DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stephen et al (GB 2622435 A, hereinafter Stephen).
Regarding claim 1, Stephen discloses a variable aperture module (figs. 1-10, 20-23, page 4 last ¶), comprising:
a fixing component (other ends of SMA wires 41, 42 besides movable part 40, figs. 3-8. Component 4 in figs. 1-2, which explains the actuators functions, where support structure 4 acts as fixing component; pages 11, lines 15-31 & page 12);
a movable component (movable part 3, figs. 3-8) movably disposed relative to the fixing component (figs. 1-8, pages 11, lines 15-31 & page 12; Abstract);
a shape memory alloy wire (41+42, figs. 3-8; 31+32, figs. 1-2) having a first wire end and a second wire end (Abstract, Pages 11-12);
a first clamping component (meeting point of 4, with fixing component on left end, see illustration A below, figs. 1-10) clamping the first wire end (figs. 1-10);
a second clamping component (40, figs. 2-10) clamping a portion of the shape memory alloy wire other than the first wire end and the second wire end (evident from figs. 2-10); and
a third clamping component (meeting point of 4, with fixing component on right end, see illustration A below, figs. 1-10) clamping the second wire end (figs. 1-10).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second clamping component)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first clamping component)]
Illustration – A
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen in view of Jun (US 20240201565 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Stephen discloses the variable aperture module according to claim 1, except, further comprising: a circuit board electrically connected to the first clamping component and the third clamping component.
However, Jun discloses an aperture module (Abstract, figs. 4-5), wherein a circuit board electrically connected to the first clamping component (343a) and the third clamping component (343b, figs.4-5, ¶0056, ¶0078-0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to implement a circuit board which is electrically connected to the first clamping component and the third clamping component of Stephen as disclosed in Jun, because, in that case clamp 343a, 343b may function as a drive power input terminal for the SMA wires 342a and 342b to drive the SMA actuator [Jun: ¶0078-0080].
Regarding claim 8, Stephen discloses the variable aperture module according to claim 1, except, further comprising: a circuit board electrically connected to the first wire end and the second wire end and configured to: transmit a current to one of the first wire end and the second wire end.
However, Jun discloses an aperture module (Abstract, figs. 4-5), a circuit board electrically connected to the first wire end and the second wire end and configured to: transmit a current to one of the first wire end and the second wire end (figs.4-5, ¶0056, ¶0078-0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to implement a circuit board electrically connected to the first wire end and the second wire end and configured to: transmit a current to one of the first wire end and the second wire end as disclosed in Jun, because, in that case clamp 343a, 343b may function as a drive power input terminal for the SMA wires 342a and 342b to drive the SMA actuator [Jun: ¶0078-0080].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen in view of BLECHA et al. (EP 3676494 B1, hereinafter BLECHA).
Regarding claim 11, Stephen discloses the variable aperture module according to claim 1, wherein the movable component (3, fig. 24) has an outer peripheral surface (evident from fig. 24), and the shape memory alloy wire (11-14) is wound around the outer peripheral surface (evident from fig. 24, page 25 ¶3)
Stephen is not found disclosing that the SMA wires are wounded for a plurality of circles.
However, BLECHA discloses SMA wires are wounded for a plurality of circles for an SMA actuator (¶0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to design the peripherally wounded SMA wires of Stephen in form of a plurality of circles as disclosed by BLECHA, because, in that case circular peripheral shaped variable apertures can be controlled, achievable by simple substitution of one prior art elements with another ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results (see MPEP §2143.I).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen in view of Carr et al. (WO 2024047345 A1, hereinafter Carr).
Regarding claim 17, Stephen discloses the variable aperture module according to claim 1, except, wherein the variable aperture module further comprises:
a grounding component disposed between the movable component and the second clamping component and electrically connected to the second clamping component.
However Carr discloses that the second SMA element of each pair may be electrically connected to the first SMA element at one end and to a common ground terminal 51g at the other end (page 15, ¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to dispose a grounding component between the movable component and the second clamping component and electrically connected to the second clamping component, similar to what is disclosed in Carr, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious (see MPEP §2143.I).
.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen in view of You et al. (US 20240061317 A1, hereinafter You).
Regarding claim 19, Stephen discloses the variable aperture module according to claim 1, except, further comprising: an insulation component separating the second clamping component from the shape memory alloy wire.
However, You discloses that the clamping jaw that clamps the SMA wire could potentially be made from insulating material (¶0183).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use an insulation component separating the second clamping component from the shape memory alloy wire, similar to what is disclosed in You, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious (see MPEP §2143.I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7, 9, 10, 12-16, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
Regarding claim 2, wherein the fixing component has a first position-limiting groove and a third position-limiting groove, the movable component has a second position-limiting groove, and the
first clamping component, the second clamping component and the third clamping component are disposed in the first position-limiting groove, the second position-limiting groove and the third position-limiting groove respectively.
Claims 3-4 are allowable for being dependent on allowable clam 2.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the first clamping component comprises a first portion and a second portion connected to the first portion, and the first wire end is clamped between the first portion and the second portion.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the fixing component has an inner peripheral surface and a circuit board limiting groove,
and the circuit board limiting groove is recessed relative to the inner peripheral surface to accommodate the circuit board.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the fixing component further comprises:
a body having a first outer peripheral surface and an inner peripheral surface; and
a flange protruding relative to the first outer peripheral surface and having a second outer peripheral surface;
wherein the variable aperture module further comprises a circuit board, and the circuit board extends from the inner peripheral surface to protrude beyond the second outer peripheral surface.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the shape memory alloy wire comprises:
a conductive wire body; and
an insulation layer covering the conductive wire body;
wherein the first wire end, the second wire end and the portion expose the conductive wire body.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the movable component has a groove, the groove surrounds a central axis of the movable component for a plurality of circles, and the shape memory alloy wire is disposed in the groove.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the movable component comprises an inner peripheral surface; the fixing component comprises an outer peripheral surface and a first protrusion, the first protrusion protrudes relative to the outer peripheral surface, and the first protrusion abuts against the inner peripheral surface.
Claim 14 is allowable for being dependent on allowable clam 13.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the movable component comprises an inner peripheral surface and a second protrusion, the second protrusion protrudes relative to the inner peripheral surface; the fixing component comprises an outer peripheral surface and a first protrusion, the first protrusion protrudes relative to the outer peripheral surface,
and a first lateral surface of the first protrusion abuts against a second lateral surface of the second protrusion.
Claim 16 is allowable for being dependent on allowable clam 15.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the movable component has a slide groove, the slide groove has a groove length, the first clamping component is slidably disposed in the slide groove, the first clamping component has a width, and the groove length is greater than the width.
Regarding claim 20, wherein the shape memory alloy wire comprises a first segment and a second segment separated from the first segment, the first segment has the first wire end and a third wire end, and the second segment has the second wire end and a fourth wire end;
wherein the first clamping component clamps the first wire end of the first segment, two second clamping components clamp the third wire end of the first segment and the fourth wire end of the second segment respectively, and the third clamping component clamps the second wire end of the second segment.
Conclusion
The prior and/or pertinent art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, are – Hattori et al. (US 20260056444 A1), Li et al. (US 20250362565 A1), who disclose SMA based actuators used in camera modules potentially to control a variable aperture component.
/SHAHBAZ NAZRUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638