DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7–9 each use the term “slightly,” which is relative terminology that renders each claim indefinite because the disclosure fails to provide a standard for measuring “slightly” while a person of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to ascertain the meaning of this term. See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–5, 7, 8, and 10–13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parikh et al., US 2022/0088523 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Parikh teaches a rotating separator 100, which reads on the claimed “air/particle separation device.” See Parikh Fig. 1, [0029]. The separator 100 comprises:
A filter housing 110 (the claimed “container”). See Parikh Fig. 1, [0029].
An inlet 112 (the “laden-air inlet”). See Parikh Fig. 1, [0035].
An outlet 114 (the “treated-air outlet”). See Parikh Fig. 1, [0035].
A “particle outlet opening out into the container,” which is the outlet in the housing 110 where aerosol droplets exit the housing 110 so they can be directed back to the crankcase. See Parikh [0036].
A rotating filter element 101, which reads on the “rotary filter positioned in the container, between the laden-air inlet and the treated-air outlet.” See Parikh Fig. 1, [0029].
The housing 112 is configured to channel air laden with aerosol particles through the rotating filter element 101, as claimed. See Parikh Fig. 1, [0035]. The rotating filter element 101 comprises at least one block of cellular material configured to be passed through by a laden air, as claimed, because the rotating filter element 101 comprises two element cores 111, 113 with each core being made of a wrapped media with axial corrugated channels (i.e., cells). Id. at [0027].
The separator 100 further comprises a dynamic seal 154 (the “inner partition”) positioned in the housing 110 and separating an upstream inner zone situated in the housing 110 between the inlet 112 and the filter element 101 into a “central zone configured to channel the laden air in a direction of” the filter element 101 (the inner zone where fluid enters the separator 100) and a “peripheral zone situated between” th dynamic seal 154 and a lateral wall of the housing 110 (the zone between the inner wall of the housing 110 where liquid aerosol collects). See Parikh Fig. 1, [0034]. The “peripheral zone” is capable of collecting aerosol particles. Id. at [0036]. The inlet 112 communicates with the “central zone,” as claimed, as seen by the fluid arrows in Fig. 1. The “particle outlet” communicates with “peripheral zone,” as claimed, because liquid moves from the “peripheral zone,” through the “particle outlet” and into the crankcase. Id. at [0036].
Regarding claim 2, Parikh teaches that the housing 110 comprises at least one cylindrical lateral wall (as the housing 110 is generally cylindrical) having a longitudinal axis 150 (the “axis of rotation”) oriented in an axial direction, with the axial direction be vertical, as claimed. See Parikh Fig. 1, [0029]. The filter element 101 is configured to rotate (pivot) about the longitudinal axis 150 (the “axis of pivoting”) that is coaxial with the cylindrical lateral wall of the housing, as claimed. Id.
Regarding claim 3, Parikh teaches that the filter element 101 comprises a bottom face (the “upstream face”) oriented toward the inlet 112, a top face (the “downstream face”) oriented toward the outlet 114, an side face (the “peripheral face”) connecting the bottom and top faces, that is substantially coaxial with the axis 150, as claimed, as seen in Fig. 1. The side face is oriented toward the lateral wall of the housing 110 and having a smaller diameter than an inner diameter of the lateral wall of the housing 110, as claimed, as seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 4, Parikh teaches that the filter element 101 comprises an interior surface 116, 126 of each core 111, 113, which reads on the “cylindrical inner face oriented toward the axis of pivoting.” See Parikh Fig. 1, [0032]. The separator 100 comprises an electric motor (the “drive”) and a shaft 140 (the “pivot shaft”) having an axis coincident with the axis 150 and connected to the electric motor. See Parikh Fig. 1, [0029]. The filter element 101 is positioned around the shaft 140 and connected thereto. Id.
Regarding claim 5, Parikh teaches that inner surface 116, 126 has an inner diameter substantially equal to an outer diameter of the portion of the shaft 140 that connects to the inner surface 116, 126 as seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 7, Parikh teaches that the separator 100 comprises an upstream transverse wall connected to the shaft 140 and a downstream transverse wall connected to the shaft 140 and separated from the upstream transverse wall by a distance slightly less than a distance separating the upstream and downstream faces of the filter element 101, as claimed, as seen in the annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 8, Parikh teaches that each upstream and downstream transverse wall comprises a circular peripheral edge having a diameter substantially equal to a diameter of the peripheral face of the filter element 101, as claimed, as seen in Fig. 1. Also, at least one opening passes through the respective circular peripheral edge, as seen by the fluid arrows in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 10, Parikh teaches that the “particle outlet” opens out into a lower part of the “peripheral zone,” as claimed because the particle outlet drains from the bottom of the peripheral zone. Id. at [0036].
Regarding claim 11, Parikh teaches that the housing 110 comprises an cylindrical side wall (the “at least one cylindrical lateral wall”), and the seal 154 (the “partition”) is substantially cylindrical, coaxial with the cylindrical side wall of the housing 110 and extends between a bottom end (the “first end”) connected to the housing 110 and a top end (the “second end”) spaced apart from the filter element 101, as seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 12, Parikh teaches that the housing 110 comprises a lower part and an upper part, as claimed, as seen in Fig. 1. The lower part comprises a portion of the lateral wall and a lower transverse wall, as claimed. The upper part comprises a portion of the lateral wall and an upper transverse wall, as claimed. The lower and upper parts are configured to cooperate to form a closed enclosure when the upper and lower parts are assembled, as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Parikh teaches an engine (“at least one item of equipment emitting a flow of laden), a “pipe” (connected to inlet 112) in which the flow of laden air exiting the at least one item of equipment circulates, and the separator 1 positioned between upstream/downstream portions (“two portions”) of the pipe, as claimed. See Parikh Fig. 1, [0002].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, assuming the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues are addressed.
Claim 6 is allowable over Parikh because the reference is silent as to the shaft 140 being hollow and comprising passage orifices configured to make the cylindrical inner face of the filter element 101, an interior of the shaft 140, and the outlet 114 communicate. Instead, the shaft 140 is not configured to permit laden air from flowing through it.
Claim 9 would be allowable over Parikh at least because the reference fails to disclose at least one opening passing through a cylindrical peripheral wall, the shaft 140, the upstream and downstream transverse walls, at least because there are no openings passing through the shaft 140.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vartiainen, US 2014/0041344 A1 (rotating air filter); Schwandt et al., US 2011/0180051 A1 (rotating coalescer).
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776