Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,7,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aggarwal et al. (USPN 20210011825A1).
As per claim 1, Aggarwal et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium including instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors (paragraph 0025 - one or more non-transitory computer-readable media include computer-readable instructions, which when executed by one or more processors) to perform steps of: providing access to one or more private applications for users associated with a tenant of a cloud-based system (paragraph 0032 - Management plane 120 can also include an analytics engine 124 for providing visibility into the performance of applications and the network over time, such as the best and worst performing applications, the most bandwidth consuming applications, anomalous applications families (e.g., applications whose bandwidth consumption change over a period of time), network availability and circuit availability, carrier health, best and worst performing tunnels, and so forth. – applications include private applications);
detecting one or more criteria suggesting an outage of the cloud-based system (paragraph 0027 - Solutions proposed by the present disclosure to manage migration of SD-WANs across a multi-cloud structure when there is a failure in the structure, eliminates the use of third party witness components and addresses the above drawbacks of using third party witness components. The proposed solutions will be fully described below.; paragraph 0020 - detecting the failover event includes determining, by each of the virtual bonds and based on the number of inactive virtual management components in the one of the multiple cloud networks, an active status or an inactive status for a corresponding cluster; and determining the failover event for the one of the multiple cloud networks, when a first threshold number of the virtual bonds determine that the number of inactive virtual management components in the corresponding cluster is equal to a second threshold); and
responsive to activation of a disaster recovery mode based on the one or more criteria, providing access to the one or more private applications via an on-site disaster recovery system including a site controller, wherein providing the access via the site controller does not require communication with the cloud-based system (paragraph 0025 - detect a failover event at the one of the multiple cloud networks; and identify a new destination cloud network to migrate the one or more services of the SD-WAN solution to, from a source cloud network at which the failover event is detected.).
As per claim 7, Aggarwal et al. discloses wherein the one or more criteria include detecting that the cloud-based system is not responsive (paragraph 0020 - detecting the failover event includes determining, by each of the virtual bonds and based on the number of inactive virtual management components in the one of the multiple cloud networks, an active status or an inactive status for a corresponding cluster; and determining the failover event for the one of the multiple cloud networks, when a first threshold number of the virtual bonds determine that the number of inactive virtual management components in the corresponding cluster is equal to a second threshold).
As per claim 15, Aggarwal et al. discloses a method comprising steps of: providing access to one or more private applications for users associated with a tenant of a cloud-based system (paragraph 0032 - Management plane 120 can also include an analytics engine 124 for providing visibility into the performance of applications and the network over time, such as the best and worst performing applications, the most bandwidth consuming applications, anomalous applications families (e.g., applications whose bandwidth consumption change over a period of time), network availability and circuit availability, carrier health, best and worst performing tunnels, and so forth. – applications include private applications);
detecting one or more criteria suggesting an outage of the cloud-based system (paragraph 0027 - Solutions proposed by the present disclosure to manage migration of SD-WANs across a multi-cloud structure when there is a failure in the structure, eliminates the use of third party witness components and addresses the above drawbacks of using third party witness components. The proposed solutions will be fully described below.; paragraph 0020 - detecting the failover event includes determining, by each of the virtual bonds and based on the number of inactive virtual management components in the one of the multiple cloud networks, an active status or an inactive status for a corresponding cluster; and determining the failover event for the one of the multiple cloud networks, when a first threshold number of the virtual bonds determine that the number of inactive virtual management components in the corresponding cluster is equal to a second threshold); and
responsive to activation of a disaster recovery mode based on the one or more criteria, providing access to the one or more private applications via an on-site disaster recovery system including a site controller, wherein providing the access via the site controller does not require communication with the cloud-based system (paragraph 0025 - detect a failover event at the one of the multiple cloud networks; and identify a new destination cloud network to migrate the one or more services of the SD-WAN solution to, from a source cloud network at which the failover event is detected.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al. in view of Pampati et al. (USPN 20200259831A1).
As per claim 8, Aggarwal et al. discloses a user device comprising: one or more processors (paragraph 0024 - one or more processors); and memory storing computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the one or more processors to (paragraph 0025 - one or more non-transitory computer-readable media include computer-readable instructions, which when executed by one or more processors):
detect one or more criteria suggesting an outage of the cloud-based system (paragraph 0027 - Solutions proposed by the present disclosure to manage migration of SD-WANs across a multi-cloud structure when there is a failure in the structure, eliminates the use of third party witness components and addresses the above drawbacks of using third party witness components. The proposed solutions will be fully described below.; paragraph 0020 - detecting the failover event includes determining, by each of the virtual bonds and based on the number of inactive virtual management components in the one of the multiple cloud networks, an active status or an inactive status for a corresponding cluster; and determining the failover event for the one of the multiple cloud networks, when a first threshold number of the virtual bonds determine that the number of inactive virtual management components in the corresponding cluster is equal to a second threshold); and
responsive to activation of a disaster recovery mode based on the one or more criteria, provide access to the one or more private applications via an on-site disaster recovery system including a site controller, wherein providing the access via the site controller does not require communication with the cloud-based system (paragraph 0025 - detect a failover event at the one of the multiple cloud networks; and identify a new destination cloud network to migrate the one or more services of the SD-WAN solution to, from a source cloud network at which the failover event is detected.).
Aggarwal et al. fails to explicitly state provide access to one or more private applications through a cloud-based system via a unified agent application executing on the user device.
Aggarwal et al. does disclose paragraph 0032 - Management plane 120 can also include an analytics engine 124 for providing visibility into the performance of applications and the network over time, such as the best and worst performing applications, the most bandwidth consuming applications, anomalous applications families (e.g., applications whose bandwidth consumption change over a period of time), network availability and circuit availability, carrier health, best and worst performing tunnels, and so forth. – applications include private applications; paragraph 0075 - Although a variety of examples and other information was used to explain aspects within the scope of the appended claims, no limitation of the claims should be implied based on particular features or arrangements in such examples, as one of ordinary skill would be able to use these examples to derive a wide variety of implementations.
Pampati et al. provide access to one or more private applications through a cloud-based system via a unified agent application executing on the user device in paragraph 0075 - The unified agent application 600 enables communication to enterprise private resources 612 via the security cloud 608 and to the Internet 504 via the security cloud 608. The agent manager cloud 606 can communicate with enterprise asset management 614, an enterprise Security Assertion Markup Language (SAML) Identity Provider (IDP) 616, and an enterprise Certificate Authority (CA) 618. The device 604 and the unified agent application 600 can perform a registration/identity 620 process through the agent manager cloud 606 where the user identity, the user's certificates, and a device fingerprint can uniquely identify the device 604. Once registered, the unified agent application 600 has an identity 622, which can include the user, certificates, device posture, etc. and which is shared with the security cloud 608. – private resources includes applications.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the unified agent application to communicate to enterprise private resources via the security and to the Internet of Pampati in being in communication with applications and various implementations of Aggarwal. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the unified agent application allows for connection to cloud services, as discloses in paragraphs 0078,0081.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6,9-14,16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim either because no prior art could be found to reject the claims or no reason to combine with prior art found.
/Yolanda L Wilson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113