DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on January 3, 2025 Claims 1-11 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 1/3/2025, has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-7 are drawn to a method and claims 8-11 are drawn to a device (i.e., a manufacture). As such, claims 1-11 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite any judicial exceptions including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes).
Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11, a system for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, wherein: the system stores a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media, a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information; the system displays a composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area, the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first- type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content, and the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second-type composition information group; the system changes the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and changes the selected second- type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and the system executes content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second- type composition information. If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, and 12 recite abstract ideas.
Representative Claim 1: A system for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, wherein: the system stores a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media, a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information; the system displays a composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area, the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first- type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content, and the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second-type composition information group; the system changes the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and changes the selected second- type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and the system executes content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second- type composition information.
Representative Claim 6: A method for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, wherein a computer is caused to: store a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media, a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information; transmit information for displaying a composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area, the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content, and the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second-type composition information group; change the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area and change the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and execute content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information.
Representative Claim 7: A method for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, wherein a computer is caused to: display a composition image on the basis of information obtained from a storage medium storing a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media, a second-type game medium group including two or more second- type game media, first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information, the composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area, the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content, and the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second- type composition information group; change the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area and change the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and execute content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information.
Representative Claim 10: An information processing device for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, wherein: the information processing device stores a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media, a second-type game medium group including two or more second- type game media, first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information; the information processing device transmits information for displaying a composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area, the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content, and the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second-type composition information group; the information processing device changes the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and changes the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and the information processing device executes content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information.
Representative Claim 11: An information processing device for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, wherein: the information processing device displays a composition image on the basis of information obtained from a storage medium storing a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media, a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information, the composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area, the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content, and the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second-type composition information group; the information processing device causes the selected first-type composition information to be changed on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and causes the selected second-type composition information to be changed on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and the information processing device causes content to be executed on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information.
(Examiner notes: The underlined claim terms above are interpreted as additional elements beyond the abstract idea and are further analyzed under Step 2A - Prong Two)
The additional elements are instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements of a computer, and an information processing device are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the recited steps of a system for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, wherein:
storing a first-type and second-type game medium group where both comprise two or more respective types of media and selecting compositions including two or more items from the respective types of game media;
displaying a composition image showing a first and second composition area that comprise first and second composition information respectively;
changing the first-type and second-type selected composition information based on player input; and
executing content based on the first-type and second-type composition information (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas. The recited steps are a simulation that applies an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (observation (storing a first-type and second-type game medium group where both comprise two or more respective types of media and selecting compositions including two or more items from the respective types of game media, displaying a composition image showing a first and second composition area that comprise first and second composition information respectively, changing the first-type and second-type selected composition information based on player input), and/or evaluation (executing content based on the first-type and second-type composition information)). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (CMOHA), the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11 recite abstract ideas.
Dependent Claims 2-5, and 8-9 further narrow the abstract ideas of storing a first-type and second-type game medium group where both comprise two or more respective types of media and selecting compositions including two or more items from the respective types of game media; displaying a composition image showing a first and second composition area that comprise first and second composition information respectively; changing the first-type and second-type selected composition information based on player input; and executing content based on the first-type and second-type composition information (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” and is an abstract idea and then it also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas and then also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Independent claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 2 the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “storing a first-type and second-type game medium group where both comprise two or more respective types of media and selecting compositions including two or more items from the respective types of game media”, “displaying a composition image showing a first and second composition area that comprise first and second composition information respectively”, “changing the first-type and second-type selected composition information based on player input”, and “executing content based on the first-type and second-type composition information” etc. (Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11) are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of applying “storing a first-type and second-type game medium group where both comprise two or more respective types of media and selecting compositions including two or more items from the respective types of game media”, “displaying a composition image showing a first and second composition area that comprise first and second composition information respectively”, “changing the first-type and second-type selected composition information based on player input”, and “executing content based on the first-type and second-type composition information” etc. Independent Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11, and dependent claims 2-5, and 8-9 are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components in a vehicle. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to computerized environments (e.g., storing a first-type and second-type game medium group where both comprise two or more respective types of media and selecting compositions including two or more items from the respective types of game media, displaying a composition image showing a first and second composition area that comprise first and second composition information respectively, changing the first-type and second-type selected composition information based on player input, and executing content based on the first-type and second-type composition information etc.). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The recited additional element(s) of storing a first-type and second-type game medium group where both comprise two or more respective types of media and selecting compositions including two or more items from the respective types of game media, displaying a composition image showing a first and second composition area that comprise first and second composition information respectively, changing the first-type and second-type selected composition information based on player input, and executing content based on the first-type and second-type composition information (Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Dependent claims 2-5, and 8-9 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements in independent claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11, and dependent claims 2-5, and 8-9 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The recited additional element(s) of storing a first-type and second-type game medium group where both comprise two or more respective types of media and selecting compositions including two or more items from the respective types of game media, displaying a composition image showing a first and second composition area that comprise first and second composition information respectively, changing the first-type and second-type selected composition information based on player input, and executing content based on the first-type and second-type composition information (Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea) i.e. selecting users (i.e. using a user interface) is similar to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data”, is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here) (See MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure in paragraphs [0020], [0022], and [0024] acknowledges that “The player terminal 10 includes a processor 11, a display device 12, an input device 13, a storage device 14, and a communication device 15. These constituent devices are connected to each other via a bus 16. Note that interfaces are interposed as needed between the bus 16 and the individual constituent devices”, “The processor 11 or 21 controls the overall operation of the player terminal 10 or the server 20, and for example, the processors 11 and 21 are CPUs. Alternatively, electronic circuits such as MPUs may be used as the processors 11 and 21. The processor 11 or 21 executes various kinds of processing by loading programs and data stored in the storage device 14 or 24 and executing the programs. In one example, the processors 11 and 21 are each constituted of a plurality of processors”, and “Since the player terminal 10 is a smartphone in this embodiment, the player terminal 10 includes a touch panel as the input device 13, and the touch panel also functions as the display device 12, and thus the display device 12 and the input device 13 have an integrated structure. The display device 12 and the input device 13 may be disposed in different positions in separate forms. It is assumed that the server 20, which is a computer, includes a keyboard and a mouse as input devices and a liquid crystal display as a display device” (i.e. conventional nature of using a computer and/or computer program). This additional element therefore does not ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-5, and 8-9 are dependent from claims 1, 6, and 7 and include all the limitations of the independent claims, but fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 2, 3, 4, and 5, recite clarifications of generating a composition image based on player selection, executing first or second type content based on consumption of a first or second parameter associated with a player, receiving the same type of player input for the first and second composition areas, and changing first-type and second-type composition information to different composition information selected from the same group. Such clarifications, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claim 8 and 9 recite clarifications of a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program to cause a computer to execute the methods of claims 6 and 7. The limitations are further instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device/interface acting as an intermediary for performing the abstract ideas of storing a first-type and second-type game medium group where both comprise two or more respective types of media and selecting compositions including two or more items from the respective types of game media, displaying a composition image showing a first and second composition area that comprise first and second composition information respectively, changing the first-type and second-type selected composition information based on player input, and executing content based on the first-type and second-type composition information, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-11 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagura et al. (JP 6978540 B2) in view of Suga (US 2015/0283466 A1) in view of Oishi et al. (US 6,340,330 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Nagura discloses a system for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media ([0017] In this embodiment, we will describe an example in which the game system described above is applied to a competitive game in which the first game element possessed by the first player A and the first game element possessed by the second player B, who is the opponent, [0033] Player A then assembles a deck (composition) using a predetermined number of cards (plurality of game media) from their collection (for example, 40 cards) and engages in a battle using that deck), wherein:
the system stores a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media ([0030] Multiple types of cards (first-type game medium) are available, each distinguished by a combination of the character's abilities, rarity, attribute (color), and number associated with it, [0049] In Figure 6, the card identification information field contains the card identification information of the cards that the game system can provide. If the player possesses the card with the card identification information, the possession flag field is set to "1"; if the player does not possess the card, the possession flag field is set to "0"),
a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information ([0053] The deck (first-type composition information group) setting unit 72 performs various deck-related operations such as deck composition (new creation, modification, etc.), duplication, and deletion, [0061] card (first type composition information) identification information stored in the work area to generate deck setting data (Figure 9) by associating the deck composed of the cards displayed in the deck area 1101 with the deck name and its identification information (deck ID), and stores this data in the storage unit 51), and
the system displays a composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area ([0006] One aspect of the present invention is a program, which causes a computer to perform a display process that displays game elements of a deck selected from game elements held by a player in a first (composition) area and displays the held game elements in a second (composition) area displayed on the same screen as the first area, [0055] As shown in Figure 8, the deck building screen has the deck area (first area) 1101, the card area (second area) 1102),
the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content ([0020] Players select their preferred deck from the available decks and play the game using the cards that make up that deck, [0056] The deck (first composition) area 1101 displays cards that the player has moved to the deck area 1101 by sliding (swiping) them from the card area 1102. Each card making up the deck is displayed in a list, with a predetermined number of copies ensuring no overlaps), and
the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second-type composition information group ([0006] displays the held game elements in a second area displayed on the same screen as the first area).
However, Nagura is not relied upon disclosing a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media; first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information;the system changes the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and changes the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and the system executes content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second- type composition information.
Suga teaches first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media ([0010] a plurality of characters (first-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality (two or more) of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters),
a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information ([0043] based on player information having configured therein a plurality of characters (second-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters (second-type composition information), all of the groups that can be constituted by combining the plurality of characters owned by the player are extracted from among the plurality of groups);
the system changes the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and changes the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area ([0029] deck assembly process during which a deck constituted by combining consecutively selected groups is assembled by consecutively selecting groups from among all of the extracted groups each time a selection operation is performed by the player); and
the system executes content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second- type composition information ([0012] a battle game, wherein the deck is engaged in a battle, is conducted by causing the deck to generate special effects associated with each selected group).
However, Suga is not relied upon teaching a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media; and second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media.
Oishi teaches a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media (Abstract the player's game character can obtain an item (second-type game medium group) (e.g., weapon) to be used. The weapon obtained in the weapon obtaining mode can be used in the normal game mode); and
second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media (Abstract depending on the weapon (second type composition information) used by the player's game character, various functions such as the number and type of special techniques, the basic position, a series of actions subsequent to the basic position, a hit area of weapon, offensive power, durability and so on may be changed in the same game character controlled by the player (various types of second-type game media)).
Nagura and Suga are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of games that utilize the element of a deck. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a system for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, as disclosed by Nagura, further including disclosing first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information; the system changes the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and changes the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and the system executes content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second- type composition information, as taught by Suga for the purpose of assembling a player deck by selecting groups of mutually associated characters (Suga, [0049]).
Nagura and Oishi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of fighting or battle games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a system for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, as disclosed by Nagura, further including disclosing a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media; and second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, as taught by Oishi for the purpose of allowing characters to have different weapons, which gives variety to the game images (Oishi, Col. 4 Lines 45-54).
Regarding Claim 2, Nagura discloses the execution of content is executing the content to be executed, selected by the player ([0065] The battle execution unit 75 determines the selection of cards and the actions of the cards based on the player's touch operations using the operation input unit 51, and generates and outputs action selection information, which is information about the card selection or action, [0104] A terminal for executing a competitive game played by a player using a first game element, comprising a memory storing execution instructions and a processor, wherein the processor executes, based on the execution instructions, a display process that displays the game elements of a deck selected from the game elements held by the player in a first area and displays the held game elements in a second area displayed on the same screen as the first area, and a control process that makes the game elements movable on the screen, conditional on an operation on a predetermined location of the game elements displayed in the first area or the second area).
However, Nagura is not relied upon disclosing the first-type game media are used in order to execute content of a first content type and content of a second content type, and the second-type game media are used in order to execute content of the second content type; and the composition image is generated on the basis of content to be executed, selected by a player, and in the case where the content to be executed is first-type content, other selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group or first-type game media are displayed in the second composition area instead of the selected second-type composition information.
Oishi teaches the first-type game media are used in order to execute content of a first content type and content of a second content type, and the second-type game media are used in order to execute content of the second content type (Col. 1 Lines 59-63 The player can select any one of the first mode (first content type) in which the player controls a game character (first-type game media) to fight against an enemy game character and the second mode (second content type) in which a game for obtaining an item such as a weapon (second type game media) to be used by the game character is played (execute content of the second type)); and
the composition image is generated on the basis of content to be executed, selected by a player, and in the case where the content to be executed is first-type content, other selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group or first-type game media are displayed in the second composition area instead of the selected second-type composition information (Col. 3 Lines 57-67 In the present embodiment, there is provided a normal game mode (first mode) (first-type content) in which a game character controlled by the player through the control unit 12 fights against an enemy game character controlled by a computer or another player. There is also provided a weapon obtaining mode (second mode) (second-type content) in which the player plays a game for obtaining a weapon to be used by the game character, Col. 4 Lines 45-47 If the player obtains a weapon in the weapon obtaining mode (selected second-type composition information), the present embodiment enables that weapon to be used in the normal game mode (game media displayed in other composition area instead of selected second-type composition information)).
Regarding Claim 4, Nagura discloses wherein the player input corresponding to the first composition area and the player input corresponding to the second composition area are the same kind of operational input ([0060] The previous button 1105 and the next button 1106 are displayed in the deck area 1101 and the card area 1102, respectively).
Regarding Claim 5, Nagura discloses wherein:
the changing of the selected first-type composition information includes changing the selected first-type composition information to other first-type composition information in the first-type composition information group ([0020] Players select their preferred deck (selected first-type) from the available decks and play the game using the cards (first-type composition information) that make up that deck, [0053] The deck setting unit 72 performs various deck-related operations such as deck composition (new creation (changing), modification, etc.), duplication, and deletion); and
the changing of the selected second-type composition information includes changing the selected second-type composition information to other second-type composition information in the second-type composition information group ([0063] if your buddy (second-type composition information) is changed, the previous buddy's (changed to another buddy – in the second-type composition information group) level and character information will not be carried over (information is not carried over – changed to other second-type composition information)).
Regarding Claim 6, Nagura discloses a method for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media ([0017] In this embodiment, we will describe an example in which the game system described above is applied to a competitive game in which the first game element possessed by the first player A and the first game element possessed by the second player B, who is the opponent, [0033] Player A then assembles a deck (a game medium composition) using a predetermined number of cards (plurality of game media) from their collection (for example, 40 cards) and engages in a battle using that deck), wherein a computer is caused to:
store a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media, a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media ([0030] Multiple types of cards (first-type game medium) are available, each distinguished by a combination of the character's abilities, rarity, attribute (color), and number associated with it, [0049] In Figure 6, the card identification information field contains the card identification information of the cards that the game system can provide. If the player possesses the card with the card identification information, the possession flag field is set to "1"; if the player does not possess the card, the possession flag field is set to "0"),
transmit information for displaying a composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area ([0006] One aspect of the present invention is a program, which causes a computer to perform a display process that displays game elements of a deck selected from game elements held by a player in a first (composition) area and displays the held game elements in a second (composition) area displayed on the same screen as the first area, [0055] As shown in Figure 8, the deck building screen has the deck area (first area) 1101, the card area (second area) 1102),
the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content ([0020] Players select their preferred deck from the available decks and play the game using the cards that make up that deck, [0056] The deck (first composition) area 1101 displays cards that the player has moved to the deck area 1101 by sliding (swiping) them from the card area 1102. Each card making up the deck is displayed in a list, with a predetermined number of copies ensuring no overlaps), and
the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second-type composition information group ([0006] displays the held game elements in a second area displayed on the same screen as the first area).
However, Nagura is not relied upon disclosing first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information; change the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area and change the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and execute content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information.
Suga teaches first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media ([0010] a plurality of characters (first-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality (two or more) of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters);
a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information ([0010] a plurality of characters (first-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality (two or more items) of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters);
change the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area and change the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area ([0029] deck assembly process during which a deck constituted by combining consecutively selected groups is assembled by consecutively selecting groups from among all of the extracted groups each time a selection operation is performed by the player); and
execute content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information ([0012] a battle game, wherein the deck is engaged in a battle, is conducted by causing the deck to generate special effects associated with each selected group).
However, Suga is not relied upon teaching second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media; and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information.
Oishi teaches second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media (Abstract the player's game character can obtain an item (e.g., weapon) to be used. The weapon obtained in the weapon obtaining mode can be used in the normal game mode); and
a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information (Abstract depending on the weapon used by the player's game character, various functions such as the number and type of special techniques, the basic position, a series of actions subsequent to the basic position, a hit area of weapon, offensive power, durability and so on may be changed in the same game character controlled by the player).
Regarding Claim 7, Nagura discloses a method for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media ([0017] In this embodiment, we will describe an example in which the game system described above is applied to a competitive game in which the first game element possessed by the first player A and the first game element possessed by the second player B, who is the opponent, [0033] Player A then assembles a deck (a game medium composition) using a predetermined number of cards (plurality of game media) from their collection (for example, 40 cards) and engages in a battle using that deck), wherein a computer is caused to:
display a composition image on the basis of information obtained from a storage medium storing a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media ([0006] One aspect of the present invention is a program, which causes a computer to perform a display process that displays game elements of a deck selected from game elements held by a player in a first (composition) area and displays the held game elements in a second (composition) area displayed on the same screen as the first area, [0055] As shown in Figure 8, the deck building screen has the deck area (first area) 1101, the card area (second area) 1102),
a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information ([0053] The deck (first-type composition information group) setting unit 72 performs various deck-related operations such as deck composition (new creation, modification, etc.), duplication, and deletion, [0061] card (first type composition information) identification information stored in the work area to generate deck setting data (Figure 9) by associating the deck composed of the cards displayed in the deck area 1101 with the deck name and its identification information (deck ID), and stores this data in the storage unit 51), and
the composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area ([0006] One aspect of the present invention is a program, which causes a computer to perform a display process that displays game elements of a deck selected from game elements held by a player in a first (composition) area and displays the held game elements in a second (composition) area displayed on the same screen as the first area, [0055] As shown in Figure 8, the deck building screen has the deck area (first area) 1101, the card area (second area) 1102),
the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content ([0020] Players select their preferred deck from the available decks and play the game using the cards that make up that deck, [0056] The deck (first composition) area 1101 displays cards that the player has moved to the deck area 1101 by sliding (swiping) them from the card area 1102. Each card making up the deck is displayed in a list, with a predetermined number of copies ensuring no overlaps), and
the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second-type composition information group ([0006] displays the held game elements in a second area displayed on the same screen as the first area).
However, Nagura is not relied upon disclosing a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information change the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area and change the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and execute content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information.
Suga teaches first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media ([0010] a plurality of characters (first-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality (two or more) of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters), and
a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information ([0043] based on player information having configured therein a plurality of characters (second-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters (second-type composition information), all of the groups that can be constituted by combining the plurality of characters owned by the player are extracted from among the plurality of groups),
change the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area and change the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area ([0029] deck assembly process during which a deck constituted by combining consecutively selected groups is assembled by consecutively selecting groups from among all of the extracted groups each time a selection operation is performed by the player); and
execute content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information ([0012] a battle game, wherein the deck is engaged in a battle, is conducted by causing the deck to generate special effects associated with each selected group).
However, Suga is not relied upon disclosing a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, and second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media.
Oishi teaches a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media (Abstract the player's game character can obtain an item (e.g., weapon) to be used. The weapon obtained in the weapon obtaining mode can be used in the normal game mode),
second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media (Abstract depending on the weapon used by the player's game character, various functions such as the number and type of special techniques, the basic position, a series of actions subsequent to the basic position, a hit area of weapon, offensive power, durability and so on may be changed in the same game character controlled by the player).
Regarding Claim 8, Nagura is not relied upon disclosing a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method according to Claim 6.
Suga teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method according to Claim 6 ([0009] The main aspect of the present invention aimed at Solving the above-mentioned problems is a game program (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium having machine-executable instructions) that directs a computer to execute).
Regarding Claim 9, Nagura is not relied upon disclosing a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method according to Claim 7.
Suka teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method according to Claim 7 ([0009] The main aspect of the present invention aimed at Solving the above-mentioned problems is a game program (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium having machine-executable instructions) that directs a computer to execute).
Regarding Claim 10, Nagura discloses an information processing device for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media ([0017] In this embodiment, we will describe an example in which the game system described above is applied to a competitive game in which the first game element possessed by the first player A and the first game element possessed by the second player B, who is the opponent, [0033] Player A then assembles a deck (composition) using a predetermined number of cards (plurality of game media) from their collection (for example, 40 cards) and engages in a battle using that deck), wherein:
the information processing device stores a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media ([0030] Multiple types of cards (first-type game medium) are available, each distinguished by a combination of the character's abilities, rarity, attribute (color), and number associated with it, [0049] In Figure 6, the card identification information field contains the card identification information of the cards that the game system can provide. If the player possesses the card with the card identification information, the possession flag field is set to "1"; if the player does not possess the card, the possession flag field is set to "0"),
a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information ([0053] The deck (first-type composition information group) setting unit 72 performs various deck-related operations such as deck composition (new creation, modification, etc.), duplication, and deletion, [0061] card (first type composition information) identification information stored in the work area to generate deck setting data (Figure 9) by associating the deck composed of the cards displayed in the deck area 1101 with the deck name and its identification information (deck ID), and stores this data in the storage unit 51); and
the information processing device transmits information for displaying a composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area ([0006] One aspect of the present invention is a program, which causes a computer to perform a display process that displays game elements of a deck selected from game elements held by a player in a first (composition) area and displays the held game elements in a second (composition) area displayed on the same screen as the first area, [0055] As shown in Figure 8, the deck building screen has the deck area (first area) 1101, the card area (second area) 1102),
the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content ([0020] Players select their preferred deck from the available decks and play the game using the cards that make up that deck, [0056] The deck (first composition) area 1101 displays cards that the player has moved to the deck area 1101 by sliding (swiping) them from the card area 1102. Each card making up the deck is displayed in a list, with a predetermined number of copies ensuring no overlaps), and
the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second- type composition information group ([0006] displays the held game elements in a second area displayed on the same screen as the first area).
However, Nagura is not relied upon disclosing a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information; the information processing device changes the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and changes the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area, the information processing device executes content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information.
Suga teaches first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media ([0010] a plurality of characters (first-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality (two or more) of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters), and
a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information ([0043] based on player information having configured therein a plurality of characters (second-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters (second-type composition information), all of the groups that can be constituted by combining the plurality of characters owned by the player are extracted from among the plurality of groups);
the information processing device changes the selected first-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and changes the selected second-type composition information on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area ([0029] deck assembly process during which a deck constituted by combining consecutively selected groups is assembled by consecutively selecting groups from among all of the extracted groups each time a selection operation is performed by the player), and
the information processing device executes content on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information ([0012] a battle game, wherein the deck is engaged in a battle, is conducted by causing the deck to generate special effects associated with each selected group).
However, Suga is not relied upon disclosing a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media.
Oishi teaches a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media (Abstract the player's game character can obtain an item (e.g., weapon) to be used. The weapon obtained in the weapon obtaining mode can be used in the normal game mode), and
second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media (Abstract depending on the weapon used by the player's game character, various functions such as the number and type of special techniques, the basic position, a series of actions subsequent to the basic position, a hit area of weapon, offensive power, durability and so on may be changed in the same game character controlled by the player).
Regarding Claim 11, Nagura discloses an information processing device for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media ([0017] In this embodiment, we will describe an example in which the game system described above is applied to a competitive game in which the first game element possessed by the first player A and the first game element possessed by the second player B, who is the opponent, [0033] Player A then assembles a deck (composition) using a predetermined number of cards (plurality of game media) from their collection (for example, 40 cards) and engages in a battle using that deck), wherein:
the information processing device displays a composition image on the basis of information obtained from a storage medium storing a first-type game medium group including two or more first-type game media ([0030] Multiple types of cards (first-type game medium) are available, each distinguished by a combination of the character's abilities, rarity, attribute (color), and number associated with it, [0049] In Figure 6, the card identification information field contains the card identification information of the cards that the game system can provide. If the player possesses the card with the card identification information, the possession flag field is set to "1"; if the player does not possess the card, the possession flag field is set to "0");
a first-type composition information group including two or more items of first-type composition information ([0053] The deck (first-type composition information group) setting unit 72 performs various deck-related operations such as deck composition (new creation, modification, etc.), duplication, and deletion, [0061] card (first type composition information) identification information stored in the work area to generate deck setting data (Figure 9) by associating the deck composed of the cards displayed in the deck area 1101 with the deck name and its identification information (deck ID), and stores this data in the storage unit 51), and
the composition image showing a first composition area and a second composition area ([0006] One aspect of the present invention is a program, which causes a computer to perform a display process that displays game elements of a deck selected from game elements held by a player in a first (composition) area and displays the held game elements in a second (composition) area displayed on the same screen as the first area, [0055] As shown in Figure 8, the deck building screen has the deck area (first area) 1101, the card area (second area) 1102),
the first composition area being an area for displaying selected first-type composition information selected from the first-type composition information group for the purpose of use in content ([0020] Players select their preferred deck from the available decks and play the game using the cards that make up that deck, [0056] The deck (first composition) area 1101 displays cards that the player has moved to the deck area 1101 by sliding (swiping) them from the card area 1102. Each card making up the deck is displayed in a list, with a predetermined number of copies ensuring no overlaps), and
the second composition area being an area for displaying selected second-type composition information selected from the second-type composition information group ([0006] displays the held game elements in a second area displayed on the same screen as the first area).
However, Nagura is not relied upon disclosing a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media, second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media, and a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information; the information processing device causes the selected first-type composition information to be changed on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and causes the selected second-type composition information to be changed on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area; and the information processing device causes content to be executed on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information.
Suga teaches first-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more first-type game media selected from among the first-type game media ([0010] a plurality of characters (first-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality (two or more) of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters), and
a second-type composition information group including two or more items of second-type composition information ([0043] based on player information having configured therein a plurality of characters (second-type composition information) owned by a player and group information having configured therein a plurality of groups respectively composed of a plurality of pre-associated characters (second-type composition information), all of the groups that can be constituted by combining the plurality of characters owned by the player are extracted from among the plurality of groups);
the information processing device causes the selected first-type composition information to be changed on the basis of a player input corresponding to the first composition area, and causes the selected second-type composition information to be changed on the basis of a player input corresponding to the second composition area ([0029] deck assembly process during which a deck constituted by combining consecutively selected groups is assembled by consecutively selecting groups from among all of the extracted groups each time a selection operation is performed by the player); and
the information processing device causes content to be executed on the basis of the selected first-type composition information and the selected second-type composition information ([0012] a battle game, wherein the deck is engaged in a battle, is conducted by causing the deck to generate special effects associated with each selected group).
However, Suga is not relied upon disclosing a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media, and second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media.
Oishi teaches a second-type game medium group including two or more second-type game media (Abstract the player's game character can obtain an item (e.g., weapon) to be used. The weapon obtained in the weapon obtaining mode can be used in the normal game mode), and
second-type composition information indicating compositions each including two or more second-type game media selected from among the second-type game media (Abstract depending on the weapon used by the player's game character, various functions such as the number and type of special techniques, the basic position, a series of actions subsequent to the basic position, a hit area of weapon, offensive power, durability and so on may be changed in the same game character controlled by the player).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagura et al. (JP 6978540 B2) in view of Suga (US 2015/0283466 A1) in view of Oishi et al. (US 6,340,330 B1), and in further view of Masui (US 2015/0379817 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Nagura is not relied upon disclosing wherein the content of the first content type is content that is executed on the basis of the consumption of a first parameter associated with a player, and the content of the second content type is content that is executed on the basis of the consumption of a second parameter associated with a player.
Masui teaches wherein the content of the first content type is content that is executed on the basis of the consumption of a first parameter associated with a player, and the content of the second content type is content that is executed on the basis of the consumption of a second parameter associated with a player (Abstract when execution means (306) starts to execute a game action in a game, permitting the execution by subtracting a consumption value according to the game action, [0003] In some of these games, a certain cost (for example, “stamina”) is consumed (first content type) in order to perform a game action (for example, a “quest”) in the game, and recovery of the consumed stamina is performed as time passes, [0181] Furthermore, the object on which the permission means 308 performs subtraction is not limited to the execution acceptable value expressed in terms of “stamina” but may be any other execution acceptable value expressed in terms of physical strength or magical power, any other power, energy, credit, HP (hit points), or the like (examples of second parameters associated with a player)).
Nagura and Masui are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of improving game actions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a system for a game in which content is executed by using a game medium composition including a plurality of game media, as disclosed by Nagura, further including wherein the content of the first content type is content that is executed on the basis of the consumption of a first parameter associated with a player, and the content of the second content type is content that is executed on the basis of the consumption of a second parameter associated with a player, as taught by Masui for the purpose of improving the tempo of the game, which could potentially lead to increased opportunities for payment (Masui, [0010]-[0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Garfield (US 5,662,332) is in the field of a trading card game and method of play (Abstract).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715