DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because i. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The preliminary amendments to specification filed on 01/16/2025 and 12/30/2025 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-13, 15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Manzari et al. (WO 2021247329 A1) (hereinafter Manzari).
Regarding claim 1, Manzari discloses a computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component, comprising: (para. [0007], "In accordance with some embodiments, a method is described. The method is performed at a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices."
one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (para. [0008], "The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:")
detecting an event corresponding to a request to display a user interface that has an appearance that is based on the event; and (para. [0111], "FIG. IB is a block diagram illustrating exemplary components for event handling in accordance with some embodiments."; para. [0123], "In some embodiments, application 136-1 includes a plurality of event handlers 190 and one or more application views 191, each of which includes instructions for handling touch events that occur within a respective view of the application’s user interface. Each application view 191 of the application 136-1 includes one or more event recognizers 180. Typically, a respective application view 191 includes a plurality of event recognizers 180. In other embodiments, one or more of event recognizers 180 are part of a separate module, such as a user interface kit or a higher level object from which application 136-1 inherits methods and other properties. In some embodiments, a respective event handler 190 includes one or more of: data updater 176, object updater 177, GUI updater 178, and/or event data 179 received from event sorter 170. Event handler 190 optionally utilizes or calls data updater"; 810 in FIG. 8A; para. [0229], "FIG. 8A illustrates electronic device 600 displaying media gallery user interface 810 that includes thumbnail media representations 812.")
in response to detecting the event, displaying, via the display generation component (phone), a user interface that has an appearance that is based on the event, wherein the user interface includes first content (thumbnail media representations 812c-812h) that includes at least a portion that has a target brightness that is outside of a standard range of brightness for the display generation component, including: (para. [0011], "means for displaying, via the display generation component"; FIG. 8A; para. [0229], "FIG. 8A illustrates electronic device 600 displaying media gallery user interface 810 that includes thumbnail media representations 812. Thumbnail media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations 812a-812g, where each of thumbnail media representations 812a-812g is representative of a different media item (e.g., a media item that was captured at a different instance in time). In FIG. 8A, media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations that are representative of at least two types of media items. For example, thumbnail media representations 812a, 812b, and 812g are representative of media items that do not include high-dynamic-range (“HDR”) content, and thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are representative of media items that include HDR content. At FIG. 8A, thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are displayed without HDR content in media gallery user interface 810, although they are representative of media items that include HDR content.”)
in accordance with a determination that the first content (thumbnail media representations 812c-812h) is in a foreground, displaying, via the display generation component, the first content with a brightness that is above the standard range of brightness for the display generation component; and (para. [0011], "means for displaying, via the display generation component"; FIG 8D; para. [0234], "As illustrated in FIG. 8B, application control region 822 and application control region 826 (“the application control regions”) is the background portion of a region of media viewer user interface 820"; para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content"; Examiner's note: The first content is in a foreground because application control regions (822/826) are in the background portion of a region of media viewer user interface.)
in accordance with a determination that the first content is not in the foreground, displaying, via the display generation component, the first content (thumbnail media representations 812c-812h) with a brightness that is within the standard range of brightness for the display generation component. (para. [0011], "means for displaying, via the display generation component"; FIG. 8A; para. [0229], "FIG. 8A illustrates electronic device 600 displaying media gallery user interface 810 that includes thumbnail media representations 812. Thumbnail media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations 812a-812g, where each of thumbnail media representations 812a-812g is representative of a different media item (e.g., a media item that was captured at a different instance in time). In FIG. 8A, media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations that are representative of at least two types of media items. For example, thumbnail media representations 812a, 812b, and 812g are representative of media items that do not include high-dynamic-range (“HDR”) content, and thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are representative of media items that include HDR content. At FIG. 8A, thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are displayed without HDR content in media gallery user interface 810, although they are representative of media items that include HDR content.” FIG. 8B; para. [0231], "As illustrated in FIG. 8B, in response to detecting tap gesture 850a, device 600 displays media viewer user interface 820 and ceases to display media gallery user interface 810. Media viewer user interface 820 includes media viewer region 824 positioned between application control region 822 and application control region 826. Media viewer region 824 includes enlarged media representation 824a, which is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812a. Thus, enlarged media representation 824a is representative of a non-HDR media item, which is indicated by the “NON-HDR” label in FIG. 8B." Examiner’s note: In Fig.8A, ‘APRIL 18-19’, ‘+/-‘, ‘SELECT’, and ‘…’ icons are located in a foreground. Thumbnail media representation is not in the foreground.)
Regarding claim 2, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (para. [0008], "The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:")
while displaying the user interface that has an appearance that is based on the event, detecting a second event corresponding to a request to move the first content into the foreground or out of the foreground; and
in response to detecting the second event:
moving the first content into the foreground or out of the foreground; and
changing a brightness of the first content. (FIG. 8D; para. [0231], "Media viewer user interface 820 includes media viewer region 824 positioned between application control region 822 and application control region 826."; para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content.")
Regarding claim 3, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 2, wherein:
the second event corresponds to a request to move the first content into the foreground; and
changing the brightness of the first content in response to detecting the second event includes increasing the brightness of the first content to be above the standard range of brightness for the display generation component. (FIG. 8D;
para. [0231], "Media viewer user interface 820 includes media viewer region 824 positioned between application control region 822 and application control region 826."
; para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content.")
Regarding claim 6, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the determination of whether the user interface is in the foreground is based on whether a system overlay is being concurrently displayed with the user interface. (FIG. 8B; para. [0231], "As illustrated in FIG. 8B, in response to detecting tap gesture 850a, device 600 displays media viewer user interface 820 and ceases to display media gallery user interface 810. Media viewer user interface 820 includes media viewer region 824 positioned between application control region 822 and application control region 826. Media viewer region 824 includes enlarged media representation 824a, which is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812a. Thus, enlarged media representation 824a is representative of a non-HDR media item, which is indicated by the “NON-HDR” label in FIG. 8B. Media viewer user interface 820 is not substantially overlaid with controls while application control region 822 and application control region 826 are substantially overlaid with controls.")
Regarding claim 7, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (para. [0008], "The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:")
displaying, via the display generation component, one or more elements, including: (para. [0011], "means for displaying, via the display generation component";
FIG. 8B)
in accordance with a determination that the one or more elements are at least partially overlaid on a portion of content, wherein the portion of content is displayed with a brightness that is within the standard range of brightness for the display generation component, displaying the one or more elements with a first brightness; and (FIG. 8B; para. [0235] "As illustrated in FIG. 8B, the application control regions include a light-colored (e.g., light gray, a bright color) overlay….For illustrative purposes, the application control regions include hatching that is indicative of how dark the application control regions are shaded. For example, an application control region that is illustrated with a higher density of lines (e.g., lines closer to each other) has a visual appearance that is darker than the visual appearance of an application control region that is illustrated with a lower density of lines (e.g., lines less close to each other). Thus, the hatching depicted in the application control regions in FIGS. 8B-8K are indicative of the darkness/brightness or color of the corresponding part of media viewer user interface 820."; para. [0236] As illustrated in FIG. 8B, the application control regions are displayed with a default color (e.g., level of shading of a color), as indicated by the hatching displayed in FIG. 8B. In FIG. 8B, device 600 is displaying the application control regions with a default color (and/or a default level of brightness) because enlarged media representation 824a is representative of a non-HDR media item.”
in accordance with a determination that the one or more elements are at least partially overlaid on a portion of content, wherein the portion of content is displayed with a brightness that is above the standard range of brightness for the display generation component, displaying the one or more elements with a second brightness that is brighter than the first brightness. (FIG. 8D; para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content."; para. [0240], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 updates the application control regions to have a brighter color (e.g., a lighter color, a color with more white) (e.g., as indicated by the hatching of FIG. 8D having a lower level of density as the hatching of FIG. 8C) than the color of application control regions in FIG. 8C. In FIG. 8D, device 600 updates the application control regions to have the color displayed in FIG. 8D based on the brightness of HDR content in the respective media item (e.g., the media item represented by the currently displayed enlarged media representation)").
Regarding claim 8, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 7, wherein the one or more elements include a cursor. (para. [0154], "As used herein, the term “focus selector” refers to an input element that indicates a current part of a user interface with which a user is interacting. In some implementations that include a cursor or other location marker, the cursor acts as a “focus selector” so that when an input (e.g., a press input) is detected on a touch-sensitive surface (e.g., touchpad 355 in FIG. 3 or touch-sensitive surface 451 in FIG. 4B) while the cursor is over a particular user interface element (e.g., a button, window, slider, or other user interface element), the particular user interface element is adjusted in accordance with the detected input."; Examiner's note: As a cursor is over particular user interface elements so it corresponds that the one or more elements include a cursor.)
Regarding claim 9, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 7, wherein the one or more elements include a notification. (para. [0290], "As illustrated in FIG. 10O, in response to detecting downward swipe gesture 1050n, device 600 re-displays control user interface 1038. Control user interface 1038 includes voice memos recording status indicator 1044b and camera recording status indicator 1044c. Camera recording status indicator 1044c includes device identifier 1044c2, which is different from device identifier 1044b2 (e.g., of voice memos recording status indicator 1044b) because device 600 is using one or more cameras to record the first type of data for the camera application as opposed to using the microphone to record the first type of data. Voice memos recording status indicator 1044b and camera recording status indicator 1044c are concurrently displayed because device 600 is concurrently recording the first type of data for both applications (e.g., using one or more similar techniques as discussed above in relation to FIG. 10H)."; para. [0291], “FIG. 10P illustrates a different version of control user interface 1038 that can be displayed in response to detecting downward swipe gesture 1050n. Control user interface 1038 of FIG. 10P includes additional indications (e.g., “IS CURRENTLY USING”) of the current state of each respective applications use (e.g., voice memos application, camera application) of a respective device (e.g., microphone, camera).”)
Regarding claim 10, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 7, wherein the computer system is configured to communicate with one or more input devices and the one or more elements include a system user interface that includes one or more options configured to change one or more system settings, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (para. [0007], "In accordance with some embodiments, a method is described. The method is performed at a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices."; para. [0008], "The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:")
while displaying the system user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to activation of an option of the one or more options; and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to activation of the option of the one or more options, changing a system setting that corresponds to the option. (FIG 6Q; FIG. 6R; para. [0202], "As illustrated in FIG. 6Q, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 650p, device 600 displays a camera user interface that includes settings 692, such as exposure control setting 692a. At FIG. 6Q, exposure control setting 692a is set to on, which indicates that the current level of exposure will be maintained and not automatically reset. In addition, exposure control setting 692a indicates that exposure compensation indicator 602d will continue to be displayed (e.g., after the exposure compensation is initially set via exposure compensation control 644). In some embodiments, control setting 692a indicates that exposure compensation indicator 602d will always be displayed (e.g., irrespective of whether the exposure compensation is initially set). Looking back at FIGS. 6N-6P, device 600 maintained exposure compensation indicator 602d in the same state in FIG. 6P (e.g., after the determination that the session associated with the use of the camera application ended) because control setting 692a is set to on. At FIG. 6Q, device 600 detects tap gesture 650q on exposure control setting 692a."; para. [0203], "As illustrated in FIG. 6R, in response to detecting tap gesture 650q, device 600 toggles exposure control setting 692a from an on state to an off state. At FIG. 6R, device 600 detects upward swipe gesture 650r at the bottom of control region 606.")
Regarding claim 11, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 7, wherein the one or more elements include an indication corresponding to a digital assistant. (para. [0273], "FIG. 10A illustrates device 600 displaying a user interface with icons 690. At FIG. 10A, device 600 detects voice input 1050a (e.g., “Hey Assistant”) via a microphone of device 600. As illustrated in FIG. 10B, in response to detecting voice input 1050a, device 600 displays user interface 1004. User interface 1004 is a user interface for a voice assistant application. User interface 1004 includes the phrase “WHAT CAN I HELP YOU WITH,” which indicates that device 600 is waiting to receive voice input corresponding to a command.")
Regarding claim 12, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 7, wherein the one or more elements include textual information. ("PHOTOS", "EDIT" in FIG. 8B;para. [0232], "Application control region 822 also includes back affordance 822a (e.g., that, when selected, causes device 600 to re display media gallery user interface 810) and edit affordance 824b (e.g., that, when selected, causes device 600 to display a media editing user interface that includes one or more controls for editing a representation of the media item represented by the currently displayed enlarged media representation)."
Regarding claim 13, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 7, wherein the computer system is configured to communicate with one or more input devices and the one or more elements include a control option, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (para. [0007], "In accordance with some embodiments, a method is described. The method is performed at a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices."; para. [0008], "The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:")
while displaying the control option overlaid on a portion of content, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to activation of the control option; and
in response to detecting the input corresponding to activation of the control option, performing an operation corresponding to the control option. (para. [0283], "As illustrated in FIG. 10I, in response to detecting tap gesture 1050h2, device 600 ceases to display control user interface 1038 and displays a permission management user interface for the web-calling application that includes permission controls 1052. Notably, because control user interface 1038 has ceased to be displayed, device 600 also ceases to display separate recording status indicators for the web-calling and voice memos applications (e.g., web-calling recording status indicator 1044a and voice memos recording status indicator 1044b) and displays a single or combined recording status indicator (e.g., recording status indicator 1042) for the applications."; para. [0284], "As illustrated in FIG. 10I, permission controls 1052 includes microphone access affordance 1052a and camera access affordance 1052b, which are both active (e.g., “ON”). In some embodiments, in response to detecting a tap gesture on microphone access affordance 1052a, device 600 ceases to allow data to be recorded for, via the microphone of device 600, the web-calling application and also ceases to record the first type of data for the web-calling application that begin being recording in response to detecting input gesture 1050f. In some embodiments, in response to detecting a tap gesture on camera access affordance 1052a, device 600 ceases to allow data to be recorded for, via the camera of device 600, the web-calling application.")
Regarding claim 15, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (para. [0008], "The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:")
displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of an image, wherein the representation of the image includes at least a first portion that corresponds to a portion of the image that has a target brightness that is outside of the standard range of brightness for the display generation component, including: (para. [0011], "means for displaying, via the display generation component"; FIG. 8A; para. [0229], "FIG. 8A illustrates electronic device 600 displaying media gallery user interface 810 that includes thumbnail media representations 812. Thumbnail media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations 812a-812g, where each of thumbnail media representations 812a-812g is representative of a different media item (e.g., a media item that was captured at a different instance in time). In FIG. 8A, media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations that are representative of at least two types of media items. For example, thumbnail media representations 812a, 812b, and 812g are representative of media items that do not include high-dynamic-range (“HDR”) content, and thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are representative of media items that include HDR content. At FIG. 8A, thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are displayed without HDR content in media gallery user interface 810, although they are representative of media items that include HDR content.”)
in accordance with a determination that the representation of the image is displayed in an expanded state, displaying, via the display generation component, the representation of the image with a brightness that is above the standard range of brightness for the display generation component; and (FIG 8D;
para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content")
in accordance with a determination that the representation of the image is not displayed in the expanded state, displaying, via the display generation component, the representation of the image with a brightness that is within the standard range of brightness for the display generation component. (FIG. 8A; para. [0229], "FIG. 8A illustrates electronic device 600 displaying media gallery user interface 810 that includes thumbnail media representations 812. Thumbnail media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations 812a-812g, where each of thumbnail media representations 812a-812g is representative of a different media item (e.g., a media item that was captured at a different instance in time). In FIG. 8A, media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations that are representative of at least two types of media items. For example, thumbnail media representations 812a, 812b, and 812g are representative of media items that do not include high-dynamic-range (“HDR”) content, and thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are representative of media items that include HDR content. At FIG. 8A, thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are displayed without HDR content in media gallery user interface 810, although they are representative of media items that include HDR content.)
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim (para. [0008], “In accordance with some embodiments, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is described. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:”) of claim 1 and is accordingly rejected under same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is the method claim of claim 1 and is accordingly rejected under same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzari et al. (WO 2021247329 A1) (hereinafter Manzari) in view of Kim et al. (US 20250292523 A1) (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 4, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 2, wherein:
the second event corresponds to a request to move the first content (thumbnail media representations 812c-812h) out of the foreground; and (para. [0164], "Generally, opening a second application while in a first application does not close the first application. When the second application is displayed and the first application ceases to be displayed, the first application becomes a background application"; Examiner's note: background corresponds out of the foreground.)
Manzari further teaches changing (HDR to Non-HDR). (para. [0164], "Generally, opening a second application while in a first application does not close the first application. When the second application is displayed and the first application ceases to be displayed, the first application becomes a background application"; para. [0250], "As illustrated in FIG. 8J, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850i, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824f with enlarged media representation 824g. Enlarged media representation 824g is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812g (e.g., a non-HDR media item), which is indicated by the “NON-HDR” label in FIG. 8J. As illustrated in FIG. 8J, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850i and because the respective media item is a non-HDR media item, device 600 updates the color of application control region to be the default color (e.g., by the hatching displayed in FIG. 8J having the same density as the hatching in FIG. 8B)." para. [0012], “while displaying, via the display generation component” )
Manzari teaches moving first content (thumbnail media representations 812c-821h) out of the foreground; However, Manzari does not explicitly disclose changing the brightness of the first content in response to detecting the second event includes decreasing the brightness of the first content to be within the standard range of brightness for the display generation component.
However, Kim more explicitly teaches the second event corresponds to a request to move the first content (sun and cloud) out of the foreground; and changing the brightness of the first content in response to detecting the second event (displaying a foreground object A over a background object (130-131-132) in para. [0148]) includes decreasing the brightness of the first content (para. [0148], [0032], [0005]) to be within the standard range of brightness for the display generation component. (para. [0005], “change a brightness of the background object from the first brightness to a second brightness smaller than the first brightness.”; para. [0032], “the brightness of the background object 130 from a first brightness (e.g., 100%) of the state 191 to a second brightness (e.g., 80%) less than the first brightness, based on displaying the first foreground object 131“)
As both Manzari and Kim are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manzari to include the first content out of the foreground and changing the brightness of the first content in response to detecting the second event includes decreasing the brightness of the first content to be within the standard range of brightness for the display generation component, according to the teaching of Kim, in order to reduce processor and better power (para. [0040] of Manzari).
Regarding claim 5, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 1:
wherein: the user interface corresponds to a first application; (para. [0229], "FIG. 8A illustrates electronic device 600 displaying media gallery user interface 810 that includes thumbnail media representations 812.")
a second user interface, different from the user interface, corresponds to the first application; and (para. [0231], "As illustrated in FIG. 8B, in response to detecting tap gesture 850a, device 600 displays media viewer user interface 820 and ceases to display media gallery user interface 810. Media viewer user interface 820 includes media viewer region 824 positioned between application control region 822 and application control region 826.")
the second user interface includes second content that includes at least a portion that has a target brightness that is outside of the standard range of brightness for the display generation component; and (para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content.")
the one or more programs further include instructions for: (para. [0008], "The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:")
(para. [0011], "means for displaying, via the display generation component")
the user interface in the foreground with the first content displayed with a brightness that is above the standard range of brightness for the display generation component; and (para. [0229], "FIG. 8A illustrates electronic device 600 displaying media gallery user interface 810 that includes thumbnail media representations 812. Thumbnail media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations 812a-812g, where each of thumbnail media representations 812a-812g is representative of a different media item (e.g., a media item that was captured at a different instance in time). In FIG. 8A, media representations 812 include thumbnail media representations that are representative of at least two types of media items. For example, thumbnail media representations 812a, 812b, and 812g are representative of media items that do not include high-dynamic-range (“HDR”) content, and thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are representative of media items that include HDR content. At FIG. 8A, thumbnail media representations 812c-812h are displayed without HDR content in media gallery user interface 810, although they are representative of media items that include HDR content.”; para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content.")
the second user interface with the second content displayed with a brightness that is above the standard range of brightness for the display generation component, . (FIG. 8D; para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content.")
Manzari does not disclose concurrently and
However, Kim more explicitly teaches concurrently displaying and (FIG. 5C; para. [0106], "Referring to FIG. 5C, according to an embodiment, an example state 503 in which the wearable device 101 displays two foreground objects (e.g., the weather widget 540 and a messenger window 550) is illustrated.“)
As both Manzari and Kim are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manzari to include concurrently displaying and wherein the second user interface does not overlap the user interface, in the context of a computer system to display, according to the teaching of Kim, in order to present content with the brightness that is above the standard range of brightness when there’s no overlap.
Regarding claim 14, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 7, wherein:
the determination that the one or more elements are at least partially overlaid on a portion of content displayed with a brightness that is within the standard range of brightness for the display generation component includes a determination that (FIG. 8B; para. [0235] "As illustrated in FIG. 8B, the application control regions include a light-colored (e.g., light gray, a bright color) overlay….For illustrative purposes, the application control regions include hatching that is indicative of how dark the application control regions are shaded. For example, an application control region that is illustrated with a higher density of lines (e.g., lines closer to each other) has a visual appearance that is darker than the visual appearance of an application control region that is illustrated with a lower density of lines (e.g., lines less close to each other). Thus, the hatching depicted in the application control regions in FIGS. 8B-8K are indicative of the darkness/brightness or color of the corresponding part of media viewer user interface 820."; para. [0236] As illustrated in FIG. 8B, the application control regions are displayed with a default color (e.g., level of shading of a color), as indicated by the hatching displayed in FIG. 8B. In FIG. 8B, device 600 is displaying the application control regions with a default color (and/or a default level of brightness) because enlarged media representation 824a is representative of a non-HDR media item.”)
the determination that the one or more elements are at least partially overlaid on a portion of content displayed with a brightness that is above the standard range of brightness for the display generation component includes a determination that (FIG. 8D; para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content."; para. [0240], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 updates the application control regions to have a brighter color (e.g., a lighter color, a color with more white) (e.g., as indicated by the hatching of FIG. 8D having a lower level of density as the hatching of FIG. 8C) than the color of application control regions in FIG. 8C. In FIG. 8D, device 600 updates the application control regions to have the color displayed in FIG. 8D based on the brightness of HDR content in the respective media item (e.g., the media item represented by the currently displayed enlarged media representation)")
Manzari does not disclose the area adjacent .
However, Kim more explicitly teaches the area adjacent to the one or more elements. (FIG. 5C)
As both Manzari and Kim are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manzari to include the area adjacent to the one or more elements, in the context of a computer system to display, according to the teaching of Kim, in order to conserve power and increase the time between battery charges. (para. [0005] of Manzari).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzari et al. (WO 2021247329 A1) (hereinafter Manzari) in view of Greenebaum et al. (US 20160358584 A1) (hereinafter Greenebaum).
Regarding claim 16, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (para. [0008], "The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:")
detecting a brightness change event (leftward swipe gesture); and
in response to detecting the brightness change event:
changing a system brightness level of the display generation component based on the brightness change event; and
(para. [0007], "In accordance with some embodiments, a method is described. The method is performed at a computer system having one or more cameras, wherein the computer system is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices."; para. [0253], “Method 900 is performed at a computer system (e.g., 100, 300, 500, 600) that is in communication with a display generation component (e.g., a display controller, a touch-sensitive display system) and one or more input devices (e.g., a touch-sensitive surface).”; para. [0255], The computer system (e.g., 600) (e.g., a smartphone, a smartwatch) displays (902), via the display generation component, a media viewer user interface (e.g., 820) (e.g., an interface for displaying one or more representations (e.g., enlarged representations or non thumbnail representations) of previously captured media) that includes: a first portion (e.g., 824) that includes a representation (e.g., 824a-824f) of a first previously captured media item (e.g., an image, a video); and a second portion (e.g., 822 and/or 826) (e.g., the chrome portion (e.g., a header, a footer, a menu section of the user interface) of the user interface, the portion of the user interface that partially or fully surrounds the visual content (e.g., first portion) of the user interface) that has a first visual appearance and that is different (e.g., distinct, independent) from the first portion (e.g., 824) of the media viewer user interface (e.g., 820). para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content" Examiner’s note: In order to display an HDR media item, it is related to changing a system brightness level of the display generation component.)
Manzari does not disclose changing a headroom
However, Greenebaum more explicitly teach changing a headroom (para. [0147] In some embodiments, on transitions between modes when there is a new target for brightness, rather than instantly adjusting the brightness level by increasing the headroom in the display range, the headroom may be gradually increased over time (e.g., a few seconds) so that display leakage does not “pop”.)
As both Manzari and Greenebaum are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manzari to include changing a headroom, in the context of a computer system to display, according to the teaching of Greenebaum, in order to save power on mobile devices (para. [0013] of Greenebaum).
Regarding claim 17, Manzari discloses the computer system of claim 16 (para. [0239], "As illustrated in FIG. 8D, in response to detecting leftward swipe gesture 850c, device 600 replaces enlarged media representation 824b with enlarged media representation 824c. Enlarged media representation 824c is representative of the same media item as thumbnail media representation 812c. Thus, enlarged media representation 812c is representative of an HDR media item (e.g., as discussed above in relation to thumbnail media representation 812c in FIG. 8A), which is indicated by the “HDR” label in FIG. 8D. Notably, while thumbnail media representation 812c of FIG. 8A did not include visually displayed HDR content, enlarged media representation 824b of FIG. 8D includes visually displayed HDR content" " Examiner’s note: In order to display an HDR media item, it is related to changing a system brightness level.)
Manzari does not disclose wherein the change of the headroom has a non-linear relationship to the change in system brightness level.
However, Greenebaum more explicitly teaches wherein the change of the headroom has a non-linear relationship to the change in system brightness level. (para. [0147], "In some embodiments, on transitions between modes when there is a new target for brightness, rather than instantly adjusting the brightness level by increasing the headroom in the display range, the headroom may be gradually increased over time (e.g., a few seconds) so that display leakage does not “pop”. For example, to conserve power, when no applications are displaying HDR content, the backlight/brightness may be at a low (dim) level. There is available headroom, but for power consumption reasons the backlight/brightness is not at full. If an application requests HDR display capability, headroom for the bright (HDR) content needs to be provided, the backlight/brightness needs to be raised (e.g., to a maximum level), and content needs to be scaled/mapped into the lower and upper ranges of the display space accordingly. While this could be done instantly (e.g., in one display frame). However, to the extent there is leakage in the display panel, the black level may perceptually “pop”. Thus, instead of performing to transition instantly, the transition may be stretched out over time, for example one or more seconds, thus gradually ramping the backlight/brightness level up so that there is no perceptual pop on the display panel."; para. [0130], "Embodiments of the HDR rendering and display system as described herein may be used to provide an actual HDR result when viewing HDR content on conventional SDR displays without tone mapping. Using the user's brightness preferences as provided via the display's brightness control or via a modified brightness slider as described for embodiments, the system may determine if there is backlight/display headroom (i.e. if the user sets their desire for SDR content to be displayed dimmer than the maximum output of the display). The system may re-scale content such that the backlight/display is maximum, but nominal SDR content (e.g., the computer desktop) appears at their desired brightness."; para. [0137], "Embodiments may produce even higher dynamic range results when HDR content is displayed on displays with greater than typical SDR brightness. Conventionally, display brightness is unusable when it reaches a point that is uncomfortable to the user. By scaling the content, brighter displays may still allow the comfortable viewing of SDR content in standard office or dimmer conditions while affording even greater dynamic range (via display/backlight headroom), providing an HDR experience in brighter viewing environments, and maintaining acceptable SDR experiences into brighter (e.g., direct sunlight) environments."; para. [0076], "FIG. 5C illustrates mapping the HDR content to a normal or standard display (e.g., an 8-bit display) in a dim lighting environment, according to some embodiments. In a dim environment, even a normal display will appear very bright, and may appear uncomfortably bright to adapted viewer vision. Thus, brightness (e.g., backlight brightness) may be turned down using a control (e.g., a brightness slider UI element), or may be automatically dimmed in response to sensor input detecting ambient lighting. In some embodiments, the brightness control (e.g., brightness slider UI element) may allow the user to select a dimmer setting than what a conventional display brightness control, for example an LCD backlight controller, typically provides; conventional display brightness controls typically do not dim continuously all the way to black. Embodiments of the HDR rendering and display system may take advantage of the “headroom” or unused portion of the display space created by a dimmed brightness level of less than 100% to display HDR content to the standard display. For example, if display brightness is 50%, for an 8-bit display, the upper portion of the display codes (128-255) may be used for the extended or HDR portion of the content (luma values 1.0-M) as rendered by the rendering pipeline(s), with the lower portion (0-127) used for the standard or SDR portion of the content (luma values 0.0-1.0).")
As both Manzari and Greenebaum are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manzari to include the change of the headroom has a non-linear relationship to the change in system brightness level, in the context of a computer system to display, according to the teaching of Greenebaum, in order to save power on mobile devices (para. [0013] of Greenebaum).
Conclusion
/Hyorim Park/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615