DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/01/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi et al. (2018/0284585, of record) in view of Saitoh et al. (WO 2021/132630, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Trisnadi discloses an optical element (Figure 12A, 1250, low-profile BS) comprising: a liquid crystal diffraction element (1256, transmissive diffractive optical element; at least [0057] teaches the DOE may include a layer of polymer dispersed liquid crystal); and a prism (1254, prism) having a first surface (1252, input surface) which is in direct contact with the liquid crystal diffraction element or is in contact with the liquid crystal diffraction element through another layer (Figure 12A; [0103]), and the prism has a second surface (1255, beam splitting surface) which reflects one of separated light by diffraction of the liquid crystal diffraction element ([0107]).
Trisnadi fails to teach wherein the liquid crystal diffraction element includes an optically anisotropic layer having a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from a liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating in at least one in-plane direction. Trisnadi and Saitoh are related because both teach an optical element.
Saitoh teaches an optical element wherein the liquid crystal diffraction element includes an optically anisotropic layer having a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from a liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating in at least one in-plane direction (at least [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Trisnadi to incorporate the teachings of Saitoh and provide wherein the liquid crystal diffraction element includes an optically anisotropic layer having a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from a liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating in at least one in-plane direction. Doing so would allow for improved display quality by reducing the influence of ambient light color and enable accurate visualization of a subject.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Trisnadi teaches the optical element according to claim 1, wherein, in the optically anisotropic layer, the liquid crystal compound is helically twisted and aligned along a thickness direction (Saitoh: at least [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Trisnadi teaches the optical element according to claim 2, wherein the liquid crystal diffraction element includes at least two optically anisotropic layers in which the liquid crystal compound is helically twisted and aligned along a thickness direction, and twisted directions of the liquid crystal compound in two of the optically anisotropic layers are opposite to each other in the thickness direction (Saitoh: at least [0053, 0112, 0113]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Trisnadi teaches the optical element according to claim 1, wherein an angle between the first surface and the second surface of the prism is 70° to 110° ([0110] teaches θ.sub.BS to be 30 degrees or less, thus if θ.sub.BS is chosen to be 20 degrees or less, the angle between 1252, input surface, and 1255, beam splitting surface, would be 70 degrees or more; [0110] teaches as the angle θ.sub.BS decreases, the angle of diffraction increases).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Trisnadi teaches the optical element according to claim 1, wherein the liquid crystal diffraction element includes at least two optically anisotropic layers in which the liquid crystal compound is helically twisted and aligned along a thickness direction, and twisted directions of the liquid crystal compound in two of the optically anisotropic layers are opposite to each other in the thickness direction (Saitoh: at least [0053, 0112, 0113]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Trisnadi teaches the optical element according to claim 2, wherein an angle between the first surface and the second surface of the prism is 70° to 110° ([0110] teaches θ.sub.BS to be 30 degrees or less, thus if θ.sub.BS is chosen to be 20 degrees or less, the angle between 1252, input surface, and 1255, beam splitting surface, would be 70 degrees or more; [0110] teaches as the angle θ.sub.BS decreases, the angle of diffraction increases).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Trisnadi teaches the optical element according to claim 3, wherein an angle between the first surface and the second surface of the prism is 70° to 110° ([0110] teaches θ.sub.BS to be 30 degrees or less, thus if θ.sub.BS is chosen to be 20 degrees or less, the angle between 1252, input surface, and 1255, beam splitting surface, would be 70 degrees or more; [0110] teaches as the angle θ.sub.BS decreases, the angle of diffraction increases).
Claims 5, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi et al. (2018/0284585, of record) in view of Saitoh et al. (WO 2021/132630, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shingaki et al. (5,381,278).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Trisnadi discloses the optical element according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein light separated by the diffraction of the liquid crystal diffraction element and reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism. The modified Trisnadi and Shingaki are related because both teach an optical element.
Shingaki teaches an optical element wherein separated light separated which is reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism (Figure 4, light reflected by 22a, total reflection surface, is output at the surface of 22, total reflection prism, adjacent to 25, plano-convex lens, and light that is not incident on 22a, total reflection surface, is also output at the surface of 22, total reflection prism, adjacent to 25, plano-convex lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Trisnadi to incorporate the teachings of Shingaki and provide wherein light separated by the diffraction of the liquid crystal diffraction element and reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism. Doing so would allow for improved image quality and a compact system.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Trisnadi discloses the optical element according to claim 2, but fails to teach wherein light separated by the diffraction of the liquid crystal diffraction element and reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism. The modified Trisnadi and Shingaki are related because both teach an optical element.
Shingaki teaches an optical element wherein separated light separated which is reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism (Figure 4, light reflected by 22a, total reflection surface, is output at the surface of 22, total reflection prism, adjacent to 25, plano-convex lens, and light that is not incident on 22a, total reflection surface, is also output at the surface of 22, total reflection prism, adjacent to 25, plano-convex lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Trisnadi to incorporate the teachings of Shingaki and provide wherein light separated by the diffraction of the liquid crystal diffraction element and reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism. Doing so would allow for improved image quality and a compact system.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Trisnadi discloses the optical element according to claim 3, but fails to teach wherein light separated by the diffraction of the liquid crystal diffraction element and reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism. The modified Trisnadi and Shingaki are related because both teach an optical element.
Shingaki teaches an optical element wherein separated light separated which is reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism (Figure 4, light reflected by 22a, total reflection surface, is output at the surface of 22, total reflection prism, adjacent to 25, plano-convex lens, and light that is not incident on 22a, total reflection surface, is also output at the surface of 22, total reflection prism, adjacent to 25, plano-convex lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Trisnadi to incorporate the teachings of Shingaki and provide wherein light separated by the diffraction of the liquid crystal diffraction element and reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism. Doing so would allow for improved image quality and a compact system.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Trisnadi discloses the optical element according to claim 4, but fails to teach wherein light separated by the diffraction of the liquid crystal diffraction element and reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism. The modified Trisnadi and Shingaki are related because both teach an optical element.
Shingaki teaches an optical element wherein separated light separated which is reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism (Figure 4, light reflected by 22a, total reflection surface, is output at the surface of 22, total reflection prism, adjacent to 25, plano-convex lens, and light that is not incident on 22a, total reflection surface, is also output at the surface of 22, total reflection prism, adjacent to 25, plano-convex lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Trisnadi to incorporate the teachings of Shingaki and provide wherein light separated by the diffraction of the liquid crystal diffraction element and reflected by the second surface and light which is not incident into the second surface are emitted from the same surface of the prism. Doing so would allow for improved image quality and a compact system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oishi (5,124,841) discloses a relevant optical element.
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872