DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/2/2025 was filed on the mailing date of the claims on 1/2/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20170044399A Song et al. (hereinafter Song [English Translation Provided] in view of U.S. 2021/0006689, Yamamoto et al. (hereinafter Yamamoto).
2. Regarding Claim 1, Song discloses An image output device (Page 2 para 7, “image projection apparatus 100 may be realized by a projector”) comprising:
a projector (100 projector);
a communication interface including a circuit (Fig. 3a: a communication module 120-1);
memory storing instructions (Fig. 3A: a memory 130); and
at least one processor (Fig. 3A: processor 110),
wherein the instructions (Page 13 para 8, “program instructions that can be executed through various computer means and recorded in a computer-readable medium.”), when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 3A: processor 110), cause the image output device (100 projector) to:
identify whether another image output device (Fig. 5; Page 3para 5-8 “image projection apparatus 100-2” Page 7 para 8 “the processor 110 may detect proximity of the other image projection apparatus 100-2 by using the sensor module 140.”) outputs the input image by adjusting its luminance, by communicating with the other image output device that receives a same image as the input image and outputs the same image onto a projection surface (Page 10 para 4 “The processor 100 determines the total projection area and determines the first projection area by the first image projection apparatus 100-1 and the second projection area by the second image projection apparatus 100-2, It is possible to determine the overlapping overlap area. Since the light is superimposed on the overlapping region, the processor 110 adjusts the transparency of the image projected on the concave region so that the brightness of the entire projected region is constant.”),
adjust the luminance of at least one area included in the input image based on the brightness information (Page 10 para 4, “the processor 110 adjusts the transparency of the image projected on the concave region so that the brightness of the entire projected region is constant.” Adjusting luminance (via transparency/intensity control) of overlapping image areas) according to a result of the identifying (page 5 para 4, “The sensor module 140 may detect whether the other image projecting device 100 'is adjacent to the other and the distance to the other image projecting device 100'.”), and
control the projector to output the adjusted input image onto the projection surface (Page 2 para 2, “projecting an input image signal on a screen” Page 4 para 1, “plurality of image projection apparatuses 100-1 and 100-2 can share not only a plurality of sub images but also sync information for adjusting a sync.”.
However, Song does not explicitly disclose acquire brightness information of an input image received via the communication interface
Yamamoto teaches acquire brightness information of an input image received via the communication interface (Fig. 9; [0064], “the video reproduction apparatus receives, from the video display apparatus, the maximum luminance information (MAXTVLL) of the display apparatus” [0079]-[0080], “Metadata processor 122 processes the dynamic metadata extracted by dynamic metadata extractor 120 and the static metadata extracted by static metadata extractor 117 by using the menu graphics state information output from menu controller 116B and the luminance information (MAXTVLL) of video display apparatus 102B, and changes the dynamic metadata according to the state of menu graphics. Also, metadata processor 122 acquires MAXTVLL from, for example, video display apparatus 102B as EDID.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the image output device of Song to further acquire and utilize brightness information of an input image as taught by Yamamoto for the purposes of controlling luminance adjustment when multiple image output devices project the same image. Hence improve luminance coordination accuracy and visual quality when multiple projectors output the same image.
3. Regarding Claim 2, Song in view of Yamamoto discloses The image output device as claimed in claim 1,
Song discloses wherein the instructions (Page 13 para 8, “program instructions that can be executed through various computer means and recorded in a computer-readable medium.”), when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 3A: processor 110),
cause the image output device to acquire the adjusted input image (Page para, “And adjusts the transparency of an area of the first projection area of the image projection device that overlaps with the second projection area of the other image projection device to be different from each other”),
Song does not explicitly disclose where the luminance of a relatively bright area is increased and the luminance of a relatively dark area is decreased, among the at least one area included in the input image, based on the brightness information and a tone map curve for expanding a dynamic range.
Yamamoto discloses where the luminance of a relatively bright area is increased and the luminance of a relatively dark area is decreased (Figs. 3A and 3B, Applying a tone mapping curve, [0103], dynamic tone mapping),
among the at least one area included in the input image ([0052], “dynamic metadata is included in the video information”),
based on the brightness information and a tone map curve for expanding a dynamic range ([0103], “the video display apparatus (TV set) may change the tone mapping curve of the video display apparatus so as to not affect MaxLLGM, and maintain the dynamic metadata mode (dynamic tone mapping)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the image output device of Song to further acquire and utilize brightness information of an input image as taught by Yamamoto for the purposes of controlling luminance adjustment when multiple image output devices project the same image. Hence improve luminance coordination accuracy and visual quality when multiple projectors output the same image.
4. Regarding Claim 4, Song in view of Yamamoto discloses The image output device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions,
when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 3A: processor 110),
cause the image output device to transmit (Fig. 3a: communication module 120-1 of image projection apparatus 100),
to the other image output device (Page para, “the processor 110-1 may control the communication module 120-1 to transmit the remaining one of the plurality of sub images to the other image projection apparatus 100-2”,
based on the other image output device being identified as outputting the input image by adjusting its luminance (Page 10 para 4 “The processor 100 determines the total projection area and determines the first projection area by the first image projection apparatus 100-1 and the second projection area by the second image projection apparatus 100-2, It is possible to determine the overlapping overlap area. Since the light is superimposed on the overlapping region, the processor 110 adjusts the transparency of the image projected on the concave region so that the brightness of the entire projected region is constant.”).
Song does not explicitly disclose at least one of a tone map curve used by the image output device or a depth map or an object map,
corresponding to the input image
Yamamoto discloses at least one of a tone map curve used by the image output device (Figs. 3A and 3B, Applying a tone mapping curve, [0103], dynamic tone mapping) or a depth map (claimed in the alternative) or an object map (claimed in the alternative),
corresponding to the input image ([0052], “dynamic metadata is included in the video information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the image output device of Song to further acquire and utilize brightness information of an input image as taught by Yamamoto for the purposes of controlling luminance adjustment when multiple image output devices project the same image. Hence improve luminance coordination accuracy and visual quality when multiple projectors output the same image.
5. Regarding Claim 5, Song in view of Yamamoto discloses The image output device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions,
when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 3A: processor 110),
cause the image output device (100-1 or 100-2) to control the projector to output the adjusted input image (Page para, “input image signal”) to a corresponding position on the projection surface based on received position information if position information on the projection surface onto which the other image output device outputs the input image is received (Page 4 para 2, “The sensor module 140-2 can sense position information including the rotation angle of the other image projection apparatus 100-2. For example, the information of the other image projection apparatus 100-2 used in the processor 110-1 may be the position information of the other image projection apparatus.” Page 3 para 5, “the communication module 120-1 can transmit and receive image data”).
6. Regarding Claim 6, Song in view of Yamamoto discloses The image output device as claimed in claim 1,
Song discloses further comprising a sensor (sensor module 140), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 3A: processor 110),
cause the image output device (100-1 or 100-2) to: acquire,
through the sensor, position information on the projection surface onto which the other image output device outputs the input image, and control the projector to output the adjusted input image to a corresponding position on the projection surface based on the acquired position information (Page 4 para 2, “The sensor module 140-2 can sense position information including the rotation angle of the other image projection apparatus 100-2. For example, the information of the other image projection apparatus 100-2 used in the processor 110-1 may be the position information of the other image projection apparatus.” Page 5 para 3, “The sensor module 140 can sense whether the image projection apparatus 100 is close to the placement surface. For example, the sensor module 140 may determine whether the sensor module140 is in proximity to the placement surface using an illuminance sensor 148 attached to one side of the image projection apparatus 100. In addition, the sensor module 140 can detect the infrared ray-marked identification mark using the infrared ray sensor 145.”).
7. Regarding Claim 9, Song in view of Yamamoto discloses The image output (100-1 or 100-2) device as claimed in claim 1,
Song discloses wherein a projection screen output by the image output device and a projection screen output by the other image output device are overlaid at the same position on the projection surface (Figs. 9, 11a-14b, (Page 10 para 4 “The processor 100 determines the total projection area and determines the first projection area by the first image projection apparatus 100-1 and the second projection area by the second image projection apparatus 100-2, It is possible to determine the overlapping overlap area. Since the light is superimposed on the overlapping region, the processor 110 adjusts the transparency of the image projected on the concave region so that the brightness of the entire projected region is constant.”).
8. Claim 10 is a method claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in device Claim 1.
9. Claim 11 is a method claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in device Claim 2.
10. Claim 13 is a method claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in device Claim 4.
11. Claim 14 is a method claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in device Claim 5.
12. Claim 15 is a method claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in device Claim 6.
13. Claim 16 is a non-transitory CRM claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in device Claim 1.
14. Claim 17 is a non-transitory CRM claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in device Claim 2.
15. Claim 19 is a non-transitory CRM claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in device Claim 4.
16. Claim 20 is a non-transitory CRM claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in device Claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 8, 12 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, Song in view of Yamamoto discloses The image output device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions (Page 13 para 8, “program instructions that can be executed through various computer means and recorded in a computer-readable medium.”),
when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 3A: processor 110),
cause the image output device (100-1 or 100-2) to:
acquire one of a depth map (Page 7 para 8 “a depth camera”,
an object map (claimed in the alternative), or a saliency map (claimed in the alternative),
corresponding to the input image (page 2 para 2, “projecting an input image signal”),
Song in view of Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose based on the brightness information of the input image,
identify distance information of a plurality of objects included in the input image based on one of the depth map or the object map,
increase the luminance of an area corresponding to a first object disposed at a relatively short distance among the plurality of objects, and
decrease the luminance of an area corresponding to a second object disposed at a relatively long distance among the plurality of objects.
Regarding Claim 7, Song in view of Yamamoto discloses The image output device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 3A: processor 110), cause the image output (100-1 or 100-2) device to:
Song in view of Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose set one of the other image output device and the image output device as a master and set the other as a slave,
transmit a first control signal to the other image output device for the other image output device to output the input image by adjusting its luminance, and
control the projector to output the input image without adjusting the luminance of the input image based on the other image output device being set as the slave, and
transmit a second control signal to the other image output device for the other image output device to output the input image without adjusting its luminance, and
control the projector to output the adjusted input image after adjusting the luminance of the input image based on the other image output device being set as the master.
Regarding Claim 8, Song in view of Yamamoto discloses The image output device (100-1 or 100-2) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions,
when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 3A: processor 110),
cause the image output device (100-1 or 100-2) to:
Song in view of Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose identify at least one object corresponding to a user selection among a plurality of objects included in the input image, and
acquire the adjusted input image by increasing the luminance of an area corresponding to the identified at least one object and decreasing the luminance of a remaining area.
Claim 12 is a method claim, objected with respect to the same limitation objected in device Claim 3.
Claim 18 is a non-transitory CRM claim, objected with respect to the same limitation objected in device Claim 3.
Conclusion
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422