Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2023/0135704 by Kile.
Regarding claim 1, Kile discloses a method for performing interactions between virtual objects in a virtual environment performed by an electronic device (abstract; para. 34-37), the method comprising: displaying an interaction interface, the interface including one or more selectable interactions (para. 30-33 – see gesture engine); in response to a trigger operation for any interaction, displaying an action marker of the interaction associated with a first virtual object (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the markers and interactions); and when at least one second virtual object appears within an interaction range of the first virtual object and carries the action marker of the interaction, playing a marker fusion special effect based on a plurality of action markers within the interaction range, the marker fusion special effect providing an interaction special effect when the plurality of action markers converge within the interaction range (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the two hands and joining).
Regarding claim 2, Kile discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the playing a marker fusion special effect based on a plurality of action markers within the interaction range comprises: generating the marker fusion special effect based on the plurality of action markers within the interaction range; determining a special effect display position based on a position of the first virtual object and a position of the at least one second virtual object; and playing the marker fusion special effect at the special effect display position (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the animation of the hands shaking).
Regarding claim 3, Kile discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein a number of the second virtual object is one, and the determining a special effect display position based on a position of the first virtual object and a position of the at least one second virtual object comprises: determining a line segment formed by the position of the first virtual object and the position of the second virtual object; and determining the special effect display position based on a midpoint of the line segment (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the midpoint of the handshake).
Regarding claim 4, Kile discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein a number of the second virtual object is a plurality, and the determining a special effect display position based on a position of the first virtual object and a position of the at least one second virtual object comprises: determining a polygon using the position of the first virtual object and the positions of the plurality of second virtual objects as vertexes; and determining the special effect display position based on a geometric center of the polygon (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the animated hand and presentation).
Regarding claim 5, Kile discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: detecting, within a target time period, the number of the second virtual objects that carry the action marker within the interaction range; and generating the marker fusion special effect based on the action marker carried by the first virtual object and the action markers carried by the second virtual objects that satisfy the number (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the proximity).
Regarding claim 6, Kile discloses the method according to claim5, the target time period uses a moment when a second virtual object that carries the action marker has been detected for the first time within the interaction range as a starting point of timing, and the target time period lasts for a target duration from the starting point of timing; the detecting, within a target time period, the number of the second virtual objects that carry the action marker within the interaction range comprises: detecting, within an active time period of the action marker of the first virtual object, the second virtual objects that carry the action marker within the interaction range; by using the moment when the second virtual object that carries the action marker has been detected for the first time as the starting point of timing, within the target duration after the starting point of timing, adding the detected second virtual objects that carry the action marker into an interaction list; and determining a list length of the interaction list to be the number (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see duration between the initiation and completion of the gesture).
Regarding claim 7, Kile discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: generating, based on the plurality of action markers and display positions of the plurality of action markers, a marker fusion special effect of converging the plurality of action markers from the respective display positions to a specified position (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see actions marker selection and fusion).
Regarding claim 8, Kile discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of action markers are hidden during the playing of the marker fusion special effect (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see markers not displayed before initiation).
Regarding claim 9, Kile discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying an action marker of the interaction associated with a first virtual object comprises: displaying the action marker of the interaction within a target range of the first virtual object (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the proximity and handshake process).
Regarding claim 10, Kile discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the displaying the action marker of the interaction within a target range of the first virtual object comprises: configuring the first virtual object to be in an interactive state; setting the active time period of the action marker of the interaction for the first virtual object that is in the interactive state; and displaying the action marker of the interaction within the target range within the active time period (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the proximity and handshake process).
Regarding claim 11, Kile discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the displaying the action marker of the interaction within a target range of the first virtual object comprises: controlling the first virtual object to perform the interaction, and displaying the action marker of the interaction within the target range of the first virtual object after the performing of the interaction is completed (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see handshake process, display and initiation based on range).
Regarding claim 12, Kile discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the second virtual object is configured to carry the action marker by performing a trigger operation on the action marker of the first virtual object (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the second hand in the handshake).
Regarding claim 13, Kile discloses the method according to claim 12, further comprising: configuring the action marker of the first virtual object to be in an interactive state when the second virtual object is located in the interaction range of the first virtual object; and the second virtual object is caused to also carry the action marker by performing a trigger operation on the action marker, which is in the interactive state, of the first virtual object (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the interaction within range of the handshake operation).
Regarding claim 14, Kile discloses the method according to claim, wherein a special effect intensity of the marker fusion special effect is in positive correlation with a number of the plurality of action markers (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the positive interaction when the two hands meet).
Regarding claim 15, Kile discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying an interaction interface comprises: displaying the interaction interface in response to a trigger operation for an interaction control; or, displaying the interaction interface in response to a touch hold operation for the first virtual object; or, displaying the interaction interface in response to a specific gesture in a virtual scenario where the first virtual object is located. (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the specific handshake or other gestures)
Regarding claim 16, Kile discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more selectable interactions are displayed through an interaction wheel; the interaction wheel is divided into a plurality of sector regions; one selectable interaction is displayed in each sector region; and the trigger operation for the any interaction comprises at least one of: a tap operation for the sector region where the any interaction is located in the interaction wheel; and a slide operation from a center region of the interaction wheel to the sector region where the any interaction is located (fig. 4; para. 52-59 – see the initiation via user input).
Regarding claim 17, Kile discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: when the first virtual object and any second virtual object are in a non-friend relationship, popping up a friend add control for the any second virtual object or transmitting a friend add request to the any second virtual object; and when the first virtual object and any second virtual object are in a friend relationship, increasing a virtual intimacy between the first virtual object and the any second virtual object (para. 38-41 – see collaborative user experience and sharing virtual spaces).
Regarding claims 18-20, these claims are rejected as noted above regarding claims 1-17 above.
Conclusion
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715