DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 describes a first slide rail set and a second slide rail set. Claim 5 does not describe the purpose of the rails, one being to allow an entire empty column to be pushed so as to align a column with products with a dispensing wheel, and the other, what appears to allow for refilling of an entire column when it is removed from the device. Such features are important to understanding of the invention, and without would make the claim unclear as to how to operate for one of ordinary skill in the art. (see page 9 line 25 to page 10 line 21 of Applicant’s specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deaton et al. (US 2021/0043024 A1 – hereinafter Deaton) in view of Arthur J. Zito, JR (US 2022/0020240 A1 – hereinafter Zito).
Re Claims 1 and 3:
Deaton discloses a tableware vending machine, comprising: a machine body (20) comprising a frame (68) and a shell (22) wrapped around an outer side of said frame (68) (see Figs. 1-5), said shell (22) comprising an outlet (34); a carrying mechanism (62, 64 and 26 as seen in Fig. 8) disposed on said frame (68) and corresponding to said outlet (34) (see Figs. 4-6); an electronic control mechanism (180); at least one driving mechanism (60, 120) disposed on said carrying mechanism (62, 64 and 26 as seen in Fig. 8) and electrically connected to said electronic control mechanism (180) (see paragraphs [0017 and 0025]); and at least one tableware storage mechanism (52) disposed on said driving mechanism (60, 120) (see Figs. 4-8), but fails to teach an electronic control mechanism disposed on one side of said shell and adjacent to said outlet.
Zito teaches an electronic control mechanism (300) disposed on one side of a shell (outer wall) and adjacent to an outlet (810) see paragraph [0033]) (see Figs. 1-7). Re Claim 3: Zito teaches wherein said electronic control mechanism comprises a human-machine interface (“graphical display”), a billing module (900) and an electronic control module (“processor”), said human- machine interface (“graphical display”), said billing module (900) and a driving mechanism (508) being electrically connected to said electronic control module (900) (see paragraph [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing sate of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Deaton with that of Zito, to allow for control of a vending machine for selection purposes, as known within the art.
Re Claim 2:
Deaton discloses wherein said carrying mechanism (62, 64 and 26 as seen in Fig. 8) comprises a base (62, 64, 66, at 54) and a tableware slide way (at 26, at 170, at 172) (see Figs. 2-4) (sliding up and down), said base (62, 64, 66, at 54) being disposed on said frame (68) (see Fig. 5), said tableware slide way (at 26, at 170, at 172) being disposed at one end of said base (62, 64, 66, at 54) and corresponding to said outlet (34) (see Fig. 6); said driving mechanism (60, 120) and said tableware storage mechanism (52) are disposed on said base (62, 64, 66, at 54) of said carrying mechanism (62, 64 and 26 as seen in Fig. 8) (see Figs. 1-8).
Re Claim 6:
Deaton discloses wherein said tableware storage mechanism (52) comprises a tableware box storage module (at 52), a plurality of tableware boxes (28a) and a fixing module (screw holes for mounting to member (60), as seen in Fig. 5), said tableware box storage module (at 52) being located on said driving mechanism (60, 120), each said tableware box (28a) being respectively arranged on said tableware box storage module (at 52) (as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the drawings), said fixing module (screw holes) being arranged between said tableware box storage module (at 52) and said driving mechanism (60, 120) (see Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deaton in view of Zito and further in view of Prescott et al. (US 5,590,809- hereinafter Prescott).
Re Claim 4:
Deaton in view of Zito discloses wherein said driving mechanism (60, 120) comprises a carrier (62 – plate member near 54 and under 120), a drive module (120), said carrier (62 – plate member near 54 and under 120) being disposed on said carrying mechanism (62, 64 and 26 as seen in Fig. 8), said drive module (120) being disposed between said carrier (62 – plate member near 54 and under 120) and said carrying mechanism (62, 64 and 26 as seen in Fig. 8), said tableware storage mechanism (52) is assembled with said carrier (62 – plate member near 54 and under 120) of said driving mechanism (60, 120), but fails to teach a detection module; said detection module being disposed at one end of said carrier and being electrically connected to said electronic control mechanism.
Prescott further in view teaches a detection module (606); said detection module (606) being disposed at one end of a carrier (at 604 – corresponding to similar carrier type of Deaton and corresponding parts of Deaton described as carrier parts) and being electrically connected to an electronic control mechanism (110) (see Figs. 6A-6B) (see col. 12 lines 27-40). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing sate of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Deaton in view of Zito with that of Prescott, to assure proper selection and dispensing of a vending machine, by way of alerting to a user that vending is not possible. Examiner further notes that locating the sensor at the bottom of Deaton’s device would allow for the detection module being disposed at one end of the carrier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.L.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651