Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of methods claims in the reply filed on 11/14/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the extra two claims are not a search burden on the examiner. This is not found persuasive because although there may be some overlap of the search for the inventions there is nothing to indicate that the search would be coextensive. Further the examination on the merits of garment claims differs from that of method claims. Therefore the extra search and/or examination burden for addressing multiple inventions poses a serious burden to the examiner which makes the restriction requirement proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation one or more additional modesty layers in selected regions of the garment, the modesty layers configured to increase opacity of the garment in the selected region. "Modesty layer" and “opacity” renders the claim indefinite since it does not provide an ascertainable scope of protection, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have not be able to discern what the lower and upper degrees of opacity is envisioned by the Applicant to comply with the subjective limitation of "modest". For purposes of compact prosecution, examiner is interpreting modesty layer to be any layer that covers the body and opacity has material thickness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bertoldo (US2025/0040627 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bertoldo discloses a method of 3D printing a garment (abstract) comprising: 3D printing a first filament [0028-0029] layer extending in a first direction (see 12 a in figure 1); and 3D printing a second filament layer over the first filament layer, the second filament layer extending in a second direction different than the first direction [0068] such that the first and second filament layers overlap one another at a plurality of contact points and collectively define a plurality of open cells [0091-0093, 0062].
Regarding claim 2, Bertoldo discloses further comprising printing a third filament layer over the second filament layer, the third filament layer extending in the first direction (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Bertoldo discloses wherein one or more filament layers comprises thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) [0080-0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 11, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertoldo (US2025/0040627 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bertoldo discloses printing a fourth filament layer over the third filament layer (see figure 1). Bertoldo does not explicitly disclose the fourth filament layer extending in the second direction. However, Bertoldo discloses altering the orientation or matching them [0073]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the fourth filament layer extending in the second direction given the limited number of options. MPEP 2144.04 states it’s obvious to try is a prima facie evidence of obviousness.
Regarding claim 4, Bertoldo discloses wherein each cell of the plurality of open cells has minimum height of 1.2 mm and a maximum height of 5.1 mm when the garment is in a relaxed configuration [0074] but does not explicitly disclose a minimum width of 1.8 mm and a maximum width of 3.5 mm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention also incorporated a width range since width dimension it transmit a pulling force on specific regions and the range can be utilized to selectively better distribute pulling forces and potentially increase comfort. MPEP 2144.05 In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 11, Bertoldo discloses a method of 3D printing a garment (abstract) comprising: 3D printing a first filament layer [0028-0029] extending in a first direction (see 12 a in figure 1); and 3D printing a second filament layer over the first filament layer, the second filament layer extending in a second direction different than the first direction such that the first and second layers overlap one another at a plurality of contact points and collectively define a plurality of open cells forming a main body of the garment [0068], wherein the plurality of open cells are arranged in one or more patterns to form a plurality of regions, each region having a modulus of elasticity different from the modulus of elasticity of each of the other regions [0072]; 3D printing a third filament layer over the second filament layer, the third filament layer extending in the first direction (see figure 1); 3D printing a fourth filament layer over the third filament layer (see figure 1),
the fourth filament layer extending in the second direction (Bertoldo does not explicitly disclose the fourth filament layer extending in the second direction. However, Bertoldo discloses altering the orientation or matching them [0073]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the fourth filament layer extending in the second direction given the limited number of options. MPEP 2144.04 states it’s obvious to try is a prima facie evidence of obviousness);
3D printing a plurality of coupling portions coupled to the main body; and coupling each coupling portion of the plurality of coupling portions to one or more other coupling portions to form the garment into a three-dimensional structure [0079].
Regarding claim 17, Bertoldo does not explicitly disclose wherein a distance between a center point of two adjacent first filament layers is 0.1 mm and a distance between a center point of two adjacent second filament layers is 0.1 mm. However, Bertoldo discloses different structures and heights of the layers [0072-0074]. MPEP 2144.05 In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 18, Bertoldo discloses comprising coupling one or more fabric layers to the garment [0072].
Claim(s) 5-6 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertoldo (US2025/0040627 A1) in view of Bishop (US2020/0375506 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Bertoldo does not explicitly disclose a 3d printing band region of the garment comprising an auxetic pattern. However, analogous apparel art, Bishop, discloses using auxetic material which has negative Poisson’s ratio since when the material is stretched, it becomes thicker and has mechanical properties such as high energy absorption and fraction resistance [0065]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have incorporated auxetic pattern, as disclosed by Bishop into the method taught by Bertoldo for the benefit of having mechanical properties such as high energy absorption and fraction resistance.
Regarding claim 6, Bertoldo does not explicitly disclose the auxetic pattern comprises a plurality of cells each comprising a bowtie shape. However, MPEP 2144.04 states It has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47; Eskimo Pie Corp. v, Levous et aI., 3 USPQ 23. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a bowtie shape since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination.
Regarding claim 12, Bertoldo does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of regions comprises first, second, third, and fourth regions, the first region being configured as a cup region comprising a first cup portion and a second cup portion, the second region being disposed between the first cup portion and the second cup portion, the third region being configured as a band region configured to extend around a wearer's ribcage, and the fourth region being configured as a strap region comprising a first strap portion and a second strap portion. However, analogous art, Bishop, discloses wherein the plurality of regions comprises first, second, third, and fourth regions, the first region (232) being configured as a cup region comprising a first cup portion and a second cup portion (234), the second region (230) being disposed between the first cup portion and the second cup portion, the third region (210) being configured as a band region configured to extend around a wearer's ribcage, and the fourth region (214) being configured as a strap region comprising a first strap portion and a second strap portion (see figures 2A and 2b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the plurality of regions comprises first, second, third, and fourth regions, the first region being configured as a cup region comprising a first cup portion and a second cup portion, the second region being disposed between the first cup portion and the second cup portion, the third region being configured as a band region configured to extend around a wearer's ribcage, and the fourth region being configured as a strap region comprising a first strap portion and a second strap portion based on design needs of the final product.
Regarding claim 13, Bishop, discloses using auxetic material which has negative Poisson’s ratio since when the material is stretched, it becomes thicker and has mechanical properties such as high energy absorption and fraction resistance [0065]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have incorporated auxetic pattern, as disclosed by Bishop into the method taught by Bertoldo for the benefit of having mechanical properties such as high energy absorption and fraction resistance.
Regarding claim 14, Bishop does not explicitly disclose one or more additional modesty layers in selected regions of the garment, the modesty layers configured to increase opacity of the garment in the selected region (see figure 2 c in Bishop, regions cover the chest area).
Regarding claim 15, Bishop teaches one or more pockets [0086].
Regarding claim 16, Bishop teaches wherein the coupling portions comprise a plurality of fasteners which are 3D printed as part of the garment [0072].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertoldo (US2025/0040627 A1), as applied to claim 8, in view of NPL, Innovation in textiles.
Regarding claim 8, Bertoldo does not explicitly disclose coupling portions using ultrasonic welding. However, it is conventionally known to use ultrasonic welding to put material together. However, NPL, discloses uses ultrasonic welding (under fabric power) since it is conventionally well known. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertoldo (US2025/0040627 A1), as applied to claim 8, in view of Hurd (US 2013/0316615 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Bertoldo does not explicitly disclose using a heat press. However, it is conventionally well known to use heat press. Analogous sports bra art, Hurd, discloses using a heat press to couple material together [0024]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a heat pressing step since it is conventionally well known. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754