DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “extraction code configured to extract …”, “translation prompt input code configured to input …”, “translation text acquisition code configured to acquire …”, “search code configured to search …”, “pre-translation term acquisition code configured to acquire …”, “fiscal year designation code configured to acquire …”, “new term acquisition code configure to …”, “completion prompt input code configured to input …”, and “search term acquisition code configured to acquire …” in claims 1-2 and 4-5, and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claims 1 and 11-12 recite “extracting … pre-translation terms …” and “inputting … to translate …”. These limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “processor”. For example, but for the “processor” language, these steps in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually extracting text from a bilingual dictionary to give to a translator to translate into text of a second language. All of these steps can be performed in the mind and/or using a pen and paper. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements - using a processor to perform these steps. The use of a processor is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer device performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “language model” and the step of “acquiring … a translated text …” is merely for the purpose of data gathering and/or insignificant extra-solution activity that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding dependent claims 2-10, these steps, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually performing these steps similar to claim 1 above. All of these steps can be performed in the mind and/or using a pen and paper. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cancedda et al. (USPG 2013/0030787, hereinafter Cancedda).
Regarding claims 1 and 11-12, Cancedda discloses an information processing system, method, and non-transitory CRM configured to translate one or more source texts written in a first language into a second language using a language model, the information processing system comprising:
one or more memories that store computer program code (figure 1 and/or paragraphs 36-38); and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code (figure 1 and/or paragraphs 36-38), and the program code includes:
extraction code configured to extract, from a bilingual dictionary that includes pre-translation terms described in the first language and post-translation terms described in the second language respectively corresponding to the pre-translation terms (bilingual dictionary), one or more pre-translation terms relevant to the one or more source texts and one or more post-translation terms respectively corresponding to the one or more pre-translation terms (figure 2, step 108, retrieving/extracting bi-phrases from bi-phrase library; also see paragraphs 62-68);
translation prompt input code configured to input a translation prompt into the language model, the translation prompt including the one or more source texts, the one or more pre-translation terms, the one or more post-translation terms, and a translation instruction, and the translation instruction including an instruction for the language model to translate the one or more pre-translation terms to the one or more post-translation terms (figure 2, steps S106-108, process the source text to extract source and target terms from a bilingual dictionary to send to the translation engine; the translation instruction is an implicit instruction by providing the source text, the terms extracted from the bilingual dictionary; also see paragraphs 62-68); and
translated text acquisition code configured to acquire, from the language model, a translated text in which the one or more source texts are translated into the second language according to the translation instruction (figure 2, steps 112-122 and/or paragraphs 62-68, translating text in a source language into text in a target language).
Regarding claim 2, Cancedda further discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the bilingual dictionary includes search terms respectively corresponding to the pre-translation terms, and the program code further includes: search code configured to search the one or more source texts using the search terms; and pre-translation term acquisition code configured to acquire the one or more pre-translation terms respectively corresponding to one or more of the search terms matched in the search (process in figure 2 and/or paragraphs 62-68, in order to retrieve matched terms from bilingual dictionary, a searching/matching process must be performed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cancedda in view of Liu et al. (USPG 2021/0326537, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 6, Cancedda further discloses the bilingual dictionary including “multi-word expressions”, but fails to explicitly disclose the search terms each include one or more regular expressions. However, Liu teaches the search terms each include one or more regular expressions (paragraphs 114-115, regular expression; “number” and “date”, which can be year; also see figures 7-8); wherein the one or more regular expressions include a regular expression that represents a fiscal year, the program code further includes fiscal year designation code configured to acquire a current fiscal year or a designated fiscal year that has been input by a user, and the translation instruction includes an instruction for the language model to generate the translated text by replacing a number of a fiscal year included in the one or more source texts with the current fiscal year or the designated fiscal year (paragraphs 114-115, regular expression; “number” and “date”, which can be year; also see figures 7-8); wherein the one or more source texts include one or more texts relevant to finance, the pre-translation terms include one or more financial terms, and the translation instruction includes an instruction for the language model to translate one or more terms, other than the one or more pre-translation terms included in the one or more source texts, using the financial terms (paragraphs 89-91, detecting and treating financial terms as sensitive information before translation).
Since Cancedda and Liu are analogous in the art because they are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the known technique of utilizing regular expression matching and detecting and treating financial terms as sensitive information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cancedda in view of Ajagbusi (USPG 2024/0419924, hereinafter Ajagbusi).
Regarding claims 7-9, Cancedda fails to explicitly disclose, however, Ajagbusi teaches the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the translation prompt further includes a unit conversion instruction, and3 the unit conversion instruction includes an instruction for the language model to convert, when the one or more source texts include one or more numerical values expressed in a unit specific to a region where the first language is used, the one or more numerical values into a unit used in a region where the second language is used (figure 4, English text and cost in $ are translated/converted into German and euro); wherein the translation prompt further includes a unit conversion instruction, and the unit conversion instruction includes an instruction for the language model to convert, when the one or more source texts include one or more numerical values expressed in a unit specific to a region where the first language is used, each of the one or more numerical values into a corresponding unit included in the International System of Units (figure 4, English text and cost in $ are translated/converted into German and euro; $ and Euro are ISU); and wherein the translation prompt further includes a currency conversion instruction, and the currency conversion instruction includes an instruction for the language model to convert, when the one or more source texts include a monetary amount expressed in a currency unit in a region where the first language is used, the monetary amount into a currency unit of a region where the second language is used (figure 4, English text and cost in $ are translated/converted into German and Euro; also the cost values are also adjusted).
Since Cancedda and Ajagbusi are analogous in the art because they are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the known technique of converting/translating dollar value into Euro value. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cancedda in view of Ajagbusi, and further in view of Yoden et al. (USPG 2002/0007383, hereinafter Yoden).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cancedda and Ajagbusi discloses translating English into German and converting US dollar to Euro dollar (see claim 9 above), the currency conversion instruction includes an instruction for the language model to convert the monetary amount (figure 4, Ajagbusi: English text and cost in $ are translated/converted into German and Euro; also the cost values are also adjusted; see claim 9 above). The combination still fails to explicitly disclose, however, Yoden further teaches acquiring a currency exchange rate and converting the monetary amount based on the exchange rate (figure 5 and/or paragraphs 46, 53, and 62, exchange rate; the combination of 3 references teaches acquiring and using exchange rate in the conversion).
Since the modofied Cancedda and Yoden are analogous in the art because they are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the known technique of acquiring the exchange rate and converting the dollar value into Euro value. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and resolving the 101 issue.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeon et al. (USPG 2010/0088085) teach a statistical machine translation method that is considered pertinent to the claimed invention.
/HUYEN X VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656