Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1,5-11,13 of U.S. Patent No. 12216364 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 is obvious over Claim 1,5, and 10 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 2 is obvious over Claim 1 and 5 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 3 is obvious over Claim 1 and 5 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 4 is obvious over Claim 1 and 5 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 5 is obvious over Claim 1 and 5 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 6 is obvious over Claim 1 and 5 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 7 is obvious over Claim 1,5, and 6 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 8 is obvious over Claim 1,5, and 7 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 9 is obvious over Claim 1,5, and 8 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 10 is obvious over Claim 1,5, and 9 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 11 is obvious over Claim 1,5, and 10 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 12 is obvious over Claim 1,5, and 10 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 13 is obvious over Claim 1,5, and 10 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 14 is obvious over Claim 1 and 5 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 15 is obvious over Claim 1 and 5 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 16 is obvious over Claim 1 and 5 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 17 is obvious over Claim 1,5, and 10 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 18 is obvious over Claim 1,5, 10, and 11 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 19 is obvious over Claim 1 and 13 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim 20 is obvious over Claim 1 and 5 of US Patent No. 12216364.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 107145014B) in view of Kim et al (US 20160195743)
Regarding Claim 1,
(CN 107145014B) discloses (Drawing 1 to Drawing 4) a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (111); a plurality of first electrodes (11), arranged in an array on the base substrate; a first signal line (101); a second signal line (102) crosswise arranged with the first signal line; and a pattern layer (13) arranged at a same layer and made of a same material as the plurality of first electrodes (11); wherein an orthographic projection (13) of the pattern layer on the base substrate does not overlap an orthographic projection of the first signal lines (101) on the base substrate; the pattern layer (13) is on a side of the first electrode (11).
(CN 107145014B) does not disclose the first electrode comprises a first strip electrode; and an extension direction of the first strip electrode is intersected with a row direction and a column direction.
Kim et al disclose [0054-0055] the first electrode (191) comprises a first strip electrode (191c); and an extension direction of the first strip electrode is intersected with a row direction and a column direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify (CN 107145014B) to include Kim et al’s first electrode comprising a first strip electrode, and an extension direction of the first strip electrode is intersected with a row direction and a column direction motivated by the desire to improve side visibility of the display.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, Kim et al discloses wherein the first electrode further comprises a second strip electrode (191c); the extension direction of the first strip electrode (191c) is intersected with an extension direction of the second strip electrode; and the extension direction of the second strip electrode is intersected with the row direction and the column direction.
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses wherein the pattern layer (13) extends in the extension direction of the first strip electrode (taught by Kim et al) or the extension direction of the second strip electrode. Combining these two would improve viewing characteristics.
Regarding Claim 4,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses wherein: a part of the pattern (13) layer extends in the extension direction of the first strip electrode (taught by Kim et al); and another part of the pattern layer extends in the extension direction of the second strip electrode. Combining these two would improve viewing characteristics.
Regarding Claim 5,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses wherein an extension direction of the pattern layer is different from the extension direction (Claim 3)of the first strip electrode (taught by Kim et al) or the extension direction of the second strip electrode
Regarding Claim 6,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses wherein the extension direction of the pattern layer is different from the extension direction (Claim 3) of the first strip electrode and the extension direction of the second strip electrode (taught by Kim et al).
Regarding Claim 7,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses a line width of the pattern layer is same as: a line width of the first strip electrode (taught by Kim et al); or a line width of the second strip electrode.
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, Kim et al discloses a line distance of the pattern layer is same as: a line distance of the first strip electrode (191c); or a line distance of the second strip electrode [0055].
Regarding Claim 9,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses wherein the orthographic projection of the pattern layer (13) on the base substrate is located in an orthographic projection of a row gap of the first electrodes on the base substrate.
Regarding Claim 10,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses wherein extension directions of the pattern layer (13) at two adjacent row gaps of the first electrodes (11) are different.
Regarding Claim 11,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses wherein an orthographic projection of the first signal line (101) on the base substrate is located in an orthographic projection of a column gap of the first electrodes (11) on the base substrate; and the orthographic projection of the pattern layer on the base substrate does not overlap the orthographic projection of the first signal line (101) on the base substrate.
Regarding Claim 12,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses a transistor; wherein at least part of the first signal line (101) is electrically connected with the transistor; and the orthographic projection of the pattern layer (13) on the base substrate does not overlap an orthographic projection of the transistor on the base substrate.
Regarding Claim 13,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses wherein an orthographic projection of the second signal line (102) on the base substrate is located in an orthographic projection of an row gap of the first electrodes (11) on the base substrate; and the orthographic projection of the pattern layer (13) on the base substrate is located in the orthographic projection of the second signal line (102) on the base substrate.
Regarding Claim 14,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses the first signal line (101) is a data line; the second signal line (102) is a gate line; the first electrodes (11) are pixel electrodes; and in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the pattern layer and a layer where the gate line is located overlap.
Regarding Claim 15,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses a second electrode located between a layer where the first electrode (11) is located and the base substrate (111); wherein an orthographic projection of the first electrode (11) on the base substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the second electrode (12) on the base substrate.
Regarding Claim 20,
In addition to (CN 107145014B) and Kim et al, (CN 107145014B) discloses wherein the pattern layer is arranged along a row direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 16,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose an alignment layer; wherein the first electrodes are located between the base substrate and the alignment layer and are in contact with the alignment layer;the pattern layer is located between the base substrate and the alignment layer and is in contact with the alignment layer; and a ratio of a contact angle of the pattern layer to a contact angle of the first electrodes is greater than or equal to 7/12 and less than 3/2.
Regarding Claim 17,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose wherein an orthographic projection of the first signal line on the base substrate is located in an orthographic projection of a column gap of the first electrodes on the base substrate, and the first signal line comprises:an island structure at an intersected position of the column gap of the first electrodes and a gap of two second signal lines; andthe orthographic projection of the pattern layer on the base substrate is coincided with an orthographic projection of the island structure on the base substrate.
Regarding Claim 18,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose a gate,wherein the second signal line and the gate are of an integral structure and the gate protrudes relative to the second signal line; andthe pattern layer comprises:a plurality of first partitions intersected with a row direction and a column direction; anda second partition extending in the row direction;wherein an orthographic projection of the first partitions on the base substrate is located in an orthographic projection of the gate on the base substrate, and an orthographic projection of the second partition on the base substrate is located in an orthographic projection of the second signal line on the base substrate.
Regarding Claim 19,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose a positioning region of a spacer;wherein an orthographic projection of the positioning region on the base substrate is located in the orthographic projection of the pattern layer on the base substrate.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871