DETAILED ACTION
1. This Final Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendments filed 7/24/2026. Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are currently pending. Claims 6-10 were cancelled. The earliest effective filing date of the present application is 7/26/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories
As indicated in the preamble of the claim, the examiner finds the claim is directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Claims 1-5 and 11-13 are machines (systems or devices).
Step 2A – Prong 1: was there a Judicial Exception Recited
Claim 1 recites the following bolded abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea”:
1. An information processing terminal mountable on a stand of a shopping cart, the information processing terminal comprising:
a display provided on a first side of a body of the information processing terminal:
a camera provided on a second side of the body of the information processing terminal opposite to the first side and positioned to capture an image of an imaging range including a product placement region of the shopping cart in a state in which the information processing terminal is mounted on the stand of the shopping cart; and
a processor configured to operate to:
determine whether of a product that has been registered cause a photographing condition to be satisfied (evaluation);
allow the display to display1 an automatic photographing guidance for the product based on a determination result of whether the product that has been registered causes the photographing condition to be satisfied (opinion);
an acquisition unit configured to acquire, based on automatic photographing of the product placement region by the camera, photographed image data of the photographed product placement region(observation); and
transmit the acquired photographed image data acquired (opinion).
Claim 1 (similarly claim 6) is directed to a series of steps for performing a purchase (See also Spec. [0032]), which is a commercial/legal interaction (sales activity) and thus grouped as a certain method of organizing human interactions and/or a mental process (see above notations). Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.04(a).
Step 2A – Prong 2: Can the Judicial Exception Recited be integrated into a practical application
Limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because camera, display, information processing terminal, and processor are merely generically recited computer elements that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply the abstract idea on a generic computer. See Specification [0123] discussing the units as a processor. The shopping cart is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B – Significantly More Analysis
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and in combination the camera, display, information processing terminal, and processor amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The shopping cart is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use. Alone or in combination mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component in particular field of use cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claims 1 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-5 and 11-13 fail to provide additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The storage amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The frame is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use. All other additional elements were previously addressed in the independent claim analysis. Therefore, claims 2-5 and 11-13 are rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection from independent claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 3-5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO 2021/1611682 to Saitoh et al. (“Saitoh”).
7. With regards to claim 1, Saitoh disclosed limitations of,
a display provided on a first side of a body of the information processing terminal (See Fig. 5 refs. (604) and [0108]-[0112].);
a camera provided on a second side of the body of the information processing terminal opposite to the first side and positioned to capture an image of an imaging range including a product placement region of the shopping cart in a state in which the information processing terminal is mounted on the stand of the shopping cart (See Fig. 5 refs. (606), [0083], [0108], and [0114].); and
a processor (See Fig. 5 refs. (601).)configured to operate to:
determine whether of a product that has been registered causes a photographing condition to be satisfied (See Fig. 36 steps S3102-Yes, S3103- Yes, S3120, Fig. 38 steps S3121-No, S3122, [0620], and [0718]. See also [0605].);
allow the display to display an automatic photographing guidance for the product based on a determination result of whether the product that has been registered causes the photographing condition to be satisfied (See Fig. 38 step S3123, Fig. 40G refs. e, BT51 [0642], [0622]-[0625], [0671]);
acquire, based on automatic photographing of the product placement region by the camera, photographed image data of the photographed product placement region (See Fig. 36 steps S3102-Yes, S3103-Yes, S3120, Fig. 38 steps S3121-Yes, S3124, S3126-No, S3127-Yes, S3131,[0609-0613], [0631-0635], and [0640]-[0641]); and
transmit the acquired photographed image data (See Fig. 38 step S3132 and [0643], [0649]-[0650]).
8. With regards to claim 3, Saitoh disclosed limitations of,
wherein the processor is configured to receive the photographing condition before a user starts purchases (See Fig. 36 steps S3102-Yes, S3103- Yes, S3120, Fig. 38 steps S3121-No, S3122, [0620], and [0718]).
9. With regards to claim 4, Saitoh disclosed limitations of,
wherein the processor is configured to operate to transmit photographed image data stored in a storage (See Fig. 5 refs. 602, 603, Fig. 38 step S3131, and, [0609-0613], [0631-0635], and [0640]-[0641]).
10. With regards to claim 5, Saitoh disclosed limitations of,
wherein the processor is configured to operate to transmit the photographed image data and additional information regarding the photographed image data (Fig. 38 S3132, and [0649] discussing reading failure information includes the captured image acquired in step S3131, the holding sub-classification number determined in step S3130, and the cart ID.).
11. With regards to claim 13, Saitoh disclosed limitations of,
further comprising the shopping cart, wherein the shopping cart includes a frame having an end on which the stand is provided (See Fig 3A, [0086]-[0089] and [0765].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatenable by Saitoh in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0343065 to Chiba (“Chiba”).
14. With regards to claim 11, Saitoh disclosed limitations of,
wherein the photographing condition includes a condition that the product that has been registered is in a predetermined category.
However, Chiba teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the image analysis art to include the photographing condition includes a condition that the product that has been registered is in a predetermined category (See [0100] discussing satisfying an application condition from an image based on an attribute such as category or price.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the image analysis art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Saitoh to include the photographing condition includes a condition that the product that has been registered is in a predetermined category, as disclosed by Chiba. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide special privileges (Chiba [0097] and [0011]).
15. With regards to claim 12, Saitoh disclosed limitations of,
wherein the photographing condition includes a condition that a price of the product that has been registered is equal to or higher than a threshold.
However, Chiba teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the image analysis art to include the photographing condition includes a condition that a price of the product that has been registered is equal to or higher than a threshold (See [0100] discussing satisfying an application condition from an image based on an attribute such as category or price. See also Fig. 11 depicting the use of threshold on a condition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the image analysis art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Saitoh to include the photographing condition includes a condition that a price of the product that has been registered is equal to or higher than a threshold, as disclosed by Chiba. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide special privileges (Chiba [0097] and [0011]).
Allowable Subject Matter
16. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter over prior art:
The reason for allowable subject matter over prior art of claim 2 in the instant application is because the prior art of record fails to teach the overall combination as claimed. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior art to meet the combination above without unequivocal hindsight and one of ordinary skill would have no reason to do so. The prior art of record does not teach the photographing condition includes a condition that a number of registered products first reaches a predetermined number. Upon further searching the examiner could not identify any prior art to teach these limitations. The prior art on record, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, not renders obvious the Applicant' s claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
17. Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
§101
Applicant provides no rationale behind the §101 comments to constitute anything beyond general assertations of eligibility. Applicant's §101 arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
§102
Applicant argues that Saitoh citations are directed towards a barcode failure and do not teach whether a product that has been registered causes a photographing condition to be satisfied. Examiner disagrees Saitoh [0605] states, “Although omitted from the flowcharts in FIG. 36 to FIG. 38, the portable terminal 60 always performs image capture using a camera 606 to recognize the reading operation of a barcode and input of the product into the shopping basket 80.” Under BRI, the barcode is the condition of the image capture, which would satisfy the limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited, PTO form 892.
/MICHAEL JARED WALKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627 Michael.walker@uspto.gov
1 Examiner notes that the act of displaying falls within the mental processes as being performed with the aid of pen and paper.
2 U.S. Patent Pub. 2021/161168 is used for citation purposes.