DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/2/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 8-14: obtaining unit, identifying unit, first generation unit, second generation unit, mowing unit (MCU/single chip microcomputer or software stored thereon [0019])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 18 recite “a mowing trend” in a second instance while the first instance is provided in the independent claim(s). It is unclear if this second instance of this element is the same or distinct from the first instance. For purposes of examination the second instance of “a mowing trend” will be interpreted as being the same as the first instance. Claims 5-7 and 19-20 do not cure the deficiencies and are thus similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 15 recites "a memory" which can be interpreted as transitory waves. Claims 16-20 do not cure the deficiency and are thus similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20160174459A1 ("Balutis") in view of US20200275604A1 ("Chen") and CN110879596A ("Li", English machine translation provided).
As per claims 1, 8, and 15 Balutis teaches:
Generating a spiral mowing route corresponding to a first region and generating a square wave-shaped mowing route corresponding to a second region; in response to a mowing trigger request for a robotic lawn mower, performing a mowing operation in the mowing region according to the spiral mowing route and the square wave-shaped mowing route. (Balutis at least the abstract, [0079]: “The movement pattern can be, for example, a spiral pattern, a corn row pattern, zig-zag pattern, etc. A user can select a desired movement pattern for each of the lawn areas and different patterns may be selected for different areas of the same lawn.”) *Examiner’s note: square wave-shaped is interpreted as being at least a zig zag pattern or equivalent.
Balutis does not disclose:
obtaining a preset mowing region; identifying a first region and a second region in the mowing region according to a preset spiral mowing mode, wherein the first region is a spiral mowing region
Chen teaches the aforementioned limitations (Chen at least [0236]: ” the mowable area 54 may also be divided into a plurality of closed sub mowable areas 541, and the sub mowable areas 541 are operated separately. Specifically, when the mowing path generation module 424 detects that the currently acquired mowable area 54 is irregular, and that the first virtual boundary 513 and the second virtual boundary 514 cannot be established, then the mowable area 54 is divided into a plurality of sub mowable areas 541, and the divided sub mowable areas 541 are morphological sections of different shapes and sizes, such as a combination of a rectangle and a semicircle. The sub mowable areas 541 can each generate a first boundary 511 and a second boundary 512, a first virtual boundary 513 and a second virtual boundary 514, and determine the mowing path 53 to control the intelligent lawn mower 20 to work along mowing path ”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Balutis with the aforementioned limitations taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve the efficiency of an intelligent mowing system and reduce the occurrence of a repeat cut (Chen [0008]).
Balutis does not disclose:
generating a square wave-shaped mowing route corresponding to the second region based on a mowing trend corresponding to the spiral mowing route
the first region surrounds the second region
Li teaches the aforementioned limitations (Li at least FIG. 2, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Balutis with the aforementioned limitations taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to “realize effective traversal of the operation area” (Li).
As per claims 2, 9, and 16 Balutis in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Balutis does not disclose:
the generating the spiral mowing route corresponding to the first region comprises: obtaining a preset mowing direction, and a region information of the mowing region; and generating the spiral mowing route corresponding to the first region based on the mowing direction, the region information, and a region boundary of the first region.
Li teaches the aforementioned limitations (Li at least FIG. 2, FIG. 5, “combined planning algorithm based on model constraint comprises the following steps: firstly, traversing the periphery of the operation area by utilizing spiral type contraction traversal, switching a planning algorithm when the minimum traversal condition is not met, and adopting an optimized linear circulation propulsion covering method for the internal non-traversed area so as to complete the traversal of the whole operation area.”). *Examiner’s note: in both FIGs. 2 and 5 the path starts going clockwise.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Balutis with the aforementioned limitations taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
As per claims 3, 10, 17 Balutis in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Balutis does not disclose:
wherein the generating the spiral mowing route corresponding to the first region based on the mowing direction, the region information, and the region boundary of the first region comprises: determining a first turning point based on the mowing direction and the region boundary of the first region; and generating the spiral mowing route corresponding to the first region based on the first turning point, the region information, and the preset mowing direction.
Li teaches the aforementioned limitations (Li at least FIGs 2, 5, “step 2.1: traversing the outermost layer operation area to generate an initial planning path, wherein the number of the circulating points is the number of planning points in the path; step 2.2: generating a new planning point by taking a known point in the planning path as a reference point;”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Balutis with the aforementioned limitations taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
As per claims 4, 11, 18 Balutis in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Balutis does not disclose:
wherein the generating the square wave- shaped mowing route corresponding to the second region based on a mowing trend corresponding to the spiral mowing route comprises: outputting a target mowing direction corresponding to the square wave-shaped mowing route based on the mowing trend corresponding to the spiral mowing route and a region boundary of the second region; and generating the square wave-shaped mowing route corresponding to the second region based on the target mowing direction.
Li teaches the aforementioned limitations (Li at least FIGs. 2, 6, “step 3.2: determining the current traversing traveling direction according to the path planning result in the step 2;”). *Examiner’s note: Li FIG. 2 and specification teaches the spiral route being used to cover the working area until the remaining area cannot be covered by the spiral route turning parameters and is taken over by a zig-zag pattern to cover the remaining area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Balutis with the aforementioned limitations taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
As per claims 5, 12, 19 Balutis in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Balutis does not disclose:
wherein the outputting the target mowing direction corresponding to the square wave-shaped mowing route based on the mowing trend corresponding to the spiral mowing route and the region boundary of the second region comprises: determining a longest region boundary among the region boundaries of the second region as a target boundary; and outputting the target mowing direction corresponding to the square wave-shaped mowing route based on the mowing trend corresponding to the spiral mowing route and using the target boundary as a reference.
Li teaches the aforementioned limitations (Li at least FIGs. 2, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Balutis with the aforementioned limitations taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
As per claims 6, 13, 20 Balutis in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Balutis does not disclose:
wherein the generating the square wave- shaped mowing route corresponding to the second region based on the target mowing direction comprises: determining a route end point of the spiral mowing route; and determining a second turning point on the region boundary of the second region, and generating the square wave-shaped mowing route corresponding to the second region based on the route end point, the second turning point, and the target mowing direction.
Li teaches the aforementioned limitations (Li at least FIGs 2, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Balutis with the aforementioned limitations taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
As per claims 7, 14 Balutis in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Balutis does not disclose:
wherein the generating the square wave- shaped mowing route corresponding to the second region based on the target mowing direction comprises: determining a route end point of the spiral mowing route; determining a route start point which is located within a preset range from the route end point and is away from the second region; determining a third turning point based on the region boundary of the second region; and generating, based on the route start point, the third turning point, and the target mowing direction, the square wave-shaped mowing route covering at least a part of the spiral mowing route.
Li teaches the aforementioned limitations (Li at least FIG. 2 annotated below). *Examiner’s note: the preset range between the route end point and route start point is at least coincident/zero in the Li embodiment. The zig-zag route start point being away from the second region is interpreted as being at least not in the un-mowed interior and part of the already mowed spiral route region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Balutis with the aforementioned limitations taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Conclusion
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669