CTNF 19/009,497 CTNF 86465 DETAILED ACTION This communication is a first office action on the merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim Objections 07-05-05 Applicant is advised that should claim 13 be found allowable, claim 17 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 12, the phrase “a second” should be replaced by --the second --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Steltz (US 2017/0335877) . Regarding claim 1, Steltz discloses an apparatus comprising: a head portion ( including 106 and 104 ) configured to engage the first component; and a retention portion ( including legs 112 and pedestal 122 ) integrally formed with the head portion and configured to engage the second component, the retention portion including: a central stem ( 122 ) defining a center axis; and at least one clip wing ( linked pairs of 112 ) resiliently coupled to the central stem at a distal end of the central stem ( root portion 114 of the leg is shown attached to the distal end of 122 ), wherein the at least one clip wing comprises: a first leg ( 112 ) and a second leg ( 112 ), each coupled at a first end ( Fig. 5 shows the legs coupled to the pedestal ) to the central stem and at a second end to one another ( Fig. 1 shows the free ends are coupled ), and an intermediate knuckle clip ( the linkage between the free ends of the leg as shown in Fig. 1 ) positioned between the first leg and a second leg and configured to flex toward the center axis during assembly ( installation into an orifice would force the linked ends towards the central pedestal ). Regarding claim 2, Steltz further discloses wherein the first leg comprises a first knuckle ( between 116 and 118 ) and the second leg comprises a second knuckle ( between 116 and 118 ). Regarding claim 3, Steltz further discloses wherein the intermediate knuckle clip is connected to and extends between the first knuckle and the second knuckle ( Fig. 1 as shown ). Regarding claim 4, Steltz further discloses wherein the head portion includes a first plate ( 106 ) and a second plate ( 104 ) connected by a neck to define a gap between the first plate and the second plate ( Fig. 1 shows a central post connecting the support base 106 and collar 104 ). Regarding claim 5, Steltz further discloses wherein the fastener is configured to secure the first component within the gap between the first plate and the second plate ( the gap shown between 106 and 104 is configured for securing a component therebetween ). Regarding claim 6, Steltz further discloses a collar ( 104 ) integrally formed between the head portion and the retention portion. Regarding claim 7, Steltz further discloses wherein the retention portion is configured to couple with the opening of the second component, regardless of whether the opening is shaped as a round hole or a slot ( the retention as shown in the Figures is capable as claimed ). Regarding claim 8, Steltz further discloses wherein each of the first leg and the second leg includes an intermediate beam ( 116 ) extending from the distal end of the central stem to the first knuckle or the second knuckle, respectively. Regarding claim 9, Steltz further discloses wherein each of the first leg and the second leg further includes a back-angle section ( 118 ) extending inwardly toward the center axis. Regarding claim 10, Steltz further discloses a brace ( 130 ) extending between the at least one clip wing and the central stem. Regarding claim 11, Steltz discloses an apparatus comprising: a central stem ( 122 ) defining a center axis; and two clip wings ( linked pairs of 112 ) resiliently coupled to the central stem at a distal end of the central stem, wherein each of the two clip wings comprises: a pair of legs ( 112 ) coupled at a first end to the central stem and at a second end to one another ( Fig. 1 as shown ), and an intermediate knuckle clip ( the linkage between the free ends of the leg as shown in Fig. 1 ) positioned between the pair of legs and configured to flex toward the center axis during assembly ( installation into an orifice would force the linked ends towards the central pedestal ). Regarding claim 12, Steltz further discloses wherein each of the pair of legs comprises a knuckle ( between 116 and 118 ). Regarding claims 13 and 17, Steltz further discloses wherein the intermediate knuckle clip is positioned between the knuckle of each of the pair of legs ( Fig. 1 as shown ). Regarding claim 14, Steltz further discloses wherein an outer surface of the intermediate knuckle clip is contoured to bridge the pair of legs at the knuckle ( Fig. 1 as shown ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11, 15, 16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steltz in view of Song (US 2025/0003439) . Regarding claims 11, 15 and 16, Steltz discloses an apparatus comprising: a central stem ( 122 ) defining a center axis; and two clip wings ( linked pairs of 112 ) resiliently coupled to the central stem at a distal end of the central stem, wherein each of the two clip wings comprises: a pair of legs ( 112 ) coupled at a first end to the central stem and at a second end to one another ( Fig. 1 as shown ), and a bridge portion ( the linkage between the free ends of the leg as shown in Fig. 1 ) between the pair of legs. Steltz fails to disclose an intermediate knuckle clip positioned between the pair of legs and configured to flex toward the center axis during assembly wherein the intermediate knuckle clip is coupled to the bridge portion via a flexible stem. Song teaches an intermediate knuckle clip ( 32 ) positioned between a pair of legs ( 311, 312 as shown in Fig. 7 ) configured to flex toward a center axis ( Fig. 5 as shown ) via flexible stem ( base of 32 between the opposed cutouts shown in Fig. 7 ). From this teaching of Song, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to extend the linkage of Steltz with the elastic wall 32 of Song to add additional securement of the clip to the sidewalls of the orifice. Regarding claim 18, Steltz discloses an apparatus comprising: a central stem ( 122 ) defining a center axis; and two clip wings ( linked pairs of 112 ) resiliently coupled to the central stem at a distal end of the central stem ( root portion 114 of the leg is shown attached to the distal end of 122 ), wherein each of the two clip wings comprises: a pair of legs ( 112 ) coupled at a first end to the central stem ( Fig. 5 shows the legs coupled to the pedestal ) and at a second end to one another via a bridge portion ( Fig. 1 shows the free ends are coupled via a linkage ). Steltz fails to disclose an intermediate knuckle clip connected to the bridge portion via a flexible stem and positioned between the pair of legs, wherein the intermediate knuckle clip is configured to flex toward the center axis during assembly. Song teaches an intermediate knuckle clip ( 32 ) positioned between a pair of legs ( 311, 312 as shown in Fig. 7 ) configured to flex toward a center axis ( Fig. 5 as shown ) via flexible stem ( base of 32 between the opposed cutouts shown in Fig. 7 ). From this teaching of Song, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to extend the linkage of Steltz with the elastic wall 32 of Song to add additional securement of the clip to the sidewalls of the orifice. Regarding claim 19, the combination device of Steltz and Song further disclose wherein the intermediate knuckle clip is positioned between the knuckle of each of the pair of legs ( the device as modified would locate the knuckle clip in the clamed manner ). Regarding claim 20, the combination device of Steltz and Song further disclose wherein an outer surface of the intermediate knuckle clip is contoured to bridge the pair of legs at the knuckle ( the combination device appears to meet this limitation such that the shape formed by addition of the knuckle would be contoured ) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yon et al. (US 2005/00790033) for a fastener including first and second wings. Benedetti et al. (US 2005/0079033) for a fastener with first and second plates. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL S LEE whose telephone number is (571)270-5735. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jason San can be reached at (571) 272-6531. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677 /JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677 Application/Control Number: 19/009,497 Page 2 Art Unit: 3677 Application/Control Number: 19/009,497 Page 3 Art Unit: 3677 Application/Control Number: 19/009,497 Page 4 Art Unit: 3677 Application/Control Number: 19/009,497 Page 5 Art Unit: 3677 Application/Control Number: 19/009,497 Page 6 Art Unit: 3677 Application/Control Number: 19/009,497 Page 7 Art Unit: 3677 Application/Control Number: 19/009,497 Page 8 Art Unit: 3677