DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO et al. (US 2021/0289177 A1; XIAO).
As of claim 1, XIAO teaches a projection apparatus [fig 3], comprising: a projection module (laser projection apparatus) [fig 3] [0010], configured to emit an image beam (from DMD 240) [fig 3] to form a projection picture according to a display data (the projection lens 300 is configured to project the projection beams on a screen or a wall for imaging) [0032], wherein the display data includes a first color data corresponding to a first color (the three laser arrays may be a red laser array 130, a green laser array 120, and a blue laser array 110) [0034]; a driver circuit 440 [fig 8], coupled to a light source 100 [fig 8] of the projection module [0010], wherein the light source 100 [fig 3] is configured to emit an illumination beam required to generate the image beam (from DMD 240) [fig 3] and include a first light source corresponding to the first color (the three laser arrays may be a red laser array 130, a green laser array 120, and a blue laser array 110) [0034], and the driver circuit 440 [fig 8] is configured to provide a first driver signal to control a luminance of the first light source (the laser driver circuit 440 is connected to the laser source 100, and is configured to perform processing (e.g., anti-attenuation processing and digital-to-analog conversion processing) on the received enable signals and PWM luminance adjustment signals from the DLP control processing portion 430, and output the processed signals to the laser source 100, so as to drive the laser source 100 to emit illumination beams of corresponding colors and luminance’s. For example, when a red component of a frame image is wished to be displayed, the DLP control processing portion 430 outputs a red primary color beam enable signal R_EN and a red primary color beam luminance adjustment signal R_PWM to the laser driver circuit 440, the laser driver circuit 440 processes the signals and outputs the processed signals to the laser source 100, and the laser source 100 emits red primary color beams of a corresponding color and luminance according to a corresponding signal) [0050]; and a controller 430 (DLP control processing portion) [fig 8], coupled to the driver circuit 440 [fig 8], wherein the controller 430 [fig 8] is configured to receive the display data (from DMD 240) [fig 3] and adjust the first driver signal according to the first color data (the DLP control processing portion 430 outputs a red primary color beam enable signal R_EN and a red primary color beam luminance adjustment signal R_PWM to the laser driver circuit 440, the laser driver circuit 440 processes the signals and outputs the processed signals to the laser source 100, and the laser source 100 emits red primary color beams of a corresponding color and luminance according to a corresponding signal) [0050].
XIAO teaches all the claimed limitations through prior art knowledge of through a variety of disclosed embodiments. It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill that the various embodiments and known prior art could be combined without yielding unpredictable results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
As of claim 2, XIAO teaches the first driver signal (blue light B) [fig 11] is adjusted according to a maximum color data value of the first color data (blue light B) [fig 11] of a frame projection picture [fig 11].
As of claim 3, XIAO teaches the illumination beam emitted by the light source 100 [fig 8] of the projection module [fig 3] includes a first color beam (blue light B) [fig 11] emitted in a first color beam interval (time T1) [fig 11] and a second color beam (red light R) [fig 11] emitted in a second color beam interval (time T2) [fig 11], and the driver circuit 440 [fig 8] is configured to control a luminance of the light source in the first color beam (blue light B) [fig 11] interval and a luminance of the light source in the second color beam interval [0050].
As of claim 4, XIAO teaches the first color is blue, red, or green (the three laser arrays may be a red laser array 130, a green laser array 120, and a blue laser array 110) [0034].
As of claim 7, XIAO teaches the light source 100 [fig 8] of the projection module further comprises a second light source (green laser array 120) [0052] corresponding to a second color (green) and a third light source (red laser array 130) [0052] corresponding to a third color (red), and the driver circuit 440 [fig 8] is further configured to provide a second driver signal and a third driver signal [fig 11] to control a luminance [0052] of the second light source (green laser array 120) [0052] and a luminance [0052] of the third light source (red laser array 130) [0052] respectively.
As of claim 9, XIAO teaches a projection method for controlling a projection apparatus [fig 3], the projection method comprising: emitting an illumination beam from a light source 100 [fig 3] by a projection module of the projection apparatus (laser projection apparatus) [fig 3] [0010] to form a projection picture according to a display data (the projection lens 300 is configured to project the projection beams on a screen or a wall for imaging) [0032], wherein the display data comprises a first color data corresponding to a first color (the three laser arrays may be a red laser array 130, a green laser array 120, and a blue laser array 110) [0034]; providing a first driver signal by a driver circuit of the projection apparatus to control a luminance of a first light source emitted by the first color of the light source (the laser driver circuit 440 is connected to the laser source 100, and is configured to perform processing (e.g., anti-attenuation processing and digital-to-analog conversion processing) on the received enable signals and PWM luminance adjustment signals from the DLP control processing portion 430, and output the processed signals to the laser source 100, so as to drive the laser source 100 to emit illumination beams of corresponding colors and luminance’s. For example, when a red component of a frame image is wished to be displayed, the DLP control processing portion 430 outputs a red primary color beam enable signal R_EN and a red primary color beam luminance adjustment signal R_PWM to the laser driver circuit 440, the laser driver circuit 440 processes the signals and outputs the processed signals to the laser source 100, and the laser source 100 emits red primary color beams of a corresponding color and luminance according to a corresponding signal) [0050]; and receiving the display data by a controller 430 (DLP control processing portion) [fig 8] of the projection apparatus [fig 3], wherein the first driver signal is adjusted according to the first color data (the DLP control processing portion 430 outputs a red primary color beam enable signal R_EN and a red primary color beam luminance adjustment signal R_PWM to the laser driver circuit 440, the laser driver circuit 440 processes the signals and outputs the processed signals to the laser source 100, and the laser source 100 emits red primary color beams of a corresponding color and luminance according to a corresponding signal) [0050].
XIAO teaches all the claimed limitations through prior art knowledge of through a variety of disclosed embodiments. It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill that the various embodiments and known prior art could be combined without yielding unpredictable results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
As of claim 10, XIAO teaches the first driver signal (blue light B) [fig 11] is adjusted according to a maximum color data value of the first color data (blue light B) [fig 11] of a frame projection picture [fig 11].
As of claim 11, XIAO teaches the illumination beam emitted by the light source 100 [fig 8] of the projection module [fig 3] includes a first color beam (blue light B) [fig 11] emitted in a first color beam interval (time T1) [fig 11] and a second color beam (red light R) [fig 11] emitted in a second color beam interval (time T2) [fig 11], and the driver circuit 440 [fig 8] is configured to control a luminance of the light source in the first color beam (blue light B) [fig 11] interval and a luminance of the light source in the second color beam interval [0050].
As of claim 12, XIAO teaches the first color is blue, red, or green (the three laser arrays may be a red laser array 130, a green laser array 120, and a blue laser array 110) [0034].
As of claim 15, XIAO teaches the light source 100 [fig 8] of the projection module further comprises a second light source (green laser array 120) [0052] corresponding to a second color (green) and a third light source (red laser array 130) [0052] corresponding to a third color (red), and the driver circuit 440 [fig 8] is further configured to provide a second driver signal and a third driver signal [fig 11] to control a luminance [0052] of the second light source (green laser array 120) [0052] and a luminance [0052] of the third light source (red laser array 130) [0052] respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8, 13-14, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 5, the closest prior art XIAO et al. (US 2021/0289177 A1; XIAO) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 includes an apparatus housing 101 (only part of the housing 101 being shown in FIG. 1), and a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a projection lens 300 that are assembled in the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams (laser beams). The optical engine 200 is configured to modulate the illumination beams provided by the laser source 100 with image display signals to obtain projection beams. The projection lens 300 is configured to project the projection beams on a screen or a wall for imaging. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are sequentially connected in a propagation direction of the beams, and are each wrapped by a corresponding housing. Housings of the laser source 100, the optical engine 200 and the projection lens 300 support their optical components respectively and make the optical components meet certain sealing or airtight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 is hermetically sealed through its housing, which may well solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. One end of the optical engine 200 is connected to the projection lens 300, and the optical engine 200 and the projection lens 300 are disposed in a first direction X of the entire apparatus. For example, the first direction X may be a width direction of the entire apparatus. The other end of the optical engine 200 is connected to the laser source 100. In the present example, the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are connected in an “L” shape. On one hand, such a connection structure may adapt to characteristics of a beam path of a reflective light valve in the optical engine 200; and on another hand, it is also conducive to shortening a length of a beam path in a one-dimensional direction, which is in turn conducive to structural arrangement of the entire apparatus. For example, in a case where the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are disposed in the one-dimensional direction (e.g., a direction perpendicular to the first direction X), the length of the beam path in this direction is long, which is not conducive to the structural arrangement of the entire apparatus. XIAO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the controller stores a maximum value of a default color data and a minimum value of the default color data and divides a plurality of intensity intervals between the maximum value of the default color data and the minimum value of the default color data, and the controller is configured to define a current intensity interval according to an intensity interval among the plurality of intensity intervals in which the maximum color data value is located and adjusts the first driver signal according to the current intensity interval.
Claim 6 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 5.
As of claim 8, the closest prior art XIAO et al. (US 2021/0289177 A1; XIAO) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 includes an apparatus housing 101 (only part of the housing 101 being shown in FIG. 1), and a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a projection lens 300 that are assembled in the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams (laser beams). The optical engine 200 is configured to modulate the illumination beams provided by the laser source 100 with image display signals to obtain projection beams. The projection lens 300 is configured to project the projection beams on a screen or a wall for imaging. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are sequentially connected in a propagation direction of the beams, and are each wrapped by a corresponding housing. Housings of the laser source 100, the optical engine 200 and the projection lens 300 support their optical components respectively and make the optical components meet certain sealing or airtight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 is hermetically sealed through its housing, which may well solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. One end of the optical engine 200 is connected to the projection lens 300, and the optical engine 200 and the projection lens 300 are disposed in a first direction X of the entire apparatus. For example, the first direction X may be a width direction of the entire apparatus. The other end of the optical engine 200 is connected to the laser source 100. In the present example, the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are connected in an “L” shape. On one hand, such a connection structure may adapt to characteristics of a beam path of a reflective light valve in the optical engine 200; and on another hand, it is also conducive to shortening a length of a beam path in a one-dimensional direction, which is in turn conducive to structural arrangement of the entire apparatus. For example, in a case where the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are disposed in the one-dimensional direction (e.g., a direction perpendicular to the first direction X), the length of the beam path in this direction is long, which is not conducive to the structural arrangement of the entire apparatus. XIAO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a menu control circuit, wherein the menu control circuit is configured to provide an on-screen display menu to a user for an operation and generate a corresponding selection command, so that the controller sets an adjusted amplitude of the first driver signal according to the selection command.
As of claim 13, the closest prior art XIAO et al. (US 2021/0289177 A1; XIAO) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 includes an apparatus housing 101 (only part of the housing 101 being shown in FIG. 1), and a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a projection lens 300 that are assembled in the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams (laser beams). The optical engine 200 is configured to modulate the illumination beams provided by the laser source 100 with image display signals to obtain projection beams. The projection lens 300 is configured to project the projection beams on a screen or a wall for imaging. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are sequentially connected in a propagation direction of the beams, and are each wrapped by a corresponding housing. Housings of the laser source 100, the optical engine 200 and the projection lens 300 support their optical components respectively and make the optical components meet certain sealing or airtight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 is hermetically sealed through its housing, which may well solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. One end of the optical engine 200 is connected to the projection lens 300, and the optical engine 200 and the projection lens 300 are disposed in a first direction X of the entire apparatus. For example, the first direction X may be a width direction of the entire apparatus. The other end of the optical engine 200 is connected to the laser source 100. In the present example, the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are connected in an “L” shape. On one hand, such a connection structure may adapt to characteristics of a beam path of a reflective light valve in the optical engine 200; and on another hand, it is also conducive to shortening a length of a beam path in a one-dimensional direction, which is in turn conducive to structural arrangement of the entire apparatus. For example, in a case where the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are disposed in the one-dimensional direction (e.g., a direction perpendicular to the first direction X), the length of the beam path in this direction is long, which is not conducive to the structural arrangement of the entire apparatus. XIAO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, storing a maximum value of a default color data and a minimum value of the default color data by the controller, wherein a plurality of intensity intervals are divided between the maximum value of the default color data and the minimum value of the default color data; and defining a current intensity interval by the controller according to an intensity interval of the plurality of intensity intervals in which the maximum value of the default color data is located, wherein the first driver signal is adjusted according to the current intensity interval.
Claim 14 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 13.
As of claim 16, the closest prior art XIAO et al. (US 2021/0289177 A1; XIAO) teaches a laser projection apparatus 10 includes an apparatus housing 101 (only part of the housing 101 being shown in FIG. 1), and a laser source 100, an optical engine 200, and a projection lens 300 that are assembled in the apparatus housing 101. The laser source 100 is configured to provide illumination beams (laser beams). The optical engine 200 is configured to modulate the illumination beams provided by the laser source 100 with image display signals to obtain projection beams. The projection lens 300 is configured to project the projection beams on a screen or a wall for imaging. The laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are sequentially connected in a propagation direction of the beams, and are each wrapped by a corresponding housing. Housings of the laser source 100, the optical engine 200 and the projection lens 300 support their optical components respectively and make the optical components meet certain sealing or airtight requirements. For example, the laser source 100 is hermetically sealed through its housing, which may well solve a light attenuation problem of the laser source 100. One end of the optical engine 200 is connected to the projection lens 300, and the optical engine 200 and the projection lens 300 are disposed in a first direction X of the entire apparatus. For example, the first direction X may be a width direction of the entire apparatus. The other end of the optical engine 200 is connected to the laser source 100. In the present example, the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are connected in an “L” shape. On one hand, such a connection structure may adapt to characteristics of a beam path of a reflective light valve in the optical engine 200; and on another hand, it is also conducive to shortening a length of a beam path in a one-dimensional direction, which is in turn conducive to structural arrangement of the entire apparatus. For example, in a case where the laser source 100, the optical engine 200, and the projection lens 300 are disposed in the one-dimensional direction (e.g., a direction perpendicular to the first direction X), the length of the beam path in this direction is long, which is not conducive to the structural arrangement of the entire apparatus. XIAO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination,
receiving a selection command inputted by a user through operating an on-screen display menu by a menu control circuit of the projection apparatus, wherein the selection command is provided to the controller, so that the controller sets an adjusted amplitude of the first driver signal according to the selection command.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art CHEN et al. (US 20220113614 A1) teaches a projection apparatus which includes a detector, a laser source control unit and a laser source unit, and the laser source control unit is connected to the detector and the laser source unit. The detector is configured to obtain a detection signal for indicating whether there is an object to be protected in a laser projection region, and send the detection signal. The laser source control unit is also configured to: receive the detection signal, and send an adjustment signal carrying an adjusted projection parameter to the laser source unit when it is determined that there is the object to be protected in the laser projection region of the laser source unit based on the detection signal. The projection parameter indicates a light emission luminance of at least one laser in the laser source unit. The laser source unit is configured to emit a beam in response to the adjustment signal;
- Prior Art Hsieh et al. (US 20210240065 A1) teaches a projection device which includes a light source, an optical engine and a controller. The light source provides a light beam according to a setting current. The optical engine includes a light combining module, an imaging module and a projection lens. The light combining module receives the light beam to generate an illumination beam. The imaging module includes a prism, a digital micromirror device and a light sensor. The prism transmits a portion of the illumination beam to the light sensor. The digital micromirror device converts the other portion of the illumination light beam into an image beam. The light sensor disposed between the prism and the digital micromirror device receives the portion of the illumination beam to generate a brightness data. The projection lens projects the image beam. The controller dynamically adjusts the setting current to calibrate a color point of the light beam according to the brightness data.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882