DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action regarding application number 19/009,273, filed on 01/03/2025, which claims priority to PRO 63/567,464, filed on 03/20/2024, PRO 63/554,254, filed on 02/16/2024, PRO 63/550,122, filed on 02/06/2024, and PRO 63/621,144, filed on 01/16/2024.
This action is in response to the Applicant’s Response received 03/02/2026.
Election of Restricted Inventions
The Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-20 in the reply received on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are examined below.
No claim is allowed.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 10, and 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 9, 10, 16, and 17, “the first rail-self centering member” should be amended to read “the first rail[[-]] self-centering member” (improperly hyphenated).
Claim 18 recites twice “a second solar module frame”--the second recitation of this on line 8 should read “the second solar module frame”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 9, 10, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 9, 16, and 20 each recite the word “radially” in the context of a spacing between claims and self-centering members. However, the examiner cannot determine exactly how the word “radially” influences or further defines exactly how the respective components are positioned. The word “radially” assumes a relationship to some axis, but there is no claim language that clarifies exactly what this means. Claim 10 depends on claim 9 and is similarly rejected.
Claims 18-20 each recite “with first self-centering member alignment” and/or “with second self-centering member alignment”. The examiner cannot confidently determine whether these limitations are attempting to recite structure or function.
Claim 18 first introduces “a second, opposite side portion of the self-centering rail”, but then repeatedly recites “the second side portion”. The applicant should use consisting language to describe the component. Critically, the term “opposite” is unclear because it is not apparent with respect to what the second side portion must be opposite to, or how it must be “opposite”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YADLAPALLI (US 2023/0402963 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YADLAPALLI teaches a self-centering rail system comprising:
a first solar module frame comprising a first flange and a first frame self-centering member (146) included at least at the first flange (support flanges 142, Fig. 16);
a second solar module frame comprising a second flange and a second frame self- centering member included at least at the second flange (figures clearly illustrate that the rail system is used to couple to at least two module frames, so a second frame is present); and
a self-centering rail (support rail 212) comprising:
a first side portion comprising a first frame support arm, a first rail clamp, a second rail clamp, and a first rail self-centering member, wherein each of the first rail clamp, the second rail clamp, and the first rail self-centering member is at the first frame support arm (see annotated Fig. 28 below with callouts to each recite feature; the examiner also asserts that the various first and second portions are equally anticipating when split along the A axis in Fig. 28 and also when split along the torque tube direction);
a second side portion comprising a second frame support arm, a third rail clamp, a fourth rail clamp, and a second rail self-centering member, wherein each of the third rail clamp, the fourth rail clamp, and the second rail self-centering member is at the second frame support arm (see annotated Fig. 28 below with callouts to each recite feature),
wherein the first side portion is configured to couple to the first solar module frame when the first flange is received at the first rail clamp and the second rail clamp and when the first frame self-centering member is received at the first rail self-centering member (Fig. 36 illustrates how the frame engages to couple with the rail exactly as recited), and
wherein the second side portion is configured to couple to the second solar module frame when the second flange is received at the third rail clamp and the fourth rail clamp and when the second frame self-centering member is received at the second rail self-centering member (Fig. 36 illustrates how the frame engages to couple with the rail exactly as recited).
Regarding claim 2, YADLAPALLI teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first solar module frame comprises a first set of retention slots (146a/b, Fig. 16) spaced from a first side of the first frame self-centering member at the first flange, and wherein the first solar module frame comprises a second set of retention slots spaced from a second, opposite side of the first frame self-centering member at the first flange.
Regarding claim 3, YADLAPALLI teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the first rail clamp is spaced from a first side of the first rail self-centering member at the first frame support arm, and wherein the second rail clamp is spaced from a second, opposite side of the first rail self-centering member at the first frame support arm (see Fig. 28 illustrating recited arrangement).
Regarding claim 4, YADLAPALLI teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the first rail clamp, the second rail clamp, and the first rail self-centering member extend out from a top side of the first frame support arm (see Fig. 28 illustrating recited arrangement).
Regarding claim 5, YADLAPALLI teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the self-centering rail comprises a bottom side that is opposite the top side of the first frame support arm, and wherein the bottom side of the self-centering rail comprises a generally semi-circular cross-sectional geometry configured to receive a torque tube (Fig. 5 illustrates a “generally” semi-circular cross-sectional geometry configured to receive a torque tube; the examiner interprets “generally” to allow for shapes that are not perfectly semi-circular, but also those that are partially semi-circular).
Regarding claim 6, YADLAPALLI teaches the system of claim 4, wherein each of the first rail clamp and the second rail clamp comprise teeth members, and wherein each of the first set of retention slots and the second set of retention slots comprises slots extending through the first flange (see that Fig. 32 illustrates claims comprising teeth members; Fig. 16 illustrates the slots extending through the flange).
.
Regarding claim 7, YADLAPALLI teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the teeth members of the first rail clamp engage the slots of the first set of retention slots extending through the first flange when the first flange is received at the first rail clamp and the second rail clamp and when the first frame self-centering member is received at the first rail self-centering member (Fig. 36 illustrates the recited arrangement).
Regarding claim 8, YADLAPALLI teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the first frame self-centering member comprises a slot extending into the first flange (Fig. 16), and wherein, as the first rail self-centering member is received at the slot extending into the first flange, the first rail self-centering member is configured to adjust a position of the first solar module frame relative to a torque tube in an east-west direction (Fig. 36 illustrates some space to adjust east-west direction position).
Regarding claim 9, YADLAPALLI teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the first rail clamp is radially spaced apart from the first rail self-centering member to define a landing surface radially between the first rail clamp and the first rail-self centering member (Figs. illustrate radial spacing similar to applicant).
Regarding claim 10, YADLAPALLI teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the first frame support arm terminates at a first floating end that defines an outside bound of the first side portion, and wherein the first rail-self centering member is closer to the first floating end than is the first rail clamp (annotated Fig. 28 illustrates the first rail-self centering member is closer to the first floating end than is the first rail clamp.
Regarding claim 11, YADLAPALLI teaches a self-centering rail comprising:
a first side portion comprising a first frame support arm, a first rail clamp, a second rail clamp, and a first rail self-centering member, wherein each of the first rail clamp, the second rail clamp, and the first rail self-centering member is at the first frame support arm (see annotated Fig. 28 below with callouts to each recite feature);
and a second side portion comprising a second frame support arm, a third rail clamp, a fourth rail clamp, and a second rail self-centering member, wherein each of the third rail clamp, the fourth rail clamp, and the second rail self-centering member is at the second frame support arm (see annotated Fig. 28 below with callouts to each recite feature),
wherein the first side portion is configured to couple to a first solar module frame when a first flange of the first solar module frame is received at the first rail clamp and the second rail clamp and when a frame self-centering member of the first solar module frame is received at the first rail self-centering member (the examiner determines that this claim does not require the first or second modules frames be present, because the claim literally recites in its preamble only a rail; and further, that the prior art rail would in fact be capable of coupling to a solar module frame also so configured), and
wherein the second side portion is configured to couple to a second solar module frame when a second flange of the second solar module frame is received at the third rail clamp and the fourth rail clamp and when a frame self-centering member of the second solar module frame is received at the second rail self-centering member (the examiner determines that this claim does not require the first or second modules frames be present, because the claim literally recites in its preamble only a rail; and further, that the prior art rail would in fact be capable of coupling to a solar module frame also so configured).
Regarding claim 13, YADLAPALLI teaches the rail of claim 12, wherein the first rail clamp, the second rail clamp, and the first rail self-centering member extend out from a top side of the first frame support arm, and
wherein the third rail clamp, the fourth rail clamp, and the second rail self-centering member extend out from a top side of the second frame support arm (all of the clamps and self-centering members extend out and upward from a top side of the support arms, see annotated Fig. 28).
Regarding claim 14, YADLAPALLI teaches the rail of claim 13, wherein the self-centering rail comprises a bottom side that is opposite the top side of the first frame support arm and opposite the top side of the second frame support arm, and wherein the bottom side of the self-centering rail comprises a generally semi-circular cross-sectional geometry configured to receive a torque tube (Fig. 5 illustrates a “generally” semi-circular cross-sectional geometry configured to receive a torque tube; the examiner interprets “generally” to allow for shapes that are not perfectly semi-circular, but also those that are partially semi-circular).
Regarding claim 15, YADLAPALLI teaches the rail of claim 12, wherein each of the first rail clamp and the second rail clamp comprise teeth members, and wherein each of the third rail clamp and the fourth rail clamp comprise teeth members (see that Fig. 32 illustrates claims comprising teeth members).
Regarding claim 16, YADLAPALLI teaches the rail of claim 12, wherein the first rail clamp is radially spaced apart from the first rail self-centering member to define a first landing surface, at the first side portion, radially between the first rail clamp and the first rail-self centering member, and wherein the third rail clamp is radially spaced apart from the second rail self- centering member to define a second landing surface, at the second side portion, radially between the third rail clamp and the second rail self-centering member (Figs. Illustrate radial spacing similar to applicant).
Regarding claim 17, YADLAPALLI teaches the rail of claim 16, wherein the first frame support arm terminates at a first floating end that defines an outside bound of the first side portion, and wherein the first rail-self centering member is closer to the first floating end than is the first rail clamp, and wherein the second frame support arm terminates at a second floating end that defines an outside bound of the second side portion, and wherein the second rail self-centering member is closer to the second floating end than is the third rail clamp (illustrated in additional annotated Fig. 28 below).
Regarding claim 18, YADLAPALLI teaches a method for coupling a first solar module frame and a second solar module frame to a self-centering rail, the method comprising the steps of: placing the first solar module frame at a first side portion of the self-centering rail with first self-centering member alignment;
moving the first solar module frame relative to the self-centering rail to engage one or more rail clamps at the first side portion of the self-centering rail to the first solar module frame;
placing a second solar module frame at a second, opposite side portion of the self- centering rail with second self-centering member alignment; and
moving the second solar module frame relative to the self-centering rail to engage one or more rail clamps at the second side portion of the self-centering rail to the second solar module frame (see Figs. 28 and 36 illustrating the claimed components and method steps of assembling module frames to a torque tube rail; see also rejection rationale of substantially limitations above).
Regarding claim 19, YADLAPALLI teaches the method of claim 18, wherein placing the first solar module frame at the first side portion of the self-centering rail with first self-centering member alignment comprises placing the first solar module frame at the first side portion of the self-centering rail with a first frame self- centering member at the first solar module frame aligned with a first rail self-centering member at the first side portion of the self-centering rail, and
wherein placing the second solar module frame at the second side portion of the self- centering rail with second frame self-centering member alignment comprises placing the second solar module frame at the second side portion of the self-centering rail with a second rail self-centering member at the second side portion of the self-centering rail (see Figs. 28 and 36 illustrating the claimed components and method steps of assembling module frames to a torque tube rail; see also rejection rationale of substantially limitations above).
Regarding claim 20, YADLAPALLI teaches the method of claim 19, wherein placing the first solar module frame at the first side portion of the self- centering rail with first self-centering member alignment further comprises placing the first solar module frame at a first landing surface that is at the first side portion and spaced radially between the one or more rail clamps and the first rail self-centering member at the first side portion, and wherein placing the second solar module frame at the second side portion of the self-centering rail with second self-centering member alignment further comprises placing the second solar module frame at a second landing surface that is at the second side portion and spaced radially between the one or more rail clamps and the second rail self-centering member at the second side portion (see Figs. 28 and 36 illustrating the claimed components and method steps of assembling module frames to a torque tube rail; see also rejection rationale of substantially limitations above).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Contact Information
/ANGELO TRIVISONNO/
Primary Examiner