Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 4-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1 and 4, “imaging processing” should be “image processing”
Claims 4 and 6 cite acronym SOM without defining the acronym. For examination purposes, SOM is defined as System On Module
Claims 5 and 7 cite acronym FOV without defining the acronym. For examination purposes, FOV is defined as field of view.
In claim 5, “to produce images with a same FOVs” should be “to produce images with a same FOV”
In claim 7, “field of view indicator based on region of interest ROI” should be “field of view indicator based on region of interest (ROI)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“multispectral illumination design” and “multispectral sensing design” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cross (US20190216326A1) in view of Toth (US20220224844A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cross teaches a multispectral imaging system addon to a mobile device ([0061], [0071], [0128]), the system comprising: a multispectral illumination design that emits light of N different bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm ([0067], [0072]); a multispectral sensing design (camera 32) that images reflected/emission light of N different bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm ([0071], [0090]); and hardware ([0078]-[0079]) and software adaptors that connect to a mobile device ([0089]) such that the mobile device is used for imaging processing, storage, display, and internet connectivity ([0087], [0091], [0099]), fails to disclose bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm.
Toth, which relates to multispectral images and is thus from the same field of endeavor as Cross, teaches bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm ([0056] the UV encompasses wavelengths from approximately 100-400 nm, the visible spectrum from approximately 400-700 nm, and IR spectrum 700-1000).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cross by incorporating bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm in order to enable UV-excited tissue autofluorescence imaging not available from visible-NIR imaging alone.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cross (US20190216326A1) in view of Toth (US20220224844A1), and further in view of McKee (US20140312247A1).
Regarding claim 2, Cross, when modified by Toth, teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the mobile device includes a white light emitting diode (LED) that provides one of the multispectral illumination sources and a visible camera that provides one of the multispectral sensing options (Cross : [0071]), but fails to disclose wherein the mobile device includes a white light emitting diode (LED) that provides one of the multispectral illumination sources.
However, McKee, which relates to multispectral images and is thus from the same field of endeavor as Cross, teaches an imager on a mobile device, wherein the mobile device includes a white light emitting diode (LED) that provides one of the multispectral illumination sources ([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cross by incorporating wherein the mobile device includes a white light emitting diode (LED) that provides one of the multispectral illumination sources as an alternative source capable of reducing the system cost.
Regarding claim 3, Cross, when modified by Toth, teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein a custom software application is deployed on the mobile device to control illumination sources, cameras, acquire, process and display multispectral images (Cross: [0005], [0087], claim 1, fig. 1).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cross (US20190216326A1) in view of Toth (US20220224844A1), and further in view of Horstmeyer (US 20200285037 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Cross teaches a multispectral imaging system that performs visible imaging, Laser Speckle Imaging (LSI) and Oxygen Saturation Imaging (SpO2) (Abstract, [0067]), the system comprising: a multispectral illumination module that emits light of N different bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm using multiple LEDs and/or lasers ([0067], [0072]); a multispectral sensing module (camera) that images reflected/emission light of the N different bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm using multiple cameras ([0071], [0090]: Cross only uses one camera); hardware and software adaptors that connect with a SOM (smartphone) ([0071], [0089]) to use the SOM for imaging processing, storage, display, and internet connectivity ([0087], [0091], [0099]), but fails to disclose bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm and multiple cameras.
Toth, from the same field of endeavor, teaches bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm ([0056] the UV encompasses wavelengths from approximately 100-400 nm, the visible spectrum from approximately 400-700 nm, and IR spectrum 700-1000).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cross by incorporating bands or ranges of wavelengths from 300nm to 1000nm in order to enable UV-excited tissue autofluorescence imaging not available from visible-NIR imaging alone.
Cross, when modified by Toth, fails to disclose using multiple cameras.
However, using multiple cameras in multispectral imaging is well known in the art as disclosed by Horstmeyer (Abstract, [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cross by incorporating using multiple cameras in order to offer a high resolution over a large FOV (Horstmeyer: [0002]).
Regarding claim 5, Cross, when modified by Toth and Horstmeyer, teaches the system of Claim 4, wherein multiple cameras are temporally synchronized (Horstmeyer: single snapshot) (Abstract) to produce images acquired at the same time (Horstmeyer: Abstract, [0013]) and spatially aligned to produce images with a same FOVs (Horstmeyer: [0039], [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Cross, when modified by Toth and Horstmeyer, teaches the system of Claim 4, wherein a software application is deployed on the SOM to control illumination sources, cameras, acquire, process and display multispectral images (Cross: [0087], [0091], [0099]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adiri (US20220217267A1) in view of Barbier (US20180356525A1) and further in view of Nasiri (US20100214216A1).
Regarding claim 7, Adiri teaches a pre-imaging design to locate a FOV on a target, ensure correct target distance and reduce device motion artifact, the design comprising:; a visually guided device motion indicator and a visually guided field of view indicator based on region of interest ROI ([0034]] displaying, on the mobile device, an indication to correct an actual position of the wound in the video [0240],[0246]), but fails to disclose a visually guided distance indicator based on Time-of-Flight (ToF) ranging sensor; a visually guided device motion indicator based on 6-Axis MEMS Motion Sensors.
However, Barbier, which relates to sensor-guided handheld mobile image capture as Adiri, teaches a visually guided distance indicator based on Time-of-Flight (ToF) ranging sensor ([0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adiri by incorporating a visually guided distance indicator based on Time-of-Flight (ToF) ranging sensor ensuring consistent image geometry for assessment.
Adiri, when modified by Barbier, fails to disclose a visually guided device motion indicator based on 6-Axis MEMS Motion Sensors.
However, Nasiri, which relates to sensor-guided handheld mobile image capture as Adiri, teaches a visually guided device motion indicator based on 6-Axis MEMS Motion Sensors ([0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adiri by incorporating a visually guided device motion indicator based on 6-Axis MEMS Motion Sensors to provide correct image geometry.
Conclusion
/MOHAMED DOUMBIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877