DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/3/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 2025/0020927, hereinafter Schultz-25) in view of Schultz (US 2024/0385364, hereinafter Schultz-24).
Regarding Claim 1, Schultz-25 discloses a device comprising:
a waveguide (Fig. 4A, waveguide 42, Paragraph 0055) comprising a first side (Fig. 4A, front surface 52, Paragraph 0056) opposite to a second side (Fig. 4A, back surface 54, Paragraph 0056), wherein the second side faces a light emitting source (Fig. 4A, image source 18 face the back surface 54, Paragraphs 0053 and 0056) configured to emit display light forming a display image pupil (Fig. 4A, image-bearing light beams WO enter the eyebox E, forming an image pupil, Paragraphs 0049 and 0053); and
an incoupler prism configured to be attached to the first side (Fig. 4A, in-coupling diffractive optic IDO, however, the in-coupling optics can alternatively be a prism, Paragraph 0038, lines 1-4), the incoupler prism configured to receive the display image pupil (Fig. 4A, the in-coupling optics IDO receives display image data from image source 18, Paragraphs 0053 and 0055).
Schultz-25 does not specifically disclose and generate two input image pupils for incoupling into the waveguide.
However, Schultz-24, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and generate two input image pupils for incoupling into the waveguide (Fig. 2A, in-coupling diffractive optic 30, produce beams 52 and 50, which are coupled separately into the waveguide 20, thereby producing two image pupils, 130B and 130R, Paragraph 0056), for the purpose of producing images with different colors to the user’s eyebox.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of Schultz-25 with the and generate two input image pupils for incoupling into the waveguide, of Schultz-24, for the purpose of producing images with different colors to the user’s eyebox.
Regarding Claim 2, Schultz-25, in view of Schultz-24, discloses as is set forth above and Schultz-24 further discloses wherein the incoupler prism comprises: a first surface configured to be attached to the first side of the waveguide (Fig. 4A, in-coupling diffractive optic IDO, however, the in-coupling optics can alternatively be a prism, has a first side that is attached to the first side (front) of the waveguide 42, Paragraph 0038, lines 1-4), for the purpose of producing images with different colors to the user’s eyebox.
Regarding Claim 19, Schultz-25 discloses a method comprising:
emitting, from a light emitting image source (Fig. 4A, image source 18 face the back surface 54, which is the first side, Paragraphs 0053 and 0056) facing a first side of a waveguide, display light forming a display image pupil (Fig. 4A, image-bearing light beams WO enter the eyebox E, forming an image pupil, Paragraphs 0049 and 0053);
receiving, via an incoupler prism attached to a second side of the waveguide opposite to the first side (Fig. 4A, in-coupling diffractive optic IDO on the second side, however, the in-coupling optics can alternatively be a prism, Paragraph 0038, lines 1-4), the display image pupil (Fig. 4A, the in-coupling optics IDO receives display image data from image source 18, Paragraphs 0053 and 0055).
Schultz-25 does not specifically disclose generating, via the incoupler prism, two input image pupils for incoupling into the waveguide from the display image pupil.
However, Schultz-24, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generating, via the incoupler prism, two input image pupils for incoupling into the waveguide from the display image pupil (Fig. 2A, in-coupling diffractive optic 30, produce beams 52 and 50, which are coupled separately into the waveguide 20, thereby producing two image pupils, 130B and 130R, Paragraph 0056), for the purpose of producing images with different colors to the user’s eyebox.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of Schultz-25 with the generating, via the incoupler prism, two input image pupils for incoupling into the waveguide from the display image pupil, of Schultz-24, for the purpose of producing images with different colors to the user’s eyebox.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 2025/0020927, hereinafter Schultz-25) in view of Schultz (US 2024/0385364, hereinafter Schultz-24), further in view of Amitai (US 2024/0219736).
Regarding Claim 11, Schultz-25, in view of Schultz-24, discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the incoupler prism is attached to the waveguide with an optical adhesive layer positioned between the incoupler prism and the first side of the waveguide.
However, Amitai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the incoupler prism is attached to the waveguide with an optical adhesive layer positioned between the incoupler prism and the first side of the waveguide (Paragraph 0060, lines 10-33, optical adhesive in surface 67 attaches prism 82 to the substrate 64), for the purpose of achieving a rigid system while yielding the necessary internal reflection of the substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of Schultz-25 in view of Schultz-24, with the wherein the incoupler prism is attached to the waveguide with an optical adhesive layer positioned between the incoupler prism and the first side of the waveguide, of Amitai, for the purpose of achieving a rigid system while yielding the necessary internal reflection of the substrate.
Regarding Claim 12, Schultz-25, in view of Schultz-24, further in view of Amitai, discloses as is set forth above and Amitai, further discloses wherein the optical adhesive layer includes an optical property that changes across an interface between the incoupler prism and the first side of the waveguide, and wherein the optical property is a refractive index of the optical adhesive layer (Paragraph 0060, lines 10-33, optical adhesive in surface 67 attaches prism 82 to the substrate 64, the refractive index of the adhesive is very low and smaller than the substrate, Paragraph 0060, lines 14-19), for the purpose of achieving a rigid system while yielding the necessary internal reflection of the substrate.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 2025/0020927, hereinafter Schultz-25) in view of Schultz (US 2024/0385364, hereinafter Schultz-24), further in view of Danziger et al. (US 2022/0004001).
Regarding Claim 13, Schultz-25, in view of Schultz-24, discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the first side of the waveguide comprises an antireflective coating for light within a visible range of light.
However, Danziger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first side of the waveguide comprises an antireflective coating for light within a visible range of light (Paragraph 0071, lines 1-4, anti-reflective coating is applied to the external faces of a waveguide, the light being in the visible portion of the EM spectrum as described in Paragraphs 0074-0075), for the purpose of suppressing undesired reflection of a virtual image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of Schultz-25 in view of Schultz-24, with the wherein the first side of the waveguide comprises an antireflective coating for light within a visible range of light, of Danziger, for the purpose of suppressing undesired reflection of a virtual image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 14, 15, 16, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 3, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the first surface is to reflect a first portion of a light incident thereon in a first direction as a first input image pupil of the two input image pupils and transmit a second portion of the light incident thereon in a second direction into the incoupler prism.
Specifically, with respect to claim 14, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein further comprising a hydrophobic coating on the first side of the waveguide immediately adjacent to the incoupler prism.
Specifically, with respect to claim 15, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein further comprising a trench in the first side of the waveguide under an edge of the incoupler prism.
Specifically, with respect to claim 16, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein further comprising a step on the first side of the waveguide at a boundary adjacent to the incoupler prism.
Specifically, with respect to claim 17, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the incoupler prism is positioned at a clocking angle on the first side of the waveguide.
Examiner’s Statement/Reasons for Allowance
Regarding Claim 20, Schultz (US 2024/0385364) discloses an incoupler prism (Paragraphs 0004 and 0055, in-coupling optics can include a prism) comprising:
a first surface configured to be attached to a first side of a waveguide (Fig. 2A, in-coupling diffractive optic 30, produce beams 52 and 56, which are coupled separately into the waveguide 20, thereby producing two image pupils, Paragraph 0056), wherein the first surface is to reflect a first portion of a light incident thereon in a first direction (Fig. 2A, in-coupling diffractive optic 30, reflects beam 104 and produces beam 50) as a first input image pupil of the two input image pupils (Fig. 2A, in-coupling diffractive optic 30, produce beams 52 and 50, which are coupled separately into the waveguide 20, thereby producing two image pupils, 130B and 130R, Paragraph 0056) and transmit a second portion of the light incident thereon in a second direction (Fig. 2A, in-coupling diffractive optic 30, allows beam 106 to pass);
a second surface (Fig. 2A, in-coupling diffractive optic 30, allows beam 106 to pass and then is reflected by 16 (second surface) to produce beam 52) to receive the second portion transmitted in the second direction and reflect the second portion in a third direction toward the first surface (Fig. 2A, beam 52 as shown), wherein the first surface receives the second portion reflected in the third direction and reflects the second portion in a fourth direction (Fig. 2A, beam 52 undergoes total internal reflection, and is subsequently reflected in a 4th direction, as shown).
Schultz (US 2024/0385364) does not specifically disclose “… a third surface to receive the second portion of light reflected in the fourth direction and reflect the second portion of light in a fifth direction to be transmitted through the first surface as a second input image pupil of the two input image pupils.”.
Additionally, neither Schultz (US 2025/0020927), Amitai (US 2024/0219736), Danziger et al. (US 2022/0004001), Danziger et al. (US 11,385,393), Danziger et al. (US 2021/0033773), Danziger et al. (US 2026/0036814), Cai et al. (US 2023/0251494), Cai et al. (US 2015/0168606), Amitai (US 2021/0157150), Leighton et al. (US 2019/0162962), Agurok (US 8,939,579), Agurok (US 2012/0194781), Utsugi et al. (US 2021/0382309), Peng et al. (US 2022/0091422), Marshall (US 2022/0413283), Olkkonen et al. (US 2018/0081176), nor the prior art of record, meet the deficiencies of Schultz (US 2024/0385364).
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, regarding the allowability of independent claim 20: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an incoupler prism comprising “… a third surface to receive the second portion of light reflected in the fourth direction and reflect the second portion of light in a fifth direction to be transmitted through the first surface as a second input image pupil of the two input image pupils.”, along with other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872