DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US 12,727,085; hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a flexible printed circuit (see figure 1) consisting of a flexible cable (100a), wherein a window portion (column 7 line 64-column 8 line 18; first, second and third openings) is formed in a middle of the flexible cable (100a), and a flexible die-cutting circuit (400) is electrically connected to the window portion (column 7 line 64-column 8 line 18).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the flexible printed circuit (see figure 1), wherein the flexible cable (100a) is a flexible flat cable (see abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses a battery pack, comprising the flexible printed circuit (100a; column 1 lines 13-26; battery management system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 12,727,085; hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the flexible printed circuit (see figure 1), wherein the flexible die-cutting circuit (400) or a small flexible printed circuit is electrically connected to the window portion (column 7 line 64-column 8 line 18; first, second and third openings); but Liu lacks the window portion being rectangular and having a length of 4.3-8.3 mm and a width of 0.8-1.8 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the window portion rectangular and having a length of 4.3-8.3 mm and a width of 0.8-1.8 mm , since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular shape, a change of shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Furthermore, A change in size is also generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Liu discloses the claimed invention except for the window portion having a length of 6.3 mm and a width of 1.3 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the window portion having a length of 6.3 mm and a width of 1.3 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hanazaki (US 9,504,142), Kim et al (US 9,198,292), Castillo Garcia et al (US 7,948,762), Kumar et al (US 7,439,449), Klessing et al (US 6,822,168), Akashi et al (US 6,630,625), Wang et al (US 12,381,296), Henle et al (US 11,843,131), Goh et al (US 10,741,817), Yamamoto et al (US 5,195,908), Ueno et al (US 6,392,148) and Sato et al (US 10,347,895) disclose a flexible printed circuit board.
September 22, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841