DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group II claims 19-21, 39 and 50-66 directed to a coated substrate and coated glass substrate is acknowledged. Applicant has included newly added claims 50-66 which fails under elected Group II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19, 21, 50-52, 61, 62-64 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kania et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2011/0054113.
Regarding claims 19, 21, 50-52, 61, 62-64 and 66, Kania discloses a glass substrate [0072] coated with a hydrophobic composition comprising 1H, 1H,6H,6H-perfluoro-1,6-hexane diacrylate or 1H, 1H,6H,6H-perfluoro-1,6-hexane dimethacrylate [0020]. Applicant’s claims 21, 58 and 61 are product-by-process claims. "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113. The manner in which the substrate is coated does not make the coated substrate different from the prior art if the prior art is composed of the same materials as required by applicant’s claimed coated substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39, 53-54, 59-60, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kania et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2011/0054113 in view of Schlenoff. U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2010/0173224.
Kania, above, remains relied upon for claims 21, 58 and 61.
Kania discloses a glass substrate [0072] coated with a hydrophobic composition comprising 1H, 1H,6H,6H-perfluoro-1,6-hexane diacrylate or 1H, 1H,6H,6H-perfluoro-1,6-hexane dimethacrylate [0020]. Kania is silent to the coated substrate comprising 2 to 100alternating layers of metal oxide and a hydrocarbon or fluorocarbon moiety disposed on the glass substrate wherein the alternating layers are interposed between the glass substrate and the hydrophobic terminal group.
Schlenoff discloses a coated substrate (para [0031], [0092]), comprising: a substrate (para [0092]); 2 to 100 alternating layers (para [0093], A/B layers of 3 or 4 pairs.) of metal oxide and a hydrocarbon or fluorocarbon moiety (para (0010), [0046], [0091], [0092}, alternating coating of positive and negative polyelectrolytes with positively or negatively charged metallic oxide and positively or negatively fluorinated/fluorocarbon polyelectrolyte.) disposed on the glass substrate (para [0112], glass substrate.); and a hydrophobic, preferably fluorinated, terminating group wherein the alternating layers are interposed between the glass substrate and the hydrophobic terminating group (para [0037], [0039], [0093], [0112]. Paragraph 0091 discloses that the metal oxide is selected from the group consisting of Al [aluminum], Zn [zinc]; and Ti [titanium]. Paragraph 0107 discloses porous metals. Paragraph 0013 discloses that coated substrate controls the hydrophobicity of a surface. Kania and Sclenoff are analogous art in that both references are directed to coated glass substrate wherein the coating can include fluorocarbon moiety. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the layered coating of Schlenoff in the coating of the glass substrate of Kania for the benefit of enhanced hydrophobicity on the glass substrate.
Regarding claim 55, the combination of Kania and Schlenoff teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the hydrocarbon or fluorocarbon moiety has carbon chain lengths that are substantially perpendicular to the substrate surface. It is reasonable to presume that the hydrocarbon or fluorocarbon moiety has carbon chain lengths that are substantially perpendicular to the substrate surface is inherent to the combination of Kania and Schlenoff. Said presumption is based upon the Kania and Schlenoff combination above. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 56, the combination of Kania and Schlenoff teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the coated substrate has an optical transparency of at least 90% over the visible spectrum and a water contact angle of at least 100 º It is reasonable to presume that the coated substrate has an optical transparency of at least 90% over the visible spectrum and a water contact angle of at least 100 º is inherent to the combination of Kania and Schlenoff. Said presumption is based upon the Kania and Schlenoff combination above. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 55, the combination of Kania and Schlenoff teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach that the coated substrate has one or any combination of the following properties: the coating comprises less than 10 mass % transition metals in the outer 10 nm of coating thickness; visible transmittance of at least 90% at all points in the visible spectrum; a water contact angle of at least 100°; a haze of 0.2% or less; a water sliding angle of 15° or less; the entire coating having a thickness of 100 nm or less from the substrate surface to the exterior of the hydrophobic terminal group, with each sublayer having a thickness of at least 0.2 nm and up to 20 nm; an optical clarity of at least 80% over the visible spectrum from 400 nm to 700 nm; a coating thickness in the range of 0.5 nm to 200 nm; a porous layer comprising aluminum oxide disposed between the glass substrate and the alternating layers; a high shear strength having the best score on a 0 to 5 scale as measured according to ASTM D3359; birefringence or other anisotropic interaction with polarizable light that shows higher order structure, or x-ray reflectivity (XRR) that shows higher order structure; at least 5 mass % F in the top 10 nm of the coating, and/or a F/O atomic ratio of at least 2 in the top 10 nm of the coating; at least 5 mass % C in the top 10 nm of the coating, and/or a C/O atomic ratio of at least 2 in the top 10 nm of the coating; a haze of 5% or less after exposure to 100% humidity in air at standard temperature and pressure; and/or an lipophobicity contact angle, measured with ethylene glycol, of at least 100°. It is reasonable to presume that the coated substrate has the listed properties is inherent to the combination of Kania and Schlenoff. Said presumption is based upon the Kania and Schlenoff combination above. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 20 and 65 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Applicant claims a coated substrate as recited in claim 21, further including wherein the fluorinated terminating hydrophobic terminal group comprises a moiety derived from 2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5,6,6,7,7,8,8,8-pentadecafluoro-1-octanol as recited in claim 20. Applicant claims a coated substrate as recited in claim 61, further including wherein the fluorinated terminating hydrophobic terminal group comprises a moiety derived from 2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5,6,6,7,7,8,8,8-pentadecafluoro-1-octanol as recited in claim 65.
The closest prior art, Kania et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2011/0054113, teaches discloses a glass substrate [0072] coated with a hydrophobic composition comprising 1H, 1H,6H,6H-perfluoro-1,6-hexane diacrylate or 1H, 1H,6H,6H-perfluoro-1,6-hexane dimethacrylate [0020]. Kania fails to teach or suggest fluorinated terminating hydrophobic terminal group comprises a moiety derived from 2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5,6,6,7,7,8,8,8-pentadecafluoro-1-octanol.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786