DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 - 5, 7 - 9 are pending. Claims 1, 8 have been amended. Claims 6, 10 have been canceled. Claims 1, 8 are independent. File date on 1-3-2025.
This action is in response to application amendments filed on 7-24-2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1 - 3, 5, 7 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May et al. (US PGPUB No. 20030009313) in view of Sathyanarayana et al. (US PGPUB No. 20160164761) and further in view of Viers (US Patent No. 10,171,324)
Regarding Claim 1, 8, May discloses a method and a system, comprising:
c) sending a notification to at least one of a user device, a service provider device, or a content provider device, wherein the notification comprises information associated with the error in the network and information associated with the media content stream. (May ¶ 006, ll 12-17: network operations center is operable to receive alerts (notifications) indicative of error conditions occurring on assets (media control stream) from monitoring device; ¶ 006, ll 17-20: network operations center is operable to display an entry indicative of an error condition existing on an asset via an Internet enabled remote device; (selected: service provider, network operations))
May does not explicitly disclose for a): streaming with a media player, and for b): detecting an error influencing streaming of a media content stream, and for c) a media player.
However, Sathyanarayana discloses:
a) streaming, with a media player, a media content stream containing at least one media content; (Sathyanarayana ¶ 018, ll 6-9: system ensures content stream is being properly delivered throughout the time the content stream is available for delivery from distributed platform; ¶ 016, ll 1-8: operates as a virtual player that performs the client-side player emulation for one HyperText Transfer Protocol (HTTP) based streaming protocol such as HTTP Live Streaming (HLS), HTTP Dynamic Streaming (HDS), and HTTP Smooth Streaming (HSS) or one Real Time Message Protocol (RTMP) based streaming protocol; (player for displaying streaming media content)) and
b) detecting, with the media player, an error in a network influencing streaming of the media content stream. (Sathyanarayana ¶ 017, ll 1-11: monitors stream performance of a particular content stream (identified media content), identifying any errors that occur from any of the streaming nodes; ¶ 017, ll 23-25: alerts notify if and when an error or anomaly associated with an alert is detected) and
c) a media player. (Sathyanarayana ¶ 018, ll 6-9: system ensures content stream is being properly delivered throughout the time the content stream is available for delivery from distributed platform)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify May for a): streaming with a media player, and for b): detecting an error influencing streaming of a media content stream, and for c) a media player. as taught by Sathyanarayana. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Sathyanarayana for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables a monitoring solution that proactively and effectively monitors and reports on the delivery of content. (Sathyanarayana ¶ 005, ll 1-5)
Furthermore, May discloses wherein comprising: at least one first processor; and a first non-transitory computer readable medium communicatively coupled to the at least one first processor, the first non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon computer software comprising a first set of instructions that, when executed by the at least one first processor, causes the media player to perform operations. (May ¶ 018, ll 1-9: NOC includes one or more server systems including one or more storage devices to provide asset information; employs a communication server to receive and transmit information; (server indicates a computing system comprising a processor coupled to memory execution instructions))
Sathyanarayana discloses a media player as state above. (Sathyanarayana ¶ 018, ll 6-9: system ensures content stream is being properly delivered throughout the time the content stream is available for delivery from distributed platform)
May does not explicitly disclose at least one of a title of a media content, a timestamp associated with a media content, a channel associated with a media content, or a network associated with a media content.
However, Viers discloses:
d) wherein the information associated with the media content stream comprises at least one of a title of the at least one media content, a timestamp associated with the at least one media content, or a channel associated with the at least one media content. (Viers col 3: The media streams 232, 234, and 236 which are streamed to the requestors may include both media content and metadata associated with the media content of the media streams. For example, each media stream may include a song or other audio content, while the metadata includes various information about the song such as a title, author, artist performing the song, related concert events, or other desired information. The metadata can be used to generate displays or perform other functions on a computer running the streaming media player.; (selected: a title of the at least one media content))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify May for at least one of a title of a media content, a timestamp associated with a media content, or a channel associated with a media content as taught by Viers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Viers for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the effective processing of multiple types of information such as the metadata (title, timestamp, channel) associated with the media content streams. (Viers col 3)
Regarding Claim 2, May-Sathyanarayana-Viers discloses the method of claim 1, including computing devices. (May ¶ 023, ll 1-7: user employs a variety of user interface devices to connect to NOC; computer, personal digital assistance (PDA), mobile phone, or similarly equipped device; (selected: desktop computer, wireless phone))
May does not explicitly disclose a media player wherein at least one of a set top box, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a wireless phone, or a gaming console.
However, Sathyanarayana discloses wherein the media player is at least one of a set top box, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a wireless phone, or a gaming console. (Sathyanarayana ¶ 067: Many of the above-described processes, engines, modules, and components are implemented. Server, computer, and computing machine are meant in their broadest sense, and can include any electronic device with a processor including cellular telephones, smartphones, portable digital assistants, tablet devices, laptops, notebooks, and desktop computers.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify May for a media player wherein at least one of a set top box, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a wireless phone, or a gaming console as taught by Sathyanarayana. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Sathyanarayana for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables a monitoring solution that proactively and effectively monitors and reports on the delivery of media content. (Sathyanarayana ¶ 005, ll 1-5)
Regarding Claims 3, 9, May-Sathyanarayana-Viers discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information associated with the error in the network comprises an identification of the error occurring in the network. (May ¶ 006, ll 10-17: communication interface of monitoring device operable to communicate with assets and wireless network; operable to receive alerts (notifications) indicative of error conditions (identification of error condition) occurring on assets from monitoring device)
Regarding Claim 5, May-Sathyanarayana-Viers discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the error in the network is at least one of an error occurring in a WiFi connection, an error occurring in a digital subscriber line, or an error occurring in at least one of a modem, a gateway, a set top box, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a wireless phone, a gaming console, a media player, or a remote control device. (May ¶ 006, ll 10-17: communication interface of monitoring device operable to communicate with assets and wireless network; operable to receive alerts (notifications) indicative of error conditions occurring on assets from monitoring device; ¶ 023, ll 1-7: user employs a variety of user interface devices to connect to NOC; computer, personal digital assistance (PDA), mobile phone, or similarly equipped device; (selected: desktop computer, wireless phone))
Regarding Claim 7, May-Sathyanarayana-Viers discloses the method of claim 1, wherein sending the notification to the at least one of the user device, the service provider device, or the content provider device. (May ¶ 006, ll 12-17: network operations center is operable to receive alerts (notification) indicative of error condition occurring associated with assets from monitoring device (service provider))
May does not explicitly disclose periodically sending information associated with a media content stream.
However, Sathyanarayana discloses wherein periodically sending, with the media player, information associated with the media content stream to the at least one of the user device, the service provider device, or the content provider device. (Sathyanarayana ¶ 029, ll 1-4: monitoring parameters control monitoring duration and monitoring interval (monitoring over time interval, periodically) and what parameters the engine monitors during a content stream download; ¶ 042: In response to the request, the process receives (at 430) a manifest and, optionally depending on the streaming protocol, an initial chunk of the content stream. The manifest may be provided separate from or within headers of packets encoding an initial chunk of the content stream.; (manifest associated with content stream, provided by content provider))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify May for periodically sending information associated with a media content stream as taught by Sathyanarayana. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Sathyanarayana for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables a monitoring solution that proactively and effectively monitors and reports on the delivery of content. (Sathyanarayana ¶ 005, ll 1-5)
4. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May in view of Sathyanarayana and further in view of Viers and Dec et al. (US PGPUB No. 20070280232).
Regarding Claim 4, May-Sathyanarayana-Viers discloses the method of claim 1, including error detection. (May ¶ 006, ll 3-17: system includes an asset (device) having a controller board operable to detect an error condition and a monitoring device coupled to an asset; communication interface of monitoring device operable to communicate with asset and wireless network; communication interface of monitoring device operable to communicate with assets and wireless network; operable to receive alerts (notifications) indicative of error conditions (identification of error condition) occclaim 9urring on assets from monitoring device)
May-Sathyanarayana-Viers does not explicitly disclose error is a reduction in bandwidth.
However, Dec discloses wherein the error is a reduction in bandwidth. (Dec ¶ 018: in the event unable to deliver service, delivers a notification message such as a low bandwidth (reduction in bandwidth) message); relay message via a notification server)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify May-Sathyanarayana-Viers for error is a reduction in bandwidth as taught by Dec. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Dec for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the delivery of notification without installation of elaborate application software or placing an undue burden on the affected network device. (Dec ¶ 017, ll 4-10)
Response to Amendments
5. Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks Made in an amendment, filed 7-24-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) under May in view of Sathyanarayana have been fully considered and are persuasive, Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of May in view of Sathyanarayana and further in view of Viers.
A. Applicant argues on pages 5-6 of Remarks: ... "sending, with the media player, a notification wherein the notification comprises information associated with the error in the network and information associated with the media content stream" where "the information associated with the media content stream comprises at least one of a title of the at least one media content, a timestamp associated with the at least one media content, or a channel associated with the at least one media content" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. May discloses sending information associated with an error condition. (May ¶ 006, ll 12-17: network operations center is operable to receive alerts (notifications) indicative of error conditions occurring on assets (media control stream) from monitoring device; ¶ 006, ll 17-20: network operations center is operable to display an entry indicative of an error condition existing on an asset via an Internet enabled remote device; (selected: service provider, network operations))
And, Viers discloses the metadata (information associated with the media content stream comprises at least one or a title, a timestamp, or a channel associated with the content. (Viers col 3: The media streams 232, 234, and 236 which are streamed to the requestors may include both media content and metadata associated with the media content of the media streams. For example, each media stream may include a song or other audio content, while the metadata includes various information about the song such as a title, author, artist performing the song, related concert events, or other desired information. The metadata can be used to generate displays or perform other functions on a computer running the streaming media player.)
B. Applicant argues on page 6 of Remarks: ... Independent claim 8, from which claims 9 depends, includes similar recitations written in a different format. For the reasons discussed below, the Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest the above recitations ... .
Independent claim 8 contains similar limitations as independent claim 1. Responses against independent claim 1 also answer current arguments against independent claim 8.
C. Applicant argues on page 6 of Remarks: ... Sathyanarayana is silent as to the conveyance of information associated with the content stream entirely and specifically fails to disclose or suggest anything regarding a title, timestamp, or channel associated with the media content, as recited in the present claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. May discloses sending information associated with an error condition. (May ¶ 006, ll 12-17: network operations center is operable to receive alerts (notifications) indicative of error conditions occurring on assets (media control stream) from monitoring device; ¶ 006, ll 17-20: network operations center is operable to display an entry indicative of an error condition existing on an asset via an Internet enabled remote device; (selected: service provider, network operations))
And, Viers discloses the metadata (information associated with the media content stream comprises at least one or a title, a timestamp, or a channel associated with the content. (Viers col 3: The media streams 232, 234, and 236 which are streamed to the requestors may include both media content and metadata associated with the media content of the media streams. For example, each media stream may include a song or other audio content, while the metadata includes various information about the song such as a title, author, artist performing the song, related concert events, or other desired information. The metadata can be used to generate displays or perform other functions on a computer running the streaming media player.)
D. Applicant argues on pages 6-7 of Remarks: ... fails to disclose or suggest "sending, with the media player, a notification wherein the notification comprises information associated with the error in the network and information associated with the media content stream" where "the information associated with the media content stream comprises at least one of a title of the at least one media content, timestamp associated with the at least one media content, or a channel associated with the at least one media content," as recited in the present claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. May discloses sending information associated with an error condition. (May ¶ 006, ll 12-17: network operations center is operable to receive alerts (notifications) indicative of error conditions occurring on assets (media control stream) from monitoring device; ¶ 006, ll 17-20: network operations center is operable to display an entry indicative of an error condition existing on an asset via an Internet enabled remote device; (selected: service provider, network operations))
And, Viers discloses the metadata (information associated with the media content stream comprises at least one or a title, a timestamp, or a channel associated with the content. (Viers col 3: The media streams 232, 234, and 236 which are streamed to the requestors may include both media content and metadata associated with the media content of the media streams. For example, each media stream may include a song or other audio content, while the metadata includes various information about the song such as a title, author, artist performing the song, related concert events, or other desired information. The metadata can be used to generate displays or perform other functions on a computer running the streaming media player.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYUNG H SHIN/ 8-20-2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447