DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument in the Remarks on the 112 rejection, the current specification has two paragraphs particularly describe update and update rate. One states: “nearby or adjacent high resolution cameras that can obtain continuous high rate high resolution video as track updates are provided, which is able to do so owing to its continuously updated wide area view of peripheral scenes”, meaning continuous high rate high resolution video of updated wide area views are obtained through neighboring cameras installed in updated wide areas during a track update operation, but no reference to the rate of track (e.g. wide-area image) update, or frequency of the track update, nor any form of change to the track update. The current specification in another paragraph states: “hypothesis test scenario could be operated so as to maximize the wide area image update rate”, meaning hypothesis test scenario (e.g. object detection) would be operated with a goal/intent behind the detection action, such as a maximum wide area image update rate, still herein there is no mention of any change (e.g. decreasing or increasing) or different value of the update rate during the operation. Since no mention of changing or different update rate, there would be no support, in description to a first update rate and a second update rate, or even one value is lower than the other’s. Therefore the 112(a) rejection is maintained.
Further, the Office Action doesn’t acknowledges that Ito does not initiate a lower update rate for image capture in response to data from a motion detector, seismic sensor, or acoustic sensor. Rather the Office Action states “Ito fails to disclose the one or more sensors being at least one of a motion detector, a seismic sensor, or an acoustic sensor,” and Rich teaches the feature in combination with Ito. Furthermore, it is Ito in col.5 lines 34-41 discloses update the wide-area image at a initial 1/64 update rate as the claimed first update rate; Ito in col.2 lines 39-41, col.3 lines 30-34 discloses in response to data from the one or more sensors, update at least a portion of the wide-area image at a second update rate that is lower than the first update rate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Th limitations of “image sensor and is configured to update the wide-area image at a first update rate”, “update at least a portion of the wide-area image at a second update rate that is lower than the first update rate” in the claim, as essential components in the invention either have no adequate support or description in the disclosure including specification and drawings, and enablement for the claimed subject matters, or after applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention still is clear and not indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 6546115 B1 Ito; Wataru et al. (hereafter Ito), and further in view of US 20070038088 A1 Rich; Collin A. et al. (hereafter Rich).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses A wide area imaging system for performing surveillance of an area (Fig.6), the system comprising: an image sensor that captures images of the area under surveillance (col.1 lines 15-24), the image sensor providing image capture of a predetermined image field (col.7 lines 52-55), the captured images being used to produce a wide area image (col.1 lines 26-27, col.1 lines 42-54, reference background image is a wide area image); and a processor that controls the image capture by the image sensor (Fig.6) and is configured to update the wide-area image at a first update rate (col.5 lines 34-41, initially update rate is set 1/64), the processor being in communication with one or more sensors within or adjacent to the area under surveillance (Abstract, col.3 lines 30-34), the processor further being configured to, in response to data from the one or more sensors, update at least a portion of the wide-area image at a second update rate that is lower than the first update rate (col.2 lines 39-41, col.3 lines 30-34).
Ito fails to disclose the one or more sensors being at least one of a motion detector, a seismic sensor, or an acoustic sensor.
However, Rich teaches the one or more sensors being at least one of a motion detector, a seismic sensor, or an acoustic sensor ([23]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to modify the wide area imaging system for performing surveillance of an area disclosed by Ito to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Rich, in order to improve user interface and control scheme in medical imaging, as identified by Rich.
Regarding claims 2, 8, Rich teaches The wide area imaging system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to increase a resolution of the at least a portion of the wide-area image that is updated at the second update rate ([18]).
Regarding claim 7, see the rejection for claim 1.
Claims 3, 9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ito, in view of Rich and further in view of US 5119409 A Nields; Morgan W. et al. (hereafter Nields).
Regarding claims 3, 9, Nields The wide area imaging system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to perform successive hypothesis testing within the at least a portion of the wide-area image that is updated at the second update rate in order to detect objects of interest (col.9, lines 49-53).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Ito, Rich and Nields before him/her, to modify the wide area imaging system for performing surveillance of an area disclosed by Ito to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Rich and Nields, in order to improve user interface and control scheme in medical imaging field, as identified by Rich, and provide method and apparatus for dynamically controlling the generation of x-ray pulses during fluoroscopic imaging, as identified by Nields.
Claims 4-6, 10-12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ito, in view of Rich, and further in view of US 20130188010 A1 Dortch; Michael D. et al. (hereafter Dortch).
Regarding claims 4, 10, Dortch teaches The wide area imaging system of claim 1, wherein the image sensor uses a rotational step/dwell/image capture sequence to capture the images of the area under surveillance, wherein a step is rotational movement of the sensor, a dwell period occurs before or after a step, and image capture occurs only during dwell periods, and wherein the processor controls the step/dwell/image capture sequence to synchronize motion in a direction of rotation of the system with image capture, wherein the predetermined image field advances in the direction of rotation as the system rotates ([07]-[08], [52], [58]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Ito, Rich and Dortch before him/her, to modify the wide area imaging system for performing surveillance of an area disclosed by Ito to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Rich and Dortch, in order to improve user interface and control scheme in medical imaging field, as identified by Rich, and accommodate the requirements of different cameras, sensors and lenses, as identified by Dortch.
Regarding claims 5, 11, Dortch taches The wide area imaging system of claim 1, wherein the image sensor is located on a moveable platform ([58]), and Rich teaches one or more inertial devices measure movements of the platform that affect the wide-area image produced from the captured images and produce output that can be used to provide image compensation that is related to such movements of the platform ([23]).
Claims 6, 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ito, in view of Rich, and further in view of US 20110227748 A1 SCHAIBLE; Uwe D. et al. (hereafter SCHAIBLE).
Regarding claims 6, 12, SCHAIBLE teaches The wide area imaging system of claim 1, further comprising a laser configured to hail or notify a subject identified in the wide area image of the area under surveillance that the subject's presence has been detected ([04]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Ito, Rich and SCHAIBLE before him/her, to modify the wide area imaging system for performing surveillance of an area disclosed by Ito to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Rich and SCHAIBLE, in order to improve user interface and control scheme in medical imaging field, as identified by Rich, and provide a radio-frequency identification (RFID) safety system, as identified by SCHAIBLE.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY Y. LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487