 and a second frame (housing) 300 (paragraph [0034]; and Figures 1), where the foldable display unit 100 comprises a flexible display panel (foldable display) 101 (paragraph [0039]; and Figures 2-3), which corresponds to a foldable display connected to the first housing and the second housing. Choi teaches a cover window (cover window) 200 disposed on the display panel (foldable display) 101 to cover the display panel (foldable display) 101 (paragraphs [0039] – [0041]; and Figures 2-7), which corresponds to a cover window configured to protect the foldable display. Choi teaches the cover window (cover window) 200 comprises a first non-folded portion (first flat area connected to the first housing) 210, a second non-folded portion (second flat area connected to the second housing) 210, and a folded portion (bending area) 220 between the first non-folded portion (first flat area connected to the first housing) 210 and the second non-folded portion (second flat area connected to the second housing) 210 (Figures 1-3, 5, 6 and 8, including Annotated Figure 2, shown below; and paragraph [0044]). Choi teaches the cover window (cover window) 200 comprises a first cover window layer (protective layer) 201 forming at least a portion of an outer surface of the cover window (cover window) 200, a second window layer (glass) 202, which may be made of the same material as the first cover window layer (protective layer) 201 such as glass, where the second window layer (glass) 202 includes a first glass provided at least partially in the first flat area, and a second glass spaced apart from the first glass and provided at least partially in the second flat area (paragraphs [0045] – [0047]; and Figure 2-8, including Annotated Figure 2, shown below).
Choi teaches an optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203 provided at least partially between the first cover window layer (protective layer) 201 and the second window layer (glass) 202 having a first hardness, another adhesive layer (second adhesive layer) 241 provided at least partially between the second window layer (glass) 202 and the flexible display panel (foldable display) 101 and having a second hardness, and yet another adhesive (third adhesive layer) 241 bordered by the second window layer (glass) 202, the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203, and the other adhesive layer (second adhesive layer) 241 and having a third hardness (paragraphs [0050], [0051] and [0056]; and Figures 2-7, including Annotated Figure 7, shown below).
Choi does not explicitly teach a hardness for the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203, the other adhesive layer (second adhesive layer) 241, and the yet another adhesive (third adhesive layer) 241. Park teaches a foldable display device 100 comprising a folding area FA and non-folding areas NFA (abstract; paragraphs [0044] – [0046];and Figures 1-9). Park teaches when the foldable display device 100 is folded, components of the foldable display device 100 slip with respect to each other so that edges of the components of the foldable display device 100 do not overlap or are spaced apart from each other, where components of the foldable display device 100 being permitted to slip relieves stress that is generated at the time of folding (paragraph [0086]). Park teaches adhesive layers disposed between components of the foldable display device 100 may vary depending on a protruding degree of edges of the components and a slipping degree of the edges of the components of the foldable display device 100, where the variation of the adhesive layers includes a variation of the hardness or adhesiveness of the adhesive material (paragraph [0087]). Park also teaches as the hardness or the adhesiveness of the adhesive material is increased, the slipping degree of the components of the foldable display device 100 may be reduced by the adhesive material (Id). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the hardness for each of the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203 (first hardness of the first adhesive layer), the other adhesive layer (second adhesive layer) 241 (second hardness of the second adhesive layer), and the yet another adhesive (third adhesive layer) 241 (third hardness of the third adhesive layer) of Choi to impart a desired slipping degree for adjacent components/layers via each of the adhesive layers in order to relieve stress generated at the time of folding, as taught by Park. The combination of Choi and Park does not explicitly teach: (i) the third hardness is greater than the first hardness and the second hardness; (ii) the first hardness has a Shore hardness in a range from 0 to 10, the second hardness has a Shore hardness in a range from 10 to 15, and the third hardness has a Shore hardness in a range from 16 to 20; and/or (iii) a hardness of the first adhesive layer, the second adhesive layer, and the third adhesive layer increases based on a distance to the foldable display. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate hardness for each of the aforementioned adhesive layers, and the differences therebetween, using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve the desired slipping degree and resultant stress generation attenuation. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Regarding claim 2 In addition, Choi illustrates the first glass comprises a first end having the second glass and having a chamfered shape, and the second glass comprises a second end facing the first glass and having a chamfered shape (Annotated Figure 2, shown above).Regarding claim 3 In addition, Choi illustrates: (i) the second window layer (glass) 202 has a front surface facing the first cover window layer (protective layer) 201, and a rear surface opposite to the front surface and facing the display panel (foldable display) 101; (ii) the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203 has a surface (first flat portion) above the front surface, and a thickness (first protruding portion) extending from the surface (first flat portion) and provided above the first end, the second end, and the third adhesive layer; and (iii) the second adhesive layer has a surface (second flat portion) under the rear surface, and a thickness (second protruding portion) extending from the surface (second flat portion) and provided under the first end, the second end, and the third adhesive layer (Annotated Figure 5, shown below).
Regarding claim 4 In addition, Choi illustrates the third adhesive layer is provided between the first end and the second end (Annotated Figure 5, shown above).Regarding claim 5 In addition, Choi teaches the display panel (foldable display) 101, which is a constituent part of the foldable display device 100, includes a first display area connected to the first housing 300, a second display area connected to the second housing 300, and a folded area/portion (folding area) 220 including a folding line FL between the first display area and the second display area (Figures 1, 2, 5 and 8; and paragraphs [0034], [0039] and [0044]).Regarding claims 6, 7 and 18 In addition, Choi illustrates the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203 has a first portion (first portion having a fourth hardness) above the folded area/portion (folding area) 220, a second portion (second portion having a fifth hardness) bordering at least a portion of the first portion, and a third portion (third portion having a sixth hardness) bordering at least a portion of the second portion (Annotated Figure 5-1, shown below).
Choi does not explicitly teach: (i) the fourth hardness of the first portion, the fifth hardness of the second portion, and the sixth hardness of the third portion are different; and (ii) the fifth hardness of the second portion is greater than the fourth hardness of the first portion, and the sixth hardness of the third portion is greater than the fifth hardness of the second portion. As previously noted, Park teaches when the foldable display device 100 is folded, components of the foldable display device 100 slip with respect to each other so that edges of the components of the foldable display device 100 do not overlap or are spaced apart from each other, where components of the foldable display device 100 being permitted to slip relieves stress that is generated at the time of folding (paragraph [0086]). Park teaches adhesive layers disposed between components of the foldable display device 100 may vary depending on a protruding degree of edges of the components and a slipping degree of the edges of the components of the foldable display device 100, where the variation of the adhesive layers includes a variation of the hardness or adhesiveness of the adhesive material (paragraph [0087]). Park also teaches as the hardness or the adhesiveness of the adhesive material is increased, the slipping degree of the components of the foldable display device 100 may be reduced by the adhesive material (Id). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the fourth hardness, the fifth hardness, and the sixth hardness of the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203 of Choi to impart a desired slipping degree for adjacent components/layers adjacent to each of the first portion, second portion, and third portion, respectfully, of the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203 to relieve stress generated at the time of folding, as taught by Park. The combination of Choi and Park does not explicitly teach: (i) the fourth hardness of the first portion, the fifth hardness of the second portion, and the sixth hardness of the third portion are different; and (ii) the fifth hardness of the second portion is greater than the fourth hardness of the first portion, and the sixth hardness of the third portion is greater than the fifth hardness of the second portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate hardness for each of the first portion, second portion, and third portion of the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203, and the differences therebetween, using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve the desired slipping degree and resultant stress generation attenuation in the folding area 220 and non-folding areas 210 of the foldable display device. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).Regarding claim 8 In addition, Choi teaches the first flat area is provided on the first display area (non-folding area 210 on the left), the second flat area is provided on the second display area (non-folding area 210 on the right), and the bending area is provided on the folding area 220 (Figure 1 and Annotated Figure 2, shown above).Regarding claims 9 and 20 In addition, Choi illustrates an exposed area (cushion area) of the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203 in the folded portion 220, between the first glass and second glass of the second window layer (glass) 202, prior to the application of a distortion correction member 240 (paragraph [0049]; and Figures 2-3, including Annotated Figure 2, shown above). Regarding claim 11 In addition, Choi teaches the thickness of the first cover window layer (protective layer) 201 and the thickness of the second cover window layer (glass) 202 may be constant (paragraph [0047]). Choi also teaches a reduction of the thickness of these layers improves flexibility (paragraphs [0044], [0047] and [0048]). Choi does not explicitly teach a thickness of the second cover window layer (glass) 202 is greater than a thickness of the first cover window layer (protective layer) 201. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate thickness for each of the first cover window layer (protective layer) 201 and the second cover window layer (glass) 202, and a difference therebetween, using nothing more than routine experimentation to yield a cover window (cover window) 200 exhibiting a desired flexibility. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).Regarding claim 12 In addition, Choi teaches all of the aforementioned adhesives (first adhesive layer, second adhesive layer, and third adhesive layer) 203, 241 comprise an optically transparent (clear) resin (paragraphs [0018] – [0023], [0045] and [0050]).Regarding claim 15 In addition, Choi teaches the first cover window layer (protective layer) 201 may comprises glass, and a thickness of less than 100 µm (paragraphs [0046] and [0052]), which corresponds to an ultra-thin glass. Choi also teaches the first cover window layer (protective layer) 201 and the second cover window layer 202 may be made of the same material, where the second cover window layer 202 may comprise a colorless polyimide (paragraph [0046]), which corresponds to a polyimide film.Regarding claim 17 In addition, Choi illustrates the cover window (cover window) 200 includes a first flat area (non-folding area 210 on the left), a second flat area (non-folding area 210 on the right) being spaced apart from the first flat area, and a bending area provided in the folding area 220 between the first flat area and the second flat area (Annotated Figure 2, shown above).Regarding claim 19 In addition, Choi illustrates the first glass comprises a first end having the second glass and having a chamfered shape, the second glass comprises a second end facing the first glass and having a chamfered shape, and the third adhesive layer 241 is provided between the first end and the second end (Annotated Figure 2, shown above and Annotated Figure 5, shown above).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0141416 (hereinafter “Cho”).Regarding claim 10 The limitations from claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Choi does not explicitly teach the cover window 200 further comprises a water-repellent coating layer between the optically transparent adhesive (first adhesive layer) 203 and the other adhesive layer (second adhesive layer) 241. Cho teaches a foldable display device (abstract). Cho teaches a misalignment compensation member 200 comprising a water-resistant material, including a water-repellent coating (water-repellent coating layer) (paragraph [0093]). Cho teaches the misalignment compensation member 200 is located on an entirety of the bottom surface of the display panel 110 (paragraph [0084]). Cho teaches the misalignment compensation member 200 is located between adjacent adhesive layers AD1, AD21/AD22 compensates for the misalignment between a first support plate (first frame) 310 and a second support plate (second frame) 320 (paragraphs [0091] and [0093]; and Figures 5 and 7A-B). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the foldable display unit 100 of Choi with the misalignment compensation member 200 in an area located on the bottom surface of the display panel (located on a surface of the flexible display panel (foldable display) 101 between the first adhesive layer 203 and the second adhesive layer 241 from Choi), as taught by Cho, to prevent the misalignment of first and second frames when the foldable display device (electronic device) 10 is folded and unfolded.
Conclusion
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783