DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12, 14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korean Patent Document No. KR 10-2009-0071148 A by Lee et al., hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a roller configured to roll an electrode plate (roller shown in Fig. 4 is capable of being used to roll an electrode plate; page 6, line 6 through page 7, line 16), comprising:
a rolling portion (see “Rolling Portion” annotation to Fig. 4 below), wherein a rolling surface for rolling an electrode plate is formed on an outer surface of the rolling portion (the outer surface of the Rolling Portion annotated below is the rolling surface), and a mounting hole is provided inside the rolling portion along an axial direction of the rolling portion (Fig. 4 shows thermoelectric modules 10 and 11 are provided in a mounting hole inside the Rolling Portion along its axial direction); and
a temperature regulating assembly, wherein the temperature regulating assembly is provided in the mounting hole and configured to exchange heat with the rolling portion (thermoelectric modules 10 and 11 in Fig. 4 are a temperature regulating assembly provided in the mounting hole and configured to exchange heat with the rolling portion; page 3, line 9 through page 4, line 8 and page 6, line 6 through page 7, line 16).
Regarding claim 2, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 1 as explained above. Lee further discloses the temperature regulating assembly comprises a plurality of temperature regulators (a plurality of modules 10 and 11 are shown in Fig. 4), wherein the plurality of temperature regulators are spaced apart in the mounting hole along the axial direction of the rolling portion and are configured to independently exchange heat with the rolling portion (the plurality of modules 10 and 11 in Fig. 4 are shown spaced apart in the mounting hole along the axial direction).
Regarding claim 3, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 2 as explained above. Lee further discloses the temperature regulator is a heat exchange semiconductor or a heat exchanger having a heat exchange medium (modules 10 and 11 are semiconductors as disclosed at page 3, line 9 through page 4, line 8).
Regarding claim 4, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 2 as explained above. Lee further discloses the temperature regulator is a heat exchange semiconductor (page 3, line 9 through page 4, line 8 disclose modules 10 and 11 in Fig. 4 are heat exchange semiconductors), and the roller further comprises a conductive assembly (conductive assembly shown in Fig. 3), wherein the conductive assembly comprises a first conductor and a second conductor (see “First Conductor” and “Second Conductor” annotations to Fig. 3 of Lee reproduced below), the first conductor is provided in the mounting hole and is electrically connected to the heat exchange semiconductor, the second conductor is provided outside the mounting hole and is configured to be electrically connected to a power source (see “Power Source” annotation below), and the first conductor and the second conductor are capable of moving relative to each other and are electrically connected (the Second Conductor and Power Source are shown outside the semiconductor module shown in Fig. 3 such that they would be positioned outside the mounting hole of the roller shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 4 as explained above. Lee further discloses the heat exchange semiconductor is a cooling semiconductor, or the heat exchange semiconductor is a heating semiconductor (modules 10 and 11 are semiconductors as disclosed at page 3, line 9 through page 4, line 8 used to cool the roller).
Regarding claim 8, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 4 as explained above. Lee further discloses the heat exchange semiconductor is a cooling semiconductor (modules 10 and 11 are semiconductors as disclosed at page 3, line 9 through page 4, line 8 used to cool the roller), a plurality of such cooling semiconductors are symmetrically arranged with respect to a middle position along the axial direction of the rolling portion (the cross-sectional view in Fig. 4 shows the semiconductor modules are symmetrically arranged with respect to the middle), and during operation, cooling powers of the cooling semiconductors gradually decrease in directions from two ends of the axial direction to the middle position of the rolling portion (page 7, line 6-9 disclose the temperature of the roller may be controlled at different modules 10 such that modules in the middle portion of the roller may be controlled to have a cooling power as opposed to other modules near the ends of the roller).
Regarding claim 9, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 4 as explained above. Lee further discloses the heat exchange semiconductor is a heating semiconductor (modules 10 and 11 are semiconductors as disclosed at page 3, line 9 through page 4, line 8 which may be used to control the temperature to heat the roller as disclosed at page 7, line 6-9), a plurality of such heating semiconductors are symmetrically arranged with respect to a middle position along the axial direction of the rolling portion (the cross-sectional view in Fig. 4 shows the semiconductor modules are symmetrically arranged with respect to the middle), and during operation, heating powers of the heating semiconductors gradually increase in directions from two ends of the axial direction to the middle position of the rolling portion (page 7, line 6-9 disclose the temperature of the roller may be controlled at different modules 10 such that modules in the middle portion of the roller may be controlled to have a heating power as opposed to other modules near the ends of the roller).
Regarding claim 10, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 4 as explained above. Lee further discloses the mounting hole is a through hole running through the roller in an axial direction (the cross-sectional view of Fig. 4 shows the mounting hole holding semiconductor modules 10 and 11 pass through the roller in a through hole in its axial direction), the through hole is coaxial with the roller (the through hole is shown as being coaxial), and the first conductor is provided at one end of the through hole facing the second conductor (Fig. 3 shows the First Conductor is provided at one end of the semiconductor module facing the Second Conductor such that when employed in the roller as shown in Fig. 4, the conductors pass through the through hole holding the semiconductor modules).
Regarding claim 12, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 3 as explained above. Lee further discloses the temperature regulator is a heat exchanger having a heat exchange medium (Fig. 2a shows a roller where the temperature regulator is a cooling liquid heat exchanger; page 2, line 9 through page 3, line 3), and the roller further comprises a heat exchange tube (tube pipe 3 in Fig. 2a), wherein a passage for circulation of the heat exchange medium is formed inside the heat exchange tube, and the passage communicates with the interior of the heat exchanger (pipe 3 provides a passage for circulating cooling fluid).
Regarding claim 14, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 12 as explained above. Lee further discloses the heat exchanger is a cooling piece having a cooling medium, or the heat exchanger is a heating piece having a heating medium. Page 2, line 9 through page 3, line 3 discloses the heat exchanger is a cooling piece using water as a cooling medium.
Regarding claim 15, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 12 as explained above. Lee further discloses the heat exchanger is a cooling piece having a cooling medium (page 2, line 9 through page 3, line 3 disclose the heat exchanger in Fig. 2a uses water as a cooling medium to cool roller 1), a plurality of such cooling pieces are symmetrically arranged with respect to a middle position along the axial direction of the rolling portion (Fig. 2a shows a plurality of cooling tubes 3 symmetrically arranged in the axial direction), and during operation (This limitation involves a manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed that does not differentiate the claimed structure from Lee’s disclosed roller. See M.P.E.P. 2114,II.), cooling powers of the cooling pieces gradually decrease in directions from two ends of the axial direction to the middle position of the rolling portion.
Regarding claim 17, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 2 as explained above. Lee further discloses the rolling portion (see “Rolling Portion” annotation above) comprises a plurality of heat conduction portions and a plurality of heat insulation portions alternately arranged in sequence along the axial direction, wherein the heat conduction portion is fitted and connected to the heat insulation portions, and the plurality of temperature regulators are arranged in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of heat conduction portions (page 3, line 9 through page 4, line 8 and page 6, line 6 through page 7, line 16 disclose modules 10 and 11 comprise heat conduction portions and heat insulation portions in one-to-one correspondence).
Regarding claim 18, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 17 as explained above. Lee further discloses outer surfaces of the plurality of heat conduction portions and outer surfaces of the plurality of heat insulation portions jointly form a rolling surface for rolling the electrode plate (Fig. 4 shows modules 10 and 11 jointly form a rolling surface capable of rolling electrode plate), and the rolling surface is cylindrical in a natural state (Fig. 4 shows the joint surface is cylindrical).
Regarding claim 19, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 1 as explained above. Lee further discloses the roller further comprises a first connecting portion and a second connecting portion (see “First Connecting Portion” and “Second Connecting Portion” annotations to Fig. 4 of Lee reproduced below), wherein the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are connected to two ends of the rolling portion respectively in the axial direction.
Regarding claim 20, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 1 as explained above. Lee further discloses the roller further comprises a first connecting portion and a second connecting portion (see annotations to Fig. 4 of Lee above), and the rolling portion comprises an inner cylinder portion and an outer cylinder portion (the cross-sectional view of the roller in Fig. 4 shows the Rolling Portion comprises an inner and outer cylinder portion), wherein the inner cylinder portion, the first connecting portion, and the second connecting portion are integrally formed into a roller shaft (Fig. 4 shows the inner cylinder portion, the First Connecting Portion, and the Second Connecting Portion are integrally formed into a roller shaft), the outer cylinder portion is sleeved outside the inner cylinder portion (Fig. 4 shows the outer cylinder portion of the Rolling Portion is sleeved outside its inner cylinder portion), and the mounting hole is provided inside the inner cylinder portion along an axial direction of the inner cylinder portion (the mounting hole where modules 10 and 11 are provided is inside the inner cylinder portion of the Rolling Portion in the axial direction).
Claims 1-3, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 4,023,391 to Kamii et al., hereinafter “Kamii”.
Regarding claim 1, Kamii discloses a roller configured to roll an electrode plate (working roll 1 in Figs. 6 and 7 is capable of being used to roll an electrode plate; col. 5, line 35-49), comprising: a rolling portion (1 is the rolling portion in Figs. 6 and 7), wherein a rolling surface for rolling an electrode plate is formed on an outer surface of the rolling portion (working roll 1 has an outer surface as shown in Fig. 1 which is capable of rolling an electrode plate), and a mounting hole is provided inside the rolling portion along an axial direction of the rolling portion (mounting hole 6 in Figs. 6 and 7); and
a temperature regulating assembly (temperature regulating assembly heat-generating body 45 in Figs. 6 and 7), wherein the temperature regulating assembly is provided in the mounting hole and configured to exchange heat with the rolling portion (body 45 exchanges heat with the rolling portion of roller 1).
Regarding claim 2, Kamii anticipates the roller according to claim 1 as explained above. Kamii further discloses the temperature regulating assembly comprises a plurality of temperature regulators, wherein the plurality of temperature regulators are spaced apart in the mounting hole along the axial direction of the rolling portion and are configured to independently exchange heat with the rolling portion. Heat-generating body 45 is shown in Figs. 6 and 7 with a plurality of tube coils 46 spaced axially along hole 6 which independently exchange heat with the rolling portion.
Regarding claim 3, Kamii anticipates the roller according to claim 2 as explained above. Kamii further discloses temperature regulator is a heat exchanger (45 in Figs. 6 and 7) having a heat exchange medium (oil is disclosed as being used as the medium).
Regarding claim 12, Kamii anticipates the roller according to claim 3 as explained above. Kamii further discloses the temperature regulator is a heat exchanger having a heat exchange medium (heat-generating body 45 in Figs. 6 and 7 using oil as a heat exchange medium), and the roller further comprises a heat exchange tube, wherein a passage for circulation of the heat exchange medium is formed inside the heat exchange tube, and the passage communicates with the interior of the heat exchanger (heat-generating body 45 in Figs. 6 and 7 is a coiled tube through which oil is communicated therethrough).
Regarding claim 16, Kamii anticipates the roller according to claim 12 as explained above. Kamii further discloses the heat exchanger is a heating piece having a heating medium (heat-generating body 45 in Figs. 6 and 7 using oil as a heat exchange medium), a plurality of such heating pieces are symmetrically arranged with respect to a middle position along the axial direction of the rolling portion (a plurality of coils 46 are symmetrically arranged with respect to the middle along the axial direction), and during operation (This limitation involves a manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed that does not differentiate the claimed structure from Kamii’s disclosed roller. See M.P.E.P. 2114,II.), heating powers of the heating pieces gradually increase in directions from two ends of the axial direction to the middle position of the rolling portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2004/0231387 A1 by Kim et al., hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 5, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 4 as explained above. However, Lee is silent regarding the first and second conductors are graphite conductors.
In the same field rolling plate, Kim teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use graphite to make electrical conductor contacts in environments where high abrasion resistance is desired. See at least paragraph [0044].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use graphite conductors as Lee’s First Conductor and Second Conductor at the interface where electrical current is conduct from the Second Conductor of the stationary Power Source to First Conductor powering rotating semiconductor modules 10 and 11 in the same way Kim teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Kim to Lee’s roller would achieve the predictable result of using graphite to make Lee’s First and Second Conductors.
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0235036 by Kitano et al., hereinafter “Kitano”.
Regarding claim 6, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 4 as explained above. However, Lee does not disclose the detail of claim 6.
In the same field of temperature controlled rollers, Kitano teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use magnetic induction to conduct electricity from a stationary conductor to a conductor rotating with the roller to power an aspect of a temperature regulator. See paragraph [0067].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use magnetic induction coil conductors to conduct electricity from Lee’s stationary power source to Lee’s rotating semiconductor modules 10 and 11 in the same way Kitano teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Kitano to Lee’s roller would achieve the predictable result of providing structure which conducts electricity from Lee’s stationary power source to Lee’s rotating semiconductor modules.
both the first conductor and the second conductor are magnetic induction coil conductors, and the first conductor and the second conductor are spaced apart and conduct electricity through induction.
Regarding claim 11, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 10 as explained above. However, Lee does not disclose the detail of claim 11.
In the same field of temperature controlled rollers, Kitano teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the roller (100 in Fig. 1; ¶[0054]) with an air supply assembly (cooling mechanism 7 in Fig. 1; ¶[0061]-[0066]) outside the mounting hole holding the temperature control mechanism (induction heating mechanism 3 in Fig. 1; ¶[0055]) to deliver cooling airflow into the mounting hole.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add airflow cooling to Lee’s semiconductor modules 10 and 11 in the same way Kitano teaches using airflow to cool Kitano’s induction heating mechanism. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Kitano to Lee’s roller would achieve the predictable result of adding air-cooling to Lee’s roller.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of U.S. Patent No. 1,996,500 to Adams, Jr., hereinafter “Adams”.
Regarding claim 13, Lee anticipates the roller according to claim 12 as explained above. However, Lee does not disclose the detail of claim 13.
In the same field of rolling mill rolls with internal heat exchange structure, Adams teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the heat exchanger with one end of the heat exchange tube provided outside the mounting hole (the right end of tube 17 in Fig. 1 is provided outside mounting hole 9), the other end of the heat exchange tube is inserted into the mounting hole and communicates with the heat exchanger (the left end of tube 17 in Fig. 1 is inserted into hole 9 and communicates with heat exchanger), and the heat exchanger is isolated from an inner wall of the mounting hole under the support of the heat exchange tube (tube 17 in Fig. 1 is shown isolated from the inner wall of hole 9).
Conclusion
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725