DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 06/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reese (US-20160236414-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Reese teaches method of fabricating an object, comprising: fabricating a three-dimensional (3D) structure using additive processing; detecting a defect in the 3D structure; identifying a location of the 3D structure corresponding to a 3D space occupied by the defect; and removing material from the location of the 3D structure using subtractive processing to correct the defect (¶0022-0039).
Regarding claims 3-4, as applied to claim 1, Reese teaches method further comprising adding additional material to the 3D structure using additive processing after removing material (¶0067,0075) and further comprising modifying a print parameter before adding additional material, based on the defect, to prevent future defects (¶0067-0068,0089).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, Reese teaches method wherein detecting the defect includes scanning the 3D structure to generate a 3D scan and comparing the 3D scan to an original 3D design used to fabricate the 3D structure (¶0084,0090).
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1, Reese teaches method wherein the additive processing includes a five-dimensional (5D) process that performs a rotation of the 3D structure or a print head in one or more spatial dimensions (¶0012,0029-0030).
Regarding claim 17, Reese teaches a computer program product, comprising: one or more computer-readable storage media; and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media to perform operations comprising: controlling a print head to fabricate a three-dimensional (3D) structure using additive processing; detecting a defect in the 3D structure; identifying a location of the 3D structure corresponding to a 3D space occupied by the defect; and controlling a subtractive processing system to remove material from the location of the 3D structure to correct the defect (¶0022-0039, ¶0079-0091).
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 17, Reese teaches a computer program product wherein the operations further comprise controlling the print head to add additional material to the 3D structure after the subtractive processing system removes material (¶0022-0039,0067,0075).
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 17, Reese teaches a computer program product wherein the operations further comprise modifying a print parameter before adding additional material, based on the defect, to prevent future defects (¶0022-0039,0067-0068,0089).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reese (US-20160236414-A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Vadugappatty Srinivasan (US-20230093834-A1).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, while Reese teaches a method wherein the subtractive processing uses milling (¶0008,0037), Reese does not explicitly teach a method wherein the subtractive processing uses a computer numerical control (CNC) system to selectively remove material from the 3D structure.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (computer numerical control (CNC) systems; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Vadugappatty Srinivasan discloses that the cutting method may include, but not limited to, computer numerical control (CNC) milling (subtractive processing uses a computer numerical control (CNC) system to selectively remove material) (known technique applicable to the base method) (¶0069)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Reese by applying the known technique of subtractive processing using a computer numerical control (CNC) system to selectively remove material disclosed in Vadugappatty Srinivasan to the method wherein the subtractive processing uses milling disclosed in Reese to selectively remove material from the 3D structure as instantly claimed with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reese (US-20160236414-A1).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 5, Reese does not explicitly teach a method wherein detecting the defect includes determining that the scan deviates from the 3D design by an above-threshold amount.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method taught by Reese to further comprise determining that the scan deviates from the 3D design by an above-threshold amount with a reasonable expectation of success in order to identify any properties that fall outside the specifications (¶0090).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 17, Reese teaches a computer program product wherein detecting the defect includes scanning the 3D structure to generate a 3D scan and comparing the 3D scan to an original 3D design used to fabricate the 3D structure (¶0084,0090).
While Reese does not explicitly teach a computer program product further comprising determining that the scan deviates from the 3D design by an above-threshold amount, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify a computer program product taught by Reese to further comprise determining that the scan deviates from the 3D design by an above-threshold amount with a reasonable expectation of success in order to identify any properties that fall outside the specifications (¶0090).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reese (US-20160236414-A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Goyal (US-20230076556-A1 - of record).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, while Reese teaches a method wherein detecting the defect includes identifying a defect (¶0022-0039), Reese does not explicitly teach a method wherein detecting the defect includes identifying a defect using a trained machine learning model based on an image of the 3D structure.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (performing corrective actions during three-dimensional printing jobs; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Goyal discloses a method comprising utilizing machine learning and a self-updating knowledge base for identifying and applying corrective actions, thereby increasingly improving the 3D printing process over time (identifying a defect using a trained machine learning model) (known technique applicable to the base method) (¶0016).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Reese by applying the known technique of identifying a defect using a trained machine learning model disclosed in Goyal to the method wherein detecting the defect includes identifying a defect disclosed in Reese based on an image of the 3D structure as instantly claimed with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hasanain (US-20210365016-A1 - of record) discloses the known technique that machine learning and artificial intelligence processes may be utilized for both pattern recognition (e.g., using a neural network or other type of machine learning technique), such as to identify features or signatures indicative of defects or normal AM processing and operations, and may also be utilized for decision making, such as to modify or adjust an AM process when an anomaly or defect is detected (¶0031).
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743