CTNF 19/009,181 CTNF 85692 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-20 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/3/2025 is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 9-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR 2019-0110861 A) in view of Britt (US 2016/0198536 A1) . With regards to Claim 1, Song teaches an electronic device comprising: memory storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the communication interface and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on receiving a user input for controlling an external device connected to the first electronic device, transmit a first control command to the first electronic device through the communication interface, the first control command including an instruction for controlling the external device (i.e., a control name command for the first home appliance may be input to the server…, Paragraph 119), identify that a communication error occurred between the first electronic device and the external device, and transmit a second control command through the communication interface, the second control command including an instruction to control that: the first control command and identification information of the external device are transmitted to the second electronic device (i.e., Meanwhile, the first home appliance may be located outside the communication range of the router, or a communication error may occur…, Paragraph 144); and the second electronic device communicates with the external device to control the external device, wherein the identification information of the external device is obtained by the first electronic device through near field communication (i.e., when the second home appliance performs the relay mode according to the request message…, Paragraph 144; ZigBee connection, Paragraph 52). However, Song does not explicitly disclose a communication interface connected to a first electronic device and a second electronic device, in each of which a hub is built in, through an access point. Britt does teach a communication interface connected to a first electronic device and a second electronic device, in each of which a hub is built in, through an access point (i.e., Figure 1B; FIG. 1B illustrates additional connection options for a plurality of IoT hubs 110 - 111 , 190 In this embodiment a single user may have multiple hubs 110 - 111 installed onsite at a single user premises 180 (e.g., the user's home or business). This may be done, for example, to extend the wireless range needed to connect all of the IoT devices 101 - 105 ., Paragraph 33) in order to provide an IoT platform to connect IoT devices (Paragraph 27). Therefore, based on Song in view of Britt, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Britt with the system of Song in order to provide an IoT platform to connect IoT devices. With regards to Claim 2, Song teaches wherein the first electronic device is configured to: communicate with the external device through a dongle connected to the first electronic device, and wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify that the communication error occurred between the first electronic device and the external device based on at least one of the dongle or the hub built in the first electronic device being in an error state (i.e., Figure 6; when communication between the first home appliance and the router is restricted, the first home appliance may be requested a communication connection toa second home appliance…, Paragraph 23). With regards to Claim 3, Song teaches wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the dongle being in the error state, control the first electronic device to transmit the first control command and the identification information of the external device stored in the first electronic device to the second electronic device (i.e., On the other hand, if it is determined that the relay mode can be performed, the second microcomputer 390 may perform the relay mode (S89). In the relay mode, the first household appliance 10 and the second household appliance 30 may be wirelessly connected to each other. For example, the first household appliance 10 and the second household appliance 30 may be connected to a Wi-Fi direct communication. The second microcomputer 390 may retrieve a service set identifier (SSID) of the first home appliance 10…, Paragraph 127). With regards to Claim 4, wherein the first electronic device is configured to: transmit the first control command and the identification information of the external device to the second electronic device through an IP network (i.e., the server may transmit the service set identifier (SSID) of the first household appliance and the control command information received from the server to the router, Paragraph 121; Figure 6). However, Song does not explicitly teach using the hub built in the first electronic device. Britt does teach using the hub built in the first electronic device (i.e. A miniature IoT hub is described for coupling IoT devices and an IoT service. For example, one embodiment of a miniature Internet of Things (IoT) hub comprises: a housing having a compact form factor; a first network interface integrated within the housing to couple the IoT hub to an IoT service over a first communication channel, Abstract) in order to provide an IoT platform to connect IoT devices (Paragraph 27). Therefore, based on Song in view of Britt, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Britt with the system of Song in order to provide an IoT platform to connect IoT devices. With regards to Claim 5, Song teaches wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the hub built in the first electronic device being in the error state, transmit the first control command and the identification information of the external device stored in the first electronic device to the second electronic device through the communication interface (i.e., On the other hand, if it is determined that the relay mode can be performed, the second microcomputer 390 may perform the relay mode (S89). In the relay mode, the first household appliance 10 and the second household appliance 30 may be wirelessly connected to each other. For example, the first household appliance 10 and the second household appliance 30 may be connected to a Wi-Fi direct communication. The second microcomputer 390 may retrieve a service set identifier (SSID) of the first home appliance 10. The second communication unit 350 may be connected to the first communication unit 310 of the first home appliance 10. As another example, the first home appliance 10 and the second home appliance 30 may be connected to a Bluetooth communication, Paragraph 127; Figure 6; Paragraph 128). With regards to Claim 6, Song teaches wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify that a communication error occurred between the second electronic device and the external device, and transmit a third control command through the communication interface, the third control command including an instruction to control that: the first control command and the identification information of the external device are transmitted to a third electronic device, among a plurality of electronic devices which are connected through the access point and in each of which a hub is built in, and the third electronic device communicates with the external device to control the external device (i.e., if it is confirmed that the first home appliance 10 is not communicatively connected to the router 50 (S85), the router 90 is connected to another home appliance connected to a network that is the, the second home appliance 30, Paragraph 123; When it is confirmed that the first communication unit 150 of the first household appliance 10 and the second communication unit 350 of the second household appliance 30 are communicatively connected to each other, the router 50 may be configured to control the control command. Information may be transmitted to the second home appliance 30, Paragraph 128; Figure 6; Paragraph 127). With regards to Claim 9, Song teaches wherein the near field communication is Zigbee communication (i.e., ZigBee connection, Paragraph 52). The limitations of Claim 10 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. The limitations of Claim 11 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 2 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. The limitations of Claim 12 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. The limitations of Claim 13 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 4 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. The limitations of Claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. The limitations of Claim 15 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 6 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. The limitations of Claim 18 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. The limitations of Claim 19 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 2 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. The limitations of Claim 20 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7-8, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR 2019-0110861 A) in view of Britt (US 2016/0198536 A1), and further in view of Hyundai (KR 10-1875918 B1) . With regards to Claim 7, Song and Britt teach the above disclosed subject matter. However, Song and Britt do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the strength of signals received among the plurality of electronic devices, identify priorities of the plurality of electronic devices on the basis of the first electronic device, and identify the second electronic device as an electronic device among the plurality of electronic devices having the highest priority based on the priorities. Hyundai does teach wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the strength of signals received among the plurality of electronic devices, identify priorities of the plurality of electronic devices on the basis of the first electronic device, and identify the second electronic device as an electronic device among the plurality of electronic devices having the highest priority based on the priorities (i.e., The Bluetooth communication device 10 determines the connection attempt procedure and the number of retry attempts for each device in the device list to be communicated (S230). Specifically, the Bluetooth communication device 10 determines the weight of each device in consideration of the reception sensitivity, the cumulative number of connections, and the recent communication order of each device in the device list to be communicated. Determine the number of retries, Page 4) in order to increase the Bluetooth connection success rate (Page 1). Therefore, based on Song in view of Britt and further in view of Hyundai, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Hyundai with the system of Song and Britt in order to increase the Bluetooth connection success rate. With regards to Claim 8, Song and Britt teach the above disclosed subject matter. However, Song and Britt do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that the communication error occurred between the second electronic device and the external device, identify the third electronic device as an electronic device among the plurality of electronic devices having the second highest priority after the second electronic device. Hyundai does teach wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that the communication error occurred between the second electronic device and the external device, identify the third electronic device as an electronic device among the plurality of electronic devices having the second highest priority after the second electronic device (i.e., The Bluetooth communication device 10 determines the connection attempt procedure and the number of retry attempts for each device in the device list to be communicated (S230). Specifically, the Bluetooth communication device 10 determines the weight of each device in consideration of the reception sensitivity, the cumulative number of connections, and the recent communication order of each device in the device list to be communicated. Determine the number of retries, Page 4) in order to increase the Bluetooth connection success rate (Page 1). Therefore, based on Song in view of Britt and further in view of Hyundai, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Hyundai with the system of Song and Britt in order to increase the Bluetooth connection success rate. The limitations of Claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 7 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. The limitations of Claim 17 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 8 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SURAJ M JOSHI whose telephone number is (571)270-7209. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8-6 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joon Hwang can be reached at (571)272-4036. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 June 12, 2026 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 2 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 3 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 4 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 5 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 6 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 7 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 8 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 9 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 10 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 19/009,181 Page 11 Art Unit: 2447