DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bin Mohd Yusssof et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Bin Mohd Yussof”, US 9,385,907).
As to claims 2 and 10, Bin Mohd Yussof teaches a communication device and/or method, comprising: a receiver (Fig. 2) configured to obtain data from a wireless communication channel having data transmitted through (i) modulation of a radio frequency carrier signal (Fig. 1, DUCs 109-115, column 4, lines 26-39, column 5, lines 18-23) and (ii) variation of polarizations used to transmit the modulated signals (Fig. 3, horizontal polarization and vertical polarization, claims 1-2), wherein the receiver comprises: a first input line to receive signals transmitted with a first polarization (Figs. 2-3, antennas); a second input line to receive signals transmitted with a second polarization (Figs. 2-3, antennas); one or more downconverters configured to downconvert the received signals from the first input line and the second input line (Figs. 2-3, DDCs 201 and 209); and one or more demodulators (Figs. 2-3, OFDM demodulators 205 and 211, QAM demappers 207 and 214, and OFDM modems 303 and 313) configured to extract transmitted information based on (i) transmitted symbols specified through modulation of the radio frequency carrier signal (column 5, lines 18-23) and (ii) the polarizations used to transmit the respective transmitted symbols over the wireless communication channel (Fig. 3, claims 1-2), wherein the one or more demodulators are configured to provide output data comprising bits encoded in the transmitted symbols and bits encoded in the polarizations used to transmit the transmitted symbols (i.e., by demodulating signals/bits that were FEC encoded, bit-to-symbol modulated, and transmitted from dual polarized antennas, Figs. 2-3, FEC encoder 101, QAM mappers 104 and 110, column 4, lines 39-50, column 6, lines 23-33, column 6, lines 41-67, column 7, lines 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bin Mohd Yussof in view of Patel et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Patel”, US 2023/0070699).
As to claims 3, 11, and 17, Bin Mohd Yussof does not expressly teach the first polarization is a right- hand circular polarization (RHCP) and the second polarization is a left-hand circular polarization (LHCP).
Patel further teaches the first polarization is a right- hand circular polarization (RHCP) and the second polarization is a left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) (Figs. 6a-6d, RHCP and LHCP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the first polarization is a right- hand circular polarization (RHCP) and the second polarization is a left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) in order achieve superior signal stability in dynamic environments by reducing multipath interference, fading, and polarization mismatch.
As to claim 16, Bin Mohd Yussof teaches a communication device and/or method comprising: receiving, by the communication device, signals on (i) a first input line arranged to receive signals from a first antenna configured to receive signals having a first polarization (Figs. 2-3, antennas) and (ii) a second input line arranged to receive signals from a second antenna configured to receive signals having a second polarization (Figs. 2-3, antennas); downconverting the received signals from the first input line and the second input line (Figs. 2-3, DDCs 201 and 209); and demodulating received signals (Figs. 2-3, OFDM demodulators 205 and 211, QAM demappers 207 and 214, and OFDM modems 303 and 313) to extract transmitted information based on (i) transmitted symbols specified through modulation of the radio frequency carrier signal (column 5, lines 18-23) and (ii) the polarizations used to transmit the respective transmitted symbols over the wireless communication channel (Fig. 3, claims 1-2), including providing extracted data comprising bits encoded in the transmitted symbols and bits encoded in the polarizations used to transmit the transmitted symbols (i.e., by demodulating signals/bits that were FEC encoded, bit-to-symbol modulated, and transmitted from dual polarized antennas, Figs. 2-3, FEC encoder 101, QAM mappers 104 and 110, column 4, lines 39-50, column 6, lines 23-33, column 6, lines 41-67, column 7, lines 1-3).
Bin Mohd Yussof does not expressly teach one or more non-transitory machine-readable media storing instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more processors of a communication device, to cause the communication device to perform the above recited operations/steps.
Patel further teaches one or more non-transitory machine-readable media storing instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more processors of a communication device, to cause the communication device to perform operations (paragraphs [0139]-[0142]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use one or more non-transitory machine-readable media storing instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more processors of a communication device, to cause the communication device to perform the above recited operations/step faster and/or easier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 12-15, and 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al., US 2022/0399944, Figs. 4 and 9
Frigon et al., US 11,089,595, Figs. 1-3
Bruzzone et al., US 10,756,939, Figs. 1, 2, and 4
Amadjikpe et al., US 2017/0353338, abstract, Figs. 1-3 and 13
/FRESHTEH N AGHDAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 4/3/2026