DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species VII (Figures 16A-20), claims 1, 3-5, and 11-13 in the reply filed on 4/02/2026 is acknowledged. Therefore, claims 1-21 as filed 1/03/2025 are pending with claims 2, 6-10, and 14-21 withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1, 3-5, and 11-13 are treated on their merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the middle opening (at least claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the internal passage extend in an axial direction” (lines 4-5 of the claim) should be “the internal passage extends in an axial direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an internal passage comprising a first portion and a second portion connected at a middle opening”. The limitation of the first portion and second portion connected at a “middle opening” is unclear because it is unclear what is meant by a middle opening as claimed. As best understood it appears that the first and second portions are connected at a middle of the internal passage. It is noted that applicant’s specification as filed does not describe a “middle opening” in the figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nick (US Patent 11,815,214).
Regarding Claim 1, Nick discloses a coupling assembly for a blind mate fluid coupling (abstract), comprising: a housing 16; a sliding base 26 disposed within the housing 16 (as best shown in Figure 3), the sliding base 26 having an internal passage (passage through the center of 26) comprising a first portion (first portion of the internal passage at the left end of the carrier 26 as shown in the annotated Figure 3 below) and a second portion (second portion of the internal passage including the portion at the right side of the O-ring 60 as shown in the annotated Figure 3 below) connected at a middle opening (middle opening defined by the opening through O-ring 60 as shown in the annotated Figure 3 below), the internal passage extend in an axial direction (i.e. through the center axis of 26), the second portion of the internal passage has a larger diameter than the first portion of the internal passage (as shown in the annotated Figure 3 below), the sliding base 26 being movable in a radial direction that is perpendicular to the axial direction (i.e. the base is movable upwardly from the position shown in Figure 3, which is a radial direction of the sliding base 26 and is perpendicular to the axial direction of 26) and relative to the housing 16 (the sliding base 26 movable relative to housing 16 as best shown between the positions of Figures 1 and 3); and an inlet valve 20 (it is noted that applicant’s “inlet valve” is merely a tube connector) at least partially disposed in the internal passage (portion 52 is disposed in the internal passage), the inlet valve 20 being movable in the axial direction (as evidenced by the gaps on both sides of the shoulder 52 in Figures 1-3, the inlet valve is movable in the axial direction) within the internal passage (as described above, portion 52 movable in the axial direction within the internal passage) and angularly pivotable at the first portion (as shown in the annotated Figure 3 below, the inlet valve is angularly pivotable including at the first portion).
Regarding Claim 3, Nick is seen as further disclosing the first portion (first portion of the internal passage as shown in the annotated Figure 3 above) has a first opening (first opening on the left side of O-ring 60 as shown in the annotated Figure 3 above) opposite the middle opening (the first opening is opposite the middle opening at least relative to the left edge defining the groove for O-ring 60), the first opening is larger than the middle opening (although not clearly shown in the figures, it is seen that the middle opening defined through the O-ring 60 is necessarily smaller than the identified first opening because the O-ring must protrude radially inward farther than the first opening to ensure a seal is achieved with shoulder 52), and the inlet valve is angularly pivotable at the middle opening (as shown in the annotated Figure 3 above, the inlet valve is angularly pivotable including at the middle opening).
Regarding Claim 4, Nick further discloses a first spring 46 disposed in the second portion of the internal passage (the spring extends through the second portion of the internal passage as shown in the annotated Figure 3 above), the first spring 46 is compressible by the inlet valve in the axial direction (compressible by portion 22 of the inlet valve in the axial direction).
Regarding Claim 5, Nick further discloses the second portion of the internal passage includes a second opening opposite to the middle opening (second opening defined by the second portion of the internal passage; the second opening is opposite the middle opening at least relative to the right edge defining the groove for O-ring 60 as shown in Figure 3), and the coupling assembly further includes a cap structure (cap structure provided on the end of the sliding base as shown in the annotated Figure 3 above) on the sliding base that caps the first spring and the inlet valve (the cap radially surrounds the first spring 46 and the inlet valve 20 and therefore is seen to cap the first spring and the inlet valve).
Regarding Claim 11, Nick further discloses the first portion (first portion of the internal passage as shown in the annotated Figure 3 above) further has a first opening (first opening on the left side of O-ring 60 as shown in the annotated Figure 3 above) opposite the middle opening (the first opening is opposite the middle opening at least relative to the left edge defining the groove for O-ring 60), the second portion further has a second opening opposite the middle opening (second opening defined by the second portion of the internal passage; the second opening is opposite the middle opening at least relative to the right edge defining the groove for O-ring 60 as shown in Figure 3), and an outlet valve 28 disposed outside of the internal passage and connected with an end of the inlet valve 20 that is positioned outside of the first opening of the first portion (as shown in Figures 3 and 12).
Regarding Claim 12, Nick further discloses the inlet valve 20 is configured to connect with a quick connect fitting 14.
Regarding Claim 13, Nick further discloses the inlet valve 20 is a quick connect fitting (i.e. the inlet valve 20 is a push to connect fitting with valve member 32 and therefore forms a quick connect fitting).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nick (US Patent 11,815,214) in view of Torrence et al. (US Patent 5,354,103).
Regarding Claim 3, Nick is seen as disclosing all of the elements of this claim as described above. Alternatively, in the event that Nick is not seen as disclosing the middle opening defined through the O-ring 60 is necessarily smaller than the identified first opening, Torrence teaches a coupling assembly (Figure 2 especially) such that a middle opening (opening through O-ring 26) is smaller than an adjacent opening (opening through port 16) as shown in Figure 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Nick such that the O-ring defines a middle opening smaller than the first opening as taught by Torrence for the purpose of ensuring that the O-ring seals against the shoulder of the inlet valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lutzer (US Patent 9,599,263) teaches a coupling allowing for radial and angular adjustments (Figures 4A-4E). Tiberghien et al. (US Patent 8,028,718) teaches an angularly adjustable coupling (Figure 4).
/KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753