Claims rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Groot(US.Pub.No.20230276107) in view of Nakamura(US.Pub.No.20170070772).
Regarding claim 1, de Groot et al disclose a method for switching between a first content stream(see fig.3 to fig.5 with network 102;0056-0058) and a second content stream that are being ingested(see fig.3 to fig.5 with network 103) , processed, and delivered as an output stream by a media data processing device(see fig.3 to fig.5 with processing devices 109a and 109b; 0055-0058), wherein the first content stream includes a main and a backup video stream(see fig.3 to fig.5 with ports 202a for the main video and 203 for the backup/redundant video associated with the first stream;0066-0069)with identical IP packets(The system is able to transmit IP packets and the system provides packets with identical information; 0008;0045;0004) and the second content stream includes a main and a backup video(see fig.3 to fig.5 with ports 202b for main video and 204 for the backup video associated with the second stream;0066-0069);stream with identical IP packets, and wherein prior to switching both the main and the backup video stream of the first content stream are being transmitted to the media processing device, the method comprising(see fig.3 to fig.5):
discontinuing transmission of a first one of the main and backup video streams of the first
content stream currently being ingested(the system is able to detect erroneous data packets or anomaly during transmission of the first stream; 0014;0025;0043;0046;0058-0059);
enabling transmission of a first one of the main and backup video streams of the second
content stream; switching from the first content stream to the second content stream for processing(the system has the capability of switching from the network 102 to the network 103 when a main network has failed completely;0004; 0046;0057-0059).
But did not explicitly disclose discontinuing transmission of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the first content stream; and enabling transmission of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the second video stream.
However, Nakamura et al disclose discontinuing transmission of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the first content stream; and enabling transmission of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the second video stream(see fig.1 to fig.5 where the manager 170 can send instructions to the transmitter 121 to stop processing stream 151 A and stream 152A’ in order to switch to transmitter 122 for processing stream 161 and stream 162 representing a backup stream of stream 161; 0046-0047; 0050; 0031).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakamura to modify de Groot by introducing a network manager 170 of Nakamura to the system of de Groot resulting in “discontinuing transmission of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the first content stream; and enabling transmission of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the second video stream” for the purpose of controlling or managing the operation or function of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 2, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, de Groot et al disclose wherein the first one of the main and backup video streams of the first content stream video stream is the backup video stream(the system is able to provide backup stream; 0057-0059) and the second one of the main and backup video streams of the first content stream video is the main video stream(see fig.3 to fig.5 where the system is able to provide main video stream via main or active network;0043;0062).
Regarding claim 4, de Groot et al disclose wherein the first one of the main and backup video streams of the second content stream video stream is the backup video stream(the system is able to provide back stream; 0057-0059) and the second one of the main and backup video streams of the second content stream video is the main video stream(see fig.3 to fig.5 where the system is able to provide main video stream via main or active network;0043;0062).
Regarding claim 5, de Groot et al disclose wherein the output stream includes a main and a backup video stream with identical IP packets(the system provides packets with identical information; 0008;0045).
Regarding claim 6, de Groot et al disclose A media data processing device comprising
inputs for ingesting a first content stream(see fig.3 to fig.5 with network 102;0056-0058) and a second content stream( see fig.3 to fig.5 with network 103), wherein the first
content stream includes a main video stream received from a main video network and a backup
video stream(see fig.3 to fig.5 with ports 202a for the main video and 203 for the backup/redundant video associated with the first stream;0066-0069) with identical IP packets received from a backup video network(the system provides packets with identical information; 0008;0045), wherein the second content stream includes a main video stream received from the main video network and a backup video stream with identical IP packets received from the backup video network(see fig.3 to fig.5 with ports 202b for main video and 204 for the backup video associated with the second stream;0066-0069);
a packet selector for switching between the first content stream and the second content
stream as desired(see fig.1 to fig.5 for providing options to switch from one stream to another stream; the network selector 108 switches;0046;0057-0059);
processors for processing at least one of the first content stream and the second content
stream provided by the packet selector(see fig.1 to fig.5 with processing devices; 0062;0044); and outputs for delivering an output stream including processed portions of the of the first
content stream and the second content stream(see fig.3 to fig.5);
discontinuing transmission from a first one of the main and backup video networks of a first one of the main and backup video streams of the first content stream that is currently being ingested(the system is able to detect erroneous data packets or anomaly during transmission of the first stream; 0014;0025;0043;0046;0058-0059);
enabling transmission from the first one of the main and backup video networks
of a first one of the main and backup video streams of the second content stream, switching from the first content stream to the second content stream for processing(the system has the capability of switching from the network 102 to the network 103 when a main network has failed completely;0004; 0046;0057-0059).
But did not explicitly disclose wherein the media data processing device is configured to provide switching between content streams without increasing bandwidth of the two redundant video networks by: discontinuing transmission from a second one of the main and backup video networks of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the first content stream, and enabling transmission from the second one of the main and backup video networks of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the second video stream.
However, Nakamura et al disclose wherein the media data processing device is configured to provide switching between content streams without increasing bandwidth of the two redundant video networks by(the system is able to manage bandwidth during switching; the switching is carried out without increasing the input bandwidth, 0017;0020) : discontinuing transmission from a second one of the main and backup video networks of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the first content stream, and enabling transmission from the second one of the main and backup video networks of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the second video stream(see fig.1 to fig.5 where the manager 170 can send instructions to the transmitter 121 to stop processing stream 151 A and stream 152A’ in order to switch to transmitter 122 for processing stream 161 and stream 162 representing a backup stream of stream 161; 0046-0047; 0050; 0031).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakamura to modify de Groot by introducing a network manager 170 of Nakamura to the system of de Groot resulting in “ wherein the media data processing device is configured to provide switching between content streams without increasing bandwidth of the two redundant video networks by: discontinuing transmission from a second one of the main and backup video networks of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the first content stream, and enabling transmission from the second one of the main and backup video networks of a second one of the main and backup video streams of the second video stream” for the purpose of controlling or managing the operation or function and bandwidth of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 6.
Conclusion
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425