CTNF 19/008,455 CTNF 89956 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 1/02/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is ‘configured to’ perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 16, 22-23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. All of the dependent claims do not clarify and are likewise rejected. Claim 16 recites the limitation "wherein the device is configured…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The recited claim should read “wherein the NFC device is configured…”. Claim 22 recites “the NFC of claim 21…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 22 should recite “the NFC device of claim 21”. Claim 23 recites the limitation "…during a first time period, operating the NFC device in a first operating state in which the device is configured…” and “…during a second time period, operating the NFC device in a second operating state in which the device is configured". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The recited claim should read “"…during a first time period, operating the NFC device in a first operating state in which the NFC device is configured…" and “…during a second time period, operating the NFC device in a second operating state in which the NFC device is configured". Claim 28 recites “the NFC of claim 23…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 28 should recite “the method of claim 23”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 16-18, 20-24, and 26-28-are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) & 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Ozenne (US 2017/0338562), hereinafter Ozenne . Regarding claim 16 Ozenne as best understood discloses a near field communication (NFC) device (e.g., paragraph 0001 “NFC”), comprising: control circuitry (e.g., Fig. 2, at 232 and its connections to 220 and 230); a concentric antenna arrangement comprising a first NFC antenna coupled to the control circuitry (Fig. 2, at outer loop) and a second NFC antenna (Fig. 2, at inner loop) coupled to the control circuitry, wherein the first NFC antenna forms an outer loop of the concentric antenna arrangement and wherein the second NFC antenna forms an inner loop of the concentric antenna arrangement (e.g., Fig. 2, at inner and outer loops); wherein the device is configured to switch between two operating states: a first operating state in which the device is configured for communication with an external device using the concentric antenna arrangement and the control circuitry is configured to drive the first antenna and the second antenna with signals configured to constructively interfere at a center of the concentric antenna arrangement (e.g., paragraphs 0037-0042); and a second operating state in which the device is configured to wirelessly charge an external device using the concentric antenna arrangement and the control circuitry is configured to drive the first antenna and the second antenna with signals configured to destructively interfere at a center of the concentric antenna arrangement (e.g., paragraphs 0037-0042). PNG media_image1.png 414 567 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 17 Ozenne further discloses the NFC device of claim 16, wherein the first NFC antenna is physically separated from the second NFC antenna (e.g., Fig. 2, at inner and outer loops). Regarding claim 18 Ozenne further discloses the NFC device of claim 16, wherein the first NFC antenna and the second NFC antenna are single-ended antennas (e.g., Fig. 2, at inner and outer loops). 20. The NFC device of claim 19, wherein the difference between the phase of the third signal and the phase of the fourth signal is 180 degrees or approximately 180 degrees. Regarding claim 21 Ozenne further discloses the NFC device of claim 16, wherein the control circuitry includes wireless charging circuitry coupled to the concentric antenna arrangement (e.g., Fig. 2, at 232 and its connections to 220 and 230). Regarding claim 23 Ozenne as best understood discloses a method comprising: operatively coupling control circuitry (e.g., Fig. 2, at 232 and its connections to 220 and 230) of a near field communication device (NFC) device (e.g., paragraph 0001 “NFC”) to a concentric antenna arrangement comprising a first NFC antenna and a second NFC antenna (e.g., Fig. 2, at inner and outer loops), wherein the first NFC antenna forms an outer loop of the concentric antenna arrangement (e.g., Fig. 2, at outer loop) and the second NFC antenna forms an inner loop of the concentric antenna arrangement (e.g., Fig. 2, at inner loop); during a first time period, operating the NFC device in a first operating state in which the device is configured for communication with an external device using the concentric antenna arrangement and the control circuitry is configured to drive the first antenna and the second antenna with signals configured to constructively interfere at a center of the concentric antenna arrangement (e.g., paragraphs 0037-0042); and during a second time period, operating the NFC device in a second operating state in which the device is configured to wirelessly charge an external device using the concentric antenna arrangement and the control circuitry is configured to drive the first antenna and the second antenna with signals configured to destructively interfere at a center of the concentric antenna arrangement (e.g., paragraphs 0037-0042). Regarding claim 24 Ozenne further discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the first NFC antenna is physically separated from the second NFC antenna (e.g., Fig. 2, at inner and outer loops). Regarding claim 25 Ozenne further discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the first NFC antenna and the second NFC antenna are single-ended antennas (e.g., Fig. 2, at inner and outer loops). Regarding claim 27 Ozenne further discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the control circuitry further comprises wireless charging circuitry coupled to the concentric antenna arrangement (e.g., Fig. 2, at 232 and its connections to 220 and 230) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozenne in view of Slatnick et al., (US 2023/0238830), hereinafter Slatnick . Regarding claim 22 Ozenne does not disclose the NFC of claim 21, wherein the wireless charging circuitry is configured for compatibility with a Qi wireless charging protocol. Slatnick discloses wherein the wireless charging circuitry is configured for compatibility with a Qi wireless charging protocol (Slatnick, paragraph 0003). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the NFC disclosed by Ozenne in accordance with the teaching of Slatnick regarding configuring for compatibility with a Qi wireless charging protocol in order to take advantage of wireless charging include mobile processing and/or communication devices. Examiner note: standards, such as the Qi standard defined by the Wireless Power Consortium enable devices manufactured by a first supplier to be wirelessly charged using a charger manufactured by a second supplier ( see Slatnick, paragraph 0003). Standards for wireless charging are optimized for relatively simple configurations of devices and tend to provide basic charging capabilities ( see Slatnick, paragraph 0003). The Qi standard is known in the art and not considered novel. Regarding claim 28 Ozenne does not disclose the NFC of claim 23, wherein the wireless charging circuitry is configured for compatibility with a Qi wireless charging protocol. Slatnick discloses wherein the wireless charging circuitry is configured for compatibility with a Qi wireless charging protocol (Slatnick, paragraph 0003). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the NFC disclosed by Ozenne in accordance with the teaching of Slatnick regarding configuring for compatibility with a Qi wireless charging protocol in order to take advantage of wireless charging include mobile processing and/or communication devices. Examiner note: standards, such as the Qi standard defined by the Wireless Power Consortium enable devices manufactured by a first supplier to be wirelessly charged using a charger manufactured by a second supplier ( see Slatnick, paragraph 0003). Standards for wireless charging are optimized for relatively simple configurations of devices and tend to provide basic charging capabilities ( see Slatnick, paragraph 0003). The Qi standard is known in the art and not considered novel . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim s 19 and 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding dependent claim 19, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein: in the first operating state, the control circuitry feeds the first NFC antenna with a first signal and the second transmitter feeds the second NFC antenna with a second signal, wherein a phase of the first signal is substantially the same as a phase of the second signal; in the second operating state, the control circuitry feeds the first NFC antenna with a third signal and the second transmitter feeds the second NFC antenna with a fourth signal, wherein a phase of the third signal is substantially different from a phase of the fourth signal. Ozenne and Slatnick are both cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a near field communication device having control circuitry, a concentric antenna arrangement having a first NFC antenna coupled to the control circuitry and a second NFC antenna coupled to the control circuitry, wherein the NFC device is configured to switch between two operating states. However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant. Regarding dependent claim 26, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of the method of claim 23, further comprising configuring the NFC device to operate in a first operating state and in a second operating state, wherein: in the first operating state, the control circuitry feeds the first NFC antenna with a first signal and the second transmitter feeds the second NFC antenna with a second signal, wherein the phase of the first signal is substantially the same as the phase of the second signal; in the second operating state, the control circuitry feeds the first NFC antenna with a third signal and the control circuitry feeds the second NFC antenna with a fourth signal, wherein the phase of the third signal is substantially different from the phase of the fourth signal. Ozenne and Slatnick are both cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a method comprising: operatively coupling control circuitry of a near field communication device (NFC) device to a concentric antenna arrangement comprising a first NFC antenna and a second NFC antenna, wherein the first NFC antenna forms an outer loop of the concentric antenna arrangement and the second NFC antenna forms an inner loop of the concentric antenna arrangement; during a first time period, operating the NFC device in a first operating state in which the device is configured for communication with an external device using the concentric antenna arrangement and the control circuitry is configured to drive the first antenna and the second antenna with signals configured to constructively interfere at a center of the concentric antenna arrangement; and during a second time period, operating the NFC device in a second operating state in which the device is configured to wirelessly charge an external device using the concentric antenna arrangement and the control circuitry is configured to drive the first antenna and the second antenna with signals configured to destructively interfere at a center of the concentric antenna arrangement. However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant . Conclusion . The prior art not made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following NPL is considered highly relevant to the current application: Le-Huu Hoang “Dual-Band Free-Positioning Transmitting Coil for Multiple-Receiver Wireless Power transfer”, IEEEE vol. 9, 30 July 2021, pages 107298-107308. This reference appears to anticipate the same claims rejected by Ozenne and Slatnick. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID E LOTTER whose telephone number is (571)270-7422. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dameon Levi can be reached at 571-272-2105. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. DAVID E. LOTTER Primary Examiner Art Unit 2845 /DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/008,455 Page 2 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/008,455 Page 3 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/008,455 Page 4 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/008,455 Page 5 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/008,455 Page 6 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/008,455 Page 7 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/008,455 Page 8 Art Unit: 2845