Detailed Action
The following is a non-final rejection made in response to claims received on February 23rd 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 11 and 12, the term “both LEDs” lacks a basis for antecedence in the claims. The claim, which is dependent upon claim 1, does not establish any LEDs and so it is unclear what the “both LEDs” is referring to. Claims 8 and 9 establish “one or more” LEDs, and it appears as though the Applicant intended to cite dependency to one of these two claims instead of claim 1.
In claim 15, “the laser sight” lacks a basis for antecedence in the claim. Claim 15 is dependent upon claim 1, which also makes no mention of a laser sight.
Further clarification and/or amendment is required for compliance with this section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims cited in this section are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2016/0165192 (hereinafter referred to as “SAATCHI” or “the reference”).
Regarding claim 1, Saatchi teaches a camera-integrated handgun receiver, comprising:
a. a grip having a top and bottom and a front and a back (Figs. 1 and 5b illustrate an exemplary handgun having a grip), wherein a grip opening is present in the bottom of the grip and configured to receive a magazine (the exemplary handguns shown in Figs. 1 and 5b illustrate a magazine stowed in the grip) wherein the grip further comprises:
a data transmitter (via sensor 220 shown in Fig. 2a) in electronic communication with a power source (via lithium battery, Figs. 15 and 17) and a camera (1265, 1755; Figs. 12 and 17)1;
a trigger assembly and a trigger guard having a top and bottom and a front and a back (see Figs. 1 and 5b), wherein the trigger guard is located adjacent to the front of the grip (see Figs. 1 and 5b) and at least partially circumscribes the trigger assembly (covering the front surface is considered to partially circumscribe the trigger assembly); and
a receiver length affixed to the top of the grip and top of the trigger guard and extending distal to the trigger guard (the receiver includes the portion of the body that is directly beneath the slide; see Figs. 1 and 5b), wherein the receiver length, comprises:
a first cavity adjacent to the front of the trigger guard (device 1750 is shown in Fig. 17, that is attachable to the receiver length at its accessory rail via mount 1795 beneath the muzzle and adjacent to the trigger guard, includes a series of cavities holding a plurality of different components; see Figs. 13-18);
the camera (1755; see Fig. 17) housed in the first cavity;
a second cavity adjacent to the front of trigger guard (the second cavity is also within the same device); and
the power source (via lithium battery 1770) housed in the second cavity (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Saatchi teaches that the power source is rechargeable and configured for wireless charging (paragraph [0045] states that “power and connectivity to the device are provided via rechargeable battery power which may be charged by through an adapter over USB or to a computer or a wall outlet, etc.”, wireless charging platforms are considered to be “adapters”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Saatchi teaches that the power source comprises, and recharges through, charge points (paragraph [0045] states that “power and connectivity to the device are provided via rechargeable battery power which may be charged by through an adapter over USB or to a computer or a wall outlet, etc.”, the “adapters” are considered to anticipate the claimed charge points).
Regarding claims 7 and 10, Saatchi teaches that the power source or camera comprises a laser sight (1760).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 11 and 12, Saatchi teaches that the camera or power source comprises a microphone (1780) and one or more light emitting diodes / LEDs (1765).
Regarding claim 13, Saatchi teaches that the first cavity comprises electronic ports to receiver the camera (1755; see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 14, Saatchi teaches that the first cavity comprises a cover configured to partially enclose the camera, the cover comprising an opening to allow the camera to record images (the cover surrounding the cover has a small opening to allow the camera to record images; see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 15, Saatchi teaches an electronic board (1785) comprising at least one diode laser (1760), wherein the electronic board is in electrical contact with the power source (1770; see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 16, Saatchi teaches that the second cavity comprises ports to receive the power source (lithium battery 1770, which is stationed within device 1750; see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 17, Saatchi teaches that the second cavity comprises a door or cover configured to partially or fully enclose the power source (Fig. 17 illustrates how the battery may be enclosed by the outer housing of device 1750).
Regarding claim 18, Saatchi teaches that the data transmitter is in electronic communication (via grip sensor 220) comprise a proximity switch (via the grip mounted sensory mechanism shown in Fig. 1), a proximity sensor (1895) and a control circuit (1810; see Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 19, Saatchi teaches that the data transmitter comprises a storage device (“data is record on mini SD card or internal non-removable solid state memory”, para. [0114]).
Regarding claim 20, Saatchi teaches that the data transmitter include in the proximity sensor and the control circuit, is housed within the grip of the receiver (Fig. 7b illustrates an embodiment whereby the proximity sensory system is directly mounted to the grip).
Regarding 21, Saatchi teaches that the grip comprises electronic ports to receive the data transmitter (see Fig. 2a).
Conclusion
While the Examiner is available via telephone to help resolve administrative issues regarding a patent application, Applicants are encouraged to consider utilizing the USPTO’s Inventor Assistance Center for general administrative and/or procedural matters at 800-786-9199. Issues relating to patentability and/or prospective amendments may be more efficiently discussed via email correspondence subsequent to the filing of form PTO/SB/439 (“Authorization for Internet Communications in a Patent Application”) authorizing permission for internet communication. The form is available online may be submitted for the record along with any other response to this action. In accordance with current USPTO policy, this form must be submitted on the record prior to internet communications being authorized. A written statement by the Applicant authorizing internet communications on the record is not sufficient. Once authorization is submitted, the Applicant may contact the Examiner at samir.abdosh@uspto.gov. In the event that a telephone conversation would be the easiest means of resolving issues related to the subject matter of a pending patent application, the Examiner may be reached by telephone at 303-297-4454. Interviews will not be granted after issuance of a final rejection unless it is to discuss an amendment that either places the application in condition for allowance or simplifies issues for appeal.
/Samir Abdosh/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641
1 Paragraph [0073] states “Sensor 220 at the rear of gun 202 is shown which is capable to sense the presence of a hand by temperature differentiation and initiate functions of the device 250. For instance, when a user grabs the gun, even while holstered, the device 250 may be configured to begin recording, as triggered by the sensor 220 detecting that a hand has gripped the gun 202.”