DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-12, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2025/0218117) in view of Lakshmi (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2019/0287254) and further in view of Amir (“Deep ViT Features as Dense Visual Descriptors”, arXiv preprint arXiv:2112.05814 2.3 (2021): 4).
-Regarding claim 1, Wen discloses a method of performing feature matching to map an environment of a vehicle (environment 100 includes a computing device 104, which is used to process the image frame sequence 102 collected by the vehicle's camera, directed at the external environment, to create a map of the external environment, [0030]), the method comprising: generating image-domain data based on image data received from a plurality of cameras mounted on the vehicle, wherein the image-domain data includes data corresponding to a plurality of images (the computing device obtains four image frame sequences captured by four cameras mounted on the vehicle and then constructs a 3D point cloud map of the external environment according to these four image frame sequences, [0032]); performing feature extraction on a first image of the plurality of images to identify and extract features from the first image (computing device 104 further processes the image frame 106 using a feature point recognition model and then obtains a set of feature points 108 in the image frame 102 along with a corresponding set of descriptors 110 for these feature points 108, [0034]).
Wen is silent to teaching that performing segmentation on the first image to identify contours around the extracted features; embedding one or more feature overlay patches in the first image based on within regions defined by the identified contours to obtain a merged image. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Lakshmi.
In the same field of endeavor, Lakshmi teaches performing segmentation on the first image to identify contours around the extracted features (the output from applying the semantic segmentation may appear to have similar shapes and outlines to the image where color values for the pixels are replaced with color values that correspond to a detected object based on object definitions in the semantic segmentation, [0038]); embedding one or more feature overlay patches in the first image based on within regions defined by the identified contours to obtain a merged image (the generated image may have the semantic segmentation map overlaid on the original 2D image with the superpixel clusters, and projected with the point cloud, ]0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wen with the teaching of Lakshmi in order to add pixel-wise object/semantic delineation to Wen’s mapping images for improving object recognition in the image domain.
The combination of Wen and Lakshmi is silent to teaching that providing the merged image including the one or more feature overlay patches to a vision transformer; and using the vision transformer to (i) generate semantic descriptors for the merged image and (ii) perform feature matching to match, based on the semantic descriptors, the first image to a second image of the plurality of images. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Amir.
In the same field of endeavor, Amir teaches providing the merged image including the one or more feature overlay patches to a vision transformer (An image is split into n non-overlapping patches and gets a [CLS]token, FIG. 2, page 5; nput images (a) are fed separately to DINO-ViT to obtain (b) spatial dense descriptors and (c) saliency maps, FIG. 5, page 8); and using the vision transformer to (i) generate semantic descriptors for the merged image (Each patch is directly associated with a set of features in each layer: a key, query, value and token; each can be used as patch descriptors, FIG. 2, page 5; ViT features provide fine-grained semantic information and higher spatial resolution, Sec. 3.1, page 6) and (ii) perform feature matching to match, based on the semantic descriptors, the first image to a second image of the plurality of images (To automatically detect reliable matches between images, we adopt the notion of “Best Buddies Pairs“ (BBPs) [12], i.e., we only keep descriptor pairs which are mutual nearest neighbors; Where NN(m,Q) is the nearest neighbor of m in Q under cosine similarity, Sec. 4, page 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Amir in order to provide better robustness to occlusions, adversarial attacks and texture bias compared to CNN-based models.
-Regarding claim 2, the combination further discloses the image data is associated with a parking zone outside the vehicle, and wherein the image-domain data is generated by a feature-detection machine learning model (Wen, after the vehicle enters the garage, a 3D point cloud map of the garage that the vehicle passes through is constructed using the sequence of image frames captured by the camera during the vehicle's movement, [0030]; feature point recognition model is a neural network model, [0040]).
-Regarding claim 6, the combination further discloses using a feature- detection machine learning model to perform semantic segmentation on the image data to extract the features from the first image (Lakshmi, the 2D-3D detection component 120 may perform semantic segmentation on the image by applying a dilated convolutional semantic segmentation neural network to the image to associate at least a portion of the pixels with one or more semantic predictions, [0038]).
-Regarding claim 7, the combination further discloses the performing feature extraction includes using at least one of scale invariant feature transform (SIFT) techniques and semantic segmentation techniques (Lakshmi, a Resnet-101 model may be applied for feature extraction and for initialize weight from a pre-trained ImageNet model, [0038]).
-Regarding claim 8, the combination further discloses the embedding one or more feature overlay patches includes overlaying a selected first color onto a region including one or more of the extracted features (Lakshmi, the 2D-3D detection component 120 may detect the vehicles 314, 316, 318 in image 300, and modify pixel values of pixels identified as a vehicle to be of one color, to yield vehicles 410 in the semantic predicted image 400, [0051]).
-Regarding claim 9, the combination further discloses obtaining a first point cloud from a first camera of the plurality of cameras; obtaining a second point cloud from a second camera of the plurality of cameras; obtaining transformation characteristics defining a relationship between the first camera and the second camera; and merging the first point cloud with the second point cloud based on the transformation characteristics (Wen, The extension lines from the optical center of the camera to the matching feature points at the two different time moments have an intersection, which can be used as a map point in the map. The map point is the actual position of the matching feature point in the external environment. Therefore, the positions of map points 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614, and 616 can be determined, [0057]).
-Regarding claim 10, the combination further discloses issuing vehicle control commands to control movement of the vehicle based on the match of the first image to the second image (Wen, the computing device can obtain a set of map points corresponding to a set of matched target feature points, and according to the positions of these map points, the device can calculate the vehicle's position in the 3D point cloud map, [0048]).
-Regarding claim 11, Wen discloses a system for performing feature matching to map an environment of a vehicle (environment 100 includes a computing device 104, which is used to process the image frame sequence 102 collected by the vehicle's camera, directed at the external environment, to create a map of the external environment, [0030]), the system comprising: a plurality of image sensors configured to be mounted to the vehicle and to generate image data (cameras, [0032]); one or more processors (computing device 104, [0034]); and memory coupled to the one or more processors (memory, [0074]), the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: generate image-domain data based on image data received from the plurality of image sensors, wherein the image-domain data includes data corresponding to a plurality of images (the computing device obtains four image frame sequences captured by four cameras mounted on the vehicle and then constructs a 3D point cloud map of the external environment according to these four image frame sequences, [0032]); perform feature extraction on a first image of the plurality of images to identify and extract features from the first image (computing device 104 further processes the image frame 106 using a feature point recognition model and then obtains a set of feature points 108 in the image frame 102 along with a corresponding set of descriptors 110 for these feature points 108, [0034]).
Wen is silent to teaching that perform segmentation on the first image to identify contours around the extracted features; embed one or more feature overlay patches in the first image based on within regions defined by the identified contours to obtain a merged image. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Lakshmi.
In the same field of endeavor, Lakshmi teaches perform segmentation on the first image to identify contours around the extracted features (the output from applying the semantic segmentation may appear to have similar shapes and outlines to the image where color values for the pixels are replaced with color values that correspond to a detected object based on object definitions in the semantic segmentation, [0038]); embed one or more feature overlay patches in the first image based on within regions defined by the identified contours to obtain a merged image (the generated image may have the semantic segmentation map overlaid on the original 2D image with the superpixel clusters, and projected with the point cloud, ]0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wen with the teaching of Lakshmi in order to add pixel-wise object/semantic delineation to Wen’s mapping images for improving object recognition in the image domain.
The combination of Wen and Lakshmi is silent to teaching that provide the merged image including the one or more overlay patches to a vision transformer; and use the vision transformer to (i) generate semantic descriptors for the merged image and (ii) perform feature matching to match, based on the semantic descriptors, the first image to a second image of the plurality of images. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Amir.
In the same field of endeavor, Amir teaches provide the merged image including the one or more overlay patches to a vision transformer (An image is split into n non-overlapping patches and gets a [CLS]token, FIG. 2, page 5; nput images (a) are fed separately to DINO-ViT to obtain (b) spatial dense descriptors and (c) saliency maps, FIG. 5, page 8); and use the vision transformer to (i) generate semantic descriptors for the merged image (Each patch is directly associated with a set of features in each layer: a key, query, value and token; each can be used as patch descriptors, FIG. 2, page 5; ViT features provide fine-grained semantic information and higher spatial resolution, Sec. 3.1, page 6) and (ii) perform feature matching to match, based on the semantic descriptors, the first image to a second image of the plurality of images (To automatically detect reliable matches between images, we adopt the notion of “Best Buddies Pairs“ (BBPs) [12], i.e., we only keep descriptor pairs which are mutual nearest neighbors; Where NN(m,Q) is the nearest neighbor of m in Q under cosine similarity, Sec. 4, page 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Amir in order to provide better robustness to occlusions, adversarial attacks and texture bias compared to CNN-based models.
-Regarding claim 12, the combination further discloses the image data is associated with a parking zone outside the vehicle, and wherein the image-domain data is generated by a feature-detection machine learning model (Wen, after the vehicle enters the garage, a 3D point cloud map of the garage that the vehicle passes through is constructed using the sequence of image frames captured by the camera during the vehicle's movement, [0030]; feature point recognition model is a neural network model, [0040]).
-Regarding claim 16, the combination further discloses the instructions further cause the one or more processors to use a feature-detection machine learning model to perform semantic segmentation on the image data to extract the features from the first image (Lakshmi, the 2D-3D detection component 120 may perform semantic segmentation on the image by applying a dilated convolutional semantic segmentation neural network to the image to associate at least a portion of the pixels with one or more semantic predictions, [0038]).
-Regarding claim 17, the combination further discloses the perform feature extraction further includes using at least one of scale invariant feature transform (SIFT) techniques and semantic segmentation techniques (Lakshmi, a Resnet-101 model may be applied for feature extraction and for initialize weight from a pre-trained ImageNet model, [0038]).
-Regarding claim 18, the combination further discloses embedding the one or more feature overlay patches includes overlaying a selected first color onto a region including one or more of the extracted features (Lakshmi, the 2D-3D detection component 120 may detect the vehicles 314, 316, 318 in image 300, and modify pixel values of pixels identified as a vehicle to be of one color, to yield vehicles 410 in the semantic predicted image 400, [0051]).
-Regarding claim 19, the combination further discloses obtain a first point cloud from a first image sensor of the plurality of image sensors; obtain a second point cloud from a second image sensor of the plurality of image sensors; obtain transformation characteristics defining a relationship between the first image sensor and the second image sensor; and merge the first point cloud with the second point cloud based on the transformation characteristics (Wen, The extension lines from the optical center of the camera to the matching feature points at the two different time moments have an intersection, which can be used as a map point in the map. The map point is the actual position of the matching feature point in the external environment. Therefore, the positions of map points 602, 604, 606, 608, 610, 612, 614, and 616 can be determined, [0057]).
-Regarding claim 20, Wen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs (memory, [0074]), the one or more programs comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device (computing device 104, [0034]), cause the electronic device to perform feature matching to map an environment of a vehicle (environment 100 includes a computing device 104, which is used to process the image frame sequence 102 collected by the vehicle's camera, directed at the external environment, to create a map of the external environment, [0030]) by: generating image-domain data based on image data received from a plurality of cameras mounted on the vehicle, wherein the image-domain data includes data corresponding to a plurality of images (the computing device obtains four image frame sequences captured by four cameras mounted on the vehicle and then constructs a 3D point cloud map of the external environment according to these four image frame sequences, [0032]); performing feature extraction on a first image of the plurality of images to identify and extract features from the first image (computing device 104 further processes the image frame 106 using a feature point recognition model and then obtains a set of feature points 108 in the image frame 102 along with a corresponding set of descriptors 110 for these feature points 108, [0034]).
Wen is silent to teaching that performing segmentation on the first image to identify contours around the extracted features; embedding one or more feature overlay patches in the first image based on within regions defined by the identified contours to obtain a merged image. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Lakshmi.
In the same field of endeavor, Lakshmi teaches performing segmentation on the first image to identify contours around the extracted features (the output from applying the semantic segmentation may appear to have similar shapes and outlines to the image where color values for the pixels are replaced with color values that correspond to a detected object based on object definitions in the semantic segmentation, [0038]); embedding one or more feature overlay patches in the first image based on within regions defined by the identified contours to obtain a merged image (the generated image may have the semantic segmentation map overlaid on the original 2D image with the superpixel clusters, and projected with the point cloud, ]0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wen with the teaching of Lakshmi in order to add pixel-wise object/semantic delineation to Wen’s mapping images for improving object recognition in the image domain.
The combination of Wen and Lakshmi is silent to teaching that providing the merged image including the one or more feature overlay patches to a vision transformer; and using the vision transformer to (i) generate semantic descriptors for the merged image and (ii) perform feature matching to match, based on the semantic descriptors, the first image to a second image of the plurality of images. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Amir.
In the same field of endeavor, Amir teaches providing the merged image including the one or more feature overlay patches to a vision transformer (An image is split into n non-overlapping patches and gets a [CLS]token, FIG. 2, page 5; nput images (a) are fed separately to DINO-ViT to obtain (b) spatial dense descriptors and (c) saliency maps, FIG. 5, page 8); and using the vision transformer to (i) generate semantic descriptors for the merged image (Each patch is directly associated with a set of features in each layer: a key, query, value and token; each can be used as patch descriptors, FIG. 2, page 5; ViT features provide fine-grained semantic information and higher spatial resolution, Sec. 3.1, page 6) and (ii) perform feature matching to match, based on the semantic descriptors, the first image to a second image of the plurality of images (To automatically detect reliable matches between images, we adopt the notion of “Best Buddies Pairs“ (BBPs) [12], i.e., we only keep descriptor pairs which are mutual nearest neighbors; Where NN(m,Q) is the nearest neighbor of m in Q under cosine similarity, Sec. 4, page 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Amir in order to provide better robustness to occlusions, adversarial attacks and texture bias compared to CNN-based models.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2025/0218117) in view of Lakshmi (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2019/0287254) and further in view of Amir (“Deep ViT Features as Dense Visual Descriptors”, arXiv preprint arXiv:2112.05814 2.3 (2021): 4) and further in view of Popov (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2025/0045952).
-Regarding claim 3, the combination is silent to teaching that generating a bird's-eye-view (BEV) image based on results of the feature matching, wherein the BEV image is a projected image of a parking zone. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Popov.
In the same field of endeavor, Popov teaches generating a bird's-eye-view (BEV) image based on results of the feature matching, wherein the BEV image is a projected image of a parking zone (output 160 can have a top-down/BEV perspective, extending in X and Y directions, [0054]; Wen, the vehicle's position in the 3D point cloud map is determined based on the locations of the map points corresponding to the matched feature points, [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Popov in order to achieve more realistic and higher quality feature detection and representation.
-Regarding claim 4, the combination further discloses generating BEV-domain data associated with the BEV image, wherein the BEV- domain data includes data associated with parking landmarks in the parking zone (Popov, the system 100 can combine one or more polyline segments or polylines into corresponding features, [0050]); localizing the vehicle within the parking zone based on the BEV-domain data and the image-domain data to generate localization data; and mapping the parking zone based on the BEV-domain data, the image-domain data, and the localization data (Popov, output 160 can have a top-down/BEV perspective, extending in X and Y directions, [0054]; Wen, the computing device can obtain a set of map points corresponding to a set of matched target feature points, and according to the positions of these map points, the device can calculate the vehicle's position in the 3D point cloud map, [0048]).
-Regarding claim 5, the combination further discloses the localizing and the mapping are performed by a simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) system (Lakshmi, the method 200 may include performing a simultaneous localization and mapping (“SLAM”) operation, [0043]).
-Regarding claim 13, the combination further discloses the instructions further cause the one or more processors to generate a bird's-eye-view (BEV) image based on results of the feature matching, wherein the BEV image is a projected image of a parking zone (Popov, output 160 can have a top-down/BEV perspective, extending in X and Y directions, [0054]; Wen, the vehicle's position in the 3D point cloud map is determined based on the locations of the map points corresponding to the matched feature points, [0063]).
-Regarding claim 14, the combination further discloses the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: generate BEV-domain data associated with the BEV image, wherein the BEV- domain data includes data associated with parking landmarks in the parking zone (Popov, the system 100 can combine one or more polyline segments or polylines into corresponding features, [0050]); localize the vehicle within the parking zone based on the BEV-domain data and the image-domain data to generate localization data; and map the parking zone based on the BEV-domain data, the image-domain data, and the localization data (Popov, output 160 can have a top-down/BEV perspective, extending in X and Y directions, [0054]; Wen, the computing device can obtain a set of map points corresponding to a set of matched target feature points, and according to the positions of these map points, the device can calculate the vehicle's position in the 3D point cloud map, [0048]).
-Regarding claim 15, the combination further discloses the localize and the map are performed by a simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) system (Lakshmi, the method 200 may include performing a simultaneous localization and mapping (“SLAM”) operation, [0043]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PING Y HSIEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664