DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the amendments necessitate a new ground of rejection that does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0133693 by Lowenthal et al. (Lowenthal hereinafter) in view of US 2012/0210733 by Kolavennu et al. (Kolavennu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Lowenthal discloses a system, comprising: a charging station [see at least Figure 3, (120)] connected to a home electrical system [see at least Figure 3, (100)]; and multiple hardware computing modules [see at least Figure 3, (124)] configured to perform a method of charging an electric vehicle [see at least Figure 3, (110)] via the charging station, the method including: determining that a load condition associated with a load [see at least Figure 3, (310), (315) and (320)] applied to the home electrical system by multiple home network devices [see at least Figure 3, (132), (134) and (136)] of the home electrical system satisfies a threshold charging condition for charging electric vehicles using power provided by the home electrical system [see at least paragraphs 0031-0032]; and causing the charging station to charge the electric vehicle when the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition for charging electric vehicles using power provided by the home electrical system [see at least paragraph 0032].
Lowenthal discloses a time-varying load measurement [see at least paragraphs 0035 and 0044], but for clarity fails to explicitly disclose a shape of a load. However, Kolavennu discloses coordinated control of EV charging and home HVAC equipment [see at least Abstract] which uses a duty cycle parameter [see at least paragraph 0015] and temperature threshold [see at least Figure 2, (230)-(240)] to shape a load of the system over time [see at least Figures 3A-3C].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Lowenthal to include the load shaping, as disclosed by Kolavennu, in order to determine charging windows while avoiding excessive simultaneous load. Thus, offering the benefit of ensuring power availability for HVAC equipment for comfort of an operator.
Regarding claim 2, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the system of claim 1.
Lowenthal discloses wherein the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition when a shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by multiple electrical devices of the home electrical system is a suitable shape of the load applied to the home electrical system [see at least paragraphs 0031-0032, 0035 and 0057-0060].
Regarding claim 3, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the system of claim 1.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition when a shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by a cooling system of the home electrical system is a suitable shape of the load applied to the home electrical system [see at least Figure 2; Figures 3A-3C; paragraph 0020].
Regarding claim 4, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the system of claim 1.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition when a shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by a heating system of the home electrical system is a suitable shape of the load applied to the home electrical system [see at least Figure 2; Figures 3A-3C; paragraph 0020; paragraph 0013, “the control of the thermostat is extended to control an electric vehicle charger in addition to the air conditioner and furnace”].
Regarding claim 5, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the system of claim 1.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein the hardware computing modules are further configured to modify the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system when the load condition does not satisfy the threshold charging condition [see at least Figures 3A-3C, “AC NOT ON EV CHARGING”; paragraph 0021].
Regarding claim 6, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the system of claim 5.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein the hardware computing modules are configured to modify the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by: shutting off operation of at least one home network device of the multiple home network devices; and turning on operation of at least one different home network device of the multiple home network devices [see at least Figures 3A-3C; paragraph 0021, “whether or not the battery needs charging may be used to automatically switch between different set points and dead band limits”].
Regarding claim 7, Lowenthal discloses a method, comprising: determining that a load condition associated with a load [see at least Figure 3, (310), (315) and (320)] applied to a home electrical system by multiple home network devices of the home electrical system [see at least Figure 3, (132), (134) and (136)] satisfies a threshold charging condition for charging electric vehicles using power provided by the home electrical system [see at least paragraphs 0031-0032]; and causing a charging station to charge an electric vehicle when the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition for charging electric vehicles using power provided by the home electrical system [see at least paragraph 0032].
Lowenthal discloses a time-varying load measurement [see at least paragraphs 0035 and 0044], but for clarity fails to explicitly disclose a shape of a load. However, Kolavennu discloses coordinated control of EV charging and home HVAC equipment [see at least Abstract] which uses a duty cycle parameter [see at least paragraph 0015] and temperature threshold [see at least Figure 2, (230)-(240)] to shape a load of the system over time [see at least Figures 3A-3C].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Lowenthal to include the load shaping, as disclosed by Kolavennu, in order to determine charging windows while avoiding excessive simultaneous load. Thus, offering the benefit of ensuring power availability for HVAC equipment for comfort of an operator.
Regarding claim 8, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the method of claim 7.
Lowenthal discloses wherein the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition when the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by multiple electrical devices of the home electrical system is a suitable shape of the load applied to the home electrical system [see at least paragraphs 0031-0032, 0035 and 0057-0060].
Regarding claim 9, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the method of claim 7.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition when the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by a cooling system of the home electrical system is a suitable shape of the load applied to the home electrical system [see at least Figure 2; Figures 3A-3C; paragraph 0020].
Regarding claim 10, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the method of claim 7.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition when the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by a heating system of the home electrical system is a suitable shape of the load applied to the home electrical system [see at least Figure 2; Figures 3A-3C; paragraph 0020; paragraph 0013, “the control of the thermostat is extended to control an electric vehicle charger in addition to the air conditioner and furnace”].
Regarding claim 11, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the method of claim 7.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses further comprising: modifying the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system when the load condition does not satisfy the threshold charging condition [see at least Figures 3A-3C, “AC NOT ON EV CHARGING”; paragraph 0021].
Regarding claim 12, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the method of claim 11.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein modifying the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system includes: shutting off operation of at least one home network device of the multiple home network devices; and turning on operation of at least one different home network device of the multiple home network devices [see at least Figures 3A-3C; paragraph 0021, “whether or not the battery needs charging may be used to automatically switch between different set points and dead band limits”].
Regarding claim 13, Lowenthal discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium whose contents, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform a method [see at least paragraph 0020], the method comprising: determining that a load condition associated with a load [see at least Figure 3, (310), (315) and (320)] applied to a home electrical system by multiple home network devices of the home electrical system [see at least Figure 3, (132), (134) and (136)] satisfies a threshold charging condition for charging electric vehicles using power provided by the home electrical system [see at least paragraphs 0031-0032]; and causing a charging station to charge an electric vehicle when the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition for charging electric vehicles using power provided by the home electrical system [see at least paragraph 0032].
Lowenthal discloses a time-varying load measurement [see at least paragraphs 0035 and 0044], but for clarity fails to explicitly disclose a shape of a load. However, Kolavennu discloses coordinated control of EV charging and home HVAC equipment [see at least Abstract] which uses a duty cycle parameter [see at least paragraph 0015] and temperature threshold [see at least Figure 2, (230)-(240)] to shape a load of the system over time [see at least Figures 3A-3C].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Lowenthal to include the load shaping, as disclosed by Kolavennu, in order to determine charging windows while avoiding excessive simultaneous load. Thus, offering the benefit of ensuring power availability for HVAC equipment for comfort of an operator.
Regarding claim 14, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13.
Lowenthal discloses wherein the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition when the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by multiple electrical devices of the home electrical system is a suitable shape of the load applied to the home electrical system [see at least paragraphs 0031-0032, 0035 and 0057-0060].
Regarding claim 15, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition when the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by a cooling system of the home electrical system is a suitable shape of the load applied to the home electrical system [see at least Figure 2; Figures 3A-3C; paragraph 0020].
Regarding claim 16, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein the load condition satisfies the threshold charging condition when the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system by a heating system of the home electrical system is a suitable shape of the load applied to the home electrical system [see at least Figure 2; Figures 3A-3C; paragraph 0020; paragraph 0013, “the control of the thermostat is extended to control an electric vehicle charger in addition to the air conditioner and furnace”].
Regarding claim 17, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses further comprising: modifying the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system when the load condition does not satisfy the threshold charging condition [see at least Figures 3A-3C, “AC NOT ON EV CHARGING”; paragraph 0021].
Regarding claim 18, Lowenthal in view of Kolavennu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17.
Lowenthal discloses electric specific threshold [see at least paragraph 0056].
Kolavennu discloses wherein modifying the shape of the load applied to the home electrical system includes: shutting off operation of at least one home network device of the multiple home network devices; and turning on operation of at least one different home network device of the multiple home network devices [see at least Figures 3A-3C; paragraph 0021, “whether or not the battery needs charging may be used to automatically switch between different set points and dead band limits”].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2836