DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim limitations:
Segment of claims 23-26, 35 the claim limitation “pressure reducer” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholders “reducer” coupled with functional language “configured to reduce” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 23-26, 35 and depending claims 27, 28 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“pressure reducer” has been interpreted to be venturi, or impeller, or ejector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-24, 29-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creamer (2017/0248346 A1), in view of Shakuda (US 2018/0245600 A1).
Claim 18: Creamer discloses a compressor (10) for a heat transfer circuit (intended use), the compressor comprising:
a housing (see FIG.3; paragraph [108]: compressor housing); and
a shaft (28) rotatable relative to the housing to compress a working fluid received at a suction inlet (suction inlet is inherent in order to receive fluid via the inlet; see FIG.3),
the shaft (28) being supported by a gas bearing (32/34 see FIG.2), the gas bearing including a bearing housing (inherent; bearing is disposed within rectangular shape housing shown in FIG.2) having a fluid inlet and an outlet (inlet/outlet inherent in order to receive & feed fluid); and
a controller (paragraph [43]: control system).
Creamer discloses the claimed limitations in claim 18, but fails to disclose a controller for controlling a vent pressure of the gas bearing to control and/or maintain a differential pressure across the gas bearing to a determined value to maintain a clearance distance between the gas bearing and the shaft.
However, Shakuda teaches a controller (84) for controlling a vent pressure (P3) of the gas bearing (paragraph [31]: bearing and rotary shaft 30) to control and/or maintain a differential pressure (paragraph [50]: vent pressure difference is less than predetermined threshold value as predetermined condition, pressure difference is detected by internal pressure differential pressure gauge and vent pressure difference detected by vent pressure differential pressure gauge) across the gas bearing to a determined value to maintain a clearance distance (paragraph [68]: clearance S) between the gas bearing and the shaft (paragraph [50]: seal gas evacuated from seal clearance S from vent portion 74) for the purpose of preventing the backflow of the gas in the gas seal portion and increasing reliability of the rotary machine (paragraph [9/12]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Creamer to include a controller for controlling a vent pressure of the gas bearing to control and/or maintain a differential pressure across the gas bearing to a determined value to maintain a clearance distance between the gas bearing and the shaft as taught by Shakuda in order to prevent the backflow of the gas in the gas seal portion and to increase reliability of the rotary machine.
Claim 19: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein the compressor (10) is fluidly connected together with a condenser (12), an expander (14), and an evaporator (16).
Claim 20: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, further comprising a high pressure gas source (paragraph [108]: vapor is taken from stage 2 impeller casing and passed through conduits schematic shown in FIG.2 with dashed lines in compressor housing to the bearing 32/34) fluidly connected to the fluid inlet (inlet/outlet inherent in order to receive & feed fluid) of the bearing housing (bearing is disposed within rectangular shape housing shown in FIG.2) for supplying high pressure fluid to the fluid inlet of the gas bearing (32/34).
Claim 21: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 19, further comprising a high pressure gas source (paragraph [108]: vapor is taken from stage 2 impeller casing and passed through conduits schematic shown in FIG.2 with dashed lines in compressor housing to the bearing 32/34) fluidly connected to the fluid inlet (inlet/outlet inherent in order to receive & feed fluid) of the bearing housing (bearing is disposed within rectangular shape housing shown in FIG.2) for supplying high pressure fluid to the fluid inlet of the gas bearing (32/34),
wherein the high pressure gas source comprises a conduit (paragraph [108]: vapor is taken from stage 2 impeller casing and passed through conduits schematic shown in FIG.2 with dashed lines in compressor housing to the bearing 34) extending from at least one of the condenser (12), the evaporator, or between the condenser (12) and the evaporator (16) and to the compressor (10), wherein the conduit is configured to supply a portion of the working fluid (intended use) into the fluid inlet of the gas bearing (32/34).
Claim 22: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 21, wherein the portion (inherent) of the working fluid is a mixture of gas and liquid fluid (paragraph [105]) from the heat transfer circuit (intended use).
Claim 23: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, further comprising a pressure reducer (first impeller 22 used as pressure reducer) fluidly connected to the outlet (inherent) of the gas bearing (32/34) configured to reduce the vent pressure (Shakuda, P3) of the gas bearing (32/34).
Claim 24: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein the compressor (10) is a centrifugal compressor and the shaft (28) is configured to rotate (functional language).
Creamer as modified discloses the claimed limitations in claim 24, except for a minimum of 10,000 revolutions per minute to at or about a maximum of 150,000 revolutions per minute. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Creamer to include to rotate from at or about a minimum of 10,000 revolutions per minute to at or about a maximum of 150,000 revolutions per minute in order to control the operation of the compressor by keeping the rotation speed within certain range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art. Note that no criticality was claimed for the limitations (Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 29: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein the gas bearing (32/34) is a radial bearing that supports the shaft (28) radially (paragraph [108]).
Claim 30: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein the gas bearing (32/34) is an aerostatic bearing or a hybrid bearing (paragraph [20]: type of hydrodynamic bearing with a supply of portion of vapor from impeller assembly referred to as “hybrid” bearing).
Claim 31: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 30, wherein the aerostatic bearing is a foil bearing or a groove bearing or the hybrid bearing is made of porous media comprising a carbon- graphite material or is a fixed geometry orifice fed hybrid gas bearing (paragraph [20]: type of hydrodynamic bearing with a supply of portion of vapor from impeller assembly referred to as “hybrid” bearing).
Claim 32: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein the differential pressure (Shakuda, paragraph [50]) across the gas bearing (32/34) between a pressure of the fluid inlet of the bearing housing and the vent pressure is at least 60 PSI (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Creamer to include the vent pressure is at least 60 PSI in order to control pressure of the fluid as entering the bearing housing, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Claim 33: Creamer discloses the method comprising:
compressing a working fluid received at a suction inlet (suction inlet is inherent in order to receive fluid via the inlet; see FIG.3) of the compressor (10) by rotation of the shaft (28);
supporting the shaft (28) using a gas bearing (32/34 see FIG.2), the gas bearing (32/34) including a bearing housing (inherent; bearing is disposed within rectangular shape housing shown in FIG.2) having a fluid inlet and an outlet (inlet/outlet inherent in order to receive & feed fluid);
Creamer discloses the claimed limitations in claim 33, but fails to disclose a method for controlling a differential pressure across a gas bearing of a compressor, wherein the gas bearing supports a shaft of the compressor, controlling a vent pressure of the gas bearing to control and/or maintain a differential pressure across the gas bearing to a determined value to maintain a clearance between the gas bearing and the shaft.
However, Shakuda teaches a method for controlling (84) a differential pressure (paragraph [50]: vent pressure difference is less than predetermined threshold value as predetermined condition, pressure difference is detected by internal pressure differential pressure gauge and vent pressure difference detected by vent pressure differential pressure gauge) across a gas bearing of a compressor (paragraph [68]: clearance S), wherein the gas bearing supports a shaft of the compressor, controlling a vent pressure (P3) of the gas bearing to control and/or maintain a differential pressure across the gas bearing to a determined value to maintain a clearance between the gas bearing and the shaft (paragraph [50]: seal gas evacuated from seal clearance S from vent portion 74) for the purpose of preventing the backflow of the gas in the gas seal portion and increasing reliability of the rotary machine (paragraph [9/12]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Creamer to include a method for controlling a differential pressure across a gas bearing of a compressor, wherein the gas bearing supports a shaft of the compressor, controlling a vent pressure of the gas bearing to control and/or maintain a differential pressure across the gas bearing to a determined value to maintain a clearance between the gas bearing and the shaft as taught by Shakuda in order to prevent the backflow of the gas in the gas seal portion and to increase reliability of the rotary machine.
Claim 34: Creamer as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 33, further comprising receiving a fluid from a high pressure gas source (paragraph [108]: vapor is taken from stage 2 impeller casing and passed through conduits schematic shown in FIG.2 with dashed lines in compressor housing to the bearing 32/34) at the fluid inlet (inlet/outlet inherent in order to receive & feed fluid) of a bearing housing (bearing is disposed within rectangular shape housing shown in FIG.2) of the gas bearing (32/34).
Claim 35: Creamer as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 33, further comprising venting the fluid from the bearing housing (bearing is disposed within rectangular shape housing shown in FIG.2) at the outlet of the bearing housing to a pressure reducer configured to reduce (first impeller 22 used as pressure reducer) the vent pressure (Shakuda, P3) of the gas bearing (32/34).
Claims 25, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creamer (2017/0248346 A1), in view of Shakuda (US 2018/0245600 A1), and in view of Morgan (2018/0038380 A1).
Claim 25: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 24, further comprising a pressure reducer (first impeller 22 used as pressure reducer) fluidly connected to the outlet (inherent) of the gas bearing (32/34) configured to reduce the vent pressure of the gas bearing, wherein the controller (paragraph [43]: control system) to reduce the vent pressure (Shakuda, P3) of the gas bearing (Shakuda, paragraph [31]) to control and/or maintain the differential pressure across the gas bearing to the determined value (Shakuda, paragraph [50]).
Creamer discloses the claimed limitations in claim 25, but fails to disclose inlet guide vanes of the centrifugal compressor, wherein the controller is configured to control the inlet guide vanes to an at least partially closed position.
However, Morgan teaches inlet guide vanes (32a/32b) of the centrifugal compressor (22), wherein the controller (20) is configured to control the inlet guide vanes (32a/32b) to an at least partially closed position (functional language) for the purpose of controlling the flow rate of refrigerant gas (paragraph [4]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Creamer to include inlet guide vanes of the centrifugal compressor, wherein the controller is configured to control the inlet guide vanes to an at least partially closed position as taught by Morgan in order to control the flow rate of refrigerant gas.
Claim 36: Creamer as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 33, wherein the compressor (10) is a centrifugal compressor, and wherein the vent pressure (Shakuda, P3) of the fluid vented from the outlet of the bearing housing (bearing is disposed within rectangular shape housing shown in FIG.2) is reduced by (first impeller 22 used as pressure reducer).
Creamer discloses the claimed limitations in claim 36, but fails to disclose at least partially closing inlet guide vanes of the centrifugal compressor.
However, Morgan teaches at least partially closing (functional language) inlet guide vanes (32a/32b) of the centrifugal compressor (22) for the purpose of controlling the flow rate of refrigerant gas (paragraph [4]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Creamer to include at least partially closing inlet guide vanes of the centrifugal compressor as taught by Morgan in order to control the flow rate of refrigerant gas.
Claims 26-28, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creamer (2017/0248346 A1), in view of Shakuda (US 2018/0245600 A1), and in view of of Larminat (2007/0212232 A1).
Claim 26: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 24, further comprising a pressure reducer (first impeller 22 used as pressure reducer) fluidly connected to the outlet (inherent) of the gas bearing (32/34) configured to reduce the vent pressure (Shakuda, P3) of the gas bearing (32/34), wherein the pressure reducer (22) is configured to use the working fluid as a motive fluid (intended use) to reduce the vent pressure (Shakuda, P3) of the gas bearing (32/34).
Creamer discloses the claimed limitations in claim 26, but fails to disclose a venturi connected to a suction line of the centrifugal compressor.
However, Larminat teaches a venturi (130) connected to a suction line of the centrifugal compressor (paragraph [48]: suction pipe 112 of compressor) for the purpose of creating pressure reduction sufficient to draw gas from suction pipe (paragraph [48]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Creamer to include a venturi connected to a suction line of the centrifugal compressor as taught by Larminat in order to create pressure reduction sufficient to draw gas from suction pipe.
Claim 27: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 26, further comprising a bypass line (Larminat, annotated by examiner in FIG.6) around the venturi (Larminat, 130).
Claim 28: Creamer as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 26, wherein a throat dimension throat dimension (Larminat, throat dimension is inherent) of the venturi (Larminat, 130) is adjustable (Larminat teaches venturi which includes throat dimension, except for dimension is adjustable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Creamer to include throat dimension is adjustable in order to adjust the venturi for different sizes as required as a matter of choice, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves routine skill in the art-To Make Adjustable: MPEP 2144 V-D).
Claim 37: Creamer as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 33, wherein the vent pressure (Shakuda, P3) of the fluid vented from the outlet (inherent) of the bearing housing (32/34) is reduced (first impeller 22 used as pressure reducer) by increasing an amount of the working fluid (functional language).
Creamer discloses the claimed limitations in claim 37, but fails to disclose the heat transfer circuit further comprises a venturi connected to the suction inlet of the compresso, wherein the working fluid is a motive fluid for the venturi.
However, Larminat teaches a venturi (130) connected to the suction inlet of the compressor (paragraph [48]: suction pipe 112 of compressor), wherein the working fluid is a motive fluid for the venturi (130) for the purpose of creating pressure reduction sufficient to draw gas from suction pipe (paragraph [48]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Creamer to include a venturi connected to the suction inlet of the compressor, wherein the working fluid is a motive fluid for the venturi as taught by Larminat in order to create pressure reduction sufficient to draw gas from suction pipe.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to fluid system:
Cunningham (2015/0345265 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763