DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 05/18/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morishima et al. (US 2021/0145265 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morishima discloses a device fully capable of functioning as an otoscope (Abstract), otoscope, comprising:
a sensing part the sensing part is considered the distal portion of the device) which comprises:
a housing (Fig. 7B, ref. 112); and
a sensing head disposed in the housing (ref. 120, Fig. 7B) and comprising:
at least one light source tight-emitting diode (ref. 127) disposed on a front end face (Fig. 7B) of the sensing head; and
a sensing element (ref. 124, paragraph [0092]) disposed on the front end face, wherein the housing of the sensing part is columnar (Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 6, Morishima discloses the otoscope according to claim 1, wherein the sensing part is configured to be detached from a main body part (Fig. 7b, ref. 110a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US 2021/0145265 A1) in view of Wang (US 2021/0321862 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Morishima discloses the otoscope according to claim 1, further comprising air supply (paragraph [0088]) engaged with a cavity (ref. 112b, 32 Fig. 7B) and an outlet (ref. 121b) for receiving air, but is silent regarding an air supply device, wherein the air supply device comprises an air supply tube and an air bag connected to the air supply tube, wherein the air supply tube passes through the cavity (ref. 121b) of the sensing head, and an outlet of the air supply tube is located on the front end face.
Wan teaches an otoscope (Abstract) comprising an air supply device, comprising an air supply tube and an air bag connected to the air supply tube (Fig. 4, paragraph [0029]), wherein the air supply tube passes through a cavity of a sensing head (refs. 11 & 12, Fig. 4), and an outlet of the air supply tube (paragraph [0029] discloses a jet port/outlet on the wall of ref. 12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Morishima to include the air supply device, wherein the air supply device comprises an air supply tube and an air bag connected to the air supply tube, wherein the air supply tube passes through a cavity of the sensing head and an outlet, as taught by Wan, for the purpose of observing the effect of airflow in the body or to push open apertures of the body (paragraph [0029]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US 2021/0145265 A1) in view of Wang (US 2021/0321862 A1) and further in view of Hunter et al. (US 2024/0326379 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Morishima in view of Wang discloses the otoscope according to claim 2, except wherein the air supply tube comprises stainless steel.
Hunter teaches surgical tubing usable with medical scopes (paragraph [0003]) wherein an air supply tube comprises stainless steel (paragraph [0117]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply tube of Morishima in view Wang to comprise a stainless-steel tube, as taught by Hunter, for the purpose of benefiting from stainless steels high strength and thus better withstanding internal air pressure.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US 2021/0145265 A1) in view of Fowler (US 2010/0081875 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Morishima discloses the otoscope according to claim 1, except wherein the at least light-emitting diode has a color temperature of 6500K or 3500K.
Fowler teaches a scope usable as an otoscope (paragraph [0054]) wherein the scope comprising a light source in the form of an LED (paragraph [0097]) wherein the light source has a color temperature of 6500K (paragraph [0097]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light-emitting diode (LED) of Morishima such that the LED has a color temperature of 6500K, as taught by Flowler, for the purpose of providing an LED with a low power and cost, high efficiency and small package size and long lifespan (paragraph [0097]) and for the benefit of providing a daylight similar white light that would improve visibility of fine details in the target view.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima et al. (US 2021/0145265 A1) in view of Manohara et al. (US 2009/0187072 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Morishima discloses the otoscope according to claim 1, except wherein the front end face has a diameter of 3.5 millimeters.
Manohara teaches an analogous device (Abstract) having a diameter of 3.5 millimeters (paragraph [0021] discloses a diameter of less than, or equal to, about 4 millimeters). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the front end face to be 3.5 millimeters, as taught by Manohara, for the purpose of aiding in minimally invasive procedures and minimizing tissue disruption.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/Examiner, Art Unit 3773