DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12122703_B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches and/or suggests all of the claimed limitations of independent Claim 1 by way of overlapping ranges.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12162801_B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches and/or suggests all of the claimed limitations of independent Claim 1 by way of overlapping ranges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee USPA_20100028607_A1.
1. Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses an ion-exchanged glass (title) whose composition is (in mole%):
60-70 of SiO2
6-14 of Al2O3
0-8 of MgO
0-15 of Li2O
0-20 of Na2O;
The ranges listed in paragraph 0024 for the alkaline earth metal oxides can be less than or equal to 15 mole%, and also MgO+CaO can be less than or equal to 2 mol% according to the same ranges. There is no mention of ZnO and as such it can be regarded as 0 mole%. B2O3 can be less than 4 mol% according to paragraph 0024. K2O can be greater than 0 and less than 2 mole% according to paragraph 0024. The total mole% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O can range from 5 to 18 according to paragraph 0024. And finally, according to paragraph 0024, a ratio of Li2O to R2O can fall into the range of 0.5 to 1. Although the ranges do not teach the claimed ranges explicitly, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
2. Regarding Claims 2-4, Lee discloses a total amount of alkaline earth metal oxides can fall into the claimed range of 2.5 to 8 mol% (paragraph 0024).
3. Regarding Claim 5, Lee does not disclose using P2O5, as such it can be regarded as being 0 mole%.
4. Regarding Claims 6, 7, Lee discloses using 0.007 mole% of Fe2O3 (paragraph 0025).
5. Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses using less than 50 ppm of As2O3 (Claim 6).
6. Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses using Na2O in a concentration as a variable (paragraph 0024).
7. Regarding Claims 10, 11, Lee discloses all of the claimed composition and structure limitations of the pending claims including a thickness of 0.5 to 5mm (Claim 10) and having ion-exchange (Title).. As such, it would be expected for it to inherently be amorphous and possess the same maximum central tension.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 29, 2026