DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/03/2025 and 06/30/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 12 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12212752 in view of Jung et al. (US 20220303567) (hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 1,
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12212752 Claim 12
An inverse quantization unit that inverse quantizes quantization coefficients using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied, and
at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the image processing device to at least perform inverse quantization on a quantization coefficient;
an inverse transformation unit that generates a prediction residual, which is the residual between the image and the predicted image of the image, by inverse coefficient transforming the transformation coefficients generated by the inverse quantization when transformation skip is not applied, and
normalize a transform coefficient generated by the inverse quantization using a scaling parameter depending on whether a transform skip is to be applied, perform inverse coefficient transformation on the transform coefficient normalized to generate a predicted residual that is a residual between an image and a predicted image of the image when the transform skip is not to be applied,
skips the inverse coefficient transformation when transformation skip is applied.
skip the inverse coefficient transformation when the transform skip is applied,
Although claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12212752 does not specify using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied, Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 teaches using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12212752 with the using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied of Jung in order to enhance coding efficiency (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected for their dependence on claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7,
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12212752 Claim 17
An image processing device comprising a transformation unit that generates transformation coefficients by coefficient transforming a prediction residual, which is the residual between the image and the predicted image of the image, when transformation skip is not applied, and
An image processing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the image processing device to at least perform coefficient transformation on a predicted residual that is a residual between an image and a predicted image of the image to generate a transform coefficient when a transform skip is not to be applied,
skips the coefficient transformation when transformation skip is applied, and
skip the coefficient transformation when the transform skip is to be applied;
a quantization unit that quantizes the transformation coefficients using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied.
perform quantization on the transform coefficient when the transform skip is not to be applied and perform the quantization on the predicted residual when the transform skip is to be applied;
Although claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12212752 does not specify using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied, Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 teaches using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12212752 with the using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied of Jung in order to enhance coding efficiency (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected for their dependence on claim(s) 7.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim limitation(s) “an inverse quantization unit that inverse quantizes” and “an inverse transformation unit that generates” invoke(s) 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Furthermore, these limitations will be interpreted to mean intended hardware structure.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected for their dependence on claim(s) 1, because they do not contain additional language that would overcome the indefiniteness issue recited with regard to those claims.
Regarding claim 7, claim limitation(s) “a quantization unit that quantizes” and “a transformation unit that generates” invoke(s) 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Furthermore, these limitations will be interpreted to mean intended hardware structure.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected for their dependence on claim(s) 7, because they do not contain additional language that would overcome the indefiniteness issue recited with regard to those claims.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts taught therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently teaches the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20220303567) (hereinafter Jung) in view of Tamse et al. (US 20210321111) (hereinafter Tamse).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches inverse quantizes quantization coefficients using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where inverse quantization is performed using a corrected quantization parameter with normalization with qp offset and scaling according to corrected qp and paragraph 213-216 regarding dependent quantization and transform skip being mutually exclusive optional applications such that transform skip is not applied when dependent quantization is applied- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image), and
by inverse coefficient transforming the transformation coefficients generated by the inverse quantization when transformation skip is not applied, and skips the inverse coefficient transformation when transformation skip is applied (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where transformation is skipped when transform skip is indicated- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image).
However, Jung does not explicitly teach intended hardware structure as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Tamse, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches An inverse quantization unit (see Tamse paragraph 21 regarding coding process performed by processor) that
an inverse transformation unit that generates a prediction residual, which is the residual between the image and the predicted image of the image (see Tamse paragraph 21 regarding coding process performed by processor and Tamse paragraph 79 regarding prediction residual- in combination with Jung, the prediction residual may be generated by the known process of Tamse and implemented by the processor of Tamse),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Jung to include the teaching of Tamse so that in combination with Jung, the prediction residual may be generated by the known process of Tamse and implemented by the processor of Tamse.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to provide an implementable hardware framework for an encoding/decoding device (see Tamse paragraphs 21 and 79).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches wherein the inverse quantization unit inverse quantizes the quantization coefficients using the quantization parameter with a value added according to the dependent quantization as the corrected quantization parameter (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, 232, and 240-244 regarding value added to quantization parameter, dependent quantization, and inverse quantization using quantization coefficients).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches wherein the inverse quantization unit inverse quantizes the quantization coefficients using the corrected quantization parameter when a flag indicating whether dependent quantization is applied is true and a flag indicating whether transformation skip is applied is false (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where inverse quantization is performed using a corrected quantization parameter with normalization with qp offset and scaling according to corrected qp and paragraph 213-216 regarding dependent quantization and transform skip being mutually exclusive optional applications such that transform skip is not applied when dependent quantization is applied- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches wherein the inverse quantization unit inverse quantizes the quantization coefficients using the uncorrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is not applied or when transformation skip is applied (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where transformation is skipped when transform skip is indicated- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches wherein the inverse quantization unit inverse quantizes the quantization coefficients using the uncorrected quantization parameter when a flag indicating whether dependent quantization is applied is false or a flag indicating whether transformation skip is applied is true (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where transformation is skipped when transform skip is indicated- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image).
Independent claim(s) 6 is/are analogous in scope to claim(s) 1, albeit in method form, and is/are rejected according to the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 7, Jung teaches generates transformation coefficients by coefficient transforming (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where transformation is skipped when transform skip is indicated- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image)
when transformation skip is not applied, and skips the coefficient transformation when transformation skip is applied (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where transformation is skipped when transform skip is indicated- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image), and
quantizes the transformation coefficients using a corrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is applied and transformation skip is not applied (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where inverse quantization is performed using a corrected quantization parameter with normalization with qp offset and scaling according to corrected qp and paragraph 213-216 regarding dependent quantization and transform skip being mutually exclusive optional applications such that transform skip is not applied when dependent quantization is applied- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image).
However, Jung does not explicitly teach intended hardware structure as needed for the limitations of claim 7.
Tamse, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches An image processing device comprising
a transformation unit (see Tamse paragraph 21 regarding coding process performed by processor) that
a prediction residual, which is the residual between the image and the predicted image of the image (see Tamse paragraph 21 regarding coding process performed by processor and Tamse paragraph 79 regarding prediction residual- in combination with Jung, the prediction residual may be generated by the known process of Tamse and implemented by the processor of Tamse),
a quantization unit (see Tamse paragraph 21 regarding coding process performed by processor) that
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Jung to include the teaching of Tamse so that in combination with Jung, the prediction residual may be generated by the known process of Tamse and implemented by the processor of Tamse.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to provide an implementable hardware framework for an encoding/decoding device (see Tamse paragraphs 21 and 79).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches wherein the quantization unit quantizes the transformation coefficients using the quantization parameter with a value added according to the dependent quantization as the corrected quantization parameter (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, 232, and 240-244 regarding value added to quantization parameter, dependent quantization, and inverse quantization using quantization coefficients).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches wherein the quantization unit quantizes the transformation coefficients using the corrected quantization parameter when a flag indicating whether dependent quantization is applied is true and a flag indicating whether transformation skip is applied is false (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where inverse quantization is performed using a corrected quantization parameter with normalization with qp offset and scaling according to corrected qp and paragraph 213-216 regarding dependent quantization and transform skip being mutually exclusive optional applications such that transform skip is not applied when dependent quantization is applied- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches wherein the quantization unit quantizes the transformation coefficients or the prediction residual using the uncorrected quantization parameter when dependent quantization is not applied or when transformation skip is applied (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where transformation is skipped when transform skip is indicated- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jung and Tamse teaches wherein the quantization unit quantizes the transformation coefficients or the prediction residual using the uncorrected quantization parameter when a flag indicating whether dependent quantization is applied is false or a flag indicating whether transformation skip is applied is true (see Jung paragraphs 97, 147, 213-216, 225-226, and 240-244 regarding performing inverse quantization on a transform coefficient with quantization parameter based on transform skip indication to predict a residual, where transformation is skipped when transform skip is indicated- it is known that quantization and inverse quantization are reciprocal processes respective to encoding and decoding an image).
Independent claim(s) 12 is/are analogous in scope to claim(s) 7, albeit in method form, and is/are rejected according to the same reasoning.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW DAVID KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483