This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10, line 2, “incudes” should be “includes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2006/0192469 to Koo.
Koo discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 10 comprising (Figs. 3-11): an outer case; an inner case inside the outer case and forming a storage compartment 20; a fixed rail 150,250 on an inner wall of the inner case; a movable rail 110,210 configured to be slidable along the fixed rail 150,250 between a first rail position (Figs. 6 & 10), in which the movable rail 110,210 is inserted with respect to the fixed rail 150,250, and a second rail position (Figs. 7 & 11), in which the movable rail is withdrawn from the first rail position with respect to the fixed rail; and a sliding case 140,240 configured to be slidable along the movable rail 110,210 between a first case position, in which the sliding case 110,210 is inserted with respect to the movable rail, and a second case position, in which the sliding case 110,210 is withdrawn from the first case position with respect to the movable rail 110,210 so as to be inserted into or withdrawn from the inner case, wherein the movable rail 110,210 is configured to be locked (please note that the term “configured to be locked” fails to provide adequate structural limitations in defining the locking elements/components in order to distinguish from the prior art of record) and coupled to the fixed rail 150,250 at the first rail position (Figs. 6 & 10), and to be released from the fixed rail 150,250 in response to the movable rail 110,210 moving from the first rail position to the second rail position; (Claim 2). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the fixed rail 150 includes an insertion portion 154, wherein the movable rail 110 includes a locking portion 112 configured to be inserted into the insertion portion at the first rail position, so as to be locked and coupled to the insertion portion; (Claim 5). The refrigerator of claim 2, wherein the locking portion is in an upper portion of the movable rail; and the insertion portion is in an upper portion of the fixed rail; (Claim 7). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the sliding case includes a guide portion configured to allow a sliding movement to be guided by the movable rail 110, wherein the guide portion includes a case stopper 143 configured to prevent the sliding case 140 from being withdrawn with respect to the movable rail at the second case position; (Claim 8). The refrigerator of claim 7, wherein the case stopper 143 is configured to press the movable rail 110 to allow the movable rail to be released from the fixed rail in response to receiving an external force in a direction of being withdrawn from the second case position; (Claim 15). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the movable rail 110 includes a movable rail rib 113 configured to be vertically inserted into the fixed rail, wherein the movable rail rib extends along a moving direction of the movable rail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP 11060558 to Chen et al (hereinafter Chen ‘558) in view of Koo.
Chen ‘558 discloses (Claim 1). A slide rail assembly comprising: a fixed rail 22; a movable rail 24 configured to be slidable along the fixed rail 22 between a first rail position (such as shown in Fig. 33), in which the movable rail 24 is inserted with respect to the fixed rail 22, and a second rail position (such as shown in Fig. 34), in which the movable rail 24 is withdrawn from the first rail position with respect to the fixed rail 22; and a sliding case 26 configured to be slidable along the movable rail 24 between a first case position, in which the sliding case 26 is inserted with respect to the movable rail 24, and a second case position, in which the sliding case 26 is withdrawn from the first case position with respect to the movable rail 24, so as to be inserted into or withdrawn from an inner case, wherein the movable rail 24 is configured to be locked and coupled to the fixed rail 22 at the first rail position, and to be released from the fixed rail 22 in response to the movable rail 24 moving from the first rail position to the second rail position; (Claim 2). The slide rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the fixed rail 22 includes an insertion portion 34, wherein the movable rail 24 includes a locking portion 84 configured to be inserted into the insertion portion 34 at the first rail position, so as to be locked and coupled to the insertion portion 84; (Claim 3). The slide rail assembly of claim 2, wherein the insertion portion 34 includes a pressing surface (such as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the locking portion 84 inserted into the insertion portion 34 is pressed by the pressing surface so as to be detached from the insertion portion in response to the movable rail 24 being withdrawn from the first rail position; (Claim 4). The slide rail assembly of claim 3, wherein the fixed rail 22 includes a rail receiving portion configured to accommodate the movable rail 24, wherein the movable rail 24 is configured to be slidable along the rail receiving portion between the first rail position and the second rail position, wherein the pressing surface has a slope in a direction that is closer to the rail receiving portion as the pressing surface faces forward, wherein a surface of the locking portion in contact with the pressing surface has a slope corresponding to the slope of the pressing surface; (Claim 5). The slide rail assembly of claim 2, wherein the locking portion 84 is in an upper portion of the movable rail 24; and the insertion portion 34 is in an upper portion of the fixed rail 22; (Claim 6). The slide rail assembly of claim 2, wherein the locking portion includes an elastically deformable material; (Claim 7). The slide rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the sliding case 26 includes a guide portion configured to allow a sliding movement to be guided by the movable rail 24, wherein the guide portion includes a case stopper 52 configured to prevent the sliding case 26 from being withdrawn with respect to the movable rail at the second case position; (Claim 8). The slide rail assembly of claim 7, wherein the case stopper 52 is configured to press the movable rail 24 to allow the movable rail 24 to be released from the fixed rail 22 in response to receiving an external force in a direction of being withdrawn from the second case position; (Claim 14). The slide rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the fixed rail 22 includes a fixed rail rib 22c (Fig. 2) configured to be vertically inserted into the movable rail 24, wherein the fixed rail rib 22c extends along a moving direction of the movable rail 24; (Claim 15). The slide rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the movable rail 24 includes a movable rail rib 24c configured to be vertically inserted into the fixed rail 22, wherein the movable rail rib 24c extends along a moving direction of the movable rail 24.
The differences being that Chen ‘558 fails to clearly disclose the limitations in claim 1 of a refrigerator comprising: an outer case; an inner case inside the outer case and forming a storage compartment; the fixed rail 22 on an inner wall of the inner case.
However, Koo shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a refrigerator with an outer case; an inner case inside the outer case and forming a storage compartment; a slide rail assembly comprising a fixed rail 150 on an inner wall of the inner case; a movable rail 110; and a sliding case 140.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Koo, to modify Chen ‘558 to include the limitations in claim 1 of a refrigerator comprising: an outer case; an inner case inside the outer case and forming a storage compartment; the fixed rail 22 on an inner wall of the inner case with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo in view of USP 10458697 to Lee et al (hereinafter Lee).
Koo discloses all the elements as discussed above including the sliding case 140 includes a rail roller 141. The differences being that Koo fails to clearly disclose the limitations in claim 9.
However, Lee discloses a refrigerator comprising: a sliding case 50 having a guide portion 80 configured to allow a sliding movement to be guided by a rail; wherein the guide portion includes a case stopper 83 configured to prevent the sliding case from being withdrawn with respect to the rail; wherein the rail includes a rail roller 77 in contact with the guide portion 80, wherein the case stopper 83 is in contact with the rail roller 77 at a second case position (Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Lee, to modify Koo to include the limitations in claim 9 of wherein the movable rail 110 includes a rail roller in contact with the guide portion, wherein the case stopper is in contact with the rail roller at the second case position with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate movement of the movable rail and the sliding case.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen ‘558, as modified, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of USP 8672431 to Chen et al (hereinafter Chen ‘431).
Chen ‘558, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations recited in the above-listed claims.
However, Chen ‘431 discloses a slide rail assembly comprising: a fixed rail 10 on an inner wall of the inner case; a movable rail 12 configured to be slidable along the fixed rail 10 between a first rail position, in which the movable rail is inserted with respect to the fixed rail, and a second rail position, in which the movable rail is withdrawn from the first rail position with respect to the fixed rail; and a sliding case 14 configured to be slidable along the movable rail between a first case position, in which the sliding case is inserted with respect to the movable rail, and a second case position, in which the sliding case is withdrawn from the first case position with respect to the movable rail, so as to be inserted into or withdrawn from the inner case, wherein the movable rail is configured to be locked and coupled to the fixed rail at the first rail position, and to be released from the fixed rail in response to the movable rail moving from the first rail position to the second rail position, wherein the fixed rail 10 includes a rail stopper 20, wherein the movable rail 12 includes a movable rail body and a movable rail protrusion protruding from the movable rail body toward the fixed rail 10, wherein the movable rail protrusion is configured to be in contact with the rail stopper 20 at the second rail position to prevent the movable rail from being withdrawn with respect to the fixed rail; wherein the fixed rail 10 includes a through hole 28 (Figs. 2-3) penetrated toward the movable rail 12, wherein the through hole 28 is at a rear side of the rail stopper 20, wherein the movable rail protrusion at the second rail position covers one side of the through hole 28; wherein the rail stopper 20 includes a front surface 44 inclined with respect to a moving direction of the movable rail 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Chen ‘431, to modify Chen ‘558, as modified, to include the limitations in Claim 10 of wherein the fixed rail incudes a rail stopper, wherein the movable rail includes a movable rail body and a movable rail protrusion protruding from the movable rail body toward the fixed rail, wherein the movable rail protrusion is configured to be in contact with the rail stopper at the second rail position to prevent the movable rail from being withdrawn with respect to the fixed rail; Claim 11 of wherein the fixed rail includes a through hole penetrated toward the movable rail, wherein the through hole is at a rear side of the rail stopper, wherein the movable rail protrusion at the second rail position covers one side of the through hole; and Claim 12 of wherein the rail stopper includes a front surface inclined with respect to a moving direction of the movable rail with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the rail assembly.
Claim(s) 1, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP 11060558 to Chen et al (hereinafter Chen ‘558) in view of Koo.
Chen ‘558 discloses (Claim 1). A slide rail assembly comprising: a fixed rail 22; a movable rail 24 configured to be slidable along the fixed rail 22 between a first rail position (such as shown in Fig. 33), in which the movable rail 24 is inserted with respect to the fixed rail 22, and a second rail position (such as shown in Fig. 34), in which the movable rail 24 is withdrawn from the first rail position with respect to the fixed rail 22; and a sliding case 26 configured to be slidable along the movable rail 24 between a first case position, in which the sliding case 26 is inserted with respect to the movable rail 24, and a second case position, in which the sliding case 26 is withdrawn from the first case position with respect to the movable rail 24, so as to be inserted into or withdrawn from an inner case, wherein the movable rail 24 is configured to be locked and coupled to the fixed rail 22 at the first rail position, and to be released from the fixed rail 22 in response to the movable rail 24 moving from the first rail position to the second rail position; (Claim 10). The slide rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the fixed rail 22 includes a rail stopper 22c (Fig. 2), wherein the movable rail 24 includes a movable rail body and a movable rail protrusion 24c protruding from the movable rail body toward the fixed rail 22, wherein the movable rail protrusion 24c is configured to be in contact with the rail stopper 22c at the second rail position to prevent the movable rail from being withdrawn with respect to the fixed rail (col. 9, lines 36-45).
The differences being that Chen ‘558 fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claim 1 of a refrigerator comprising: an outer case; an inner case inside the outer case and forming a storage compartment; the fixed rail 22 on an inner wall of the inner case; and (ii) claim 13.
Regarding (i), Koo shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a refrigerator with an outer case; an inner case inside the outer case and forming a storage compartment; a slide rail assembly comprising a fixed rail 150 on an inner wall of the inner case; a movable rail 110; and a sliding case 140.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Koo, to modify Chen ‘558 to include the limitations in claim 1 of a refrigerator comprising: an outer case; an inner case inside the outer case and forming a storage compartment; the fixed rail 22 on an inner wall of the inner case with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding (ii), the examiner respectfully take the position that it is well known in the art to provide a movable rail protrusion with an elastically deformable material in order to reduce impact noise. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen ‘558 to include the limitations in claim 13 of the movable rail protrusion includes an elastically deformable material with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce impact noise of the rails.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure , and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
HVT
June 27, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637