DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/03/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 2: “a Korotkoff” should be replaced with –the Korotkoff–; and
Claim 10, line 4: –the– should be inserted before “one surface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Pressure control unit” in claim 1 uses a generic placeholder (unit) that is coupled with functional language (“pressure control” and “supplies and pressurizes a first air to the cuff…”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The limitation is being interpreted to correspond to a control unit which includes a central processing unit, as indicated in ¶ [0043] of the published application, and equivalents thereof.
“Blood pressure calculation unit” in claim 1 uses a generic placeholder (unit) that is coupled with functional language (“blood pressure calculation”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The limitation is being interpreted to correspond to a control unit which includes a central processing unit, as indicated in ¶ [0043] of the published application, in combination with the algorithm for calculating blood pressure, as indicated in ¶ [0073] of the published application, and equivalents thereof.
“Threshold setting unit” in claim 8 uses a generic placeholder (unit) that is coupled with functional language (“threshold setting”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The limitation is being interpreted to correspond to a control unit which includes a central processing unit, as indicated in ¶¶ [0043], [0072] of the published application, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “worn to the measurement target site” in line 3. It is unclear what it means to be “worn to” a site because there is no plain and ordinary meaning for the term. The Examiner suggests replacing the limitation with “worn on the measurement target site” or “worn against the measurement target site”.
Claim 1 recites “supplies and pressurizes a first air to the cuff” in line 5. It is unclear how a first air is pressurized to the cuff because there is no plain and ordinary meaning for the relationship. The Examiner suggests replacing the limitation with “pressurizes a first air and supplies the first air to the cuff”. Claim 9 recites a similar limitation, so it is rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 1 recites “discharges and depressurizes the first air from the cuff” in line 8. It is unclear how a first air is depressurized from the cuff because there is no plain and ordinary meaning for the relationship. The Examiner suggests replacing the limitation with “depressurizes the first air and discharges the first air from the cuff”. Claim 9 recites a similar limitation, so it is rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 1 recites “as a part of a pipe wall of the air pipe or in connection with the pipe wall” in line 10. It is unclear how this limitation is related to the other claim limitations. The grammatical structure suggests that the limitation modifies the air pipe of line 10, but it is unclear how an air pipe is a part of a pipe wall of the air pipe or is in connection with the pipe wall”. If the limitation modifies the diaphragm, it is unclear how a diaphragm is disposed as a part of a pipe wall and the specification and drawing does not provide clarification. If the limitation modifies the how the pressure is received, it is unclear how it is received as a part of a pipe wall or in connection with the pipe wall because there is no plain and ordinary meaning for the recitations. Although ¶ [0016] of the published application recites that “diaphragm is disposed ‘in connection with a pipe wall’” of the air pipe includes, for example, a manner of being disposed in connection with a pipe wall of another pipe branched from the air pipe”, the specification does not clarify how the above limitation is related to the other claim limitation.
Claim 1 recites “a chamber disposed including the diaphragm as a part of a peripheral wall on a side of another surface opposite to the one surface with respect to the diaphragm, such that the sound transmitted through the diaphragm travels through a second air contained in the chamber” in lines 16-19. The recitation is so grammatically awkward that the meaning is unclear. How is a diaphragm a part of a peripheral wall on a side of a surface of the diaphragm? What is on a side of another surface? What is being modified such that the sound transmitted through the diaphragm travels through a second air? Clarification is required. Claim 10 recites a similar limitation, so it is rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 1 recites “a sound detection device provided to face the second air in the chamber in a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall of the chamber” in lines 20-21. It is unclear whether the sound detection device, second air, or the chamber is in a part other than the diaphragm. The Examiner suggests deleting the recitation of “in a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall of the chamber”. Claim 10 recites a similar limitation, so it is rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 2-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall of the chamber” in line 2. Claim 1 recites “a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall” in lines 20-21 which is understood to be of the chamber. It is unclear whether the recitation in claim 2 is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation of claim 1. Clarification is required.
Claim 8 recites “a threshold for extracting the Korotkoff sound to the electrical signal output by the sound detection device” in lines 2-3. It is unclear how the sound is extracted to the electrical signal output, and the specification does not provide clarification. For the purposes of examination, the recitation is being interpreted to correspond to “a threshold for extracting the Korotkoff sound from the electrical signal output by the sound detection device”.
Claim 8 recites “the blood pressure calculation unit calculates the blood pressure of the measurement target site based only on a signal exceeding the threshold in the electrical signal” in lines 4-6. It is unclear based on the specification how the blood pressure is calculated based only on the signal that exceeds the threshold. The recitation suggests that the signal is somehow converted to the blood pressure. However, the specification does not show how only the signal is used to arrive at the blood pressure. Instead, paragraph [0073] of the published application depicts the use of a cuff pressure Pc at the time when the Korotkoff sound signal Kc appears and disappears to determine blood pressure values, which suggests that the calculation is not based only on the signal exceeding the threshold. For the purposes of examination, the recitation will be interpreted to be “the blood pressure calculation unit calculates the blood pressure of the measurement target site based the electrical signal exceeding the threshold
Claim 8 recites “a signal exceeding the threshold in the electrical signal” in lines 5-6. It is unclear how the “a signal” is related to “the electrical signal”. Fig. 7 and ¶ [0072] of the published application depict the signal and the electrical signal being the same, but the different terminology suggest that they are different. For the purposes of examination, the recitation will be interpreted to be “the electrical signal exceeding the threshold”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,326,536 A (Kitagawa) in view of US 2,193,945 A (Louis)
With regards to claims 1, 9, and 10, Kitagawa teaches a sphygmomanometer that measures a blood pressure based on a Korotkoff sound generated by a measurement target site (Figs. 2-10 and Col. 3, line 50 and Col. 4, line 19 depict a sphygmomanometer for measuring blood pressure based on a Korotkoff sound), and a blood pressure measurement method for measuring the blood pressure based on the Korotkoff sound generated by the measurement target site by the sphygmomanometer (Fig. 4 depicts a method for measuring blood pressure based on Korotkoff sounds), the sphygmomanometer comprising: a cuff for pressure configured to be worn to the measurement target site (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, line 50 and Col. 4, line 19 depict a cuff 1); a pump (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, line 50 and Col. 4, line 19 depict a pressurizing pump 10); an air pipe coupling the cuff and the pump in a fluid flowable manner (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, line 50 and Col. 4, line 19 depict a tube 4 coupling the pressurizing pump 10 and the cuff 1); a pressure control unit that supplies and pressurizes a first air to the cuff through the air pipe by the pump in order to press the measurement target site, or discharges and depressurizes the first air from the cuff through the air pipe (Figs. 2-4 and Col. 4, line 20 to Col. 5, line 25 depict an operation controlling circuit 23 for controlling the pump 10 to pressurize and depressurize the cuff; Also see Fig. 8 and Col. 7, lines 26-62); and a Korotkoff sound detection device (Figs. 2 and 5 depict a Korotkoff sound detecting section 13) comprising: a sound detection device provided to face air in a chamber (Figs. 2 and 5 and Col. 6, lines 14-37 depict a Korotkoff’s sound detecting section 13 comprising microphone 25 facing an air in housing 5), the sound detection device receiving, through the air in the chamber, the sound, and converting the sound into an electric signal (Fig. 5 and Col. 6, lines 14-37 depict the microphone 25 for converting sound pressure variations transmitted through housing 5 into an electrical signal); and a blood pressure calculation unit that calculates the blood pressure of the measurement target site based on the electric signal (Fig. 8 and Col. 7, lines 26-62 depict operation controlling circuit 23 determining a systolic diastolic blood pressure levels based on the Korotkoff’s sounds).
Kitagawa is silent regarding a diaphragm disposed so as to receive, on one surface, a pressure of the first air in the air pipe as a part of a pipe wall of the air pipe or in connection with the pipe wall, the diaphragm being configured to block the pressure of the first air in the air pipe, meanwhile transmit, through this diaphragm, a sound in a frequency band of the Korotkoff sound among sounds traveled through the first air in the air pipe from the measurement target site; a chamber disposed including the diaphragm as a part of a peripheral wall on a side of an other surface opposite to the one surface with respect to the diaphragm, such that the sound transmitted through the diaphragm travels through a second air contained in the chamber; a sound detection device provided to face the second air in the chamber in a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall of the chamber, the sound detection device receiving, through the second air in the chamber, the sound transmitted through the diaphragm, and converting the sound into an electric signal.
In the same field of endeavor of monitoring blood pressure, Louis teaches a diaphragm disposed so as to receive, on one surface, a pressure of the first air in the air pipe as a part of a pipe wall of the air pipe or in connection with the pipe wall (Fig. 1 and page 2, left column, lines 10-46 depict a diaphragm 82 in a manometric chamber 81, wherein the bottom surface of the diaphragm 82 receives air and pressure transmitted from conduit 80), the diaphragm being configured to block the pressure of the first air in the air pipe (Fig. 1 depicts the diaphragm 82 blocking the pressure in the cuff), meanwhile transmit, through this diaphragm, a sound in a frequency band of the Korotkoff sound among sounds traveled through the first air in the air pipe from the measurement target site (Page 2, left column, lines 10-46 depict the pulse causing pressure variations in the bag which are transmitted through tube 73 and conduit 80 to manometric chamber 81 and cause mechanical vibrations of the diaphragm 82 corresponding to the pulse beats, wherein the pulse beats necessarily include a sound in a frequency band of the Korotkoff sound. Additionally or alternatively, the examiner asserts that because the diaphragm is capable of p); a chamber disposed including the diaphragm as a part of a peripheral wall on a side of an other surface opposite to the one surface with respect to the diaphragm (Fig. 1 depicts a top portion of the manometric chamber 81 which includes the top surface of the diaphragm 82 in a peripheral wall of the chamber), such that the sound transmitted through the diaphragm travels through a second air contained in the chamber (Page 2, left column, lines 10-46 depict the mechanical vibrations of the diaphragm 82 which are picked up by microphone on the top portion of the chamber); a sound detection device provided to face the second air in the chamber in a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall of the chamber (Fig. 1 depict and Page 2, left column, lines 10-46 depict a microphone which faces the second air in the chamber), the sound detection device receiving, through the chamber, the sound transmitted through the diaphragm, and converting the sound into an electric signal (Fig. 1 and Page 2, left column, lines 10-46 depict converting the mechanical vibrations of the diaphragm 82 of the microphone to electric signals). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Korotkoff sound detection section 13 and the microphone of Kitagawa to incorporate, based on the teachings of Louis, a diaphragm disposed so as to receive, on one surface, a pressure of the first air in the air pipe as a part of a pipe wall of the air pipe or in connection with the pipe wall, the diaphragm being configured to block the pressure of the first air in the air pipe, meanwhile transmit, through this diaphragm, a sound in a frequency band of the Korotkoff sound among sounds traveled through the first air in the air pipe from the measurement target site; a chamber disposed including the diaphragm as a part of a peripheral wall on a side of an other surface opposite to the one surface with respect to the diaphragm, such that the sound transmitted through the diaphragm travels through a second air contained in the chamber; a sound detection device provided to face the second air in the chamber in a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall of the chamber, wherein the microphone receives, through the second air in the chamber, the sound transmitted through a diaphragm. It would have been the simple substitution of one known method for monitoring pressure variations using a microphone with another to obtain predictable results.
With regards to claim 8, the above combination teaches or suggests a threshold setting unit that sets a threshold for extracting the Korotkoff sound to the electric signal output by the sound detection device (Fig. 6 and Col. 6, lines 38-59 of Kitagawa depict a Korotkoff’s sound recognition and discrimination circuit 22 which comprises voltage comparators 8 and 8a which sets a threshold for extracting Korotkoff sound), wherein the blood pressure calculation unit calculates the blood pressure of the measurement target site based only on a signal exceeding the threshold in the electric signal (Col. 6, line 38 to Col. 8, line 54 of Kitagawa depict the determination of the pressure based on the signal exceeding the threshold).
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa in view of Louis, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 4,202,348 A (Abe).
With regards to claim 2, the above combination is silent regarding a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall of the chamber is provided with a hole for pressure relaxation that communicates between an inside and an outside of the chamber in a fluid flowable manner, and the hole for pressure relaxation serves to restrain the pressure of the second air in the chamber from changing from an atmospheric pressure.
In a system relevant to the problem of detecting Korotkoff sounds, Abe teaches a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall of the chamber is provided with a hole for pressure relaxation that communicates between an inside and an outside of the chamber in a fluid flowable manner (Figs. 1-2 and Col. 2, lines 51-62 depict a hole 12 passing through the side wall of the housing body to make the air chamber open to the outside and reduce pressure in the air room), and the hole for pressure relaxation serves to restrain the pressure of the second air in the chamber from changing from an atmospheric pressure (Col. 2, lines 51-62 depict the hole 12 and tube 13 for reducing pressure in the air room). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chamber of the above combination to incorporate a part other than the diaphragm in the peripheral wall of the chamber is provided with a hole for pressure relaxation that communicates between an inside and an outside of the chamber in a fluid flowable manner, and the hole for pressure relaxation serves to restrain the pressure of the second air in the chamber from changing from an atmospheric pressure as taught by Abe. The motivation would have been to improve that passing of pulse sounds transmitted to the air chamber through the thin film to the outside of the housing body and to reduce the pressure in the air room when the sensor is attached to the arm of the individual (Col. 2, lines 51-62 of Abe).
With regards to 3, the above combination teaches or suggests that the hole for pressure relaxation has a form of an elongated duct or an elongated groove (Figs. 1-2 of Abe depict the hole 12 as an elongated duct).
With regards to 4, the above combination is silent regarding whether a sound insulation material having air permeability and sound insulation properties is accommodated in the elongated duct or the elongated groove.
In a system relevant to the problem of detecting Korotkoff sounds, Abe teaches a sound insulation material having air permeability and sound insulation properties is accommodated in the elongated duct or the elongated groove (Figs. 1-2 and Col. 2, lines 51-62 of Abe teaches a tube 13 which is necessarily formed of a material which has the claimed air permeability and sound insulation properties to the extent that all materials have some sort of air permeability and sound insulation properties). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hole of the above combination to incorporate a tube comprising a sound insulation material having air permeability and sound insulation properties is accommodated in the elongated duct or the elongated groove as taught by Abe. The motivation would have been to improve that passing of pulse sounds transmitted to the air chamber through the thin film to the outside of the housing body and to reduce the pressure in the air room when the sensor is attached to the arm of the individual (Col. 2, lines 51-62 of Abe).
With regards to 6, the above combination is silent regarding whether the chamber is set to have a resonant frequency matching the frequency band of the Korotkoff sound.
In a system relevant to the problem of detecting Korotkoff sounds, Abe teaches the sensitivity and frequency of the sensor are adjusted by adjustment of the inner diameter of the tube 13 since the sound characteristics of the air chamber 5 depend on the inner diameter of the tube 13. Therefore, the resonant frequency of the chamber would depend up the factors of sensitivity and frequency of the sensor as taught by Abe. As such, the resonant frequency is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the desired accuracy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select the resonant frequency of the chamber to obtain the desired sensitivity and frequency of the sensor. In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the chamber of the above combination such that chamber is set to have a resonant frequency matching the frequency band of the Korotkoff sound. See MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa in view of Louis, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 4,012,604 A (Speidel)
With regards to claim 5, the above combination is silent regarding whether the diaphragm is set to have a natural frequency matching the frequency band of the Korotkoff sound.
In a system relevant to the problem of monitoring Korotkoff sounds through a membrane, Speidel teaches a diaphragm set to have a natural frequency matching the frequency band of the Korotkoff sound (Figs. 9-11 and Col. 9, line 43 to Col. 10, line 3 depict a membrane 5 with a touch plate 32 formed of a silicone rubber with a natural sound conductivity that corresponds to the frequency spectrum of the Korotkoff noises). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diaphragm of the above combination to incorporate that it is set to have a natural frequency matching the frequency band of the Korotkoff sound as taught by Speidel. The motivation would have been to ensure that the material does not dampen the Korotkoff noises.
With regards to claim 7, the above combination is silent regarding whether the diaphragm includes a synthetic resin.
In a system relevant to the problem of monitoring Korotkoff sounds through a membrane, Speidel teaches a diaphragm which includes a synthetic resin (Col. 6, lines 12-30 depict a membrane including epoxy resins). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the membrane of the above combination with the material of Speidel. Because both membranes are capable of conveying Korotkoff sounds, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
/S.C.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791