DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
CIPOLLI discloses storing a plurality of frames as a pool of candidates at the encoder side prior to receiving a feedback signal (figure 6, [0074] FIG. 6 shows the architecture of an exemplary video encoder 600; [0075] The FRAME BUFFERS block 610 in FIG. 6 represents the memory that stores the reference picture list(s)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-14, 16, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CIPOLLI et al. (US 20070206673 A1).
Regarding claim 1. CIPOLLI discloses A video encoding method (figure 6, video encoder), wherein the method comprises:
encoding video information, wherein the video information comprises M frames ([0074] Video encoder 600 may, for example, be a motion-compensated, block-based transform coder; [0075] Standard block-based motion compensated codecs have a regular structure of I, P, and B frames), the M frames comprise a first frame, a second frame, and a third frame, the second frame refers to the first frame, and the third frame refers to the second frame or the first frame ([0075] For example, in a picture sequence (in display order) such as IBBPBBP, the `P` frames are predicted from the previous P or I frame, whereas the B pictures are predicted using both the previous and next P or I frame);
storing the first frame, the second frame, and the third frame in a buffer to obtain a plurality of candidates of a long-term reference frame prior to receiving a feedback signal ([0075] The FRAME BUFFERS block 610 in FIG. 6 represents the memory that stores the reference picture list(s); [0091] the LR pictures may, for example, be stored at a decoder as long-term reference pictures); and
selecting a subset from the plurality of candidates as the long-term reference frame ([0091] the LR pictures may, for example, be stored at a decoder as long-term reference pictures) based on the feedback signal, wherein the feedback signal indicates which of the plurality of candidates was successfully received ([0103] Using RTCP or other feedback mechanisms, the sender can be notified that a particular receiver is experiencing lost packets; [0091] the LR pictures may, for example, be stored at a decoder as long-term reference pictures; [0095] FIG. 14 shows a preferred mechanism or protocol 1400 for the reliable delivery of the LR frames. Protocol 1400 employs a positive acknowledgment (ACK) message based mechanism to indicate to a sender (e.g., SENDER, SVCS1, or SVCS2) that a particular LR picture has been received by an intended receiver (e.g., SVCS1, SVCS2, or RECEIVER); [0100] the use the transmitted frame as a reference picture is facilitated by marking candidate transmitted pictures as long-term reference pictures).
Regarding claim 3. CIPOLLI discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the encoding is layered encoding (abstract, The video communication systems are based on scalable video), and wherein selecting the subset from the candidates comprises:
selecting a layer from the long-term reference frame as the long-term reference frame ([0088] FIG. 12 shows an exemplary picture coding structure 1200 in which the L0 base and L1-L2 temporal enhancement layers are coupled with at least one reliably transmitted base layer picture for error resilient video communications. In coding structure 1200, in addition to conventional base and enhancement picture types that are labeled as L0-L2 pictures, there is a new picture type called LR (`R` for reliable); [0091] the LR pictures may, for example, be stored at a decoder as long-term reference pictures).
Regarding claim 5. CIPOLLI discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein each of the M frames comprises a basic layer and an enhancement layer ([0079] FIG. 11 shows an example of a threaded coding structure 1100 for spatial scalability. Coding structure 1100 includes threads for enhancement layers, which are denoted by the letter `S`. It will be noted that the enhancement layer frames may have a different threading structure than the base layer frames), and encoding at the enhancement layer in each frame refers to a lower layer in a same frame and a same layer in a previous frame (figure 11, S0, S1, or S2 refers to a lower layer in a same frame and a same layer in a previous frame).
Regarding claim 6. CIPOLLI discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
adding a first mark to the video information, wherein the first mark indicates frame information or layer information of the candidates of the long-term reference frame ([0075] It is possible to select which pictures are used for references and also which references are used for a particular picture that is to be coded. The FRAME BUFFERS block 610 in FIG. 6 represents the memory that stores the reference picture list(s), whereas ENC REF CONTROL 620 determines--at the encoder side--which reference picture is to be used for the current picture).
Regarding claim 7. CIPOLLI discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
adding a second mark to the video information, wherein the second mark indicates frame information or layer information of the long-term reference frame ([0100] the use the transmitted frame as a reference picture is facilitated by marking candidate transmitted pictures as long-term reference pictures).
Regarding claim 9. CIPOLLI discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the feedback signal comprises candidate information of the long-term reference frame that is successfully received ([0103] Using RTCP or other feedback mechanisms, the sender can be notified that a particular receiver is experiencing lost packets; [0091] the LR pictures may, for example, be stored at a decoder as long-term reference pictures; [0095] FIG. 14 shows a preferred mechanism or protocol 1400 for the reliable delivery of the LR frames. Protocol 1400 employs a positive acknowledgment (ACK) message based mechanism to indicate to a sender (e.g., SENDER, SVCS1, or SVCS2) that a particular LR picture has been received by an intended receiver (e.g., SVCS1, SVCS2, or RECEIVER); [0100] the use the transmitted frame as a reference picture is facilitated by marking candidate transmitted pictures as long-term reference pictures), and wherein the method further comprises:
determining and updating the long-term reference frame based on the candidate information ([0103] Using RTCP or other feedback mechanisms, the sender can be notified that a particular receiver is experiencing lost packets; [0091] the LR pictures may, for example, be stored at a decoder as long-term reference pictures; [0095] FIG. 14 shows a preferred mechanism or protocol 1400 for the reliable delivery of the LR frames. Protocol 1400 employs a positive acknowledgment (ACK) message based mechanism to indicate to a sender (e.g., SENDER, SVCS1, or SVCS2) that a particular LR picture has been received by an intended receiver (e.g., SVCS1, SVCS2, or RECEIVER); [0100] the use the transmitted frame as a reference picture is facilitated by marking candidate transmitted pictures as long-term reference pictures).
Regarding claim 10. CIPOLLI discloses The method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises:
determining, based on candidate information of the long-term reference frame in each of a plurality of feedback signals, candidate information of the long-term reference frame successfully received on a plurality of channels (abstract, A set of video frames or pictures in a video signal transmission is designated for reliable or guaranteed delivery to receivers; [0095] After a sender receives positive acknowledgments for receipt of a particular frame in a transmitted stream from all receivers, then the video communication system can designate this frame as an LR frame; [0103] Using RTCP or other feedback mechanisms, the sender can be notified that a particular receiver is experiencing lost packets; [0091] the LR pictures may, for example, be stored at a decoder as long-term reference pictures; [0095] FIG. 14 shows a preferred mechanism or protocol 1400 for the reliable delivery of the LR frames. Protocol 1400 employs a positive acknowledgment (ACK) message based mechanism to indicate to a sender (e.g., SENDER, SVCS1, or SVCS2) that a particular LR picture has been received by an intended receiver (e.g., SVCS1, SVCS2, or RECEIVER); [0100] the use the transmitted frame as a reference picture is facilitated by marking candidate transmitted pictures as long-term reference pictures)); and
determining and updating the long-term reference frame based on the candidate information successfully received on the plurality of channels (abstract, A set of video frames or pictures in a video signal transmission is designated for reliable or guaranteed delivery to receivers; [0095] After a sender receives positive acknowledgments for receipt of a particular frame in a transmitted stream from all receivers, then the video communication system can designate this frame as an LR frame; [0103] Using RTCP or other feedback mechanisms, the sender can be notified that a particular receiver is experiencing lost packets; [0091] the LR pictures may, for example, be stored at a decoder as long-term reference pictures; [0095] FIG. 14 shows a preferred mechanism or protocol 1400 for the reliable delivery of the LR frames. Protocol 1400 employs a positive acknowledgment (ACK) message based mechanism to indicate to a sender (e.g., SENDER, SVCS1, or SVCS2) that a particular LR picture has been received by an intended receiver (e.g., SVCS1, SVCS2, or RECEIVER); [0100] the use the transmitted frame as a reference picture is facilitated by marking candidate transmitted pictures as long-term reference pictures)).
Regarding claim 11. CIPOLLI discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein a latest determined long-term reference frame is used based on the feedback signal ([0104] When positive acknowledgments are used, and in order to enable a receiver who has experienced lost packets to resynchronize to the coded bitstream, the sender can elect to encode a current frame using the most recent LR picture as a reference picture. With the knowledge that this LR picture has been reliably received, the sender can encode the current picture as a P picture using the LR picture as a reference).
Regarding claim 12. CIPOLLI discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining, according to a pre-determined rule, to select the subset from the candidates as the long-term reference frame ([0091] the LR pictures may, for example, be stored at a decoder as long-term reference pictures).
Regarding claim 13. The method according to claim 1, wherein storing the first frame, the second frame, and the third frame in the buffer comprises:
storing frame quantities of the first frame, the second frame, and the third frame and location information of frames in the buffer, wherein the location information comprises frame information or layer information of the first frame, the second frame, and the third frame ([0075] The FRAME BUFFERS block 610 in FIG. 6 represents the memory that stores the reference picture list(s)).
Regarding claim 14, the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the same analysis has been stated in claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, the same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 21. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 17, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CIPOLLI et al. (US 20070206673 A1) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 20080260047 A1).
Regarding claim 4. CIPOLLI discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein each of the M frames comprises a basic layer and an enhancement layer ([0079] FIG. 11 shows an example of a threaded coding structure 1100 for spatial scalability. Coding structure 1100 includes threads for enhancement layers, which are denoted by the letter `S`. It will be noted that the enhancement layer frames may have a different threading structure than the base layer frames), and
Hannuksela discloses encoding at the basic layer in each frame refers to an enhancement layer in the long-term reference frame ([0071] either the base representation or the enhancement representation can be used for inter prediction. The decision, whether the base representation or the enhancement representation is used, can be based on which representation provides better coding efficiency).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of CIPOLLI and Hannuksela, to use enhancement layers as references for inter prediction, in order to provide better coding efficiency (Hannuksela [0071]).
Regarding claim 17, the same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 22. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CIPOLLI et al. (US 20070206673 A1) in view of Buttimer et al. (US 20080247463 A1).
Regarding claim 8. Buttimer discloses a frame delay of the feedback signal is at least M frames ([0052] Each decoder of a plurality of decoders at the one or more destinations is operable to send messages back to the encoder with the information about whether it correctly received (ACK) or did not receive (NACK) each packet, the round trip time for the encoder to receive this feedback is typically in the range of 300 to 400 ms, that is 6 to 12 video frames at 30 frames per second).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of CIPOLLI and Buttimer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488